We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Little Barugh, Malton YO17 6UY England
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (46)
Room & Suite (4)
Dining (3)

About

#8 of 14 Specialty lodging in Malton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Free parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Room features
Kitchenette
26Reviews0Q+A5Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 16
  • 7
  • 1
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Lee wrote a review Jul 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Place was dirty on arrival and the host is extremely unfriendly. Do not book here under any circumstances. Our whole holiday was ruined because of the general cleanliness of the premises. Would never visit here or recommend to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stainers Farm Holiday Cottages, Owner at Stainers Farm
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Lee, Thank you for your review. Given the poor experience you depict, it is unlikely you were a visitor to Stainers Farm. Publishing disparaging or derogatory statements is poor behaviour - I guess we should take your review with a pinch of salt. Kind regards
Read more
Pathfinder595577 wrote a review Jul 2021
12 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
BEWARE - sadly we had to leave two nights early - as we advised the owners (who couldn’t even be bothered to respond to our complaint) : - The cottage is not clean. There were some minor issues we were prepared to let go like filthy glasses at the beginning but the longer we are here the more we realise this place has not been cleaned for sometime and is dusty and dirty throughout. One of our party suffers with asthma and has had a really bad time with the dust. This is alarming given COVID cleanliness requirements and that cleanliness should be a basic expectation. - The shower is hopeless. It's not fit for purpose because there is insufficient water/power/lack of direction from the shower head. It's also not clean. I took the first shower and the floor was slimy. - Two of use are suffering from a really bad case of diarrhoea, which may relate to the water source and or possibly the cleanliness - The mattresses need to be replaced. All of them. The beds are so uncomfortable - none of us have slept - the mattresses are old, springy, and not fit for purpose. The cot type beds are impossible to sleep on esp for a tall person. We are all so desperate for our own beds we have to leave. It's a real pity since we were excited when we arrived, the grounds, garden and cottage exterior is stunning. The inside could be amazing. What a pity our holiday has been ruined.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Stainers Farm Holiday Cottages, Owner at Stainers Farm
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Pathfinder595577, Thank you for your review although we cannot give this any credibility given the extent of false disparaging and derogatory comments. It almost seems as though you have mistaken our cottage for another property. The photographs provided reflect the disgraceful state you left the cottage upon your departure. Unfortunately myself and the booking portal were unable to offer you a „refund“ for your fraudulent claim. Stainers Farm wishes you all the best on future travels. Kind regards
Read more
PreservedKillick wrote a review Jul 2019
Durham, United Kingdom62 contributions23 helpful votes
Beautifully converted buildings in a charmingly remote location. Very friendly & helpful owners, reasonable price for the quality of accommodation. We stayed in the larger property, which was luxuriously furnished, very comfy beds, nice bathrooms. The outdoor space is beautiful - with horses & donkeys & genuine farm feel as well as the elegant garden areas. If we had been staying longer & filling all the beds, I would have wanted a bit more kitchen-ware, so if you are planning serious cooking, you might like to bring anything at all esoteric - but that is really nit-picking. We will definitely be heading back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Helpful
Share
chefie74656 wrote a review Apr 2019
Nottingham, United Kingdom65 contributions36 helpful votes
+1
Came up here end of March for 3 nights the farm is very easy to find. Very well laid out with 5 bedrooms 3 en-suite and a family bathroom as well. Nice log burner in the open plan living area and big table that seats 10. I found the kitchen very small for the size of the property but this is only a small niggle. We also found a lack of cleaning products in the property re: bin bags and dishwasher tablets. All in all a very nice place
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
JPren wrote a review Mar 2019
Bolton, United Kingdom24 contributions32 helpful votes
Stayed at Cherry Tree Barn for a long weekend in Feb 19. The barn is fantastic, plenty of space. Bedrooms were clean, most had en-suite. The living accommodation was open planned which was great for a family together. It was in a great location for flamingo land, Pickering and York, but also quiet. We got to feed the donkeys on the farm. The only complaint was the sofa which was uncomfortable, old and needs changing. We had a great week end and will return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireMalton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Stainers Farm
Which popular attractions are close to Stainers Farm?
Nearby attractions include Beck Isle Museum (3.2 miles), Eden Camp Modern History Theme Museum (4.7 miles), and St Peter's & St Paul's Church (3.3 miles).
Is parking available at Stainers Farm?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Stainers Farm?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brandysnap Bistro, Middleton Post Office Tea Parlour, and Namaste Bengal.
Are there any historical sites close to Stainers Farm?
Many travelers enjoy visiting All Saints Church (3.8 miles) and Old Chapel (3.8 miles).