We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Horse and Jockey

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 62: English reviews
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

the welcome was amazing, the service and food was some of the best we have had, we could not believe the price for high end quality food, we had stuffed pork from the specials it tasted wonderful, the sticky toffee pudding was huge but equally as tasty as was the home made ice cream. Thank you for a lovely evening,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lornarobertson08
Wantage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great food, great service and reasonable prices. We have had takeaway pizza from here on a number of occasions and finally decided to eat in for a change. The staff were very friendly and service was prompt. Thoroughly enjoyed our meal there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank P_Gorell
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had lunch here on a Sunday. The food was very good with a varied choice of dishes - really enjoyed the seafood chowder. Desserts very nice as well. Service was great, very friendly staff. Would definitely return!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hf2015719
Reviewed January 1, 2017 via mobile

The first time I'd been since the restoration.... it has been beautifully done. I had the fish pie which was delicious. but could have been warmer. Service was friendly and attentive but the room was chilly. I would definitely go again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy W
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 31, 2016

well this was the second time to the horse and jockey for a family meal have to say quite disappointed . I had the soup of the day which was allegedly cheese and white onion the cheese was so over bearing I could taste nothing else. some the main meals were only just luke warm, I personally believe the meals...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lester m
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 15, 2016

Lovely country pub with open fire and flagstone floor charm in abundance. Menu is varied and good value, I have eaten here many times and meals are freshly prepared and of excellent quality. Friendly and welcoming with excellent service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cjsd2016
Reviewed November 10, 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night here.Nicely decorated. Room was warmish. Bathroom freezing in cold weather. Food is hit and miss. Not the warmest of atmosphere. Located in a convenient location. Refurbished nicely after it had succumbed to a major fire it sadly misses the historical character it once had.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
TheHorseandJockey, Owner at Horse and Jockey, responded to this review

I'm so sorry you were disappointed with your stay, we have heaters in all of the bathrooms, we would really encourage our guests to raise any issues at the time so we can quickly fix them.

Reviewed November 6, 2016 via mobile

A normal Saturday for us out and eating locally, unfortunately this is starting to become a bit of a struggle. This has been led by a decline in some local favourites changing hands or just seeming to have given up. But very pleasantly satisfied with the Horse and Jockey well I say satisfied but we were surprised by the cuisine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brett B
Reviewed October 18, 2016 via mobile

We dropped in and had a great dinner, staff were courteous and the food excellent and prices reasonable. Clean spacious tables. Food came in a reasonable time given I ordered the steak. It wasn't too busy but on a Monday evening what do you expect.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kelvin F
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 19, 2016

On arrival at just before 10pm, I asked if I could have a cheese sandwich as I realised it was too late to get a meal, and was quickly told the kitchens were closed. After travelling all day, I didn't need to hear this. However, the waitress came out the kitchen, all smiles, yes I could have a cheese sandwich....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G P
TheHorseandJockey, Owner at Horse and Jockey, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed about breakfast. We understood you had booked on a room only basis, if this is not the case please contact us directly. None of our mattresses are more than 2 years old and all have mattress toppers, so we're at a loss to understand why you did not find it comfortable, this is...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanford in the Vale
3.2 mi away
Sudbury House
Sudbury House
#1 of 4 in Faringdon
289 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#3 of 4 in Faringdon
125 reviews
3.5 mi away
Old Crown Coaching Inn
Old Crown Coaching Inn
#2 of 4 in Faringdon
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Star Inn
Star Inn
#1 of 2 in Wantage
153 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#4 of 6 in Faringdon
22 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Fox and Hounds
The Fox and Hounds
#1 of 3 in Uffington
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Horse and Jockey

Address: 25 Faringdon Road, Stanford in the Vale, Faringdon SN7 8NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Faringdon > Stanford in the Vale
Price Range: $74 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Horse and Jockey 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Horse and Jockey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Horse and Jockey staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Check whether you can have breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles 272gp, Sep 19, 2016 | Read review
“There are only 3 rooms which are outside the pub, all very clean and cosy.”
 of 5 bubbles susan_hN3965AS, Oct 27, 2015 | Read review
“we thought it may be noisy whilst pub open but we were wrong it was quiet all the rooms were at the back in a small converted period building”
 of 5 bubbles 60Daisy47, Jul 1, 2013 | Read review
“Book earlt is the tip with the Horse & Jockey as they only have a very small number of rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles colin_gregory, Dec 15, 2012 | Read review
“Do try the amazing home-made icecreams.... the diet can start tomorrow!”
 of 5 bubbles cotswold017, Oct 11, 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question