We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Oak Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Oak Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 50: English reviews
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here back in mid-July for one night with brother and two friends on a walking trip. Nice choice of beers at the bar and a very pleasant and sympathetic update to a traditional pub, good ambience and not spoilt by loud music and fruit machines. I particularly liked the local railway pictures inside. Rooms stayed in were spacious, clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grahamf692016
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 26, 2016

I was attending a family gathering near Buckfastleigh and the Oak was the nearest hotel I could find. The place had recently been done up so the bedroom was fresh and clean. The breakfast was excellent and the people who ran it friendly. In the evening there were friendly locals at the bar and some very good beers. I could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChuckCo2016
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 19, 2016

Characterful pub in pleasant village not far from Plymouth and very easy to find. There was a nice friendly atmosphere in the bar which was enhanced by the absence of TV and piped music. Beer was very tasty and so was the food, which was good value. We had a one night stay, booked through TripAdvisor; our double en-suite room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Coyzone
Reviewed September 7, 2016 via mobile

I nipped into the Oak last night for a quick drink and a snack. I had a fantastic build your own burger . Just superb 10/10.but keep a look out for the man who ate my chips . A fantastic local run by a lovely family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichStarChef
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 4, 2016 via mobile

Fantastic family run hotel. Rooms are so well kept and you get more toiletries, tea making facilities than you would in a 5 star hotel. Eat in the pub as the food is amazing and great value. A hidden gem

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A C
Andrew D, Owner at The Oak Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review - good to see we are getting it right. Hopefully we will get the outside sorted soon - unfortunately this pub like the Forth Bridge and there is plenty needs doing inside first - the outside is a pretty major job too.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 30, 2016

We were really impressed with our room, we got the one with the four poster bed. Our hostess was brilliantly helpful and friendly. Breakfast was a real treat with loads of choice. Wifi was quite poor but I would definitely recommended The Oak Inn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annette M
Andrew D, Owner at The Oak Inn, responded to this review

Hi Annette Many thanks for taking your time to leave a review - glad you enjoyed your stay. With regard to wifi we have just recently changed over to fibre optic not realising our existing access points wouldn't be able to cope. We have such thick walls and are looking into improving the wifi but at the moment the expense...

Reviewed July 27, 2016 via mobile

Came here for a night with family, rooms were nice and very clean but very hot with all the lovely sunshine we had. Whenever I stay at a B&B in the countryside I get a bit excited about the breakfast, this was highly disappointing- overlooked poached egg, cheap sausage, tasteless bacon and cremated baked beans. No offer of tea/coffee refills...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Miss_sylv
Andrew D, Owner at The Oak Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - I would have liked to known whilst you were here about your problems so we could have done something about it . Everyone said they had a lovely stay so getting this review was rather surprising. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy breakfast - as I said above had we known...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed July 23, 2016

Stayed here recently and congratulated myself on my choice.The staff were great and friendly and the room comfortable and quiet.The food was simply superb and served in innovative ways.The bangers and mash you order by selecting choices are to die for..I have never enjoyed that dish so much.The chef really is extremely good and it shows in the food.Good ranges...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
United Kingdom
Reviewed January 28, 2016

Lovely local pub offering exceptional food, ales, lagers, and atmosphere. Highlights: - Sunday roasts - Specials - Wide selection of meat and fish mains - Quiz night and 'folk at the oak' - Easy parking (by the old train station) - Free wi-fi

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theBBSS
southampton
Reviewed November 29, 2015 via mobile

We went to this local pub for an evening meal. Lovely atmosphere - we stayed and did the pub quiz. I went for the sausage and mash menu which was perfect for a winters evening. Veggie sausage, horseradish mash and veggies with onion gravy. Really tasty. Love the sausage and mash selection - you choose your sausage , type of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alison_insouthampton
Andrew D, Owner at The Oak Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad your enjoyed your experience with us. We are a small run family pub with only a few staff, chosen for their friendliness, who end up being part of the family. We feel this gives us a relaxed and friendly environment for people to enjoy our home cooked food. We do not have any "ping" food here...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Brent
7.2 mi away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
199 reviews
6.1 mi away
Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Pack Horse
The Pack Horse
#4 of 7 in South Brent
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Garfield House - Your Place in the Country
0.9 mi away
Turtley Corn Mill
Turtley Corn Mill
#3 of 7 in South Brent
67 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 7 in South Brent
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Oak is a friendly, family run Inn at the heart of the Dartmoor village of South Brent. A complete refurbishment in 2008 now include a cozy bar, air conditioned restaurant, covered courtyard area, private function room and 5 luxury en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Oak Inn

Address: Station Road, South Brent, Dartmoor National Park TQ10 9BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > South Brent
Price Range: $84 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oak Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oak Inn South Brent, Devon, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Oak Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I had room 2 which was great”
 of 5 bubbles 478andrewg, Jul 23, 2016 | Read review
“There is a noisy extractor fan outside the fire escape so a room further away would be best; we were in 3 which was fine.”
 of 5 bubbles AngelaIreneBristol, Jul 9, 2015 | Read review
“I've stayed in Rooms 1 and 3 and to be honest the only real difference is room 1 has a larger bath and is a little more luxurious, but not a lot!! Exquisite!”
 of 5 bubbles 82damianh, Feb 26, 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms seem very nice, our friends were in room 1 which had four poster bed so that seemed lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles kirkgirl, Sep 28, 2014 | Read review
“all the rooms are fully refurbished so no difference from what I could make out.”
 of 5 bubbles bammers54, Sep 24, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay