We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Black Horse Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Black Horse Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 77: English reviews
Burton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent a couple of nights here this week. Although weather outside was horrific, this hotel was a haven of calm, warmth and great staff. Room was beautiful and sooooooo clean. Would recommend without a doubt

Helpful?
1 Thank Merryl P
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we wish we could of improved the weather for you but unfortunately some thing are out of our control :) We hope to see you again. Kind Regards More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at this hotel having not stayed in Grassington before and we were very pleased. The staff were all friendly and professional and our room was well decorated and clean. The breakfast and evening meal were very tasty and well cooked. We will definitely be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank rr11956
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards More 

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for a long weekend & thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were all very polite & helpful @ our room was spotless. The breakfast is excellent comprising two rashers, a sausage, black pudding, beans, egg & mushrooms with unlimited toast & tea or coffee. Cereal or fresh fruit & yoghurt available as well. We ate in the hotel... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Chris A
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you review. We are in the process of replacing carpets throughout the hotel and when we do this we are also doing the floorboards as inevitably with the age of the building we do have some squeaky floors. If you would be so kind as to email blackhorsegrassington@live.co.uk and provide us with the details of the room... More 

South Shields
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a great 2 night stay Wednesday & Thursday. Room lovely and clean, felt totally relaxed. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Food was delicious couldn't complain. Would deffo stay again and highly recommend. Great country pub.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lex L
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

we stayed for one night (Wednesday) which turned out to be quiz night. A lovely hotel and great friendly staff, the food was very good and well proportioned. The hotel is dog friendly and as a result there are dogs in the bar we have no problems with this as one of them was ours. The restaurant does not allow... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank James P
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and also got to take part in the weekly quiz - we hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly staff, comfortable rooms, lovely food. Stayed 2 nights on a special deal including evening meal. A very comfortable, newly decorated room and they didn't mind the dog hairs! Delicious evening meal, better than pub standard. Busy bar with regular events. Freshly cooked breakfast. Wonderful situation in centre of Grassington with good walks around the Dales.

Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineS78
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and will hopefully see you again in the future. Kind Regards More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed last Saturday and sunday night with our two dogs. Had a very nice stay, slept extremely well . All the staff were very welcoming and helpful . The breakfast on both mornings were served quickly and on hot plates and of a high quality. We didn't need lunch as there was p[lenty to see us through till dinner. We... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah T
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately the roast dinner was on the specials menu so there is only a certain amount of the dishes available - hopefully if you visit again you may get the chance to try it. Kind Regards More 

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2016

we stayed Fri - Sun, and I have very mixed views of it. The initial welcome was great, very friendly. The room I can't fault, warm, clean, comfortable, nice towels and bedding. Quiet given it is over a pub, no problems sleeping. The food however, well, I am probably not the best person to review it. my main course arrived... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kim n
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so sorry you did not receive the service we always strive to provide and that you had problems with your food - as you say this is not the norm for us at all and I sincerely apologise about this. I note you said you would stay again, I sincerely hope you do... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2016

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights with our pet dog. This is probably one of the best places we have stayed. Staff were courteous, friendly and professional throughout. Food was excellent We cannot fault this hotel in any way. We will definitely return

Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie-sb-18
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. What a lovely review and we are very happy you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards More 

Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2016 via mobile

Another brilliant stay at the black horse. Staff very accommodating and friendly. Rooms cleaned to the highest standard and food is delicious and served with a smile. We didn't take our dog this time but will on our return as dogs can stay too! Surrounding areas great for walkers or if you simply want to take your dog for a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Silkstone11
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed another stay with us and that you chose to return. We look forward to meeting your dog next time too! Kind Regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grassington
0.0 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
72 reviews
2.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
729 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Tennants Arms
The Tennants Arms
#1 of 1 in Kilnsey
259 reviews
16.1 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
8.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A 17th-century coaching inn in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales. 15 en-suite rooms - twin, double, king-size, 4 poster (with a magnificent view into the Dales), even hostel bedrooms. Typically Dales in its interior with nary a level floor or wall in sight! Cosy bar with a log fire, and an equally cosy restaurant with a la carte or traditional fayre dishes. Plenty of superb walks in the immediate area. 50 yards from Grassington square. A full refurbishment of the bedrooms, with new bathrooms, was completed in April, as was the restaurant, complete with carvery meals at the weekends. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Horse Hotel

Address: 4 Garrs Lane, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Grassington
Price Range: $116 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Black Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Horse Hotel Grassington, Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Black Horse Hotel staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Black Horse Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“get a room near to the back of the hotel, (higher nos) of it might be noisey”
 of 5 bubbles kimn547, Oct 7, 2016 | Read review
“proper Yorkshire Dales experience”
 of 5 bubbles _catherinedacrehardy, Oct 4, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room in main part with brick walls if a light sleeper”
 of 5 bubbles Mikinblack, Jul 12, 2016 | Read review
“any they are very proffessional business people with the main aim to satisfy their customers”
 of 5 bubbles 627robing, Jun 28, 2016 | Read review
“Try to ask for a lower floor if you are elderly.”
 of 5 bubbles MatSpratt, Jun 15, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay