We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Happy Apple Backpackers

500 High Street, Motueka 7120, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Happy Apple Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 39: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for just one night as we were just passing through. Staff were very accommodating and left a key out for us with some clear instructions to get inside due to our late check in. Very helpful. Everything was clean. No complaints! Happy travels!

Helpful?
Thank blakejr80
Janet G, Owner at Happy Apple Backpackers, responded to this review

Pleased your stay was pleasant, thanks for the feedback and best wishes with future travels. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2016

Stayed there for one month. Appart from the showers the hostel is clean. When i sayted there the Spa was not working and the owners did not seem to care about it. All in all that was my impression of the whole hostel: Not really caring! The Wii, that is advertised on there website did not work. WIFI was free... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
Janet G, Owner at Happy Apple Backpackers, responded to this review

Our staff work hard to maintain a clean, happy and safe hostel, sorry to hear your long stay was so miserable. Naturally there is a fluctuation in WIFI speed, depending on loading but generally its around 10.5 download and 0.8 upload, its a respectable result and most guests seem satisfied, in fact many are very pleased. Clearly our priority is... More 

Travelers are raving about these Motueka hotels

Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2016

We chose to stay in Motueka instead of Nelson, as it is closer to Abel Tasman, and we were going to spend most of our time in the National Park. Happy Apple is a hostel about 30 minutes away from the parking areas at Abel Tasman. The rate was right, but you get what you pay for. The bed and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rob H
Janet G, Owner at Happy Apple Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing us and sorry about the hard bed and pillow, we've just purchased more new pillows and are gradually replacing old mattresses with inner sprung, there are not many of the old foam ones left so you were unlucky, our apologies. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay here and hope you enjoyed exploring Abel Tasman. More 

England
Level Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2016 via mobile

Clean double room with TV. Very friendly guy checking us in and chatting each day remembering what you said you were doing. Great social areas. Spa pool, lots of outdoor seating and clean, large kitchen. Bathrooms were kept clean. Would go back.

Helpful?
Thank culz
Janet G, Owner at Happy Apple Backpackers, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay at Happy Apple and thank you for taking the time to send a review. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2016 via mobile

A lovely place a little out of Motueka. Big and tidy kitchen. We stayed in dorms which were great. The room were also tidy and the beds were comfortable. We didn't have a car but we could borrow some bikes when we wanted to go to town, really nice.

Helpful?
Thank Katrineschmidtm
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015 via mobile

Following a comfortable stay I have just been informed by my booking agency that i have been charged $20 for a late check-out when the room was checked out before 10am as requested. As I was waiting to be picked up for a skydive I sat on a chair and waited for half hour. I do not see this as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thom K
Janet G, Owner at Happy Apple Backpackers, responded to this review

Our policy is very clear, latest check out is 10am and there is a charge of $10pp for using the facilities after this time. This guest requested a late check out because they said they had washing on the clothes line and they wished to wait for it to dry. There was no mention of a sky dive. They eventually... More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015

This was one of the most fun backpackers to stay at, met the most lovely and talented bunch of people. The couple looking after the place is friendly and warm as long as you don't make noise at night ! I can't say the bathrooms were at their hygienic best and I did have issues with the five-minute hot water... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rinila
Cromwell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

Good staff.Clean room.I enjoyed the big garden.Stayed there for a few weeks.Eco friendly hostel, with free wifi, big kitchen with dinning area.Fire place in the lounge area was very cosy.You get a good value for your money.

Helpful?
Thank ines g
New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

Had a quick stay here before continuing into the Abel Tasman. Staff were great as I wasn't going to arrive until midnight but they emailed me the lock details and organised with the girls already in my dorm room to keep the door unlocked. Good value for what you pay. I was able to check out just before reception opened.... More 

Helpful?
Thank hmillsnz
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2015

Friendly family-run , clean rooms, large kitchen for self cooking with all facilities large open garden, eating sitting chatting and relaxasion space in the yard. free bicycle to tour the city, the beach and around Outside the big city and close to tasman park, better solution as base-point than Nelson

Helpful?
Thank GeeVee238
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motueka
6.2 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
1.1 mi away
Laughing Kiwi Backpackers
1.2 mi away
White Elephant Backpacker
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 5 in Motueka
5.0 of 5 stars 405 reviews
1.0 mi away
Avalon Manor Motel
Avalon Manor Motel
#2 of 5 in Motueka
4.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fernwood Holiday Park
Fernwood Holiday Park
#9 of 10 in Motueka
4.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Additional Information about Happy Apple Backpackers

Address: 500 High Street, Motueka 7120, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Price Range: $38 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Happy Apple Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Happy Apple Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Apple Backpackers Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay