We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park

Expedia.com$92*
View Deal
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Showing 181: English reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

This is a reasonable caravan park they have 2 main problems power goes of on a regular period this is not the main power company their switch board isnot large enough to handle the amount of extra vans 2 point the laundry machines keep breaking down so it is very hard to get washing down . So overall they need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Winton P
BIG4HowardSprings, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback, Winton P. Unfortunately, our power issue is not to do with the main switchboard but the fact that each of our 350 sites run on 15 amp leads. We have been unusually hot and an air-conditioner and fridge is equal to 15 amps and it only takes an...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed June 28, 2016

Stayed for a week, but would have stayed a shorter time given an opportunity to change. Sites very tight to get into.very noisy in the morning and evenings. They were plenty of toilets and showers but very old , need upgrade. Laundry room two machines not working and they seem to be short on staff as the machines had been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christine530
BIG4HowardSprings, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi christine530, and many thanks for providing us with some feedback after your recent stay with us. We do have groundsmen and a night watchmen that patrol the park to monitor noise levels and our responsible pet policy. We apologise that these issues impacted on the satisfaction of your visit and can assure you that we do take them seriously....

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed June 26, 2016

We hired a Britz 4WD and used Howard Springs as our first night on the road while we got used to the new camp set up. It was clean and well maintained and we had a couple of nice grassy powered sites. Kids enjoyed the pool.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CHG3270
BIG4HowardSprings, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park, responded to this review

We're excited to hear we were the first night on your campervan adventure, CHG3270. Thanks so much for your lovely comments about our clean, family friendly facilities and we hope you have a wonderful trip!

Forster, Australia
Reviewed June 22, 2016 via mobile

After a long day most people expect value for money at $60 a night for a single person was the most expensive so far on my travels. the other people are so close with their loud tv which they would not turn down I couldn't hear the phone call I was on. I would not recommend this big 4.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lillydale21
BIG4HowardSprings, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park, responded to this review

We are always more than happy to assist with any noise disturbances in the park, lillydale21, and are sorry that we did not have the opportunity to address this issue for you during your stay. Thank you for providing us with your feedback and we hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Glentanner, New Zealand
Reviewed June 20, 2016 via mobile

Our experience was a disappointing one. Staff seemed to be oblivious of what was happening in the park. Staff were holding a sausage sizzle just a few feet from where children were running, yelling through other people's awnings. The BBQ area had only one hot plate which was not operating one evening causing a real problem for many people, meaning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeeNJeff
BIG4HowardSprings, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to offer us your feedback, DeeNJeff. We will certainly take on board your ideas for improvement and agree that we will use our SMS technology to alert guests when repairs are finalised in future. We do indeed have night duty staff to assist with any issues and will happily assist with any concerns as...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed June 20, 2016

Park old and in need of a smarten up - appears to be shortage of staff - problems with septic system meant continual wafting smell for most of our 4 day stay. As a person with a walking disability I appreciated the offer of a site close to disabled facilities. However this was also close to laundry facility and although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank williams4017
BIG4HowardSprings, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your feedback, williams4017. We apologise for the inconvenience cause by our sceptic system issue and can assure you that it was rectified as quickly as possible and is now fully operational. The park is always placed under additional strain during our peak season and the laundry especially so. We're sorry that this impacted on your stay...

Gladstone, Australia
Reviewed June 19, 2016

Great shady park with great kids facilities and pretty peacocks. We booked an air conditioned cottage only to find the second bedroom with no trace of one! The laundry,s were sadly lacking working washing machines and dryers with only two of the nine available! Only one car park available per cabin. The other car had to stay outside where there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chaddy2013
BIG4HowardSprings, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely comments about our family facilities and friendly service, Chaddy2013. Please accept our apologies about the limited laundry facilities, we are desperately trying to get the distributors to hurry the parts required as we know the strain this puts on guests. We appreciate the opportunity to respond to some of your concerns and we hope to see...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed June 18, 2016

caravan site next to toilet and laundry was untidy and the constant stink from the septic tanks was rank would not go back again, most of the staff were excellant.All roads around the park are very average definalty not 5 star.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gary M
BIG4HowardSprings, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, Gary M, and we apologise about our unfortunate amenity closure. The sceptic pump in one of our 4 amenities seized and it took a few days to rectify and get this block functional again. Please be assured that we fixed the issue as quickly as possible and are sorry for the inconvenience caused. All of the...

Ballarat, Australia
Reviewed June 16, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in one of the parks cabins, the park is family friendly with good facilities to keep the kids happy, it was surprisingly quiet in the evening and a peaceful place to recuperate from exploring the top end, it's about 25 kilometres from Darwin CBD, about 25 minutes drive on good roads, Howard's springs is a good place to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
BIG4HowardSprings, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park, responded to this review

We were really pleased to read your review, Andrew H, and thank you for your lovely comments on our park facilities and peaceful location. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels and look forward to seeing you in Darwin again soon!

Reviewed June 9, 2016

Excellent stop. Nice shady sites. Particular thanks to John who assists with parking caravans and motor homes. It was great and the concrete pads were too. Only swam in small pool at front of park but liked the spa. Doggy friendly a bonus so close to the city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dizzyblonde47
BIG4HowardSprings, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thanks dizzyblonde47 for taking time to share your review with us. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to John. We are lucky that we are both close enough to Darwin but also far enough away so you can just relax away from city noise. We hope that we can welcome you back again in the near...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howard Springs
13.1 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
857 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#10 of 37 in Darwin
279 reviews
12.2 mi away
Mercure Darwin Airport Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
5.1 mi away
Darwin FreeSpirit Resort
10.2 mi away
Discovery Parks - Darwin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Being 23km from Darwin, our award-winning park is ideally located to Darwin's many attractions and is a gateway to Kakadu and Litchfield National Parks. We offer an extensive range of accommodation options including shady, grassed sites for caravans and camping to self-contained cabins and villas, surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens with 3 pools/spas, water park, jumping pillow, kids playground, camp kitchen and kiosk. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park

Address: Hs Holiday Park 170 Whitewood Rd, Howard Springs, Northern Territory 0835, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Howard Springs
Price Range: $99 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Do not go there”
steverex, Mar 1, 2017 | Read review
“quiet, comfortable, light !”
butcher3564, Oct 11, 2016 | Read review
“This is a caravan park review but they do have cabins, 2 pools and playground equipment none of which we needed or used.”
ChrissyK81, Aug 10, 2016 | Read review
“Pool side cabins were in a good location.”
AmandaC614, May 20, 2016 | Read review
“find a better place”
P9448ZLstevenf, May 8, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Expedia.com
$92* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor$92
Booking.com$95
Hotels.com
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates