We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Marlin Beach Hotel

Save
Share
Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401 Kenya
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (110)
Room & Suite (85)
Dining (14)

About

#24 of 35 hotels in Diani Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Blue Marlin is a small family run hotel. Set in the most beautiful part of Diani Beach, Blue Marlin is perfect for anyone looking to relax in a quietly arranged beach setting. Perched on a small hill overlooking the Indian Ocean and pristine white beach, the hotel is surrounded by lush greenery. These provide an idyllic backdrop for long daytime lunches and fine dining in the evening breeze. The spacious rooms designed in minimalistic coastal Swahili style, air conditioned and with large terraces provide an exclusive ocean view through the flourishing crowns of the palm trees .
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Canoeing
Airport transportation
Massage
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Diving
Snorkeling
Fishing
Mosquito net
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Swahili
113Reviews0Q+A18Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 44
  • 35
  • 18
  • 4
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Brighton M wrote a review Jan 17
1 contribution
Stayed for a week in early January. Excellent service from Stanislava and her team. Very attentive and responsive to the needs of guests. Fantastic location with the beachfront view, not to mention it's only a 10 minute drive to the airport. Will definitely return!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
vnieks wrote a review Dec 2020
Nairobi, Kenya19 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed 5 nights in a family room and a double room. Positives: I liked the rooms, minimalistic done in a local style. Comfortable beds, clean fresh sheets and towels. The aircons worked well. We slept well and the rooms were good. The hotel is on the most beautiful beach and sun beds are well placed to enjoy. The open restaurant is also right on the beach with stunning sun rises. The hotel is next to Kenyaways, which offers kitesurfing and watersport equipment for rent. Long beach walks are easy and a couple of restaurants can be found along the beach. The hotel pool is well kept although at the back of the resort, gives good alternative for see swimming. Hotel staff were helpful and friendly. Negatives: The grounds and buildings are quite neglected although it seems that some renovations are ongoing. Lots more needed. The food aspects left a "sour taste". Hotel management seem to not realise what important role their restaurant/food plays in this hotel: the gate and reception has signs telling you that no external food/drinks are allowed and this is specifically pointed out to guests on checking-in. This would be ok if the alternatives are good, but the restaurant is a real disappointment and the included-meals should be avoided if possible, especially breakfast. No coffee are provided in the rooms and the restaurant only offers coffee from 8am, for early risers this does not work. Some of the meals at the restaurant were really good, but the restaurant staff and the chef seem to be in a battle and some of the simplest requests we put forward were not accommodated. The restaurant vibe is not inviting, it lacks decor and maybe some music. We could not identify any restaurant manager, interaction was only with waiters, who are not well trained. Although it was easiest to eat at the on site restaurant and we tried it a number of times we just looked for other places to eat after a while.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Ingrid de Graaf wrote a review Mar 2020
Grou, Nederland41 contributions8 helpful votes
We were not hotelguests, but we came here everyday to enjoy the breeze and of course the great food. The staff is ever so nice. The owner and his wife very friendly the manager a nice guy.The price of the food is compared to Europe cheap. And our compliments to the chef because he is very good. The wine is great,not like the "vinegar" you get elsewhere f.i. at one of the most praised places at the beach where the food is expensive and not at all tasty) Our waitress Diana (bright eyes we call her) knows exactly what we like. So resuming: GREAT PLACE
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Michela wrote a review Feb 2020
5 contributions
I spent more than a week at blue marlin and had a wonderful experience. The place is gorgeous and perfectly located. The rooms are clean and have everything you need, with a beautiful sea view. The staff and the owner are super nice and always available. The food is really tasty (only down side is that they could have more vegetarian options). This place is the perfect combination between a cozy hotel and a big resort. Cherry on top: it’s right next to a kite surfing school with a cute beach cafe, if you feel like a different meal. Look no more, blue marlin is exactly the beach retreat you’re looking for!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Camilla H wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We stayed one night (luckily not more) at this place. It started off with the taxi driver picking us at the airport being 30 min late. Arriving at the hotel we found it quite chabby. The so called nice balcony had two chairs tucked in a corner and was everything but cozy. The toilet was leaking and the AC dripping and not going below 27 degrees. Overall disappointing. The really bad thing though happened at dinner. We were informed when ordering that they were out of avocados and fish. However in the end got some decent tasting food. Then we ordered a glass of cognac and drank it with pleasure for a little while until realizing it was ants in the glass. Response to this was what really blew us off. No apology but being told the glass was clean when it left the bar. In other words simply not their problem. Took the drink off the bill but nothing else. No manager available to talk to. The morning after upon checking out we got the honor to meet the manager. Might be the rudest person in hospitality ever encountered. She simply explained that it happens that you happen to consume ants and since there were no ants in the food she couldn’t see why our bill should be reduced. She went on and said it happens that taxi drivers get delayed for different reasons. She said they had been fully booked for some time and no one said anything about the AC or had other complaints. To conclude turning all complaints around and denying all responsibility for it will never be a winner. Just a shift in attitude and a small offer and it all would have been ok. Now they just came out as a place that would rip their customers off at any price.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Blue M, Manager at Blue Marlin Beach Hotel
Responded Feb 1, 2020
Ants do not drink cognac. People do. Ants do not refuse to pay their bills. People do. No need to be monkey to like the trees. You have to be human to love them.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$105 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
KenyaCoast ProvinceUkundaDiani Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Blue Marlin Beach Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Blue Marlin Beach Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Kaya Kinondo Sacred Forest (3.2 miles), Diani Beach Art Gallery (4.0 miles), and Snake Park (4.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Blue Marlin Beach Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Blue Marlin Beach Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a mosquito net.
What food & drink options are available at Blue Marlin Beach Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Blue Marlin Beach Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Blue Marlin Beach Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sails Beach Bar & Restaurant, Tiki Bar, and Nomad Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Blue Marlin Beach Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Blue Marlin Beach Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Blue Marlin Beach Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Blue Marlin Beach Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Russian, and Swahili.
Does Blue Marlin Beach Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.