We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401 Kenya
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Tripadvisor$545
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com$545
Trip.com$545
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (964)
Pool & Beach (256)
Room & Suite (212)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#6 of 44 in Diani Beach
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.6
Value
4.3
Travelers' Choice
The Hotel is set amid 25 acres of indigenous forest fronted by 225 meters of Kenyas most unspoilt stretches of white sand and aquamarine sea. All rooms with en-suite bathroom, hairdryer, individual air condition. Minibar, Safe, Satelite TV, Telephone and Internet access, 24 hour room service.The restaurant offers a wide selection of international cuisine, pastas, pizzas & Japanese dishes.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Airport transportation
Spa
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Snorkeling
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Head massage
Massage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Great View
Languages Spoken
German
664Reviews27Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 470
  • 135
  • 30
  • 15
  • 14
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Theresa L wrote a review May 16
London, United Kingdom9 contributions6 helpful votes
Our stay at The Sands at Nomad was a very mixed experience - many things we liked about this place. But our heart sank as we were shown into our Family Ocean View suite. The suite was dark, with little natural light coming in, owing to the design of the building. Worst of all, there were no mosquito nets on the back doors or windows which face the sea, or any other means of allowing natural ventilation in whilst keeping unwanted creatures (inc monkeys) out. As a result, we were unable to bring in the lovely sea breeze at night and forced to use the air conditioning instead. This was very unpleasant to sleep in and no amount of adjusting made for a good night's sleep. As an 'eco resort', this was disappointing. On the plus side, the resort setting was lovely, surrounded by forest providing a home to the wonderful colobus monkeys, which we saw on several occasions. The resort website has a very impressive list of flora and fauna with fascinating information on each species. The staff were friendly and we loved joining in the bushbaby feeding each evening. Food was good although would have like to see more Kenyan dishes on the menu. Altogether, the resort was clean, safe, pleasant and well-run, but offering a more 'international' than Kenyan experience.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Anjni N wrote a review May 11
82 contributions13 helpful votes
Food : 5/5 amazing Food , fire wood pizzas Staff : 5/5 friendly staff Ambiance : 5/5 the restaurant have a nice view to the beach, which is calm and with turquoise water. With nice wind If you go during summer with high temperature . Must eat : Pizzas , Samosas
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
M&S Travels wrote a review May 6
Harrow, United Kingdom132 contributions62 helpful votes
We had ice cream here. The double chocolate and straciatella tasted good. The pistachio tasted too much of essence. The lady who served was considerate that we had a child and gave us a plastic bowl for the child. The location is good. The restaurant staff seemed uninformed and didn’t even know the price of water. A bit disappointed in this.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Lifeguard22 wrote a review Apr 2022
OLDHAM102 contributions58 helpful votes
+1
A boutique hotel with a relaxed and classy atmosphere. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable, approachable and happy to help with anything you may need. We are in the low season but that suites us. The hotel has few guests and so is delightfully quiet. The food is delicious, with menus to select from at each meal. The rooms are spotless with a boutique feel. Soaps and shampoo is supplied with everything being as sustainable as possible. Nelly, Hamedi and Fridah have given exceptional customer service, along with Stellah at the restaurant.  There are monkeys popping around through the day so ensure you keep your balcony doors shut. Bush babies are fed at 6.45pm each evening which is an absolute treat. A great place to relax with an ethos of being sustainable and eco friendly
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Keep balcony doors closed Bring bug spray Do the forest walk in the grounds
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Giulia Camurri, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad
Responded 1 week ago
Dear OLDHAM, Thank you so much for taking the time to post the review of your stay at The Sands at Nomad! We really appreciate all the nice comments about the room and the service. We are happy that you had a great time and appreciated your kind remarks about the staff. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us for your vacation in Diani, we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind Regards,
Read more
GogyHR wrote a review Apr 2022
Croatia78 contributions19 helpful votes
After another resort we were staying at got full and we wanted to extend, we inquired around Diani during our last evening, and settled on moving to the The Sands at Nomad the next day at a certain price given to us by the reception. However, when we called the next morning to confirm, the reception just gruffly said that we were "given wrong information" and wanted to charge us almost double than what we were quoted the previous night, in addition to it being higher than what's listed on their own website! Considering that the Sands is already a very expensive place and among the most expensive resorts in Diani, so it's not like any traveler wanting to stay there is looking to save money, that came across very poorly, like they were trying to capitalize on the fact that we had to stay somewhere and extort us. Even if it was a honest misunderstanding or something, there wasn't even one word of apology offered, just a gruff "pay a lot more or find somewhere else to stay" type of response. As a result, we spent our money somewhere else and are unlikely to consider The Sands on our next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Ceri G wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Visited the restaurant for a nice chill evening when the ever-talented Eddie Gray was playing. The food was fresh & hot, the staff were helpful & I felt very well taken care of by waitress Maya. She was assisted by her colleague Mercy. A visit to Diani isn't complete without stopping at this restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
David K wrote a review Mar 2022
Durham, United Kingdom28 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
The hotel is fantastic , the room we had overlooking the ocean was huge, facilities , food and service were second to none. and a special mention to Rally, he was awesome . So all in all not sure you can get much better. If it wasn't for the annoying beach boys ruining the peaceful beach vibe then I'd definitely be back to Diani and certainly this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Nikhil_Advani wrote a review Feb 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia501 contributions161 helpful votes
+1
Back here after a year and everything was amazing as always. Very friendly staff, great rooms, never felt like it was crowded even though all rooms were full, good food, and entertainment from the resident monkeys. Even small touches like being so generous with the drinking water in the room makes a huge difference. They were also very helpful with accommodating our check out request.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Sgmk wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Took me so long to write this review because of how bad of a taste the hotel left in my mouth.I’m a Kenyan lady and I chose the hotel for a quaint, solo travel. The service on the phone started out great as the hotel extended to me a deal which had expired a couple days prior. Getting to the hotel was also ok, however I realized upon entering the room that it was dark, stuffy, and very outdated. It felt like an eco lodge but not with eco-lodge prices. The lights in the room have to stay on the whole day otherwise the room is completely dark. There is such little light coming from the balcony windows. The room slippers were so worn out I could literally see someone else’s foot prints on them. While going to the swim and at the beach, I kindly asked an attendant for an extra towel because my hair was was wet and my one towel was already soaked. He got so angry and made a big deal about how he had to go take the towel from another room just to give it to me. I never forced him to get that towel in the first place!! He could’ve said no if it was that big a deal The worst part of this stay was later that night. I came back from the restaurant at around 8pm and was in the bathroom fully unclothed with my headphones on. As I was coming out of the bathroom (still fully unclothed), I meet face to face with a random male room attendant who had accessed my room. This was apparently for a turn down service of which I had never requested and was never informed about. Keeping in mind this was 8pm!!!! I felt so violated. Once he left the room I could barely process what was happening. I complained to the reception and they said that he entered the room because I didn’t respond to his initial knocks (I had headphones in). In which universe is it ok to enter a private room when not hearing a response at 8pm?! I complained to the staff and housekeeping but all they did was say that those are the housekeeping policies. I felt gaslighted because it felt like I was the one to blame for not hearing the knocks. I hated my stay after that moment and never felt safe in my room again. Would not recommend this place at all. I like the restaurant and beachfront but that’s about it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Lisa L wrote a review Jan 2022
Buena Vista, Colorado8 contributions2 helpful votes
Loved our stay at The Sands at Nomad. Staff was great and very attentive and helpful. The property was lovely. Great restaurant. Beautiful beach...and the water!!!!! Just gorgeous, Will be back on my next visit to Kenya. Lovely time!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$304 - $579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the sands at nomad hotel diani, sands at nomad diani, sands at nomad hotel diani
LOCATION
KenyaCoast ProvinceUkundaDiani Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Sands at Nomad
Which popular attractions are close to The Sands at Nomad?
Nearby attractions include Diani Beach (3.4 miles), Colobus Conservation (3.6 miles), and Kaya Kinondo Sacred Forest (4.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Sands at Nomad?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Sands at Nomad?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Sands at Nomad?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Sands at Nomad?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Sands at Nomad?
Conveniently located restaurants include Asha Bistro, Sails Beach Bar & Restaurant, and Tiki Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Sands at Nomad?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does The Sands at Nomad have airport transportation?
Yes, The Sands at Nomad offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Sands at Nomad?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Sands at Nomad have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.