We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

644 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 622: English reviews
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We spent 3 nights here over the summer. Great setting of the hotel by the loch and a very pleasant stay with good food. The hotel was within easy reach of Oban and other destinations on the West Coast. We would definately go back

Helpful?
Thank Graeme W
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Comfortable hotel in beautiful setting overlooking Loch Melfort. Garden next to the hotel really interesting and well worth visiting(NationalTrust). The hotel's staff were friendly and helpful. We found the Main restaurant was very good with high quality dishes and timely service. Overall we really enjoyed our visit and will be returning!

Helpful?
Thank Catherine R
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We enjoyed a wonderful meal at Loch Melfort in their restaurant as a gift from our daughter. The menu was extensive and enjoyed with the most beautiful scenic view of any restaurant we have dined in. The staff were attentive to our needs without being around us all evening. Pre dinner drinks and after dinner coffee were taken in their... More 

Helpful?
Thank dja050
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We chose this hotel because it is dog-friendly and has lovely views across the sea loch. The main building has character but the Cedar wing annex is unattractive and needs upgrading. Our room in the Cedar wing was not very pleasant. The hotel seems to be largely dependent on coach parties staying overnight on tours. The restaurant has stunning views... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank John E
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks for writing a review and you will be pleased to hear that we are in the process of a project which will upgrade and change the façade of the Cedar Wing to modernise it's look. Drawings are still at architect stage, but we are well aware that the building has the look of a 1960s motel and have... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I hate to write negative reviews because I know how important these review are to small businesses, but this hotel is like an overpriced motel. We (5 of us and dog) stayed here for one night on our way from Glasgow to Mull. Thank God it was only one night. We paid around £300 for two rooms in the Cedar... More 

Helpful?
Thank caroline c
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, even one as disappointing to read as this. We realise that the Cedar Wing, which is an eco-friendly wooden building, is not to everyone's taste. But the pictures are very clear on the website as to what to expect and as you can read from the very many other positive... More 

Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The rooms were basic and in need of modernisation. It felt a bit tired. The staff were friendly and the food was good, but not excellent. The bistro felt functional, neither a cafe or restaurant feeling. Although the views and surroundings were absolutely beautiful, we thought the hotel was over-priced.

Helpful?
Thank WhitstableAnna
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks for writing a review and we are sorry you did not feel we offered good value for money, but we appreciate your comments. Kind regards Rachel and Calum More 

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our expectations for this hotel were of high hopes. The main focus of our disappointment was the quality of rooms. Drab best describes this. The view was wonderful and did alleviate somewhat the rooms. Plus point, the bathroom was clean. The bed appeared tired. The zed beds for the children require replacing. The rooms gave an impression that pets were... More 

Helpful?
Thank adnanusman20
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks for writing a review and sorry you found your stay disappointing. It is always worth booking rooms direct with us rather than through an intermediate site as we offer the best value for money when you book direct, including a full cooked breakfast. We have taken a note of the problem with the z beds and will inspect... More 

Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for two nights. The view from the room was fantastic, the bed clean and comfortable and the bathroom simple but clean. Shame the same could not be said of the actual bedroom...there were coffee splashes and thick dust along the skirting which had obviously not been cleaned for several months. There were loose staples poking out of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suzanne H
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are very sorry to read of all the problems you encountered during your stay. We have taken note of your comments for improvement and will discuss your wine issue with our supplier, Inverarity Morton, who help us choose and upgrade our wine list each year. We are a... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were a party of 9 on a road trip to Scotland and had pre-booked this place based on reviews here. Must admit, we were not disappointed at all. The location is great, staff was very friendly and helpful, and the food was quite nice. We stayed in 3 rooms on the ground floor and each of them had a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Romil M
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. We hope you can come back and stay again soon. Kind regards Rachel and Calum More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our party of five had a wonderful stay here recently. Our rooms were comfortable and well equipped and we enjoyed our meals. A pre-dinner drink in the lounge is a special experience (enjoy the warm log fire, cracking view over the bay, excellent selection of single malt whiskies) and dinner in the dining room is very good. We enjoyed our... More 

Helpful?
Thank 21C_Traveller
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. We hope you can come back and stay again soon. Kind regards Rachel and Calum More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

204 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (163)
Viewed
View from Room (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
3:57
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arduaine
18.3 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 stars 2,149 reviews
12.5 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
12.3 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
3.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
20.1 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 stars 587 reviews
16.9 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The finest location on the West coast of Scotland awaits visitors to experience this hotel and it's award-winning restaurant, the perfect place for a relaxing holiday or short break at any time of the year... as long as you can put up with the amazing views, the fantastic food, the log fire in the lounge and the selection of malt whiskys! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Arduaine, Arduaine PA34 4XG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Arduaine
Price Range: $141 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Melfort
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay