We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Black Horse Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
05/14/2017 05/15/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Black Horse Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 102: English reviews
Start your review of Black Horse Hotel
 Click to rate
Riverside, California
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Black Horse has had what can only be described as a checkered career, poor owners and on occasions closed completely. From our recent visit all that is in the past, now great atmosphere, terrific food and excellent service, all down to the latest young owner couple Josh and his wife Tobi. They have taken a broken pub and turned...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DavidK41
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are so happy to hear you had such a brilliant experience as this is what we always aim to achieve. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 2 nights over the bank holiday weekend. We have been to Grassington a few times before but never stayed. I would definitely recommended this hotel for the location, the friendly staff and the excellent food. The bedroom was quite small but clean and adequate for our needs. Bit noisy above but that would be my only complaint.Dogs...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kirsty B
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful review. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and also your visit to our other site. We do hope to see you back again in the future. Kind Regards

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great location Grassington is perfect for a relaxing weekend, plenty of beautiful walks available. Staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble at all. Management take great priding in this hotel and its guests. Great bar too. Would highly recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ben G
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you would highly recommend us. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just got home from a 2 night stay at the Black Horse and we loved it. Beautiful setting, clean and good sized bedroom. Staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was spot on and we ate in the restaurant on the 2nd night, the meal was excellent. My only grumble was our bedroom overlooked the pub front and it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jane M
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went there for a 2 day break the staff was very helpful and friendly the meals where good value for money,the room was very nice and very clean it had only been updated a few weeks ago so we was lucky that nothing had been spoilt by some disrespectful guests,the breakfast was to die for everything was fresh and just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank twright125
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I'd been walking with my wife and dogs at nearby Grimwith Reservoir and stopped in Grassington for a drink and bite to eat. Got a warm friendly welcome with a good choice of hand pulled beers and home cooked food. We had our two dogs and they're welcome in the bar area, and the pub has a separate decent sized...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roger B
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you and your dogs enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards

huddersfield
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Although the bar area looks as though it could do with a bit of decoration, don't be put off by thinking the restaurant or food is anything but first class. We were a party of 9 and ate at The Black Horse 2 nights running, the food was really excellent - served piping hot - and the young staff polite...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Palin2010
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visits and we definitely hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited grassington last weekend. We loved the village: all dog friendly with great surrounding walks. The hotel was a great base. Basic rooms but did the job and best of all they are completely dog friendly!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daniel B
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and so did your furry friend! We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards

Thirsk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Staff were very helpful and service was good, bed was very comfy and shower over bath fine. Location was great - Grassington is such a lovely village and the locals are very friendly. Our room was small (no. 4) although we appreciate this is an old characterful hotel but there was very limited storage space to put things in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adela S
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the service you received whilst with us. Unfortunately the smell of cleaning products from the toilets in the morning is something we can not avoid as the toilets do need to be cleaned before we open for the day so I can only apologise. The coffee we...

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 20, 2017

We stayed in Grassington for a walking weekend. Picked the Black Horse based on Trip Advisor reviews and were delighted with this little hotel. Booked at a time when the Winter Break offer was on and so had the allowance for food included. Upon first arrival we were checked in quickly even though the bar was fairly busy it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cottagevisitors
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful review. I am very happy to hear you had such an enjoyable stay and enjoyed reading all of your comments. We will hopefully see you again in the future. Kind Regards

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
05/14/2017 05/15/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grassington
0.0 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
98 reviews
2.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
763 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
18.4 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
382 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
**GUARANTEED LOWEST PRICES WHEN BOOKED ON OUR 'OFFICIAL SITE'- AND MORE AVAILABILITY THAN ON OTHER BOOKING SITES** A 17th-century coaching inn in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales. 15 en-suite rooms - twin, double, king-size, 4 poster (with a magnificent view into the Dales), even hostel bedrooms. Typically Dales in its interior with nary a level floor or wall in sight! Cosy bar with a log fire, and an equally cosy restaurant with a la carte or traditional fayre dishes. Plenty of superb walks in the immediate area. 50 yards from Grassington square. A full refurbishment of the bedrooms, with new bathrooms, was completed in April, as was the restaurant, complete with carvery meals at the weekends. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Horse Hotel

Address: 4 Garrs Lane, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Grassington
Price Range: $117 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Black Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Horse Hotel Grassington, Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Black Horse Hotel staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
Ballymena, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Black Horse Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Town centre location, very quiet”
Cottagevisitors, Mar 20, 2017 | Read review
“Room 3 is first floor with bath & shower.”
CAM13972, Dec 7, 2016 | Read review
“we had room 3 overlooking the front street ,”
bren553, Dec 4, 2016 | Read review
“get a room near to the back of the hotel, (higher nos) of it might be noisey”
kimn547, Oct 7, 2016 | Read review
“proper Yorkshire Dales experience”
_catherinedacrehardy, Oct 4, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor
Agoda.com
Priceline
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates