We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fraoch Lodge

Visit hotel website
Traveler (35)
Room & Suite (3)
Dining (2)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Gold level
We invite guests in to our home, Fraoch Lodge, to use as if it were their own. You can sit in our lounge in front of the open fire, join us for meals (or cook your own); share stories of your adventures or play board games. We have chosen not to put a TV into the Lodge, but instead supply games and books. We also offer guiding services for walks and tours around our local area showcasing places which enhance your knowledge of our area; some of which you may well not have heard about. We have a single room and a triple room, but most of our rooms are twins. 2 Rooms have private bathroom facilities. Some rooms can be combined to offer as family accommodation areas. We hope to see you in the Highlands of Scotland shortly.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Airport Transportation
Babysitting
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
146Reviews
44Photos
3Q+A
16Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 90
  • 38
  • 5
  • 8
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We often visit the highlands to go mountain biking. We booked a 2 night stay at Fraoch Lodge in the middle of October and were excited to try the 'Burma Road' for the first time. We emailed the B&B 1 week prior to the stay and explained that we would be arriving around 9.30/10pm
Read more
Response from Rebecca F, Owner at Fraoch Lodge
Responded Nov 3, 2018
I am very sorry for your troubles. Unfortunately it seems that our house sitters were not manning the phones on our absence. We were away ourselves during the time of your stay and though I relayed your email to them, it seems they did not receive it or did not feel they needed to make any response. I have not received any further communication about the booking from either yourselves or Expedia, but that could well be because we are only just heading up the road ourselves. Until this moment I had no idea that you had not been able to take u your booking. I will check into all the details and do hope you will reconsider coming to stay once we are ourselves back in the area.
Read more
My partner and I stayed at this lodge in September 2018. We had been camping in Skye when weather forced us to find more suitable accommodation, the Fraoch lodge was a haven in the loveliest of settings. Well priced, the hosts offer a continental breakfast of home baked bread,
Read more
We stayed 8 days here for a walking/Wildlife and Whisky holiday with Scot Mountain Holidays,, run by our hosts. Our Guide was Andy who led us very well on 6 excellent walks including Cairngorm itself, he found quite a lot of wildlife for us including mountain hares, dotterels,
Read more
Response from Rebecca F, Owner at Fraoch Lodge
Responded Aug 16, 2018
Thank you kindly. We do hope you will consider returning again, if not the the Cairngorms, then on one of our other trips!
Read more
We had an absolutely lovely time at fraoch lodge and Andy, Rebecca and Gregor could not have been more welcoming. We ate very well - Rebecca took great care to accommodate our dietary requirements and produced two delicious evening meals. Breakfast was homemade porridge,
Read more
Response from Rebecca F, Owner at Fraoch Lodge
Responded Jul 23, 2018
Thank you. We do hope you'll be back in time, Perhaps with the kids next time if you can turn them into hikers too.
Read more
ATMOSPHERE Only Andy took notice of us. Unfortunately, this was not the case for Rebecca. It seemed to us that she was not really interested in her guests. This was very irritating and did not change during our 2-days stay. Not to mention that the atmosphere in the house was
Read more
Response from Rebecca F, Owner at Fraoch Lodge
Responded Jul 18, 2018
Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately we don't know when you stayed nor do we have a name to associate with the booking so it is difficult to address your personal issues. If you were uncomfortable during your stay, you could have said and we would have addressed your issues then and saved you the trouble of complaining online. We offer 4 types of cereal and porridge for breakfast along with 6 different types of preserve/spread for toast. The toast is all of home made fresh bread and sometimes supplemented with croissants or pancakes. Tea, coffee and orange juice are also supplied for breakfast. Fraoch Lodge is not a licensed premises but we can supply water endlessly.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementFraoch Lodge
Photo provided by managementFraoch Lodge
Some of our garden produce available for guests and used in our evening meals
Photo provided by managementFraoch Lodge
One of our bedrooms
I'm afraid that we don't have space for dogs within the main buildings. We have had guests bring dogs in the past, but only when they are happy for the dogs to stay in the car or to have a bed in one of our garden sheds or the drying room. I am sorry we can't be more helpful but if you would like to know of dog-friendly accommodation in the area please don't hesitate to contact us again.
0 votes
Hi JayJay, Thanks for the query. We do have 2 rooms with private bathrooms. These are a wee bit more expensive and we hope to have one more private bathroom facility provided by January 2016. If you book 2 standard rooms we can give you rooms next to each other which will share the bathroom. By January 2016 these will be the only rooms sharing that bathroom facility. There are no actual baths at Fraoch Lodge only shower facilities. We have extended WiFi throughout the property but we have chosen not to install TV here. There is a comfortable lounge, a large selection of traditional games and loads of books to share by the open fire. When are you planning to visit? It is not a busy time at the moment so you'd probably not have to share wash facilities with anyone other than your friends/family. Regards, Rebecca
0 votes
The bathrooms are shared, but there are several. Depending on where your rooms are, you may not be sharing with anyone else. I've stayed 3 times and have never had to queue for the bathroom.
0 votes
Show all answers
"En-suite bathroom has limited headspace to sink if you're tall."
"Ensuite twin room in the annex is nice."
"ask for an ensuite"
"the ground floor one behind the dining room"
"I found Fraoch Lodge from the SYHA website so was very pleasantly surprised to have a single room with a comfortable made-up bed."
PreviousNext
1234
PRICE RANGE
$55 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandAviemore and the CairngormsAviemoreBoat of Garten
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing