We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Southern Palms Beach Resort

Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Southern Palms Beach Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 850: English reviews
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Went there with family, a treat for my nieces and nephews. Couldn't have chosen a better place for both the young and the very old. All enjoyed the exquisite environment, the absolutely delicious food and the fresh and friendly service by the staff.

Helpful?
Thank Nargis K
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

beautiful hotel and a fantastic pool stretches right from the front of hotel to the beach Kenya is a brilliant place and a hotel like Southern Palms only shows you what brilliant hospitality really is. The hotel decor is ethnic Kenyan ,great staff

Helpful?
Thank lisilu69
Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

All these rates are based considering that we're in Kenya, so proportionally to the reality of the country :) We stayed at the Resort for three nights. These are our highlights and rates for them. Location, surroundings, landscape 6/10- The resort is located in Diani Beach, together with a lot of resorts aligned along the seaside, only 35 Km. from... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ignasi R
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

TL:DR - Resort is breaking down. Go somewhere else if you can. Full Board does not include drinks, and drinks will cost you an arm and a leg. The hotel rooms, especially the washrooms are very old. All the taps, handles and shower heads are covered in limescale, which leaves one with a feeling that the washrooms are constantly dirty.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Portedevie
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Portedevie, Thank you for choosing Southern Palms as your holiday destination and taking the time to post your feedback. We have noted all your concerns and are very sorry it was not up to your expectations. Our guests’ satisfaction is top priority and we are always flexible and willing to assist to ensure all guests enjoy a relaxing memorable... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The place is nice, diani is much nicer than mombasa and offers a more natural environment with lots of animals. However, this hotel is not the best place to go. It is an Indian themed hotel which is really nice. The overall service is not great, the waiters for some are great but for others, they are not qualified for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Max L
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Max, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your review of Southern Palms Beach Resort! We are sorry to hear that service of our staff did not meet your expectations. We have a daily briefing and ongoing training for our staff in all departments to ensure proper service to all our guests. During... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Excellent staff especially Fondo at the nyama choma side whose customer care skills are excellent, massage ladies should probably get a booth instead of standing by the pool side, good Internet speeds and clean rooms. TV in the rooms needs to be upgraded, great food variety and the pina colada is to die for. The beach Boys are a big... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jeff, Thank you so much for your very kind review of Southern Palms Beach Resort! We particularly liked the title you chose for your review and appreciate your very positive comments. Thank you for appreciating our great food variety, clean rooms and are glad to hear you enjoyed the pina colada. Our staff were also excited to hear that... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is brilliant and the staff the most polite and accommodating. Speak to Samson the Omlette Chef as he has an infectious laugh and will fill you with happiness And what can I say about Ruth, the reservations Manager - Always went out of her way to ensure we were comfortable. She was an absolute pleasure to meet Kenya... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hasnain D
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Hasnain, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property. A sincere and objective review like yours gives us necessary motivation to keep on doing what we are all here to do and that is; make our guests’ experience in Southern Palms Beach Resort one they can remember with a smile. Our entire staff are... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Unfortunately I got food poison on second day after having meal from Indian corner. Rooms are really old , like all hotel needs renovation, positive is clean water with waves, beach boys are really disturbing, no way go for a walk without been annoying by them. Hotel has plenty of swimming pools but they look nice on photos, in real... More 

Helpful?
Thank arcik14
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We realize that you stayed with us in September 2015. We wish you had time to address the concerns raised to the management during your stay enabling us to investigate and to rectify where possible. We have checked our records and have found no incident of food poisoning reported by any other guest... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The only amazing thing about this place is the swimming pools! Everything else is old and outdated. The food was average the rooms are in need of renovations and the beach front area needs to be updated, the wooden makuti umbrellas are outdated and ugly.

Helpful?
Thank emtee512p
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Emtee, Thank you for being our Guest and for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay in Southern Palms Beach Resort. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as we strive to improve with each and every stay. It’s great to hear that you loved the pools and note that you rated our food as average.... More 

Nairobi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel, facility, service, variety was more than Excellent.... (1) variety and quality of food: just wonderful. other than main restaurant, they have Italian, BBQ restaurants as well which are part of all inclusive package (2) Service/staff: excellent, very polite, quick and customer oriented (3) Maintenance and cleaning: Their maintenance of pool, rooms, walk way path, restaurant is great and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amin M
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Amin, It was a pleasure to host you and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay. Our entire team is humbled by your appreciative comments, we will be sure to thank them all. It’s always our wish for all guests staying with us to enjoy a fabulous and memorable time during their... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,327 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1301)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (328)
Viewed
Dining (163)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
View from Room (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (240)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
0:23
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (430)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diani Beach
2.8 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 869 reviews
2.9 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 32 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Swahili Beach Resort
Swahili Beach Resort
#11 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 456 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#4 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This dramatic hotel with its fantastic pools and beautiful beach is the perfect spot to relax after a safari… or simply visit to relax! The warm and very African feel of the hotel with comfortable rooms, well appointed bathrooms and selection of restaurants offers guests plenty of places to lounge in the sun and almost as many shady spots to enjoy a bit of a breeze and a good book. All rooms have quiet, split unit air conditioners, televisions, mini fridges and coffee and tea making facilities. There is a safe (chargeable) in each room and a business center located in the main building with internet or wifi access in public areas. The drama of the huge, traditional makuti (thatched) roof in the main restaurant offers the Chef a terrific showcase for a varied selection of local and international dishes on the buffet or you could indulge at one of the a la carte restaurants (chargeable) for a special occasion or just a quiet evening for two. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Southern Palms Beach Resort

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Price Range: $108 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Palms Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, HRS, Cancelon, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Southern Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Palms Beach Hotel Diani
Southern Palms Beach Diani
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay