We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cat Ba Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cat Ba Hostel
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 120: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a twin room, very well air conditioned which was required. Represents good value for money but don't expect the Ritz. Bathroom was basic but had the essentials, is a complete wet room. Rooms and towels replaced daily. Reception staff helpful and friendly enough.

Helpful?
1 Thank Oli H
singapore
Level Contributor
276 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

this hostel is one of the furthest for cat ba town area. room and toilet not very clean. host denied breakfast inclusion till email confirmation was shown. I am sure there are PLENTY of better alternatives around

Helpful?
Thank platinumSingapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

for a 28 bed dorm it was expensive and not the best facilities and the staff where not helpful also very rood, i stayed at 2 other hostels in cat ba which where the same price and alot better then this, they do provide breakfast which is good but then every hostel i have stayed in Vietnam has suplied breakfast.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jasper A
patrick86, Chủ sở hữu at Cat Ba Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Jasper I think do you write wrong hostel . we have dorm only 6 beds in the dorm NOT 28 BEDS DORM do you stay with another one and write my review on tripadvisor ? our hostel is only 4$ a beds at the moment More 

New York, NY
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016

We stayed for 3 nights in a private room with two double-beds for $6 USD. Breakfast is not included (sadface) but they have a food menu available. Nothing fancy, but prices are fair; bread with butter & jam is 20k VND, as an example. Beer and water are available at reasonable prices. Laundry service is available for 30k VND, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank travelbugNewYork_NY
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016

A friend and I stayed here for 4 nights. Very central location and good price, around $4 per night, little bit more on the weekends. Stayed in 8 bed dorm, each bed has its own fan, light and electrical sockets with a curtain to separate the beds. Nice sized bathroom attached and area to store luggage. Towels are provided. Wifi... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sazzlepops1407
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2016 via mobile

Spent five days staying here and loved it. The rooms are clean with a good size bathroom attached. The price is awesome as well. I only paid $3.5 during the week and $6 in the weekend which I thought was pretty good. Staff are very friendly and have really good knowledge about what activities to spend your time doing whilst... More 

Helpful?
Thank georgiec187
Level Contributor
132 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a few days and this place was great. The dorm rooms are tidy as and very clean. We were in a 6 bed dorm and was stoked how there were personal plugs and lights available by your bedside. Close to town and all the restaurants, couldn't ask for too much more. Also, the day trip in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jonny M
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2016

They do a $15 one day tour of the rocks and kayaking/swimming with lunch inbetween, and I believe it was great value for money. The tour guide and the crew were so friendly and helpful, and lunch was great. Now for the hostel - Bathroom dirty, beds were noisy but comfortable. There's a small locker for each person but bring... More 

Helpful?
Thank reecehamilton
patrick86, Chủ sở hữu at Cat Ba Hostel, responded to this review

Hi guy I dont know why you write this review for me . you never asking me for the ATM . you just asked me for exchange money which you have malaysia money I know you go many stone and ask for change but no one can change . you booked 1 beds inmy hostel for very cheap price .... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016 via mobile

I only did their 15$ Ha Long Bay tour and didn't sleep there and it was amazing! Great value for lunch, kayaking, trekking/climbing and swimming, the guide was also very helpful and welcoming. The food was good and they also cater to vegetarians! 5/5!

Helpful?
Thank Simon W
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2016

Hi everyone! This hostel is awesome. I booked a private room for me and my bf and it was really cool. Nice staff, very helpful. The cleanest hostel in Vietnam and we have been travelling around for a month now. I would recommend to anyone. We met some friendly people there and had a very good time. Common areas are... More 

Helpful?
Thank SaraCallejas
patrick86, Chủ sở hữu at Cat Ba Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review our hostel More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cat Ba hotels
0.0 mi away
Sunrise Resort
Sunrise Resort
#1 of 17 in Cat Ba
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.0 mi away
Catba Palace Hotel
Catba Palace Hotel
#2 of 17 in Cat Ba
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monkey Island Resort
Monkey Island Resort
#5 of 17 in Cat Ba
3.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Whisper of Nature Bungalow
0.0 mi away
Mr Zoom Backpacker Hostel
0.0 mi away
CatBa Central Hostel
CatBa Central Hostel
#3 of 48 in Cat Ba
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cat Ba, the most beautiful and the largest one in the archipelago of 1969 islands, is a natural world heritage amid the Ha Long Bay and was recognized by UNESCO as a World Biosphere Reserve on April 1, 2005. Lying about 60km northeast of Hai Phong city, Catba is awarded by nature primeval beauty with mountains, hills, seashore, forest and caves. All of them create wonderful and charming scenery.Standing in the tourist center of Cat Ba, the catbahostel , thanks to its favourable location, has a magnificent architecture with a leading diversified system of service of the island that always attracts tourists. With 15 standard , equipped with up-to-date facilities (such as a system of international telephone, a TV network with more than 20 channels transmitted via satellite, air conditioners, free Wi-Fi and comfortable bathrooms, the Catbahostel is always a reliable address for tourists when they come and stay in Catba. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cat Ba Hostel

Address: 160 Nui Ngoc street, Cat Ba 35000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Cat Ba
Price Range: $10 - $14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cat Ba Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay