We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Barcaldine House Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barcaldine
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Barcaldine House Hotel
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 76: English reviews
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last month with my boy friend.Just love everything about this hotel. Staff, location, service, breakfast etc are second to none. . staffs are really kind and always ready to help. Classy rooms and interior. Im surely going to return Thanks

Helpful?
1 Thank nisha g
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We visited the are to enjoy Oban and trace family tree. The area is very scenic, the Hotel set back and quiet. The cottage is perfect for a small family having a double room, a twin and a lovely family bathroom. The cottage served us well, and the hotel staff made us very welcome.

Helpful?
4 Thank Trevor M
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Stayed there last Summer. Lovely memories. Excellent Cuisine, Rooms are nice and clean, bathrooms are ok for such an old building. Hard to get a cellular signal, which could be a plus if you are on vacation. Staff were extra nice to us and the children. For anyone looking for a good place to rest and eat, I would recommend... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank H_Bakr
edinburgh
Level Contributor
485 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

I made a booking several months ago to stay at this hotel towards the end of February 2012 and have been really looking forward to it. Unfortunately we were recently notified that the hotel has now gone into receivership.

Helpful?
4 Thank dee090
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Have just returned from an extremely disappointing New Year stay at Barcaldine House. Our room in the annexe was standard but certainly not the superior we had paid for. The meal for Hogmany took around 4 hours to serve and the food combinations were a little strange, lamb with trout! The food was very well executed although for an 8... More 

Helpful?
10 Thank Wendy S
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

A terrible experience and not recommended whatsoever. Staff made you feel very chlostrophobic and were constantly watching over you. Food was average. Power cut in hotel ruined plans for first day, which was not hotels fault but a complete lack of understanding and apology about the impact of this on a luxury stay was unwelcome. No attention to detail whatsoever... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank Valkyrie007
Barcaldine, Manager at Barcaldine House Hotel, responded to this review

In response to your review we must say that we are completely shocked to find that this is how you experienced your stay. The accusations made in the review are false and at no point reflect the truth of your stay with us. Yes, due to the weather we did have a power cut which lasted several hours, of which... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Stayed at Barcaldine House Hotel for one night whilst touring Scotland. Room was beautiful and had character which was refreshing and welcome - so often luxury hotel rooms can seem so sterile. Michael was a wonderful host - made us feel very welcome and at ease and although it was a quiet night in the restaurant we did not feel... More 

Helpful?
Thank ZSmythe
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

My friend and I just returned from an overnight stay which was truly fabulous. We particularly enjoyed the michelin star quality of food which for me was a first. Our only regret was that we had only booked in for the one night. We will be returning with more of our friends.

Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

My husband and I went for a much needed break and was really looking forward to this LUXERY HOTEL,(that is what the advert said).On arrival Michael took us to our room which was located on the top floor.The room was so small,the bathroom was shabby and to make a cup of tea we had to put the kettle on the... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank yorkwendy
Salford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

stayed here for 3 nights for our anniversary, everything was great! room was comfy, bathroom spacious, and of course the food we enjoyed very much. all the staff looked after us very well, a very high standard of service. thanks again Anita and Michael! (Hope the leg gets better soon...)

Helpful?
Thank sallycinnamn
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcaldine
0.0 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
0.0 mi away
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
0.0 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 stars 1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 stars 586 reviews
0.0 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 stars 2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly refurbished in January 2011, Barcaldine House is one of Scotland’s unique luxury hotels located near Oban and within easy access to spectacular mountains, beaches, lochs and glens as well as a range of superb activities in Argyll. With 11 bedrooms and an award winning restaurant with two AA Rosettes, using the best locally sourced Scottish cuisine - a true taste of Scotland. The 1709 country house hotel is surrounded by enchanting forests and secret gardens. Barcaldine has spacious public rooms with log fires, and is an exceptionally romantic stately home to relax, unwind and explore the west coast of Scotland. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barcaldine House Hotel

Address: Barcaldine PA37 1SG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Barcaldine
Price Range: $126 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcaldine House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Barcaldine House Hotel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing