We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Papillon Lagoon Reef

Save
Share
Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401 Kenya
Lowest prices for your stay
Travelocity
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
$108
View deal
Expedia.com$114
Booking.com
Priceline$136
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1184)
Pool & Beach (293)
Room & Suite (158)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#11 of 40 hotels in Diani Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice

Finding an ideal charming hotel in Diani Beach does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Papillon Lagoon Reef, a nice option for travelers like you.

Papillon Lagoon Reef Hotel is a charming hotel offering air conditioning in the rooms, and it is easy to stay connected during your stay as internet access is offered to guests.

The hotel features a concierge, currency exchange, and baggage storage. Plus, guests can enjoy a pool and an on-site restaurant, which have made this a popular choice among travelers visiting Diani Beach.

While you’re here, be sure to check out The Spice Route, one of the Indian restaurants that can be found in Diani Beach, which is a short distance from Papillon Lagoon Reef.

Diani Beach is also home to Diani Beach Art Gallery, a popular art gallery that is not too far from Papillon Lagoon Reef.

Papillon Lagoon Reef looks forward to welcoming you on your visit to Diani Beach.

Read more
Property amenities
Internet
Pool
Restaurant
Diving
Game room
Airport transportation
Massage
Baggage storage
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Swimup bar
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Snorkeling
Darts
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Salon
Concierge
Currency exchange
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Safe
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Quiet
820Reviews95Q+A98Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 395
  • 299
  • 82
  • 25
  • 19
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
pawel_hbg wrote a review Sep 24
Sopot, Poland9238 contributions748 helpful votes
+1
Actually I wanted to give this hotel better rating. However last day has cancelled my warm efforts. We asked for early breakfast and waking us up in the morning. No alarm, no breakfast. That is not accetable. We got up so early - we could sleep longer before 2days way home. On the other hand people in reception were also very helpful. They fixed for us train tickets, some shuttle service, malaria kits from pharmacy. Animation team was very good, waiters, food as well. Room average. broken deposit box, broken door lock, broken toilet. Cleaning was too long, sometimes in the evening. However it was good. Swimming pool great. Mixed feelings. Some improvements and would be OK.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Irena N wrote a review Sep 17
2 contributions
Pleasant hotel with nice rooms and balconies. Very pretty garden with 2. biggest baobab in Kenya. There's a lot of monkeys in the garden and they can be quite playful (drink your drink, steal your food, try to get to your room) but it's all fun and harmless. Diani Beach is amazing with white sand and warm ocean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Amazing animation team does everthing so you can enjoy yourself. There's a beach volleyball, pool valleyball, some pool aerobic, ect. but still it's quiet and peaceful in the garden. Animation shows and disco are every night. Food is tasty and plenty, also for vegetarians. Eating areas are very nice and quaint. Overall it's not a luxurious hotel, but it's really nice, clean and relaxing place to spend time in Diani. We recommend it. 😊🏖️
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
SandyM wrote a review Sep 2
Syokimau, Kenya2 contributions1 helpful vote
Such a beautiful hotel. Super family friendly. The rooms/staffs were lovely. There’s activities every hour. THE FOOD 🤤🤤🤤 best I’ve ever had. Overall a pleasant stay in a quiet atmosphere surrounded by nature. We all loved it and enjoyed ourselves. I’d definitely go back without a doubt. I highly recommend! 💯🙌🏽
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Catri2016 wrote a review Aug 2021
Cluj-Napoca, Romania4 contributions
Our family had a great time at Papillon Lagoon Reef, the room was large, clean and very cool. The food was great, always a lot of options and tasty. All staff members were very help full. Special mention and congratulations for the Entertainment team, they are a real asset for the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Veronika wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
We book catamarane trip to sand island across the beach with Adam and Adam. We were alone on the island and when we came back we missed 80$ from our bags. So we immediately told them and I threaten to call police, they gave us money back. Don't ever book with them, glass boat might be better choice. Hotel has 5 star rewiev from me, there's nothing to complain about. Lovely staff, delicious food and overall great service.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Taplin, Agency / Consultant at Papillon Lagoon Reef
Responded Feb 12, 2021
Dear Nicolette 1004, Thank you for having chosen to stay at Papillon Lagoon Reef hotel and finding time to post a review of your holiday with us. We use our guests’ feedback to help improve the experience we offer our customers. We are pleased to read that Papillon has a 5 star review from you. You enjoyed the friendly service from our obliging staff, wholesome food and genuine hospitality. It is with regrets to note that you lost USD $80 in the hands of Adam and Adam who organized your Catamaran trip on the beach but glad you got back your money from them. Beaches in Kenya are public. You are best advised to ignore these intelligent and multilingual collection of vendors on the beach and book or buy from Tour Rep. Slightest acknowledgement or conversation with them can result in you being pestered and your enjoyment of the beautiful beach of Daini severely restricted. We have taken your comments positively in a manner to improve the experience our guests get. It is for this reason that we have reported the matter to Diani Tourist Police. Looking forward to welcome you again to sample the experience. Thanks and regards, Aloice Ang’ila Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$121 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
papillon lagoon reef diani, papillon lagoon reef hotel diani
LOCATION
KenyaCoast ProvinceUkundaDiani Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
119
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Papillon Lagoon Reef
Which popular attractions are close to Papillon Lagoon Reef?
Nearby attractions include Diani Beach (3.8 miles), Colobus Conservation (4.0 miles), and Kaya Kinondo Sacred Forest (4.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Papillon Lagoon Reef?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Papillon Lagoon Reef?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a poolside bar during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Papillon Lagoon Reef?
Conveniently located restaurants include Asha Bistro, Sails Beach Bar & Restaurant, and Tiki Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Papillon Lagoon Reef?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Papillon Lagoon Reef have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Papillon Lagoon Reef offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Papillon Lagoon Reef?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Papillon Lagoon Reef have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.