We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Papillon Lagoon Reef

Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401 Kenya
Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401 Kenya See on map
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Airport Transportation
3 Star accommodation
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
Air Conditioning
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Outdoor pool
Room Service
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free Internet
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
Price range
$97 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Papillon Lagoon Reef Diani
Papillon Lagoon Reef Hotel Diani
Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Nearby HotelsSee all 30 nearby hotels
Ocean Village Club
599 reviews
.08 miles away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
2,420 reviews
.28 miles away
The Sands at Nomad
532 reviews
.41 miles away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
242 reviews
.58 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 51 nearby restaurants
Tiki Bar
98 reviews
2.19 miles away
Java House - Diani
5 reviews
3.16 miles away
Sails Beach Bar & Restaurant
353 reviews
1.39 miles away
Nomad Restaurant
623 reviews
.50 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 79 nearby attractions
Diani Beach Art Gallery
10 reviews
2.71 miles away
Snake Park
15 reviews
3.65 miles away
Raydon Water Sports Limited
29 reviews
.22 miles away
Diving The Crab
70 reviews
.53 miles away
Reviews & more
85Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 326
  • 271
  • 70
  • 21
  • 18
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
I have just returned home from my 6th visit to the Papillon ( as usual, far heavier than when I arrived ) and have not got much to add to my other reviews. As usual ,the welcome from everybody was wonderful and sincere. The same perfect room and service. It was not only nice to s
Read more
Visited this place with my business associates from Sri Lanka over the weekends. I would love to highlight on few points about this place that made our stay memorable.

1. Best hospitality and professional staff.
I would rather say a well composed team of staffs from manage
Read more
All the staff were very friendly and happy to talk wanting to know how you were enjoying your stay and what you had been doing.

The swimming pool was very good. I love the way you could hang on to the edge but still be under the water.

There was a good selection of food availab
Read more
We arrived on 18 September after a very long flight. We were booked in for one night and then returning 3 days later for 6 days,
From the minute we entered the Hotel we were made to feel like we had come home, the welcome we received was second to non.
We were showed to our room
Read more
We visited for our wedding with 13 guests. We had various dietary needs including vegan and I cannot fault them at all. The Staff could not do enough for you. The pool is fantastic, the beach is beautiful ( you will get beach boys selling so pay one to keep them away if you want
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravelerPool & BeachRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play AreasBusiness Center & Event Rooms
bâtiment des chambres - vue sur le jardin
2de kamer ( seafront )
vue des chambres
Monkeys on the balcony
Our bedroom
Hi I've heard u can get a flight to the local airport from the main airport has any one done this and how much did it cost ,,what time does the bar open til on a night ,,and we want to do a safari is the travelling long ,thanks
Hi yes you can get a flight from Mombasa airport to the local airport Ukunda- (or from Nairobi to Ukunda) its not expensive and is about a ten min drive to Papillon Lagoon Reef hotel. The bar is open until midnight. There are So many different types of safari on offer in Kenya but if its just a taster you're after i've heard the one from the hotel is very good value n within easy reach(early start about 5am). Hope this helps
1 vote
Show all answers
Are the bedrooms en suite or are bathrooms shared? And are there any plans to extend the wifi to rooms?
All rooms are ensuite. I don't believe so. Wifi is pretty none existent outside of reception, and then poor. If you have urgent business to keep on top of, they would likely let you link up to their office internet. Although initially we all thought it a problem, actually having no wifi was a boon. We all actually talked. On reflection i wish all hotels restricted wifi. My advice would be to get a kenyan sim for your phone. Don't use roaming, unless you are seriously rich!
2 votes
Show all answers
Hello. Are there no beds on beach? Never? I would enjoy to lay down at the beach and not at the pool.
Dear Bianca Thanks for your enquiry. It is correct we do not have sun beds on the beach, at high tide most of the beach is covered by the sea and at other times guests had said they did not enjoy the constant attention they received from the beach vendors when sitting on the beach. For these reasons we do not put sun beds on the beach. We receive a lot of very nice feed back about our lush tropical gardens which are popular for sunbathing. There is plenty of space for you choose areas in the shade or out in the sunshine. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel soon. Kind regards Ian
1 vote
Show all answers
we are visiting in September along with 13 friends. Is it best to arrange excursions, in particular the Safari via my travel agent here, or when we get to the hotel? Im suspicious that the agent maybe taking a large chunk that we may avoid booking direct at the hotel
Hi Terry, if I were you I'd contact the hotel directly in advance. You could wait until you get there but they have a certain amount of availability, and if you leave it until you get there they may not be able to accommodate such a large group. The hotel are very helpful so should be able to help you book it. We did a 2 day (1 night) safari to Tsavo East and stayed in Ngutuni Safari Lodge (Papillon's sister hotel) and it was amazing! Would recommend...
1 vote
Show all answers
We are visiting the hotel in September - would anyone recommend upgrading the room or is it not worth it?
Hello, we also tried to upgrade the room , i don’t think it is not worth it because the garten room it is also nice and the upgrade price is about 270$ .
0 votes
Show all answers
"I cannot really comment on other rooms as I always have the same one."
"All rooms are fabulous"
"The rooms with garden view are dark and damp ask for sea view"
"You have to pay extra for beach front - ask for the second floor."
"Try and get a room in the last block before the sea front rooms, nice to be able to use your on loo when you need to."
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing