We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
14 KFI Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400 Kenya
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
$47
View deal
Hotels.com
$43
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/16/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline$47
Agoda.com$47
Travelocity$43
View all 10 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (146)
Pool & Beach (39)
Room & Suite (37)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#4 of 97 Specialty lodging in Diani Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice

Book at dianibackpackers.com/booking to qualify for free accommodation.

More stylish and security conscious than the average backpackers, Diani Backpackers has dorms and privates in a lovely house. Come to party at the 24-hour bar and pool, chill out in the lush garden, or catch up on sleep in the baobab dorm, where beds wrap around the trunk of a tree. There's a volleyball court, great daily menu and lockers. Turn right after KFI supermarket.

Must be at least 18 years old

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Canoeing
Airport transportation
Massage
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Diving
Game room
Hiking
Snorkeling
Windsurfing
Billiards
Darts
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Nightclub / DJ
Car hire
Taxi service
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Swahili
366Reviews11Q+A57Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 289
  • 43
  • 16
  • 10
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Shaye T wrote a review Sep 8
1 contribution
Really cool hostile, great atmosphere, the dorm rooms were really nice and big, lots of space to store things. Food and bar was really amazing. Staff were super helpful. Spa and pool is a nice touch. Little far from main town so haver to take a tuk tuk to and from which is 200-500KES.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Justin Welch, General Manager at Diani Backpackers
Responded 2 days ago
Hi Shay, Thanks for leaving your 5 star review and your feedback! We're glad you had such a nice time. Regards, The Diani Backpackers Team P.S. The tuktuks were definitely over-charging you :( It shouldn't cost more than 300 to go anywhere in Diani (including to Kongo River and/or Ukunda).
Read more
Sanare wrote a review Aug 2021
4 contributions
Fantastic stay, and I enjoyed every minute being there! Great vibes, friendly staff, delicious food, and very close to the beach. Wish I had booked a longer stay, and will definitely be visiting again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Justin Welch, General Manager at Diani Backpackers
Responded Aug 9, 2021
Hi Sanare, Thank you so much for your lovely feedback! We're so happy you had such fun. Stay safe, and we hope to welcome you again soon. Regards, The Diani Backpackers Team
Read more
Елизавета Г wrote a review Jul 2021
10 contributions6 helpful votes
very cool place, delicious and cheap food, cocktails, comfortable beds, the best staff 💜 I would give 10 stars, the price of a penny and the quality is on top. this is a real hotel 😍 you feel at home with such cool people 💜
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Justin Welch, General Manager at Diani Backpackers
Responded Jul 30, 2021
Hi, Thank you so much for your lovely feedback! We're so happy you felt right at home with us. That's exactly what we want. Stay safe, and we hope to see you again soon. The Diani Backpackers Team
Read more
Lisa M wrote a review Jul 2021
3 contributions
I was sleeping in the room for 6 which is very small. The bathroom was really not clean at all, with cold water. We were 6 friends in the room and we couldn't have the keys to close the door. During one night, there was a party in the hostel and many people from outside came into our room. It was very unsafe and every weekends phones are stolen in the room. Its not normal that we cannot even close the door during day and night. The price per night is not expensive but they make a lot of profit with food, breakfast that is not included, even bottles of water. I dont recommand this place. But it can be good for partying.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Justin Welch, General Manager at Diani Backpackers
Responded Jul 30, 2021
Hi, Thanks for leaving your feedback. We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay so much. We're very sorry you didn't receive a key during your stay. That's not the normal protocol when groups book entire dorms, as you should have received a key. We do however refute your comment that every weekend phones are stolen in the rooms. That is absolutely false! We have 24/7 security personal at Backpackers. We also have CCTV and lock boxes for valuables. Thanks for pointing out that we have cheap accommodation rates. Because of this, and the free Wifi and other amenities we offer, we do have to charge for other things like meals and drinks. As a business we are subject to very high taxes, VAT, Catering levy, licenses and permits. We can assure you that we do not made "a lot of profit" with the food. In fact we pretty much break even on the food we sell, once you deduct all the taxes, cooking gas, salaries, and cost of goods. We do not own Villa Allena, and our rent is very high. We provide our wonderful team with health care and social security benefits as well. If you are ever back in Diani I would be more than happy to talk in length about the economics of our business and you'll see we do what we do out of passion, and not for " lots of profit". We wish you safe travels, and you are welcome back anytime. Justin, on behalf of the Diani Backpackers Team
Read more
Sharon T wrote a review Jul 2021
Nairobi, Kenya5 contributions1 helpful vote
Had traveled to Diani from Nairobi to celebrate my partner on his birthday, a friend we were with recommended that we step out of our hotel, Baobab, and go check out Diani Backpackers. We get there, sat at the counter and we were having a grand time, minding our business. All over sudden a Caucasian lady comes with a bouncer and waiter to say we have stolen her phone. The exact words used by the white guy she was with is ….. “ black people do not have an iPhone culture” so of course how can we own iPhones… extremely condescending!! Three of us own iPhones so we got them out and asked what they were, does it mean we can only own them through theft!!!!!!! Needless to say, we were thrown out of the establishment like dogs, then they proceeded to search our bags. I have marks on my body from this. Extremely dehumanizing and to make it worse, this happened to me IN MY OWN COUNTRY Such a disgrace
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Avoid this place
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Justin Welch, General Manager at Diani Backpackers
Responded Jul 30, 2021
Hi Connector, We do not accept or agree with what you say. We completely deny that we are racist, or that we enable or promote racism. Anyone and everyone is welcome at Backpackers, and we work day in and day out to provide a happy place for travelers. Unfortunately, what you say about a phone being taken near the bar on this evening is true. However, together with our security team, CCTV footage, and working with the police we were able to recover the phone the next day, and return it to its owner. We want to be clear that this was an almost unheard of event in Backpackers history. As the police were called in, and given the CCTV footage of that evening, they have cleared us and our security team of any wrong doing. No one, from our team touched you, or your friends. The photos you have posted to our tripadvisor have nothing to do with us, and we find it slanderous to accuse us of this. That being said, we wish you safe travels, The Diani Backpackers Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$33 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
South Coast Backpackers
LOCATION
KenyaCoast ProvinceUkundaDiani Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
56
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Diani Backpackers
Which popular attractions are close to Diani Backpackers?
Nearby attractions include Diani Beach (4.5 miles), Colobus Conservation (4.8 miles), and Kaya Kinondo Sacred Forest (3.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Diani Backpackers?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Diani Backpackers?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Diani Backpackers?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Diani Backpackers?
Conveniently located restaurants include Asha Bistro, Sails Beach Bar & Restaurant, and Tiki Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Diani Backpackers?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Diani Backpackers have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Diani Backpackers offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Diani Backpackers?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Diani Backpackers?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Swahili.