We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Macdonald Pittodrie House

649 reviews
Save
Traveler (207)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (24)
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good18%
  • Average11%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible6%
Travelers talk about
“afternoon tea”(49 reviews)
“drawing room”(35 reviews)
“beautiful hotel”(22 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (649)Write a Review
Filter reviews
628 results
Traveler rating
336
117
72
60
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
336
117
72
60
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teadrawing roombeautiful hoteldining roombar pricesextensive groundscakeswedding receptionscallopsfollowing morninglog firefirst classevening mealcouldn't faultno hesitation in recommendinglovely groundshigh standard
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 628 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Imposing old hotel in beautiful Aberdeenshire countryside. Nice welcome at reception on arrival. I asked for a view just in case we didn’t have one. No problems. Large room with sofa and great view of Bennachie, Aberdeenshire’s only “mountain”. At first glance room is very...More

Thank ifand
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We visited on Sunday 17th February for Afternoon tea, this was an Xmas present from my sister in law as my husband and I got married and engaged there, how disappointed was I, put through to a window less room so I couldn't enjoy the...More

2  Thank toogun
Response from Pittodrie_House, General Manager at Macdonald Pittodrie HouseResponded 4 days ago

Due to the popularity of our afternoon teas,we were serving in several areas of the hotel on Sunday. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your afternoon tea experience in our beautiful oak paneled "Billiard Room" which I accept is rear facing, but does...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

This fabulous hotel set in glorious grounds is the ideal location for a romantic getaway. I treated my wife to a Valentines break by booking here for dinner bead and breakfast. The reception was warm and friendly, the room immaculate and had everything we needed....More

Thank Deskford123
Response from Pittodrie_House, General Manager at Macdonald Pittodrie HouseResponded 4 days ago

Dear Deskford123, Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you were able to enjoy your Valentine's evening and dinner with us, but I am of course very disappointed that this level of service was not consistent throughout your stay. Our staff have all...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I booked afternoon tea for 6 adults and 3 children on Monday the 29th of January for my mum and her twin sisters birthday. We paid full price for the afternoon tea £18 per person which was then reduced to half price from the 31st...More

1  Thank Amanda W
Response from Pittodrie_House, General Manager at Macdonald Pittodrie HouseResponded 5 days ago

Dear Amanda, Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment that you experienced with Afternoon tea at Pittodrie House. I have referred your comments about the food to our Head Chef. The staff should certainly have been more accommodating in relation to providing more comfortable...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a double room for 1 nights stay and the hotel grounds are just beautiful. I found the staff all very friendly and helpful. The room was ok clean enough but very old fashioned. I decided to have room service and choose macaroni. I was...More

Thank gail130882
Response from Pittodrie_House, General Manager at Macdonald Pittodrie HouseResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are very fortunate to be set in 2400 acres of grounds, and I am delighted that you were able to enjoy them. I am also pleased that the team were able...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
123456126
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Room Service
Restaurant
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Banquet Room
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
$93 - $621 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
$93 - $621 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (207)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (24)
Business Center & Event Rooms (5)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
14Paul42
January 14, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Pittodrie_House | Property representative |
Hi, Thank you for your enquiry, we do not have Kennels, your dog would stay in your room- there is an additional charge of £15 per dog per night. Please let us know if we can be of further assistance...
0
Votes
jimclark5466
November 25, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from DRK29 | Reviewed this property |
Craigievar Castle is less than an hour away. Can't help with info on rates for Weddings.
0
Votes
ccn1959
March 12, 2015|
Answer
Response from Pittodrie_House | Property representative |
Dear ccn1959, Thank you for your enquiry, we are about 8 miles from Fraser Castle and we are also 16 miles from Fyvie Castle, both are very reachable and highly recommended. We are to soon have an offer go live on the... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Not sure how accessible for people who cannot climb stairs."
Read review
"An "olde worlde"atmosphere. We had concerns with fire safety route.as we have disability problems..."
Read review
"Best view is from the Huntly Suite"
Read review
"first floor unless you are prepared for a lot of stairs"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing