We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401 Kenya
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
8 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$247
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/12/22
Hotels.com
$247
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/12/22
ZenHotels.com
$173
View deal
Travelocity$247
Priceline$239
Booking.com$247
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (4381)
Pool & Beach (1140)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 07/26/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Updated 07/26/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#10 of 40 hotels in Diani Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Located on the world famous Diani Beach. The resort comprises three luxurious properties – The Baobab, The Maridadi and Kole Kole, offering a unique selection of exquisite accommodation and facilities spread across the resort grounds. Guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide paramount comfort and luxury for all our clients. Guests may utilise leisure facilities across the resort including 3 swimming pools, dining areas and much more.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Archery
Babysitting
Secured parking
Free wifi in the business center
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Yoga classes
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Badminton
Diving
Snorkeling
Tennis court
Windsurfing
Aerobics
Darts
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Table tennis
Walking tours
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Tile / marble floor
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Lagoon View
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Italian and 1 more
3163Reviews178Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,976
  • 829
  • 229
  • 72
  • 58
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Norsta wrote a review Yesterday
Nairobi, Kenya22 contributions5 helpful votes
My daughter and I have stayed three times at the Baobab, both in Maridari and Kole Kole in different room categories. We had to re-book on two different occasions because of COVID lock downs, which was never a problem with the Baobab. This time we were in Kole Kole in a „suite“ which was basically a very spacious room with a very nice view of the ocean. The rooms, the grounds and all areas open to the public are very well kept and clean. The air conditioning in the room works well and efficiently and there is no problem with water pressure/volume in the bathroom. Almost all members of staff are very friendly and accommodating - the notable exceptions strangely were all at food stations at the buffets. We enjoyed staying at the Kole Kole pool were there is more „action“ and the high energy Jambo Team. The meals are mainly done buffet style but due to COVID without the possibility to take your own food. This means being served by members of staff and some notably either did not understand requests or ignored them with one gentleman taking the cake by being either ill and/or high and then arguing about what had been requested. The food choice and quality is solid but certainly no „culinary delights“, although there certainly is enough on offer to be able to eat all day. There is a small ice cream booth at Kole Kole and my daughter loved the ice cream. So why a 3-star-rating? Except the okay food, we had no wi-fi for the first three days of our stay and the resort shop ran out of cards to buy credit for one of the main Kenyan providers. On Mashujaa Day there was a special dinner which no one apparently was advised about so after finding the restaurant dark and locked (without info anywhere to be found and no one to ask) and stumbling through the dark through half of the resort, we hiked over an uneven lawn to unsuccessfully look for seating for us (2 people…) with three different waiters. After complaining at reception we were ultimately offered ordering „room service“ from one of the a-la-carte restaurants but here was nothing on the menu that a twelve-year-old picky eater would eat. So we did not have any dinner which could have easily been avoided with a little timely info. The bed was very hard (all three times we stayed) and we asked if something could be done about that. This request was promptly attended to but the added thin padding unfortunately did not really help. So you might not sleep well if you have hip or shoulder problems. At the end of our stay, we left 20 minutes late for the airport because our booked transfer was forgotten. So unfortunately light and shadow this time around but I am sure we will give the Baobab another go.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Elizabeth wrote a review Aug 2021
Nairobi, Kenya5 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favorite
I took a little “Mummy and me” vacation here in August 2021 which was simply beautiful. From the moment we arrived, the staff were friendly polite and helpful. The rooms are very clean and spacious and offer beautiful views of the Indian Ocean. The food is delicious and plentiful…we at a bit too much! We particularly enjoyed the morning “Water Aerobics” exercise session on the KoleKole pool, which offered a fun morning exercise routine for all willing to join in. I must commend the staff, who were extremely cheerful and friendly definitely one of the greatest assets in the hotel. Very well done Baobab, keep it up!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kennedy Uduny, Marketing at Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Responded Aug 16, 2021
Dear Guest, Warm greetings from the Baobab Beach Resort & Spa. Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of the resort following your stay. We are delighted to read that you have rated us highly due to the level of the services and experiences you were subjected to. The same will be shared with the whole team. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Stay Safe! Kind Regards, Kennedy Uduny Public Relations Executive marketing@baobab-beach-resort.com Tel: +254 725 777 025
Read more
Jaskirat S wrote a review Oct 25
1 contribution
I came here and just felt so funn while swimming their swimming pools are around 5 and on one side I like when 3 swimming pools are connecting with one another from up to down and their lunch and dinner facility is very nice and I also like the service of the polite waiters
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: The hotel is one of the best hotels according to my point of view
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
travel4love wrote a review Oct 20
Ruislip, United Kingdom939 contributions144 helpful votes
Overview The hotel is located in Diani and will take around 45 mins from the Likoni Ferry. Post ease of restrictions in Kenya the Ferry has got busier and queues are long even at off peak times so thew us off in terms of overall time it took us from Mombasa town to Baobab via Ferry. A family member flew directly from Nairobi to the Ukunda airstrip and with Baobab just 10 mins away , the flight option for visitors from Nairobi is very good as opposed to road via ferry. The welcome was somewhat mixed and security guard pointed us not to reception but some other area for check in. We showed him old elderly parents seated in the car and he then said go to main check in/reception. Reception area was blocked by a Pollmans bus hogging the entire path and seems the driver was in no rush despite the fact there were ample parking spaces nearby that he could have parked and loaded the luggage. Security is tight as you enter the main gates and car thoroughly checked which is very assuring. The staff and services provided by this hotel are excellent with such great attention to detail and customer service is good but owners need to seriously reinvest in upgrading rooms and renovate this huge hotel which seems to have been neglected despite the closure over the pandemic when the owners could have ploughed some of the previous years profit into renovations. Check in Drinks offered at check in and we were asked to provide passport/ID copies – took longer than we expected especially as we were locals and with elderly parents I would have assumed some hastening of the process. We were guided by the porter to the superior rooms, sadly it was just a long walk and the rooms were right at the edge of the Hotel. My father nearly fell and mother was struggling especially as path is not even and crazy paving which is completely unsuitable for disabled and elderly. Literally after reaching the room, the porter tells us we need to walk back the same route for lunch as only the diner near the reception was open and we had like 15 mins before lunch would close. Again no room service offered, no golf style buggy to transport my parents and we had to make them walk to the dining room and they were shattered after this experience. After lunch we were promised 2 wheelchairs to take parents back to the room but one wheelchair was malfunctioning and not available. The other one they brought had such wobbly front wheels that they nearly fell a couple of times when pushed by the hotel staff. We showed the email to the reception where we clearly indicated parents were elderly and these rooms were not suitable – even when the nearby dining room was opened that evening, the path to it was not suitable for them and very uneven. We were told no rooms were available and ones they showed us had a step into the bath which was again not suitable for our parents. It was until the next morning where we downgraded to smaller older rooms but at least the distance and path to the dining room was not so bad and so we had to pack and move after one night. Our Room The superior room had 2 double bed and although we paid for a 3rd person the extra bed was not already in the room and it is these key things that the hotel can improve on – guests may want to arrive and lie down and all beds should be available. There was a luggage storage, cupboards so it helped to put unpack everything. . There was a dressing table, chair and 2 glass bottles of water. No instructions where to find the bottle opener until we had to call the reception who advised it was near the dressing mirror. The was a patio door leading to the balcony and the balcony gave us partial pool view as well as had 2 chairs and a table – the balcony was a great addition to the room but patio doors had to be kept closed due to sheer number of baboons. There was a bedside table with bedside light. A mini fridge was available that we just turned off as did not need with all-inclusive anyway. The lighting was very poor and dull and definitely area of improvement. The room has a safe which was available at no extra cost and easy to use. The bathroom was huge and had 2 skinks and a shower but shower was not powerful. Adequate towels for use were provided with some toiletries. A hairdryer is provided for use in the room. The bathroom could do with a little upgrade and we hoped it was part of the refurbishment plans. When we moved rooms the next day, the double rooms were definitely not refurbished in a long time. Wobbly toilet seat, poor grouting and leaky flush. Phone in the room was not working so clearly not checked before by the staff. The room was cleaned daily but the timings were not consistent. Rooms were cleaned well and water bottles replaced. There is a drive for green and protecting the environment which is great and hence the use of glass water bottles as opposed to single use disposable. The AC worked well although in the superior room there was a leak and it was a huge hazard for my dad and I had to send a stern email with the photo of the leak to the hotel senior team before we finally had someone taking some action. Overall with many rooms having such beautiful views , there needs to be an urgent refurbishment programme to bring the rooms to international standards especially when we compare to our stay in Whitesands and Pride Inn North coast which we have stayed in the last 18 months. Meals: The range of choices at all meal times is good but very repetitive for vegetarians sadly. For breakfast there were some cereals , sliced bread, bread rolls, croissants, cake, and doughnuts. There are choices of eggs as well as several hot options like baked beans and roast potatoes. Porridge was available once and tea, juices provided at the table by waiters. Lunch contains a variety of small vegetarians as well as non-vegetarians and there was a soup option on the day and a salad bar. Dinner was similar as lunch with some grilled options, rice or potatoes. Desserts were many but not catered for allergies. Ice creams are non existent at lunch or dinner and available near the pool area at KSH 150 a scoop. Afternoon Tea This was served near the main reception area with sometimes mandazi, potato fritters as well as cakes were available with tea/coffee. Afternoon tea was between 5PM to 6:30PM. The Swimming Pool/Beach. There are 3 swimming pools across the 3 sections of the 3 hotels which are all in one common ground. The hotel is right at the sea front with beautiful views, good loungers and entertainment with drinks and snacks and easy access to a very clean uncluttered beach with many security guards around the hotel although these have been trimmed due to Covid. There is an indoor heated pool, rather small but a pool nevertheless and a jacuzzi and sauna room both separate for gents and ladies which is a real treat! The hotel does have several lifts hence easy access for the disabled people to access every floor. The steps partially have handle bars but only in certain areas. We walked from the town back to the hotel and it took us a good 1.5 hour with 2 kids under 11 but a lovely walk near the sea front. There are bus stops right outside the hotel and you can buy one way bus pass or a day travel paying cash to the driver so buses are plentiful and have good connections as well. The kids club The hotel has kids activities but saw little signs nor directions other than some games area like snooker and table tennis so huge improvement can be done by placing signs , having notice boards on what activities are available. Even the pool activities were not advertised and in the room there was practically zero literature. At check-in hardly much was explained other than meal times and tokens for towels. Gym and Spa Centre The Gym is located near the span centre. Great location with treadmills overlooking the sea and seems well equipped but not popularly used – could be down to Covid and update was less. Hotel could advertise some fitness classes as experienced in other hotels especially with so much ground available. The spa and wellness centre is great. The QR code never worked so impossible to find out facilities and prices and we had to go into the website. There is zero literature at the Spa reception, no print outs, no notice boards and I wonder how the hotel manager are missing out on enhancing the guest experience by little improvements that can be made. Location The location of this hotel is great but at the farthest end of the line of hotels in Ukunda. Location of the hotel is just 45 mins from the ferry and 10 mins from Ukunda airstrip. Just 10-15 mins drive and there are several restaurants, shops, supermarkets and even hospitals so really build up over the years. . Overall this hotel is on an excellent location and perhaps the largest in the Southcoast of Mombasa and staff do try their best to look after guests. The food is more than outstanding. There are clear signs that of wear and tear in rooms and the bathroom needs a re-grout/sealant at the edges which I am hoping is all included in the refurb. However I must mention that the management of this hotel can never do enough for you. Their attention to detail an the way the look after their guests makes one feel very much at home. Overall a great family hotel with even huge potential once rooms are refurbished and walking paths are widened and making it disable/elderly friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: sea view rooms a must!!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kennedy Uduny, Marketing at Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Guest, Warm, greetings from the Baobab Beach Resort & Spa. Thank you so much for sharing this very thorough review. It is only with the honest feedback from our guests that we are able to improve our service, and we really appreciate you taking the time to share such a detailed account of your stay. We sincerely regret that certain aspects of your stay did not live up to your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. Your feedback is valuable to us as we constantly look to improve our delivery and to always provide the guest with the best possible service. We as a hotel definitely have no intention of making any guests’ stay unpleasant and please rest assured that the points raised with regards to the disparity in service have already been addressed. We will always welcome feedback from our guests (whether it is positive or negative), as this is the best way for us to improve our service. We hope that, if ever you return to Diani and to our resort, you will find that these issues have been rectified and addressed. Safe travels. Kind Regards, Kennedy Uduny Public Relations Executive marketing@baobab-beach-resort.com Tel: +254 725 777 025
Read more
Esther wrote a review Oct 18
1 contribution
The hotel is very good. We were a large family group of 13 and we enjoyed our stay there. I have to mention a staff member by the name Hamadi who was very professional and went an extra mile to make sure we were comfortable. The swimming pools were amazing. I think the night entertainment could improve a little in terms of diversification, not doing similar shows every night. Overall, its a fantastic hotel and I will visit the hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Kennedy Uduny, Marketing at Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Guest, Warm greetings from the Baobab Beach Resort & Spa and we hope you are staying safe. We appreciate your candid and elaborate feedback on the resort. It is through such feedback that we get motivated to continue providing impeccable services to our esteemed guests. Thank you for sharing such incredibly kind comments about the friendly and personable service you received at our resort. At the Baobab, we believe that hospitality is about people and their talent for creating warm and memorable encounters. Please be assured that your kind comments and wonderful sentiments will be shared with the rest of the team - especially Hamadi. We have no doubt that they will be delighted to hear from you. Please be assured that we will share your entertainment feedback with the relevant department. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We hope that it is not too long until we are able to welcome you back Diani and back to our resort. Kind Regards, Kennedy Uduny Public Relations Executive marketing@baobab-beach-resort.com Tel: +254 725 777 025
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$198 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the baobab - baobab beach hotel ukunda, the baobab - baobab beach resort and spa, baobab beach hotel diani
LOCATION
KenyaCoast ProvinceUkundaDiani Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
323
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Baobab Beach Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Diani Beach (4.1 miles), Colobus Conservation (4.3 miles), and Kaya Kinondo Sacred Forest (4.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Baobab Beach Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Baobab Beach Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Baobab Beach Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Baobab Beach Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Baobab Beach Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Asha Bistro, Sails Beach Bar & Restaurant, and Tiki Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Baobab Beach Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Baobab Beach Resort & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Baobab Beach Resort & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Baobab Beach Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Baobab Beach Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Baobab Beach Resort & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Italian, and Swahili.