We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Sands at Nomad

Travelers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Sands at Nomad
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

369 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 209: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We spent four nights here, combining it with four at Ocean Village Club a few hundred metres away and a night at Shimba Hills Lodge. The two beach hotels are very different to each other, and therefore complement each other well. Our room - a family suite that we were upgraded to, was perfect, just a few metres from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alexis R
Kaltenkirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent a lovely weekend at the south coast, and it was relaxing and all the staff was pampering us, as much as they could...to make sure we are coming back...and believe me we will...see you soon Team.... The breakfast wow...lunch in the restaurant at the beach....nice...and in the evening...with the candles....mind blowing....like the wind....hahhah

Helpful?
Thank Tatjana0409
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We are very happy, that you have enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon! More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good reception. The family suite is very good. Was given great assistance with issues pertaining to infant feeding. Too bad there was no TV in the room but explanation provided was okay. Will revisit.

Helpful?
Thank tommwangikauki
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this review

Thank you for your psoitive review! Looking forward to welccome you back!! More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Incredibly nice hotel with great staff. The buffet breakfast is the best i've ever had. Cooked options like eggs Benedict not so good (served on a sweet muffin for some reason). Bar is incredible, pool is really nice and weirdly deep. Rooms are big and comfortable. Couldn't really complain.

Helpful?
Thank Tim B
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review! We are pleased, that you enjoyed your stay! More 

Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ok, here is the good: The location is amazing, Diani beach is one of the nicest places in the world. The facilities are set in this large mature garden. The food being served is out of this world, it is a mix of African, Italian and French flavours! To die for! Here the bad: Tourism is down in Kenya and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jon_France_Portugal
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am very pleased to hear, that you have enjoyed our restaurant services. We are currently employing over 120 members of staff for a maximum of 80 guests- I am sorry, that you had the feeling The Sands at Nomad is run down in many aspects. More details on that... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
608 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After 2 days work visit in the region it was time for a weekend at the Sands. Booked a beach cottage with full-board stay. I was not disappointed. The Sands feels very private _ i guess there are some 30 rooms in the hotel, but one hardly ever sees other customers - except in the restaurant. Staff are efficient and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hans L
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this review

We are very happy about your great review! Thank you and hope to see you back at Diani Beach soon!! More 

MV
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Although the drive and the ferry from Mombasa can be an interesting and colorful experience we flew into Ukunda airstrip. From there it is only a 5 minute drive to arrive in the unique boutique hotel. Once there the happy and friendly staff welcome you and walk you to your villa - watch out you might see a monkey on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aquarium23
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review! We hope to welcome you back soon! More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Resort is one of the best what we was visiting in the last few years. The location is favoules and like a dream. The food is very good and tasty. The staff makes the Vacation even better, because the are very friendly and helpful. We was feeling like a part of the Family. Thanks a lot to the Team,... More 

Helpful?
Thank erika b
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review! We hope to welcome you back soon!! More 

Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2016

Great location, beautiful beach and sand, 6km long, nearly empty, paradise, wow Hotel itself offers all kind of service, kind staff, very good kitchen and the best way to gain weight. Beach villas / Junior suites are comfortable and sufficient for a family of four.

Helpful?
Thank Simplexx
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for writing this positive review! We are very happy, that you have enjoyed your stay with us!! More 

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2016

We stayed three nights in this hotel. We had an amazing access to the beach area (just in front of our cottage) and private area to relax. What we liked the most in the hotel was a restaurant. Great food and nice service. Not that we needed TV in the room (with such views around), but our room was advertised... More 

Helpful?
Thank MazenaL
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review! We removed the TVs as from July this year and I appologies for any cross over wrong information about it! Hope to see you back !! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

483 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (443)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (114)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (75)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (134)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 32 in Diani Beach
349 reviews
1.6 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 32 in Diani Beach
905 reviews
4.4 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 32 in Diani Beach
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#10 of 32 in Diani Beach
179 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 32 in Diani Beach
445 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel is set amid 25 acres of indigenous forest fronted by 225 meters of Kenyas most unspoilt stretches of white sand and aquamarine sea. All rooms with en-suite bathroom, hairdryer, individual air condition. Minibar, Safe, Satelite TV, Telephone and Internet access, 24 hour room service.The restaurant offers a wide selection of international cuisine, pastas, pizzas & Japanese dishes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sands at Nomad

Address: Diani Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Price Range: $149 - $780 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sands at Nomad 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Jovago.com so you can book your The Sands at Nomad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands At Nomad Hotel Diani
Sands At Nomad Diani
Sands At Nomad Hotel Diani
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Sands at Nomad staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Sands at Nomad staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms are all good....let the team choose for you...”
 of 5 bubbles Tatjana0409, 1 week ago | Read review
“Rooms near the beach are good”
 of 5 bubbles tommwangikauki, 1 week ago | Read review
“Beach Family villas”
 of 5 bubbles Simplexx, Oct 17, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in front of the beach are the coolest.”
 of 5 bubbles blackjumak, Sep 21, 2016 | Read review
“only choose the ocean-side cottages! the view is unparalleled!”
 of 5 bubbles PatriciaB308, Sep 4, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay