We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Angler and Antelope Guesthouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Angler and Antelope Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 44: English reviews
Fort Beaufort, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Ask those that have been fly fishing for years and they will all agree that the dream is to catch a trophy sized trout - one that weighs 6lbs or more. It's difficult - and not a lot of fly fishers ever do it. Come fish with Alan Hobson and he'll take you to a cold pond, just past all... More 

Helpful?
Thank RudiVoges156
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

We had a wonderful couple of days with A&A at A&A, that’s Annabelle and Alan! The room was clean and comfortable, with everything you need, the food, tasty and reasonably priced, the whisky bar, the best outside of a major city and the hosts, very welcoming. I was there to fly fish, for the first time in 40+ years, Alan... More 

Helpful?
Thank tmpars7
Annabelle H, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi T&A, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was an absolute pleasure having you here. We're so glad that you managed to get some of the cobwebs off the fly fishing nodes of the brain, and stretch those muscles again. Thank you once again, and hope to see you in the not too distant future. Kindest regards,... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2016

Great two nights with Alan and Anabelle. Accomodation really very comfortable with large rooms, lovely linen and great bathrooms. Breakfast and dinner excellent and Alan's top advice on local trout waters proved fruitful with a brace of lovely trout on the first evening (catch/return preferred) and some big ones (+ 3kg) lurking around for next time....Very much enjoyed our time... More 

Helpful?
Thank Blair h
Annabelle H, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are so happy that we were able to tick all the boxes during your stay. Definitely need to come back to catch the big one that got a way! The Walter Battiss Art Museum is a really important attraction to our little town, and we are glad to you... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016 via mobile

Yet another outstanding experience staying and the Angler and Antelope. Really enjoyed the company with Allan & Annabelle as always. Thank you for a terrific evening, beautiful room and delicious breakfast. See you again soon!

Helpful?
Thank Matthew E
Annabelle H, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you here, and we look forward to your next visit. Kind regards A&A More 

Fort Beaufort, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

Brilliant food, great setting. Alan a brilliant pro fly fish guide and the waters he controls and manages are world class with huge massive trout lurking about. Super comfortable room to catch up on sleep and recharge your batteries. Wonderful hosts always trying to ensure your stay is brilliant.

Helpful?
Thank RudiVoges156
Annabelle H, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this review

Always a pleasure to have you stay with us. Can't wait for the next fishing trip. Kind regards, A&A More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015

Alan and Annabelle are fantastic hosts and made our stay comfortable and enjoyable. The rooms are stylish and quaint although situated relatively close to one another. Breakfast was excellent. The trout and bass dams in the area that Alan gained us access to are stunningly beautiful and apparently produce good fish. Alan's knowledge and enthusiasm for fly fishing is wonderful... More 

Helpful?
Thank RyanDA04
Annabelle H, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Hopefully on your next visit you will have more time to enjoy the fishing waters. Regards, A&A More 

Knysna
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

We had a great stay. Good food, Great caring personal service by the owners and super comfortable room in a very unique building. Loved the heated blanket on the bed and the heated bathroom tiles. Definitely a top experience.

Helpful?
Thank BevvanEck
Annabelle H, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you here, and hope to be able to host you again in the not too distant future. Kind regards, A&A More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

We had a wonderful stay at Angler and Antelope. Alan and Annabelle are great hosts and our self-catering room was comfortable, practical and very neat. Centrally located. My kids and I had a wild fly fishing lesson with Alan at a nearby farm. What a passionate expert Alan is. We had lots of fun and he made sure the kids... More 

Helpful?
Thank KidsOfNature
Annabelle H, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for spending the time with us. Hopefully the kids will take up fly fishing when they are a bit older, and have gotten to the stage when they want to slow down and contemplate. Look forward to hosting you again. Kind regards, A&A. More 

Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

We had a great stay, very comfortable rooms, nice breakfast and great fishing. The bar and dining set in an old church and is a great place to eat (although we only ate breakfast there). I recommend it

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tobias K
Angler_Antelope, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Toby, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are really happy that you had a great trip and that your fishing was successful. Looking forward to your next trip, and hopefully you'll have a chance to sample more than just breakfast then. Kind regards Angler & Antelope More 

pretoria
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

My stay was excellent, the service was wonderful, the food was superb, the rooms were comfortable however it would be nice to get tv reception with DSTV perhaps, only 1 channel was on the tv and the tv reception was of a poor quality, with such a situation it would be better to not have a TV in the room... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 739tarynb
Angler_Antelope, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Taryn, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad that we were able to meet your standards when it came to service and the food. We would like to point out that you were staying in our standard room, which you booked through a third party website. This website indicates that this specific room... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Somerset East hotels
0.4 mi away
Aloma House
Aloma House
#5 of 10 in Somerset East
4.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
0.2 mi away
Altenburgh Guest Cottages
Altenburgh Guest Cottages
#6 of 10 in Somerset East
4.5 of 5 stars 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Charming guesthouse with seven rooms, from a simple standard room, to luxury with air-conditioning, under-floor heating & satellite TV. Included is two rooms with self-catering facilities. Two self-catering family units also available. Spectacular fly fishing on top of the Boschberg mountain. Enjoy the pub in the old Roman Catholic church with over 50 Malt Whiskies, and country cooking for dinner! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Angler and Antelope Guesthouse

Address: 2 College Street | cnr New Street, Somerset East 5850, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Somerset East
Price Range: $49 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Angler and Antelope Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Angler and Antelope Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay