We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Amberley Castle

Expedia.com$288*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Amberley Castle
Amberley Castle
Panoramas (20)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

809 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Amberley Castle
See the most recent reviews
Showing 798: English reviews
Potters Bar, Hertfordshire
Reviewed August 12, 2016

This is a beautiful building in exquisite grounds. A real treat. Not the flashy kind, but very serene and tranquil, and steeped in history. Lovely white doves flying around and a beautiful white peacock strutting his stuff! All the staff that we came into contact with were very friendly and really obliging. The bedroom was immaculate and easily accessible. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Champagne27_12
Piers V, Deputy Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear Champagne27_12 Thank you for your kind words about Amberley Castle, especially with reference to the friendly and really obliging team members you encountered. I am also glad to see bob the peacock was showing off for you, he is quite the showman. I have passed the feedback onto my kitchen team, and they have taken the comments on board....

Eastbourne
Reviewed August 12, 2016

Beautiful grounds ,excellent staff attention to detail. Such a peaceful and idyllic spot. The afternoon tea was of a high standard and the grounds lovely to sit in afterwards for a drink and relax. We loved the quaint village and would love to come for a stay if possible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anita H
Piers V, Deputy Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear Anita H, Thank you for your wonderful feedback and comments about our afternoon tea. I am happy to read that you noticed our team's attention to detail and the hard work that our gardeners put into the grounds. We do hope to welcome you back to the castle soon and as you said hopefully got a stay. Kind regards...

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 10, 2016

My husband and I have just spent 2 lovely days at Amberley castle. The drive up was magnificent (quite a challenge riding a motorbike on gravel). Check in was easy and staff very helpful. We enjoyed a couple of drinks in the beautiful gardens. We arrived for dinner - we were on a secret escapes break but decided to up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caroline s
Piers V, Deputy Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear Caroline S, Thank you for your review of Amberley Castle, it is always nice to read that you found our team helpful and friendly, and that you enjoyed the Pevensey room. I have passed the comments on to chef about the portion size, and hopefully on your return you will see an improvement in this area. I hope to...

New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed August 10, 2016

I had a traditional afternoon tea in the charming lounge of this old castle. The gardens and castle ruins are beautiful and the renovated Elizabethan buildings that house the hotel and restaurant are charming and comfortable. Naturally, the food and tea were scrumptious with elegant service. The village of Amberley is also quite beautiful and merits a leisurely stroll before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ckgerson
Piers V, Deputy Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear Ckgerson, Thank you for taking the time to review our afternoon tea, and I am glad that you enjoyed it. It is always nice to pass on good feedback to the team, and this is one of those moments. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon, maybe for a dinner this time. Kind regards Bruce Marques Deputy...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 10, 2016

Loved the whole thing - the castle and its grounds are a delight; the food is heavenly; the wine list awesome; the breakfast worth getting hungry for; and there are lots of helpful staff always available to tender to your needs TokyoJacko

Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
 Report
Helpful?
Thank TokyoJacko
Piers V, Deputy Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear TokyoJacko, Thank you for your wonderful comments about Amberley Castle, I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed time with us and that you found our team helpful and friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back to Amberley Castle very soon. Kind Regards Bruce Marques Deputy Manager

Bordon, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 8, 2016 via mobile

I'd been wanting to visit Amberley for ages but only living an hour's drive away felt that I couldn't really justify spending a night there. On the other hand it was just a little far to go for dinner. I was, therefore, delighted to receive a voucher for a 'champagne afternoon tea'. First impressions did not disappoint. The castle is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison52
Piers V, Deputy Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear alis0nhead, Thank you for taking the time to review Amberley Castle, I am sorry to read that you found our cakes overly sweet, I will pass your comments on to our pastry chefs. I hope to welcome you back to Amberley Castle in the near future. Kind regards Bruce Marques Deputy Manager

Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

This was a special 70th birthday lunch for me. We had a private room as there were 7 of us. The food was excellent, the wine menu comprehensive and the staff very attentive. Yes, it's expensive, but it is special. It's a genuine Norman castle set in superb countryside. Maybe not for your everyday lunch (unless you're very well off),...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drdelboy
Piers V, Deputy Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear Drdelboy, What a delight to read such great feedback, I am happy we were able to assist in making your 70th birthday lunch a roaring success, and that you enjoyed our teams service. Our wine list takes our sommeliers a long time to compile such a comprehensive list, and I am sure they will be glad to read that...

Radlett
Reviewed August 5, 2016 via mobile

On a beautiful summer's evening we asked the receptionist where we could have drinks outside: she didn't know! This should have alerted us to the evening ahead, Drinks were eventually orders for the four of us and took an age to come. No nibbles but were informed that there would be plenty once we were seated st the restaurant. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank floorboardfreak
Piers V, Deputy Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear Floorboardfreak, Thank you for your review, however it is never nice to see one of our guests did not enjoy their time with us at Amberley Castle. Having read your comments, I have passed the necessary feedback to all managers involved on the evening and we will be doing training with the team members involved. As we are always...

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 5, 2016 via mobile

I had a amazing night stay at Amberley Castle in May. I do not often get the opportunity to get away with my wife, but this was just perfect. The staff, food and surroundings allowed us both to completely relax. I cannot wait to return. Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank traveluk2016
Piers V, Deputy Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear Traveluk2016 Thank you for your wonderful feedback, and I am glad to hear yourself and your wife enjoyed getting away for an evening and that you chose Amberley Castle for this. I have passed your wonderful feedback on to my team and hope to see you very soon at the castle. Kind Regards Bruce Marques Deputy Manager

Reviewed August 4, 2016 via mobile

Great hotel lovely setting room good. Food dreadful service worse I have experienced. Service very slow and portion sizes so small, left desperate for bread. Quite the worst experience in a restaurant this was a special anniversary totally ruined. Do not bother with the restaurant dreadful. Complained on the evening but left frustrated by experience. Serious issues here quite the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Smiffy1955
Piers V, Deputy Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear Smiffy1955 I am sad to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us at Amberley Castle. I am sorry to read that you did not find our food or service up to an acceptable level, and have made my head chef and restaurant manager aware of your feelings, and they will be making the necessary changes to ensure...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,010 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (592)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (146)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (317)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (404)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Classic Room (41)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (51)
Viewed
Junior Deluxe Room (49)
Viewed
Premier Deluxe Room (54)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Superior Room (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (111)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amberley
14.1 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,573 reviews
24.4 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
24.7 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
10.8 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
7.8 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Amberley Castle

Address: Church Street, Amberley BN18 9ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Amberley
Price Range: $252 - $732 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amberley Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amberley Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amberley Castle Hotel Amberley
Castle Hotel Amberley
Amberley Arundel Castle
Amberley Castle England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Amberley Castle staff and other travelers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Amberley Castle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Alert the castle in advance if you have dietary needs and you will be completely satisfied with the result.”
stans680, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Don't book Amberley near the dining room and reception”
janis782017, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“We had a Classic room (Knepp) which was charming but my "Average" is based on value for money and the need for some basic maintenance. DO NOT let that detract from all the other positives as you are paying for the entire experience.”
NIP1, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“The suites are absolutely amazing. Some have access to the ramparts.”
Matthew_Floyd, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“The Arundel is amazing”
394jow, 5 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Expedia.com
$288* /night
View Deal
Travelocity$288
Orbitz.com$288
Booking.com$288
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates