We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The George at Easingwold

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The George at Easingwold
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

250 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 246: English reviews
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We returned to the George again this year for an evening meal, we didn't book but luckily we were able to get a table even though it was quite busy, the food was very nice & freshly cooked, the staff were very attentive & nothing was too much trouble, we enjoyed it so much that we returned again for our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yvonne L
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed one night in room 14 in the outside extension block, very basic, needs lamps and not spotlights which make it really bright and unwelcoming. The rooms were extremely clean . The breakfast was really good and good staff in all areas as well, very helpful. The breakfast room is lovely, why is the other room you eat in not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Belinda W
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Staff very friendly. Rooms well equipped Food well presented with plenty of choice. Fish and chips to die for. Will return Very central for trips out Local bus stops opposite the hotel. Good selection of real ales

Helpful?
Thank Syljen
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed one evening. The room (which photo of is not on this site) was very basic, bathroom very dated with chipped wood and light not working over mirror. Came back from a day out and as soon as we walked into the building, all you could smell was stale ale, I don't know if this is a pipe issue or... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank R B
Oldham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely location in the market square. Really nice food. Bedrooms are comfortable. We spent a few days in this hotel and found the staff courteous and friendly. the George is centrally placed for visits by car or bus to York, Thirsk and many of the pretty Yorkshire villages. There are a number of small shops and eateries. The George is... More 

Helpful?
Thank louiseclegg42
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your time in North Yorkshire - so many attractions and villages to explore. More 

Leeds
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were despatched to bed like school boys who dared to ask for another drink after 11.30. Had to run around in the shower to get wet. Won't be coming back in a rush. The bar man lied to us saying he had called last orders, but hadn't. The owner was shirty with us.

Helpful?
Thank KevinRourke
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review

We have been waiting for this review to appear. Your group had been advised, on arrival, that we did not operate "a late bar policy". The time of your request was somewhat later than the time you state in your review. Despite your threatening behaviour, you were offered the opportunity of taking drinks to your rooms, which you declined. More 

liverpool
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

stayed here this week and Chris the manager needs to do a customer care course on how to deal with the customers, i tried to change one night as I had paid for 4 didn't want a refund just wanted an extra room Wednesday night and was basically laughed at, I did however see a young guy the day after... More 

Helpful?
Thank bucktam
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review

I am sorry to read the contents of your review and am concerned at some of the inaccuracies. Firstly, I apologise if you thought that our manager upset you. You booked through an internet booking agency, which clearly states the terms and conditions, and advises that payment is taken on departure. Your company settled the account after you had left... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Quaint traditional pub with rooms right in the middle of town Reasonably priced acceptable food - Menu promising but perhaps trying to be gastro which doesn't work and isn't necessary Clean accommodation without being too fussy Comfortable and great location

Helpful?
Thank Annette E
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in Easingwold. More 

Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a coffee today which was brilliant. I last went about 30 years ago and it still felt much te same...in a good way. No noisy wooden floors and modern art, much as I love modern art. Just a brilliant hotel in total keeping with the surroundings.

Helpful?
Thank Helen T
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and kind remarks. What more can I say. More 

Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed just one night as it was close to Castle Howard for a concert we were attending. We were given the rooms just off the car park which was ideal as we were back late at night and didn't need to take the door code or disturb other guests. Everyone without exception were friendly and helpful. The rooms were... More 

Helpful?
Thank thewrights2015
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your trip to Easingwold and Castle Howard. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (34)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Easingwold
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel
10.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 5 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 stars 1,143 reviews
5.7 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel
BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
4.0 of 5 stars 557 reviews
10.1 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
9.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The George at Easingwold overlooks the Georgian cobbled Market Place. The inn is owned by Kay and Michael Riley and offers a warm welcome, ensuite accommodation, meals in both the Courtyard and Market Place restaurants, good wine and a great choice of cask ales. Log fires in cooler months. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The George at Easingwold

Address: Market Place | Easingwold, Easingwold YO61 3AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easingwold
Price Range: $96 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George at Easingwold 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The George at Easingwold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George At Easingwold Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay