We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

647 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 552: English reviews
Agra, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The good - staff are friendly. Very welcoming and helpful. They will go out of their way to help and accommodate. Rooms are well kept and air con works well plus wifi all round. The bad - hotel is run down not refurbished for a long time. The reception area smells of stagnation from the pond water that has not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Agra17
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

First time in South Coast! Always had family vacations in North Coast. From the moment we checked-in, I could tell this was going to be an enjoyable stay! The room was fantastic - the AC made a huge difference! The kitchen setup was meticulous and very creative. We extended our stay because the staff - all of them - were... More 

Helpful?
Thank CharlieWambua
DRBRS, C.E.O. at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am thrilled that we exceeded your expectations during your stay at our Resort. The fact that this was your first time ever in the South Coast! makes us feel really special to have made your holiday such a memorable one. Many thanks for your exciting and encouraging review about our Hotel. It is always our joy to... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

went for one week in august with family of six , from day one the service for a so called five star hotel was what you get in a local hotel , food lacked variety it was like stayed in a work camp. the hotel is run on min staff . this hotel is now a three star hotel.

Helpful?
Thank _hardevkalsi
Management response:

Dear Guest, Greetings from Diani Reef Beach Resort! At our resort, guest reviews are treated with utmost sincerity as it helps us understand the needs of our guests better and help us realise the areas that need our attention. It is our continued endeavour to provide the best of all services to our guests; however, we are disheartened to know... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited the facility with workmates to plan on logical frame work, staff retreat and team building. Got the best in term of space, quality of services, amenities , fun and much more for the value of money invested in this projection.

Helpful?
Thank emilywV2407NE
DRBRS, CEO at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your awesome review of our Resort. I am delighted that you enjoyed our services and that we were able to give you good value for your money during your staff retreat recently. It is always our greatest pleasure to satisfy our guests. We are grateful and look forward to being of service to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been to the hotel 3 times, once in 2000, 2005, 2015. This was the best hotel in Mombasa, 7 star hotel back in 2000 and 2005. When i went in 2015, i was very disappointed. the standards had dropped tremendously, it was very dusty, the sofas in the lounge area were torn and dirty, not taken care of... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank saagar s
DRBRS, CEO at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your honest review about our Resort. And yes many things have changed since 2000 when you first visited the then Diani Grand Reef and the last time of your visit in 2015. A lot has been done since your last visit in 2015. We have had numerous improvements of the general facility including Renovated rooms,... More 

Tofino, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice and friendly staff. Keen to maintain consistency. Food lacked variety, rooms a bit too warm. Food safety not at its best, possibility for cross contamination. One evening I was asked how my experience was. Upon advising, the next morning there was a lot more variety at the breakfast buffet-a good sign of improvement.

Helpful?
Thank Wanja M
DRBRS, CEO at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad that you found us to be nice, friendly and keen to maintain consistency in our services. What a shame that we did not meet your expectation on food variety until you told us of your experience.And of course like you noticed on the following day, variety was increased because... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I went on in 2014 and whet i remember it was the best experience of my life with the most greeting ,welcoming kind people. Good- lovely food and a great variety of food and drink. -Supplied with a mosquito net. -Wonderful people -Amazing beaches -Clean rooms -just the best holiday ever Bad- NOTHING! The best hotel in africa❤️

Helpful?
Thank Seb M
DRBRS, CEO at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is indeed a great pleasure to hear that we gave you the an experience of your life! Our customer satisfaction is our joy! and we are delighted that we made your holiday memorable. Thank you for rating us as the Best hotel in Africa. It will be of interest for you to know that we were rated... More 

Khartoum, Sudan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2016

Since 9 PM, loud music was playing from next door resort. At 12, I was awaken by ever increasing loudness. At 12:30 I called reception, and asked for legal action, or taking me out of the hotel and refunding the 'sleep'. Barnard promised police will be contacted, and to contact me. 10 minutes later, I went to reception, and was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dushan2015
DRBRS, CEO at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write about our Resort. we appreciate your comments and concerns. I am saddened by the experience you encountered on your last night at our Resort after a wonderful stay with us. It is true that that our neighboring hotel had a beach event and played loud music until late night. We... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2016 via mobile

It was one of our best holidays ever. We absolutly can recommend the Diani Reef Beach Resort for your next Africa visit. The whole area of the Hotel is just breathtaking. The guys working in the Hotel were absolutly lovely. The Beach, please note the hotel has its own beacharea, was just white, warm and soft and the water of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert F
DRBRS, CEO at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind words and positive feedback. I am thrilled by the fact that we met your expectations and that you are recommending us to other visitors. Our customer satisfaction is our happiness! welcome back! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2016 via mobile

it was a great experience at diani beach. the services were just awesome & great, just little bit of friendliness in customer relationship and the ratings will be out of this world. loved the environment

Helpful?
Thank Micah R
DRBRS, CEO at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is indeed awesome to hear that we met your expectation during your resent visit to our Resort. I promise you that you will notice a difference on our friendliness in customer relationship on your next visit. welcome back! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

557 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (496)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (107)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (112)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (159)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 885 reviews
1.6 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#7 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,224 reviews
1.3 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 32 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#6 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
0.0 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#16 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Price Range: $156 - $583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Jovago.com and Hotwire so you can book your Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diani Reef Beach Resort And Spa
Diani Reef Beach Hotel Ukunda
Diani Reef Grand Ukunda
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#15 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay