We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
R560, Main Skeerpoort Rd, Madibeng 0232 South Africa
Official Hotel
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
FindHotel
Agoda.com
View all 7 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (134)
Room & Suite (47)
Pool & Beach (32)

About

#1 of 61 Specialty lodging in Hartbeespoort
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.4
Value
4.6
Nestled alongside the tranquil Magalies River; Magalies Park comprises 120 hectares of scenic rich parklands, 18-hole golf course, world-class wellness spa and a vast array of 1, 2, 3 and 4-bedroom chalets and villas. This resort is the ultimate all-inclusive destination for all types of holidays, teambuilding, conferencing and weddings. On-site facilities include; Wi-Fi, Restaurant, Bar, Pool Side Bar, In Room Dining, Wellness Spa, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Hairdresser, Daily Entertainment, Water Park, Swimming Pool, Swimming Pool – Heated, Swimming pool - Kiddies pool, Golf Course, Driving Range, Putting Green, Pro Shop, Convenience Store, Adventure golf, Mountain bike trail, Fishing, Bird Watching, Paintball, Bicycle Hire, Bowls, Tennis, Squash, Volleyball, Kid's Club, Playground, Child Minding, Board Games, Games Room, Trampoline, Boma, Braai Area, Walking Trails, Open air Chess, Canoeing, Paddle boats, Boat Cruise, Dam / River, Private jetty, Concierge, Business Centre, ATM and Laundry.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Indoor pool
Mini golf
Water park
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Meeting rooms
Laundry service
Heated pool
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Great View
763Reviews23Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 481
  • 179
  • 51
  • 31
  • 21
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
louisminnaar wrote a review Dec 2021
Pretoria47 contributions14 helpful votes
We stayed next to the dam pump. Which meant that there were intermittent, high pitched electrical noises throughout the day. This carried on at night and kept us awake- which was infuriating. Aside for this we enjoyed our stay and would gladly go again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Muis Lombard, General Manager at First Group Magalies Park
Responded Dec 21, 2021
Dear Louis Thanks for visiting our beautiful resort. We take note of your concern and apologise for the inconvenience caused. Hope we can welcome you again...away from the noisy pump. Greetings and Stay Safe!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Margaret J wrote a review Dec 2021
Villiersdorp, South Africa52 contributions8 helpful votes
We spent a week here in one of the 2 bedroom chalets with my elderly mother. The setting is good, however our chalet was on the road and the staff zoom up and down all day long in bakkies and golf carts. The chalet has everything one needs and is tastefully decorated, however, the surrounding areas are not kept entirely clean. Staff walk past pieces of paper etc every day and no-one thinks to pick this up However: I would absolutely recommend this resort for a family with small children as there is plenty to keep them entertained
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Muis Lombard, General Manager at First Group Magalies Park
Responded Dec 6, 2021
Dear Margaret Thanks for visiting our beautiful resort and take note. We have a beautiful resort and unfortunately we still have guests just dumping their trash and bottles where they walk and drive, although the resort is covered with dustbins. We will address the staff reluctance to pick up the trash lying around. Nevertheless it seems that you guys enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can welcome you all back soon! Greetings and Stay Safe!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
In Africa and Beyond wrote a review Jul 2021
Mauritius338 contributions81 helpful votes
This is a comfortable resort in a beautiful setting. The facilities and the service were both good and I loved the free-roaming antelopes. However, we did have a few issues. -Our bath tub was clogged and the water was not draining. I called the switchboard and they said that they would send someone to fix it, but no one came. -The other bathroom is badly designed. Because of the shower position and the level ground, the bathroom and passage gets flooded when taking a shower. -The microwave is too small and the plate doesn't stay in position. -We were there for 2 nights and looking forward to doing a boat ride on Friday. When we got there, we were told that there is no boat ride on Fridays. Had we been informed on arrival, we would have done the boat ride on Thursday.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Muis Lombard, General Manager at First Group Magalies Park
Responded Jul 29, 2021
Dear Sara Thanks for visiting our beautiful resort and review received. We need to sincerely apologise for the bad service regarding the bath tub and was addressed with the staff involved. All activities, costs & operating hours are available in the welcome envelope for your convenince. We hope we can treat you on the boat with your next visit. Hope we see you all back soon! Greetings and stay safe.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jorindit wrote a review Jul 2021
Krugersdorp, South Africa160 contributions9 helpful votes
We had a brilliant week at Magalies Park. The revamped chalet was stunning, the fireplace perfect for the freezing weather and the entertainment area is a dream for any kid and parent. There were animals to be seen walking around all over the resort. Brilliant staff. I would recommend it to everyone.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Can get busy, especially over weekends, but the layout is scattered so it helps avoid...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Muis Lombard, General Manager at First Group Magalies Park
Responded Jul 27, 2021
Dera Guest Thanks for visiting our beautiful resort. We appreciate your review and seems that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope we can welcome you ll back sooner than later. Greetings and Stay Safe!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
prani2016 wrote a review May 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa36 contributions28 helpful votes
Magalies Park is a resort that lives up to its expectations to a certain extent only. The upside of the resort: Up to date appliances in the kitchen and modern bathrooms. The one hour boat ride into Harties dam was the best boat ride I have ever taken in Harties- it was well worth the trip far into the dam, close to the stunning mansions and with a well-informed Captain. Pica Pau restaurant food was delicious and the portion size was huge. The best part is that there was a take away option as well- so you could take it back to your chalet or eat out at the dam etc. The inside seating area is very small. The downsides were: If you wanted to use the facilities around the resort, you had to pay separately for simple things like the water park, teen zone etc. These are facilities that should have been included as you have already paid to spend your time here. Paying for canoes, paddle boats, golf and ferry boat rides is definitely understandable. In the chalets, all units had a thatch roof and this was annoying for 2 reasons: Every night we heard some kind of animal or bird up on the thatch- right above the bed and due to it pecking outside, it dropped pieces of thatch onto the bed- this happened on both nights that we stayed there; the bed got messed, the mess fell on us and the sound whilst sleeping was so annoying! The ceilings should all be completely covered as it also made the room cold and the aircon was not effective at all! The entire ceiling was open right from the bedroom until the 2 bathrooms. The pools were advertised as heatd indoor and outdoor pools- the outdoor pool was barely even warm at all- more like cool and very dirty; not blue at all and the bottom was full of leaves. The receptionist told me ‘it is tough to maintain the outdoor pools to keep the heat due to the weather’. Magalies Park- please do visit Forever Resorts Warmbaths in Limpopo. Their outdoor pools are 5 x bigger than yours, steam visible, lovely and hot, blue and crystal clear! Magalies has ONE very small indoor heated pool which is barely warm after you get in. One you check out at 10am, you are only given half an hour to leave the premises, otherwise you need to pay a day visitors rate of R100pp to spend more time there. This is really so ridiculous and after staying in many hotels and resorts in my lifetime, this is the first time I had heard something so ridiculous! Why can’t your residents still stick around, have lunch at your restaurant and then leave- why do you still need additional money? You would get money with people eating, paying for boat rides and other facilities. Once was enough for us and we won’t be back! We have our favourite resorts which we will continue to visit.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Muis Lombard, General Manager at First Group Magalies Park
Responded May 25, 2021
Deaar Guest Thanks for visiting our beautiful resort. We appreciate your review and feedback. We take note of your suggestions and comments made and will address this as a matter of urgency. Overstaying creates problems of its own. Covid and regulations thereof limit us with people, and being 90% occupied, we cannot double with the total of people "hanging" around on the resortwhereby check out time is 10h00. We do allow guests to stay longer if they wish to use the restaurant although the crowding is limited at facilities. Thanks for understanding and hope we can welcome you back at Magalies. Greetings
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Benji G wrote a review Apr 2021
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa2 contributions
So I’m 9 and I loved magalies park amazing facilities fascinating nature lovely activities I would definitely recommend this to anyone who’s looking for a place to get away from the city vibes. There’s a shopping mall located more than ten minutes away. Oh and the staff are soooo friendly.only problem: mosquitoes
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Rooms further away from pools are best
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Muis Lombard, General Manager at First Group Magalies Park
Responded Apr 9, 2021
Dear Guest Thanks for visiting our beautiful resort and sharing your experienece with other! Seemed you enjoy the stay and hope you will be visiting us for the 10 years. I think you have still more to explore at Magalies. Hope we see you all back soon! Greetings!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aslam wrote a review Feb 2021
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
What an amazing weekend we had. The rooms are exceptionally clean and very spacious. Television sets in both the lounge area and the bedroom. An excellent seperate shower space with an additional bathtub. The patio and braai area was really cool too. This place is really value for Money and I would love to come back here. From many different swimming pools to tennis courts volleyball mini golf and many other activities. It was a really cool weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Muis Lombard, General Manager at First Group Magalies Park
Responded Feb 16, 2021
Dear Aslam Thanks for visiting ur beautiful resort. We appreciate your review and seemed you enjoyed your stay with us. The next best thinkg to do is to book and visit again - Very Soon! Greetings and Stay Safe!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mari wrote a review Jan 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa13 contributions5 helpful votes
We were very excited to spend a long weekend at Magalies Park, especially on what they had to offer for kids and families. BUT beware. If in ANY way, you complain they will talk over you and pretty much roll their eyes. MUIS who is apparently the manager is VERY rude. He does not let one speak. They only see dollar signs. Everything you see advertised costs extra. You have to pay R150 in order to play pool, putt putt or any of their activities they might have- Which half was not operating “due to covid” Such an easy excuse to use. What is the difference between playing pool and playing with your OWN darts, paddle boats not available. Everything just seemed silly and not motivated at all. The waterpark cost extra as well. Again not advertised by them and when I told Muis this his answer was they only have so much info they can put on their website. Again, a very poor explanation and his tone was absolutely appalling. Another bizarre rule- You have 30 min after check out to leave the premises or you pay R1000 fine. I understand that you need to leave your room for cleaning but surely using the facilities that you PAID EXTRA for like the putt putt can still be available? Also no servicing rooms due to covid. The positives: Beautiful 6 sleeper chalets. Golf course and wildlife. Magalies Park you have some work to do with regards to friendliness and hearing what your customers have to say. Good luck!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Muis Lombard, General Manager at First Group Magalies Park
Responded Feb 2, 2021
Dear Mariska Thanks for visiting our beautiful resort. I take note of your comments made and would like to clarify a few aspects mentioned. As explained cost to stay on a resort is for accommodation only and surely if the resort offers more than just pools, we may charge for "extra" activities. The games card is R150 for the chalet for the duration of your stay(R150/6 people/3 days=R8.30pp/pd for Tennis, Squash, Heated Pools, Fred Mini Town, Adventure Golf, Bicycles, Bowls, Board Games, Limited Teen Zone activities etc. )and to access the Waterpark and Jumping pillow R50pp for the duration of your stay(R50/3 days=R16.6pp/pd). First group has Covid Protocols in place which is in line with the Government protocols. We stopped all entertainment programs but in its place we provide live music around the main pool(Saturdays-Free)as well as a snake show(Wednesdays-Free). Because North West Province was gazetted as a "Hot Spot", we are not allowed to access the river or dam, hence the fact that the paddle boats and canoes were grounded. The Teen Zone was closed but we do allow controlled access and if enquired at the Entertainment centre, pool and table tennis could be enjoyed with a maximum of 6 people in the facility(Booking System). During check in we do inform all guest that we do not give daily services, although if you insist, we will manage it accordingly(This is to protect our guests as the HK do travel and is very much exposed to spreading the vires). Check out time is to vacate the resort and not just you chalet as the facilities is for use during your stay. Remember that guests checking out are replaced with guest checking in. Surely the resort cannot accommodate double their capacity! Lastely I want to refer you to the Booking Platforms, once accessed to brows or to make a booking, the home page will allow you to open Resort facilities and Activities, click on an facility and or an activity, the item will open and will allow you to "Read More", whereby the extra cost are visible(Games Card/Waterpark, Boat Cruise & Painball). We hope to see you back at our beautiful resort. Greetings!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kagiso Masilo wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
What a place, staff is very kind and prompt to requests, but what melted my heart is the integrity of the staff. One of the cleaners found the money that we forgot and it was handed back... It's rare that people will return the money,The manager Heidi thank u very much... Will definetly come back...
