We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Bacchus Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sutton-on-Sea
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Bacchus Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

277 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 277: English reviews
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First visit to this hotel, nice dinning room & table settings,but disappointing food, tough meat, tasteless stuffing, & why oh why would you want sweet corn with your Sunday Roast? rest of veg poor. Gravy was nice!. & very expensive. Won't be going again. I have no idea what the Bacchus is like as a hotel...only had carvery.

Helpful?
Thank Angela P
Bakewell, England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in Mid-September. Although our room was at the back of the Hotel and looked over the roof tops to the rooms opposite, it was a pleasant, quiet room with a large bathroom. The full English breakfast was excellent and very filling. The evening bar menu also offered a good variety of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jacques405
Grays Thurrock
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed overnight whilst travelling. Standard family type hotel in a good position, good value for money, nice comfy beds and a nice breakfast included. Car park available. Check in straight forward. Room was clean & comfortable. Stayed in a double room, that also had a single bed as well as the double, at the front of the hotel. Unfortunately the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie F
l/b
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A hotel in the middle of Sutton on Sea, Close to all amenities, Great Beer Festival and great prices in bar & Restaurant. The restaurant had choice of bar meals or Garden Restaurant. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty, staff were always attentive to your needs.

Helpful?
Thank crunchie3
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in the area in our tourer and used the Bacchus for drinks a few times and food once. They seem to keep a good pint and charge fair prices. The food was very nice and well priced. I had lasagne my wife had pie and the kids had roasts - we all had desserts too. Was very happy indeed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wayne S
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for one night recently. We picked this hotel as it was dog friendly. We were given a family room which was very spacious. Lots of tea and coffee which was good. Plenty of towels and very clean but it's a bit dated. Breakfast was good again the room needs to be brought up to date a bit One... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christine P
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We attended the beer festival over the bank holiday and enjoyed it very much. They run this every year at the August bank holiday weekend. The weather was fabulous, it was outside in the garden with an excellent bank, BBQ and lots of local beer which I am told was excellent. Good car parking and very friendly atmosphere. We were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liz G
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A grand name to be connected with the God of Grapes, although more with the wrath of them than the delight in this case. The food was overpriced, underwhelming and served by staff who's basic understanding of charm appeared to have deserted them. A collection of strategically placed buckets gives some indication that all isn't well upstairs either...

Helpful?
Thank Disappointed791
applebyscunthorpe, General Manager at The Bacchus Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting the picture, unfortunately two hours prior to your visit we had experienced a horrendous thunderstorm, due to the recent spell of dry weather this resulted in some of roof debris being washed down which had caused to drains on the roof to block causing a back flow of water which had overflowed through the flat roof.... More 

Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After having a nice meal at lunchtime we went back for an evening meal. We arrived at 5.30pm and were told the chef doesn't come until 6pm. I asked about what was in the dish I wanted to order-two members of staff didn't have any idea and didn't find out either! We waited over half an hr and saw everyone... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Rebecca S
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights, along with our dog, and ate in the restaurant both nights The hotel is rather old fashioned (wall paper in the bottom of drawers for example), but the decor rather suits the hotel, so that's not a bad thing, and in the main everything was in good condition and well maintained. Our bedroom was of... More 

Helpful?
Thank GaryS50036
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton-on-Sea
0.9 mi away
The Grange & Links Hotel
The Grange & Links Hotel
#1 of 3 in Sutton-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Windmill Hotel
The Windmill Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alford
3.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
5.6 mi away
Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
19.8 mi away
Premier Inn Cleethorpes Hotel
10.6 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#15 of 26 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Bacchus Hotel

Address: 17 High Street, Sutton-on-Sea LN12 2EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Sutton-on-Sea
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bacchus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing