We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Old Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cheveley
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Old Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

19 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 18: English reviews
Goole, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 19, 2016

The Old Farmhouse is an amazing building with a wonderful host. Very quirky inside. Our room was beautiful with a 6 inch slope form back to front which makes for a strange sensation when I got up in the night! Lovely breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KeithSenior_13
cheveley, Owner at The Old Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your comments. It is a strange feeling walking up hill to get to the bed. But at least the bed is level so you won't fall out! And glad you avoided the low beams.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 30, 2016

Lovely Tudor home combining three cottages with modern plumbing. Friendly host, very nice breakfast especially the mushrooms. We really enjoyed our overnight stay here and would certainly stay again if in the area. Wifi is incredibly erratic but that seems to be general to the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
cheveley, Owner at The Old Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello Tim, thank you for your kind comments. You are right about WIFI being erratic, it is endemic to the area, hopefully improving soon. Anne Mary

Reviewed July 11, 2016

We were well looked after at The Old Farmhouse in Chevely. The B&B was idyllically English......old, thatched, period features, dating back to 16th century. Wow! After a day of cycling, we had a lovely home cooked evening meal, a good nights sleep and a wonderful breakfast, ready for another day of cycling. Most enjoyable stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda M
cheveley, Owner at The Old Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Many thanks, Rhonda. It was a pleasure having you both staying. I hope your second day of cycling went well. Best wishes, Anne Mary

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 10, 2016

Just marvelous- wonderful accommodation, the most charming host and a pub on the door step. The Old Farmhouse is full of British charm. The breakfast will surpass any expectations. All this set in the stunning countryside. Just book it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaun R
cheveley, Owner at The Old Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review. We're definitely not as grand as Downton Abbey! But it's nice to think our hospitality meets expectations.

Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed March 21, 2016

My husband and I were extremely pleased with our stay at The Old Farmhouse in Cheveley. We were given excellent directions as we were arriving late at night. The cottage was utterly delightful, and steeped in old world charm, as was our lovely hostess, Anne-Mary! We were made most welcome by the two labradors on our arrival and the bedroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrsmill
cheveley, Owner at The Old Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments. It was a delight for me to host your stay. I hope there may be a future occasion when I will enjoy welcoming you back.

norwich
Reviewed August 18, 2015

After a long walk we were very glad to be welcomed by Anne-Mary and Sally in their wonderful thatched farmhouse. We were spoiled by Anne-Mary's home cooked dinner and slept soundly in the very comfortable beds. This B&B is really a very special place - do go if you get the chance. Ps Sally is her Labrador

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carrow
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed at the Old Farmhouse in Cheveley in April/May 2014 and were blown away by everything about our stay. The farmhouse itself is cosy, welcoming and full of olde worlde charm. Anne-Mary was simply a wonderful host and could not do enough for us. The rooms are quaint and full of character but are clean, nicely furnished and comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank t m
UK
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We should have known when we booked. Anne Mary phoned us to let us know that our deposit cheque had arrived and to say she was looking forward to our visit. That sort of courteous kindness was evident throughout our stay at the Old Farmhouse. We had pre-ordered an evening meal, which was very good indeed and we enjoyed sitting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dot01
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was our second visit and it was as good as ever. Anne-Mary is lovely- charming and helpful, yet unobtrusive, and a great breakfast cook. Very nice coffee! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay but mind your head on the beams of the 17th century ceiling. There are nice touches like the cold milk in the upstairs fridge for morning tea!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank robmungavin
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful couple of days with Ann Mary Beautiful B&B comfy rooms,breakfast to die for & Poppy & Sally the black labs to keep your feet warm ! The house is amazing Thoroughly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank antb666
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheveley
3.0 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
787 reviews
3.0 mi away
Newmarket Boutique Aparthotel
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bloodstock Barn Bed and Breakfast
2.4 mi away
The Packhorse Inn
The Packhorse Inn
#3 of 18 in Newmarket
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Grade 2 listed 16th century thatched, beamed farmhouse, large garden and terrace offering a warm and friendly welcome with comfortable accommodation. Excellend dinner by prior arrangement with the proprietor, a professional chef. Easy access to Newmarket and horseracing, Cambridge, Ely and Bury St Edmunds. French, Spanish and some German spoken. WIFI. An ideal location for exploring East Anglia. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast

Address: 165 High Street, Cheveley CB8 9DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cheveley
Number of rooms: 2
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms are stunning and full of charm- the water is very hot.”
 of 5 bubbles 120shaunr, Apr 10, 2016 | Read review
“Choose either room...the beds are superb and the location is very quiet.”
  • Very comfortable beds and quiet bedrooms.
 of 5 bubbles joyceb305, Aug 7, 2013 | Read review
“If you are going to the Adnams Newmarket nights, order a return taxi otherwise its a long walk.”
 of 5 bubbles hughzx6r105, Jul 21, 2013 | Read review
3 of 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question