We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

AHG Waridi Beach Resort & Spa

Save
Share
Pwani Mchangani 2008 Tanzania
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
$177
View deal
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
View all 9 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (1929)
360
Panoramas (7)
Room & Suite (345)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Contactless check-in
Updated 07/01/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from AHG Waridi Beach Resort & Spa
Updated 07/01/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 7 Specialty lodging in Pwani Mchangani
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A charming and welcoming familiar resort which is situated on one of the most beautiful beaches of Zanzibar, where you can experience the island in the right balance between comfort and informality. The Waridi Beach Resort & Spa is located only 40 kilometers from the international airport and the city of Stone Town and it is located on the north-east coast, in Pwani Mchangani, in front of a wide beach of fine white sand that stretches between the sea and palm trees. Welcome to Waridi Beach Resort & Spa!
Read more
Property amenities
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Aerobics
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Free airport transportation
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Concierge
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Italian
1179Reviews137Q+A8Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 475
  • 502
  • 119
  • 56
  • 27
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Miss Marple wrote a review Aug 2021
5 contributions1 helpful vote
We were so looing forward to our stay in the hotel - it turned out to be very disappointing. First of all they wanted not to give us the room we booked. The staff was unfriendly. They always told us to come back in 10 minutes and then send us away again. The room was very old, so was the furniture. And it was dirty. There was Mould in the Bathroom. The "Gym" was dirty and most of the exercise equipment was broken. Worst thing: I cut my finger (which was my fault, not the hotels!) and when i asked for a band aid, they send someone who put cotton wool in the wound. I dont think its okay to let someone take care of a bleeding wound who is not a doctor! My doctor back home was shocked. And so am i that this place is supposed to be a 4 star hotel - thats ridiculous.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
naim l wrote a review Jul 2021
2 contributions
Not worth the 4 stars: *smelly rooms and very old furniture. *Hard matresses. Uncomfortable bed and low quality pillows.sheet and duvets are with stains. Very old. *Phone not available in the rooms. For any queries you have to go to the reception (unbelievable). * lezards in every place (we are ok due to the environment) but in the net of kids beds is not acceptable. *no trash bin in room/No tissues. Towels are smelly and old. *Issue in showers. Water is either cold or very hot. * Sellers and local vendors in front of the beach are harassing the residents and you don't feel safe. You just want to walk along the beach and you find 5 or six peoples fillowing you (other hotel are having their own security and not allowing sellers near by the hotel). *very poor wifi available only in reception area. *Juice are not fresh in a country like zanzibar. The positive things: Staff are very helpful and friendly specially redha in Spa and Zakia in restaurant. The covid center is nearby the hotel (200m walk). Food is acceptable. The hotel needs definitely a renovation.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Nothing near by. All inclusive formula is a must. Avoid the rooms in the main building
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from HGR Hotel AHG, Direttore generale at AHG Waridi Beach Resort & Spa
Responded Jul 26, 2021
Dear Naim I, thanks for sharing your short holiday break of 3 days with us. In our traveller community every guest can share his/her experience, telling us every details, but we would like to be sure that we did the best for manage every aspect that you didn't appreciate during your stay. If you have some personal issue with the room, you only have to ask and clarify it with the guest relation manager. About the meal plan booked for your stay, I want to remember that your All Inclusive formula includes the service at the glass. Bottle of water are served closed for guarantee the necessary safe guidelines and is not recycled. In addition, in each room our guest can find 2 bottle of water that as a courtesy service is always appreciated, less than you. The beer included in your All Inclusive services is local, being you in Zanzibar you should appreciate the local flavors. Anyway is something was not appreciated, you can ask to our guest relation manager for finding a solution. Exposing an issue to itself when there is always a solution helps you to better enjoy your holiday stay. We support and listen to all the requests of our guests. We really appreciate that our kindness and friendship, as well our food proposal has been appreciated. Hoping to get a future opportunity to welcoming again, being sure that we can achieve your full satisfaction The Guest Relation Office Waridi Beach Resort & SPA
Read more
Michał wrote a review Jan 2021
6 contributions
I recommend this hotel. There are good food and drinks, helpful workers, nice Beach and comfortable rooms. Every room has an air conditioning system, safe box and a fridge. The resort is well secured and provides animation programs every day.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from HGR Hotel AHG, Direttore generale at AHG Waridi Beach Resort & Spa
Responded Feb 1, 2021
Dear micha_kZ1942PB, thanks for sharing your positive experience with us! Hoping to welcome you again as our glad guest! Best Regards Guest Relation Office
Read more
IJLM wrote a review Jan 2020
Lisbon, Portugal1 contribution2 helpful votes
We stayed in this hotel during our summer hollidays in Zanzibar, 2019. Firstly, the moment we entered the room the receptionist had given us, we could feel a strong unpleasant musty smell in the air, like the room hadn't been opened in a long time. We went to the reception and complained about this - instead of changing us to another room, they said they would take care of it and just sprayed a fragrance product around. The bedroom furniture (hairs, tables and beds) is really old and the beds extremely unconfortable, with tiny matresses and dusty mosquito nets. They even creaked when you were sleeping. The walls were not thick enough to garantee privacy and you could hear other guests talking in their bedrooms and in the corridor when people were not even shouting. The toilet was as good as a high school one: everything was old and had an unhygienic appearance, especially the shower (I used slippers everytime I had a shower - really, it is exactly like the ones you see in High School gyms). The towels were small and worn out by the use and the soap smelled poorly. I shouldn't even mention the Wi-Fi, because the was no Wi-Fi! In the bedrooms you wouldn't get any sign and in the reception it was so weak that every guest was trying to get the least bad connection, resuting in a crowd of people in a little spot. The food was good, not delicious but acceptable. However, let me talk about the dining area: it was so badly lit that I had problemas seeing what I was eating. The chairs from the beach and the swimming pool were not acceptable for a 4 star hotel. In terms of positive points, I have to mention the nigh activities (they were really fun) and the staff members are generally kind (they organized lots of pool activities and games during the day). All in all, it was a once in a lifetime experience because I WILL NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Rooms
