We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sands at Nomad

Travelers' Choice award winner
Diani Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Sands at Nomad
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

343 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 188: English reviews
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The sands at Nomad represents African hospitality at it's best. As a Kenyan, I could never be more proud that the experience given to guest is the exact African representation of what I know. The staff was quite friendly. Chef Andre was amazing. The food was the best part of the hotel. Came on time and was well garnished. Octopus... More 

Helpful?
Thank MicheltheAdventurer
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this review

We are very honored by your so positive review! Thank you very much and we hope you will give us the pleasure of your visit again soon!! More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Here the Indian Ocean is a perfect mix of azure and tourquoise, and the sand talcum powder soft just one shade off white fondant icing--accessible just a hop skip or jump from the front door of each chalet or room. I don't think there was one meal we didn't manage to draw out at the relaxing Nomads beach bar and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Storm S
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review! We hope to welcome you back soon!! More 

Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016

Been there twice and love the place. I really love the wooden decor and the whole rustic ambience gives it such a chilled out vibe. the food on the other hand does justice to the place, abit pricey yet still affordable the portions are amazing especially the pizzas, however alot more to try then just that. will be back soon!!

Helpful?
Thank Ahmed Muhammad S
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this review

We are very happy to hear, that you have enjoyed!! Hope to see you back to try out more!! More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2016

I loved everything about this hotel from the booking arrangements, the hotel staff, the rooms, the amazing food, the view, the clean whitest of white beaches! I stayed in the stand alone cottages facing the beach this offered maximum privacy, comfort and luxury. I will be going back again and again!

Helpful?
1 Thank MissMarshaM
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review! Please make sure you stay with us again on your next visit in Diani!! More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2016 via mobile

Learned from a local friend about the beauty of the southern coast, and decided to just pack and check it out by myself during a weekend of my business trip. Later on it proved to be an unforgettable experience: unlike the near-by Mombassa, the diani beach is far less commercial. It offers a lot of calmness, Swahili surroundings, combination of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ai_YT
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review! In The Sands at Nomad everybody- couples, singles or families are welcome in this breathtaking environment! Hopefully we can soon welcome you back at this fantastic beach! More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2016

We had a lovely stay at the Sands at Nomad. The “standard” Forest View and Sea Breeze rooms did not seem to have a balcony so we decided to pay a little more and get the Ocean View room, with a veranda and directly on the beach and were not disappointed. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Froglita
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review! I am sorry to hear that our service team did not give you the full attention, which they normally are very happy to do so. I believe this happened exceptionally at the end of a long season- apologies for that and we nevertheless hope to welcome you back! More 

Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016

Well, it is a bit misleading... I didn't stay over. I was there for a day... But the service we received was great!!! The place looks and feels like the best break away ever!!! Why would you NOT want to go there?!? I was on a business trip in Mombasa for a week - we had a day off and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Willie G
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our resort! Our Beach bar and Restaurant is normally opened also for guests who are not hotel residents. Only the hotel area and the Rivas Fine dine restaurant are restricted for hotel guests! So we are looking forward to welcome you back- and hopefully you stay for a night or two?? More 

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2016

A small hotel on the coast of Diani Beech, fronting a beautifully clean stretch of fine white sand beach, extending in both directions as far as the eye can see to enjoy a morning jog or evening walk. With sea water the temperature of a bath stepping into the ocean is a real pleasure, with soft sand underfoot. Elsewhere on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Escape-overseas
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this review

Thank you for your review which is good to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. I apologize for the fact, that you have not received the information about our day room policy (if we have a vacant room) which comes at a extra cost. Hope to be able to welcome you back soon! More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016

Wonderful Staff the food is good not much variety though. the ambience is out of the world loved this place and will be going back for sure. it was my birthday weekend and they were kind enough to bake me a delish cake. Thank you Sands at Nomad.

Helpful?
Thank Angela H
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review! We are very happy that you have enjoyed your birthday in The Sands at Nomad! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2016

This is a mixed review. The restaurant we found to be superbt. Its not cheap, but the food is really excellent. We tried the "special" service in the cabin above the pool. The staff really went out of their way to make it a special birthday and I couldn't fault the food, service or the wine. Even the snacks from... More 

Helpful?
Thank martin p
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and we are happy that you have enjoyed our services. I am sorry to hear, that you had been disturbed by the child of your neighbors. I agree with you, that the Beach Cottages will provide absolute privacy and tranquility! Hope to welcome you back in our hotel soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

457 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (417)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (107)
Viewed
Room/Suite (74)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (128)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 32 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
4.4 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#7 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,188 reviews
1.6 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#5 of 32 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#4 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel is set amid 25 acres of indigenous forest fronted by 225 meters of Kenyas most unspoilt stretches of white sand and aquamarine sea. All rooms with en-suite bathroom, hairdryer, individual air condition. Minibar, Safe, Satelite TV, Telephone and Internet access, 24 hour room service.The restaurant offers a wide selection of international cuisine, pastas, pizzas & Japanese dishes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sands at Nomad

Address: Diani Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Price Range: $161 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sands at Nomad 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Sands at Nomad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands At Nomad Hotel Diani
Sands At Nomad Diani
Sands At Nomad Hotel Diani
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay