We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bona Bona Game Lodge

Orbitz.com$37*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Bona Bona Game Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

336 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 331: English reviews
Start your review of Bona Bona Game Lodge
 Click to rate
Carletonville, South Africa
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great service, everyone is so friendly and helpfull. The rooms were nice but not so much the bathrooms. Except for the fact that it is extremely small, there was a horrible smell in there. As if they used a dirty cloth to clean. But other than that it was a lovely place

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bonital975
Bona_Bona_Game_Lodge, Owner at Bona Bona Game Lodge, responded to this review

Good day Bonita! Thank you for writing this review! We are glad that you experienced good service whilst you were visiting us! We do however apologise for the inconvenience caused by the bathroom. We will adress this immediately. Regards

Klerksdorp, South Africa
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Thank you for the stay was awesome. Will definitely visit again. Love the view and the animals was a bluest. One of the best attractions to the warm environment. TV's and more entertainment should be added to the lovely stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henrey G
Bona_Bona_Game_Lodge, Owner at Bona Bona Game Lodge, responded to this review

Good day Henrey! We appreciate that you took the time to write this review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are in the process of upgrading our range of activities and we hope to see you again soon! Regards

Potchefstroom, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very enjoyable, great staff and restaurant. Stayed at rest camp, the communal kitchen has good facilities and we enjoyed recreational and bonfire area. Heard elusive lions roar throughout the night. Bona Bona is great for eloping and relaxing, more for enjoying the view from the restaurant than in the game drive

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank francoisl480
Bona_Bona_Game_Lodge, Owner at Bona Bona Game Lodge, responded to this review

Good day Francois! Thank you for taking the time to write about your time at Bona Bona! We are glad to hear that you had a lovely stay at our Rest Camp. We hope to see you again soon! Regards

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great place were you are sure to see a great range of predators and the predator feeding on a Sunday morning was amazing to watch. The food at the restaurant for lunch and dinner was also excellent however the range at breakfast was not the best and could be much better. The breakfast was probably the only downside of our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan M
Bona_Bona_Game_Lodge, Owner at Bona Bona Game Lodge, responded to this review

Good day Jonathan. We thank you for taking the time to write this review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the predator drive! Please do help us to improve and let us know which items were missing at breakfast and we will try to improve this experience for you! Regards

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Awesome experience from check in to check out. We stayed at the lodge for 4 nights and received the same great service from the bar and restuarant and on the game drives during their busy time and when we had the lodge to ouservelves the last 2 nights. This was our first visit to a game farm in the North...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 197brettd
Bona_Bona_Game_Lodge, Owner at Bona Bona Game Lodge, responded to this review

Good day Brett! Thank you so much for you kind words! We are so glad to hear you had a wonderful time whilst visiting us. We will strive to keep up the good standard that our guests are used to! Regards

Krugersdorp, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our Stay at Bona Bona was great, friendly staff, excellent food and all around great environment! Seeing Rhino's feeding about 10 feet from you was an amazing experience, was lucky enough to go for a spa treatment too which was professional and very relaxing. I would definitely recommend Bona Bona to anybody who enjoys the bush experience!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nikkit449
Bona_Bona_Game_Lodge, Owner at Bona Bona Game Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Nikki! Thank you for this positive review about your stay at Bona Bona! We appreciate that you took the time to write this review. We hope to see you again soon!

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Absolutely great experience. Value for money. The Rhinos just blew me away. The Staff were amazing. Certainly recommend this to anyone wanting to have an outdoors experience Thank you Bona Bona. xxxxx

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nolant160
Bona_Bona_Game_Lodge, Owner at Bona Bona Game Lodge, responded to this review

Good day Nolan! Thank you very much for this fantastic review! We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience. We strive to exceed your expectations! Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The service was excellent and me and my wife had a time of our lives, we went to the game drive in the morning and it was just breath taking and attended the animal feeding as it was on Sunday, wow i couldnt believe the exhilaration i felt when hearing the roar of the mighty beast and the cracking of...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jabulaniv
Bona_Bona_Game_Lodge, Owner at Bona Bona Game Lodge, responded to this review

Good day Jabulani! Thank you for writing this review about your stay at Bona Bona! We enjoyed having you both at the lodge and we are glad that we lived up to your expectations! We hope to see some of the great pics that you took? See you again soon! Regards

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We attended a wedding on 29 April 2017 & stayed in room nr. 13 which is suppose to be a family room. The room does not even have a TV and the bathroom is SUPER small. The lighting is extremely bad so the room is very dark even if you switch on all the lights. The cups and glasses in...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 997talitab
Bona_Bona_Game_Lodge, Owner at Bona Bona Game Lodge, responded to this review

Good day Talita, We are very dissapointed to read about your stay at Bona Bona. We apologise that the amenities was not distributed according to the amount of guests in your room aswell as the lack of cleanliness regarding the crockery. We will be sure to take this up with housekeeping. We are in the process of upgrading all of...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited BonaBona with our children and grandchildren for a weekend. One of the plus points is that it is only about 200km from Johannesburg, which makes it a feasible destination. It is a family owned establishment and young children are welcome, unlike at most other game lodges. They have lions, leopards, hyena and tigers in cages. The whole game...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alta J
Bona_Bona_Game_Lodge, Owner at Bona Bona Game Lodge, responded to this review

Good day Alta! Thank you for this ellaborate review about your stay at Bona Bona. We appreciate that you took the time! We are very dissapointed that our staff did not tell you about our brand new childrens playroom. It is right next to the lounge area of the restaurant (literally 10m away) for your convenience. There is a foozeball...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

117 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (100)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bona Bona Game Lodge, with its wide variety of fauna and flora, consists of approximately 1 600ha bushveld and gives you an experience which is a true reflection of the ecosystem that we are in - an ecological tapestry of Acacia veld, Rosyntjiebos and abundant wildlife. Guest can enjoy daily morning and afternoon game drives, Bona Bona Game Lodge with it's tranquillity consist of our Main Lodge with 18 rooms - which are bed and breakfast. The Bush Camp has 6 chalets , Rest Camp with 3 chalets and main house (15 guests) and Safari House (10 guests) are self catering units. We also have our new additions - The Stable Rooms. Which are luxurious double rooms 200m from the Main Camp. We also do special events such as weddings, Conferences, birthday parties and more! You can also relax in our day Spa which offers various treatments. We have a private wine cellar that can accommodate 12 people for private functions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bona Bona Game Lodge

Address: N12 | between Klerksdorp and Wolmaransstad, Wolmaransstad 2570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Wolmaransstad
Price Range: $35 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bona Bona Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Bona Bona Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Bona Bona Game Lodge staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
Richards Bay, South Africa
9 months ago
Johannesburg, South Africa
Johannesburg, South Africa
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Bona Bona Game Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose detached rooms unless you want to partake in your neighbour's convesation”
  • Sunrise
Smomoza, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Bush camp was isolated”
YSYFFERT, 5 weeks ago | Read review
“The main lodge and bush camps are the best”
michelletrebu0j, Mar 22, 2017 | Read review
“Always book a chalet so that you guaranteed not to share a balcony with strangers.”
822nwabisam, Jan 12, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room that does not have an interleading door, if this is your preference.”
ConnieMoxleys, Oct 1, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Orbitz.com
$37* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor$37
Hotels.com$37
Agoda.com$37
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates