We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401 Kenya
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Only 2 left at
$114
View deal
Booking.com
$120
View deal
FindHotel
$108
View deal
Hotels.com$113
Travelocity$113
Priceline$120
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (131)
Room & Suite (86)
Dining (14)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 04/28/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Blue Marlin Beach Hotel
Updated 04/28/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#27 of 44 hotels in Diani Beach
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.2
Value
4.2
Blue Marlin is a small family run hotel. Set in the most beautiful part of Diani Beach, Blue Marlin is perfect for anyone looking to relax in a quietly arranged beach setting. Perched on a small hill overlooking the Indian Ocean and pristine white beach, the hotel is surrounded by lush greenery. These provide an idyllic backdrop for long daytime lunches and fine dining in the evening breeze. The spacious rooms designed in minimalistic coastal Swahili style, air conditioned and with large terraces provide an exclusive ocean view through the flourishing crowns of the palm trees .
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Beach
Canoeing
Airport transportation
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Diving
Snorkeling
Fishing
Massage
24-hour security
Mosquito net
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Swahili
123Reviews0Q+A19Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 49
  • 36
  • 19
  • 5
  • 14
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ofer G wrote a review Jul 2022
Nairobi, Kenya11 contributions2 helpful votes
Good fresh food, amazing Seaview, good breaze, service very efficient. Very welcoming people. Ate prawns and Lobster, all were very fresh and very tasty. Ice cream can be improved but beside that very good value for money. In total amazing
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Nina P wrote a review Feb 2022
Kranj, Slovenia114 contributions19 helpful votes
If you want to stay at the hotel where chef of the kitchen, who prepares your food and is related to owners, kills baby cats with stick, beating poor thing to death, where poor baby cat has no room to escape, screaming in pain and blood, and his killer dog barking hours at cat mother calling her dying baby, you are at right place. When I tried to stop him hitting this small, injured, helpless animal, he felt in trans, completely crazy, with excuse that he tried to scare it away. I feel sorry for the staff, extremely genuine an warm they have to put up with owners, and wish them all the best. But wouldn’t stay here again if they were the last hotel in the world. Wouldn’t take any of words they are saying for granted, monsters for me.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid this place.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from plamen kt, Owner at Blue Marlin Beach Hotel
Responded Feb 22, 2022
We are shocked and disgusted to read this absolute lies. Is not only that this is not true, but being accidentally witness of what is happening, we explained you that we were saving the kitten from attack of our dog. It is not fair to change the story in such a brutal way, specially when something is happening between pets. BTW, the kitten has already grown up and we will call it 243ninap, just to remember that animals sometimes are better creatures than us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kate K wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution3 helpful votes
We booked a room more than a month ago, when arriving past the official check in time the room was not ready and without even apologizing they made us wait for more than an hour. After this time, they made us pay upfront for the agreed superior room without the chance to see the room. When entering the room, we realized this is not the room we booked and they charged us for the superior room. The staff was super unhelpful, just said our booked room is taken, the manager of the place was super rude and didn’t help us sort the situation out, saying it is not possible to get a refund for the room we didn’t get. Unfortunately would not recommend anyone coming to this place as all the staff does not know the basics concept of service and communication with the customers. 1/10
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Blue Marlin, Owner at Blue Marlin Beach Hotel
Responded Dec 21, 2021
Thank you for reviewing us and we are really sorry that you couldn't stay at our hotel. Yes, you had a non-confirmed booking for a superior room. That day the only room available was the beach suite and you were upgraded to it. Yes, It took a bit longer its preparation, but we do not compromise on hygiene. As soon as you notified our front desk that you do not want to stay in the beach suite your payment was reversed. Nevertheless, we will be happy to host you another time..
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Breville wrote a review Jul 2021
Bangkok, Thailand41 contributions40 helpful votes
Nice location on the beach. Staff all friendly and have been trained well. No variety for breakfast (same everyday with limited options to choose from). Big room which was nice. All in all I’d probably stay again
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
fityrrell wrote a review May 2021
6 contributions
+1
Blue Marlin Beach Hotel is great. It's right on Diani beach. The hotel is clean, has a nice pool, lounging area, restuarant is on the beach, has great food & the staff are friendly & helpful too. Everything else is just a tuk tuk ride away. We loved our stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
SurferJoe47 wrote a review Mar 2021
Nairobi, Kenya8 contributions6 helpful votes
Just had dinner at Blue Marlin....well tried to have a nice dinner. When chefs won’t at least discuss feedback with a customer you know why the restaurant is almost empty when the Salty Squid next door is booked out. Don’t have the lobster soup is all I can say. The calamari and fish and chips are nice but we won’t be back due to the restaurant not understanding that when a customer sends back a meal 99% uneaten you need to find out why. Very poor show I will say that the service staff are lovely I actually felt sorry for them having to deal with a customer who is not happy through no fault of their own.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Brighton M wrote a review Jan 2021
2 contributions
Stayed for a week in early January. Excellent service from Stanislava and her team. Very attentive and responsive to the needs of guests. Fantastic location with the beachfront view, not to mention it's only a 10 minute drive to the airport. Will definitely return!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
vnieks wrote a review Dec 2020
Nairobi, Kenya21 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed 5 nights in a family room and a double room. Positives: I liked the rooms, minimalistic done in a local style. Comfortable beds, clean fresh sheets and towels. The aircons worked well. We slept well and the rooms were good. The hotel is on the most beautiful beach and sun beds are well placed to enjoy. The open restaurant is also right on the beach with stunning sun rises. The hotel is next to Kenyaways, which offers kitesurfing and watersport equipment for rent. Long beach walks are easy and a couple of restaurants can be found along the beach. The hotel pool is well kept although at the back of the resort, gives good alternative for see swimming. Hotel staff were helpful and friendly. Negatives: The grounds and buildings are quite neglected although it seems that some renovations are ongoing. Lots more needed. The food aspects left a "sour taste". Hotel management seem to not realise what important role their restaurant/food plays in this hotel: the gate and reception has signs telling you that no external food/drinks are allowed and this is specifically pointed out to guests on checking-in. This would be ok if the alternatives are good, but the restaurant is a real disappointment and the included-meals should be avoided if possible, especially breakfast. No coffee are provided in the rooms and the restaurant only offers coffee from 8am, for early risers this does not work. Some of the meals at the restaurant were really good, but the restaurant staff and the chef seem to be in a battle and some of the simplest requests we put forward were not accommodated. The restaurant vibe is not inviting, it lacks decor and maybe some music. We could not identify any restaurant manager, interaction was only with waiters, who are not well trained. Although it was easiest to eat at the on site restaurant and we tried it a number of times we just looked for other places to eat after a while.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Ingrid de Graaf wrote a review Mar 2020
Grou, The Netherlands41 contributions11 helpful votes
We were not hotelguests, but we came here everyday to enjoy the breeze and of course the great food. The staff is ever so nice. The owner and his wife very friendly the manager a nice guy.The price of the food is compared to Europe cheap. And our compliments to the chef because he is very good. The wine is great,not like the "vinegar" you get elsewhere f.i. at one of the most praised places at the beach where the food is expensive and not at all tasty) Our waitress Diana (bright eyes we call her) knows exactly what we like. So resuming: GREAT PLACE
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Michela wrote a review Feb 2020
5 contributions
I spent more than a week at blue marlin and had a wonderful experience. The place is gorgeous and perfectly located. The rooms are clean and have everything you need, with a beautiful sea view. The staff and the owner are super nice and always available. The food is really tasty (only down side is that they could have more vegetarian options). This place is the perfect combination between a cozy hotel and a big resort. Cherry on top: it’s right next to a kite surfing school with a cute beach cafe, if you feel like a different meal. Look no more, blue marlin is exactly the beach retreat you’re looking for!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$116 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
KenyaCoast ProvinceUkundaDiani Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Blue Marlin Beach Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Blue Marlin Beach Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Kaya Kinondo Sacred Forest (3.2 miles), Snake Park (4.6 miles), and Diani P.A.G Church (4.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Blue Marlin Beach Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Blue Marlin Beach Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Blue Marlin Beach Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Blue Marlin Beach Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Blue Marlin Beach Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Asha Bistro, Sails Beach Bar & Restaurant, and Tiki Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Blue Marlin Beach Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Does Blue Marlin Beach Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Blue Marlin Beach Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Blue Marlin Beach Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Russian, and Swahili.
Does Blue Marlin Beach Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.