We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chateau d'Artigny & Spa

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (638)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (256)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 3 hotels in Montbazon
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.2
Value
3.7
Travelers' Choice
Elegant castle hotel with spa located south of Tours, Loire Valley. The white stones of the majestic Artigny Castle, the dream Belle Epoque castle of Francois Coty, the famous perfumer, may be seen from a distance as they rise above the Indre Valley. Twenty-five hectares of park containing a French garden, marble statues, woodwork and "trompe l'oeil" painting.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Tennis court
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
1,085Review9Q+A54Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 505
  • 300
  • 161
  • 76
  • 43
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
drjandthemissus wrote a review Apr 12
Dubai767 contributions344 helpful votes
Faded glory. Once upon a time this place was probably amazing. Today, only the front façade is beautiful. Take a walk around the building - both inside and out and you'll see that it is in need of numerous repairs. The carpets in the room and around the building are thread bare. Literally with holes, the curtains, too. Everything needs to be replaced. The service was not at all five-star. When we arrived at 1 am the gentleman working the reception seemed to be confused as to who we were and whether we had a reservation. The place is not big, I can't imagine he was waiting for numerous guests to check in that late/early. During check-in there was no mention of needing to make reservations for dining at the chateau. The next morning at breakfast we were greeting and welcomed to the chateau but, again, no mention of needing to make a reservation for lunch or dinner. When we went to the restaurant to eat, we were told there was no room and that we'd need a reservation. But we could order room service which had two mains - a ham and cheese sandwich and a pesto pasta dish. We ate these for three meals in a row because the hotel could not accommodate us in the restaurant. It was shocking! There were numerous ways to avoid this but the hotel did none of them - reach out to us prior to arrival to secure our booking, ask when we checked in, add a table to the dining area for guests of the hotel, open up the additional, unused dining area, book another restaurant and transportation for us, etc. How is it that a hotel cannot accommodate its guests for the meals? No matter how you see it, telling a guest that they can order room service for three meals in a row because you cannot accommodate them is not five-star service. We were also incredibly disappointed in the bar. This is a hotel in the middle of the Loire Valley, how does this bar not have more selections for wine from the region? There were only 6-8 wines / sparkling to choose from. And we regularly had to chase down someone to help us in the bar. Again, hardly five-star service. We were booked into this hotel via a tour agency. Don't make the same mistake we did and just accept it. Ask your agency to find another place. And, finally, read through the other reviews of this hotel. Notice how the hotel responds to the negative reviews. That is a perfect indicator of the "five-star" service you'll receive.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay away
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sandra Robcis wrote a review Apr 11
Paris, France7 contributions1 helpful vote
Chateau d’Artigny has seen better days. It is beautiful but VERY run down. The only remarkable thing is the flower arrangements. The suite was at the limit of cleanliness and we were COLD! Only one radiator was working and we had to ask for an extra heater that turned off when we put the lights down. In our bathroom the hot water was just a fickle and in the adjacent room, the shower was clogged. We signaled it to the front desk and they did NOTHING. The front desk staff was always aloof and and claimed they were unaware of our demands. The hotel is in urgent need of a renovation.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Conseiller99 wrote a review Nov 2023
Roseland, New Jersey1378 contributions690 helpful votes
We were happy to return to Chateau D’Artigny, having stayed there several times over the years when visiting the Loire Valley. it retains its stately charm with the beautiful lobby, stairs, the green/gilded columned L’Origan restaurant, ,the Garden Bar, where we first enjoyed after-dinner cognacs from their nice collection years ago, and the elegant petit dejeuner room. We had a nice large room on the 2nd etage with a large bathroom with both tub and shower, and a nice view of the lawn/greenery from our large chateau window. It’s very convenient for visiting the various chateux, Chinon, Fontevraud Abbey, and wineries. The staff was welcoming; service excellent, and just a wonderful place to stay and feel like you’re in the Val du Loire.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Save
Helpful
Share
Response from Château D'Artigny, Propriétaire at Château d'Artigny & Spa
Responded Nov 20, 2023
Dear Mr Wayne, A heartfelt thank you for your wonderful feedback about your stay at Château D'Artigny! We're thrilled to learn that you enjoyed our majestic charm, elegant spaces, and the view from your room. Knowing that our location made your visits to the castles and vineyards more convenient, and that our team contributed to your enjoyment, fills us with joy. We look forward to welcoming you back to the splendor of the Loire Valley. Warm regards, Artigny's Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lise D wrote a review Oct 2023
Hong Kong, China4 contributions
Great location and facilites, comfy and stylish rooms. Very nice staff, very helpful Delicious breakfast (make sure you have an appetite as the buffet will tempt you : nice freshly scrambled eggs , gluten free and regular choices, sweet and savoury)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: The hotel can provide bikes (regular or electric). Swimming pool is nice size and they can...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Château D'Artigny, Propriétaire at Château d'Artigny & Spa
Responded Oct 25, 2023
Dear guests, We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Château d'Artigny. We are delighted that you have given us such good feedback and that you have appreciated the services made available to you. We share your satisfaction with all our teams. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back! All the best, Artigny's Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Flyer273534 wrote a review Aug 2023
4 contributions4 helpful votes
Unfriendly and quite aggressive staff ; overpriced & overate stay with used furniture; should be classified as max 3*; poor and superficial cleaning; bathrooms without airing systems ; However, good food (even overpriced) with French flavor…
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: To think twice before réserve
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Château D'Artigny, Propriétaire at Château d'Artigny & Spa
Responded Aug 26, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to write this comment, We are truly sorry to learn your stay was not what you were expecting. We are really confused about your feedback concerning the staff... We take note concerning your feeling about the cleaning but our housekeeping team do a hardwork to keep our establishment and rooms very clean... We are really sorry you didn't liked the ambiance and charm of our establishment... Truly yours,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sig79 wrote a review Jun 2023
Eugene, Oregon529 contributions376 helpful votes
This place is a fooler… it looks beautiful and shiny on the outside, but is dark and dingy on the inside. I stayed in “The Stables” section across from the main chateau, and let me tell you, I’m grateful that lovely horses don’t have to put up with the dilapidated conditions of their former quarters. A brief rundown: torn, soiled carpeting with gaping holes, peeling paint, plaster and wallpaper, puny water pressure, no sound insulation, no AC, no working TV or remote, no dependable WiFi or cellular service, hard-as-rocks foam pillows, closet doors hanging from broken hinges… and so forth. Bar service was non-existent as the sweet, but woefully inexperienced bartender didn’t know how to mix drinks and couldn’t discern one wine from the other. He eventually just disappeared when too overwhelmed with orders. The so-so breakfast was redeemed by a kind gentleman who worked hard to make his guests happy… something the hotel management should try to emulate. My tip? If your tour company substitutes this place on your itinerary (as mine did), consider it a significant downgrade, and reconsider your choice of tour companies.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: If your tour company suddenly substitutes this place, consider it the canary in the coal mine,...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Château D'Artigny, Propriétaire at Château d'Artigny & Spa
Responded Jun 26, 2023
Dear Sig79, Thank you for taking the time to describe your experience at Château d'Artigny. We are truly confused about your whole deception.... The room you are describing is located in our pavillion "La Cité des parfums" and nothing to compare to any "Stables". All of our rooms in "La Cité des Parfums" have AC, working TV, WIFI and we have very good coverage with the 3 main mobile phone operators in France. You didn't made the reservation by yourself but our customers can choose of course the room they book. In your case, you should have been informed by your tour company the category of room they booked for you. Our "So-so breakfast" is a big buffet with more than 25 fresh products and we don't understand why is so-so for you, you could make it more accurate so we can improve the service.... Like your advice concerning the management... We all do this job to make sure our customers enjoy their stay (is the basics from any Hotel). Anyway, we are really sorry to read our hotel was not what you were expecting, We will keep to work hard and give our best to improve every day our services. Truly yours,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
CathC wrote a review May 2023
Adelaide, Australia35 contributions13 helpful votes
+1
Beautifully appointed chateau with lovely forest and river views. Room was large and gorgeously appointed and the bathroom was a brilliant size. The dining areas were exquisite and the food lovely. Staff all very friendly and we managed to communicate even when their English speaking wasn’t so strong and our French limited. A great location to tour other areas of the Loire from. Parking was free. The only area of improvement we have is the water temperature was tepid. May have been us not understanding the heating and with language barriers it was a bit hard to navigate through. Overall we absolutely loved our stay and would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Château D'Artigny, Propriétaire at Château d'Artigny & Spa
Responded Sep 22, 2023
Dear CathC, Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion on this platform. We are delighted that you have given us such good feedback and that you have appreciated the services provided. We share your satisfaction with all our teams, who will continue to do their best to offer our customers a superb experience. We look forward to welcoming you soon at Château d'Artigny! Yours sincerely
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Carole T wrote a review May 2023
Melbourne, Australia3 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed for 10 days and here are some of the very negative experiences we had after staying in the castle. Firstly our toilet was broken on arrival The shower had virtually no pressure so having a shower was interesting Lastly and this was the most upsetting. After telling them that I was dairy free because of an intolerance that I have, they persisted with giving me cream products on my plate. When they did remove the cream they offered no alternative so the food was extremely bland. Other restaurants we visited, were very accomodating and went the extra mile to add flavour to the dishes served. This chateau was very disappointing
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Do not book for dinner if you have a good intolerance.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Bob R wrote a review Apr 2023
Spokane, Washington38 contributions2 helpful votes
We loved the accommodations, the service and the staff here. The restaurant was expensive but the we had a rental car and drove to Montbazon for most of our meals. We were staying here as part of a package for a tour up the Lois Valley and castle tours. It was close to Tours where we arrived by train and met up with our tour guide. Lovely history and country setting. It is not an older construction, built in the 1920s, but true to architecture of manors (castles) built in Age of Enlightenment and earlier.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: I honestly have no idea of the cost, as it was part of package we purchased. But I am guessing it...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
John G wrote a review Feb 2023
Cookham, United Kingdom123 contributions95 helpful votes
Everything is done with a smile and a genuine interest that guests are really well looked after. Sophisticated and well balanced cuisine served in a very elegant and well appointed salon and a first class buffet breakfast in a pleasant adjoining room. Our bedroom (3) was very nice with a great view over an old watermill. Just one negative here, the wc could do with some limescale remover. My wife and I would happily stay here again when we are in the area.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Montbazon area.
PRICE RANGE
$176 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
chateau d`artigny hotel montbazon, chateau d artigny montbazon
LOCATION
FranceCentre-Val de LoireIndre-et-LoireMontbazon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
56
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHATEAU D'ARTIGNY & SPA $192 ($̶2̶1̶8̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews - Montbazon, France - Loire Valley

Frequently Asked Questions about Château d'Artigny & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Château d'Artigny & Spa?
Nearby attractions include La Forteresse de Montbazon (1.4 miles), Domaine de Candé (1.1 miles), and Run Away (3.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Château d'Artigny & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Château d'Artigny & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Château d'Artigny & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Château d'Artigny & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include L'Évidence - Montbazon, Le Moulin Fleuri, and Les Saveurs Du Saint-honoré.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Château d'Artigny & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Château d'Artigny & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Château d'Artigny & Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Château d'Artigny & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Château d'Artigny & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Château d'Artigny & Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting La Forteresse de Montbazon (1.4 miles), Domaine de Candé (1.1 miles), and Eglise Saint Maurice 1 Place Saint Maurice (4.2 miles).