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Muis Lombard, General Manager at First Group Magalies Park
Responded Dec 21, 2020
Dear Guest Thanks for visiting our beautiful resort. We appreciate your review as well as sharing your great experience at Magalies. We are glad you found your money and we are very proud of our staff. We hope we can welcome you all back sooner than later. Magalies Greetings!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marthinus wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
Had a nice stay and was enjoying the park, good staff and friendly to. Went to play a round putt putt with the kids and had the wife check us out. This was 10 to 15 minutes before check out time at 10h00. Needed a card of some sort and the wife was told by senior staff at reception that, we where to leave the premises. I waited about an hour (thought about it) and returned to make sure that the most senior people there knows what had happened. It became apparent that they where not going to do anything about it, or hear me out. Said nice words and then continued to say. Check out is 10h00 Asked to speak to senior staff, and was told that I was. Made sure to show that I was unhappy and explained that, what was to follow was what it feels like to be treated so unfairly. And that after two days and being very happy and planning on returning. The management ruined the holiday in only the last 10 minutes we where to spend there. Because of the poor attitude and unfair treatment. I laid into, what was said to be management and made sure to push all the buttons and be heard by everyone there. (massive scene) Sent a email later to make sure there is a incident report and to get to someone that can do something about this poor attitude. I was not asking for an apology and I was not offering mine, just wanted the next person to be treated fairly. Got a phone call from resort manager, he just put his weight behind his staff. Saying how disgusted he was at my reaction to his staff. Not having all the facts and without asking about what the reason was for the strong reaction. It become apparent to me, that he did not mind what has happened and was only calling to lay it on me. After dropping the phone call he sent me a email back, that included the front desk staff, making sure to say what a bad person I was and that know one there knows what was going on. After addressing his email and putting things in perspective. He said thanks NOTED As can be seen from other complaints, on this site. The resort manager is unapologetic and shifts the blame. He basically says thanks for the response, what you did wrong, and he hopes you comes back. I find this very distasteful and came here to show other clients. I will not be returning to this place and ask that other clients be careful when complaining to management. You will be treated unfairly and you will not get the problem solved.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Stay away from management
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Muis Lombard, General Manager at First Group Magalies Park
Responded Nov 2, 2020
Dear Marthinus I take note of your review and as you mentioned, we tried to resolve the matter whereby the phone was dropped on me twice. Although your review is very one sided, the disrespectful manner you conducted yourself towards my staff and other guests, was appalling. We do address all complaints and suggestions in a professional and consultative way. Thank you..
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$74 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Magalies Park
LOCATION
South AfricaNorth-West ProvinceMadibengHartbeespoort
NUMBER OF ROOMS
185
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about First Group Magalies Park
Which popular attractions are close to First Group Magalies Park?
Nearby attractions include Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam (2.7 miles), Bush Babies Monkey Sanctuary (2.7 miles), and Hartbeespoort Dam (4.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at First Group Magalies Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free parking, and meeting rooms.
Is parking available at First Group Magalies Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to First Group Magalies Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Silver Orange Bistro, Die Ou Pastorie, and AfricanSwiss Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at First Group Magalies Park?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at First Group Magalies Park?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.