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from ahghotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at AHG Waridi Beach Resort & Spa
Responded Feb 5, 2020
Dear mtr00, Thank you for your review. We are happy that you appreciated our activities and the entertainment of our animation staff. Our aim is to offer the amusement and fun to the guest that are looking for it, but also to offer the tranquility and relax to the others. The summer in Zanzibar is the rainy season so the humidity is high. Therefore, in each rooms is available the air-conditioning with the dehumidifier in order ti mitigate it. Our staff is always available to find an alternative solution for our guests if the hotel is not fully booked. The bedroom’s furniture is typical of Zanzibar but if someone does not like the tiny matrasses, we are always available to change them or add another matrass. The comfort of our guests is very important for us. The walls are thick and none has never complained about the noise or the privacy. If you would have told it to our staff, they could take some actions. We provide in each room two types of towels for each guest accommodated, one shower towel and one hand towel. Our housekeeping cleans the rooms and the bathrooms every day, none has never complained about them. Our food proposal is based on the Mediterranean cuisine, therefore is always full of different dishes such as, pasta, meat fish and vegetarian proposals. The dining area is illuminated with soft lights to create the atmosphere and everyone can see the food, but if there are particular eye problems, we can switch all the lights on. You should only ask, because we help our guests as much as we can. The sunbeds are typical of Zanzibar, as all the resort is. They are handmade with wood and rope but to let our guests enjoy the maximum comfort we accommodate some little matrass on the. We would like to let our guest fell all the Swahili atmosphere. We take note, anyway, that some of our guest cannot be satisfied because we can improve and offer always a better service. At the same time, we advise every guest or traveler to be always well informed on the accommodation and services booked, in order to meet the expectations. Hoping to welcome you again as our glad guest! Best regards Guest Relation Office
Read more
Michael wrote a review Oct 2019
8 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
I travelled with my family and we stayed for 12 nights. The resort its self is a 4 star, although I must it was great. You will really get everything you want from an amazing holiday. It is really calm, not many people, so really good if you want to relax. The rooms are good, very clean (cleaned every day and you receive bottled water into a small fridge) with a good view from the balcony. The pool is really good, there are two showers too. The locals will try to sell stuff to you, if you do not want to talk to them, just ignore them and tell them you will talk to them later. Despite that, I recommend buying the trips from them, for example the trip to Mnemba island to see and snorkle with Dolphins or the Jozani forest (everything is around $ 20, and you can haggle). The best thing was the staff, me and my family really enjoyed their company, they were extremely smily and friendly. There are also two animator guys, who do a really good job, one of them did yoga, then there was volleyball and one of them also took us to the local village to see the school and kindergarten, which was unique experience. We could also borrow bikes for free. Every day, there is some kind of entertainment (live music, apperitives, maasai ritual). The food was also great, many things to choose from (fish, meat, vegetables, pasta, exotic fruit and dishes), everything is fresh and very tasty, the chef was amazing. Also no worries you would get diarrhea, the ice in the drinks is made out of bottled water. The only downside was that the wifi was not very fast, but that should not be the reason to not choose this resort (you could still send messages and do simple tasks). Overall I recommend this resort, it really had everything we had expected, great staff, great food, long white beach (althought I must say, you can find other better beaches, for example Paje or Nungwi, but this one was good too,)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from ahghotel, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at AHG Waridi Beach Resort & Spa
Responded Oct 28, 2019
Dear michaelhrdlicka, thank you for your very positive review and for sharing your experience with our community. We will tell your beautiful words to our staff. We are very happy that you have appreciated our rooms and our gastronomic proposal as well as our entertainment. Best regards Guest Relation Office
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$104 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
waridi beach hotel pwani mchangani, waridi beach resort and spa
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Waridi Beach Resort & Spa
LOCATION
TanzaniaZanzibar ArchipelagoZanzibar IslandPwani Mchangani
NUMBER OF ROOMS
62
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about AHG Waridi Beach Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to AHG Waridi Beach Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Matemwe Beach (2.7 miles), Bandas Live Music (2.3 miles), and Cannibal Party (1.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at AHG Waridi Beach Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at AHG Waridi Beach Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at AHG Waridi Beach Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to AHG Waridi Beach Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bin Jabir Restaurant, Furaha Local Restaurant, and Zanzibar Sunrise at Bandas Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at AHG Waridi Beach Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does AHG Waridi Beach Resort & Spa have an airport shuttle?
Yes, AHG Waridi Beach Resort & Spa offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at AHG Waridi Beach Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at AHG Waridi Beach Resort & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to AHG Waridi Beach Resort & Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Datch Excursions Zanzibar! (5.3 miles).
Does AHG Waridi Beach Resort & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.