We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
98702 French Polynesia
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (587)
Room & Suite (308)
Pool & Beach (123)

About

Location
5.0
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.8
Value
4.5
The Brando is a unique luxury resort on French Polynesia's breathtakingly beautiful private island of Tetiaroa - an atoll composed of a dozen small islands surrounding a sparkling lagoon 30 miles northeast of Tahiti. The Brando offers carefree luxury in the midst of pristine nature. With access to the island by private plane, the resort features 35 villas on white-sand beaches frequented by sea turtles, manta rays and exotic birds. The resort was designed to reflect Polynesian lifestyles and culture.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Snorkeling
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Free airport transportation
Airport transportation
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Concierge
Gift shop
Butler service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Languages Spoken
French

Location

Full view
Contact
98702 French Polynesia
Getting there
Faaa Airport36 miSee all flights
Temae Airport34 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
355Reviews67Q+A86Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 320
  • 24
  • 6
  • 3
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
RainerBln wrote a review Sep 22
Berlin, Germany653 contributions405 helpful votes
This beautifully built resort is located in a wonderful atol only about 20 minutes flight from Papeete. The villas are extremely high quality and tastefully furnished. The garden area of the villas is also beautiful, strange that there are cushions for the garden chairs and lounge bed, but not for the loungers. Privacy is definitely a given here. However, there is a major deficit here in maintaining a high quality of service. The staff is consistently friendly, but cannot compensate for deficiencies in service. During the first two days of cleaning, the villa service still replenished the Listerine mouthwash, but the rest of the days there was nothing to be seen of it. The lemon juice ordered on the 2nd day never reached the villa. Ordered egg dishes for breakfast were not served. Here it is to be stated at all that the processes are not optimal. The resulting waiting times are unacceptable, especially since now and then the dishes have waited too long to be handed over. The resort claims to use natural resources responsibly and in harmony with nature. The resort does not live up to this high standard everywhere. The use of waste from the use of coconut trees and other biological waste obviously leads to a recurring problem with flies. It was sometimes impossible to be outside without dozens to hundreds of flies pouncing on the food at breakfast or in the bar. This was extremely annoying and unpleasant. A relaxed stay was therefore not possible in the outdoor areas. Attempts to control the situation by means of burning paste fires and fans were rather miserable. It is important to remember that staying at the Brandoresort costs a lot of money. Therefore, one can also expect perfection in service and a relaxed and relaxing atmosphere. Unfortunately, we must note that the expectations were not met by the conditions on site, especially the fly situation was unbearable. It is a pity that with this problem, which probably occurs more often, the guest is not informed in advance. We would have then postponed the stay, to a season where the fly population is lower due to weather conditions or other circumstances.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Roam779521 wrote a review Aug 2022
Los Angeles, California3 contributions1 helpful vote
I have solo traveled to some far-reaching islands, to scuba or sometimes just relax. I know what I like, and what I don't. The Brando so far-exceeded my expectations that I had to write this review. Yes, it is expensive as compared with Mexico or the Caribbean, but not expensive when you compare it to resorts in Bora Bora, Maldives and Seychelles. It is all-inclusive, which I liked as there is no worry about what to order and the cost of things. There is an ease to coming and going without a check being presented for every staff interaction. The scuba diving here is wonderful with big mammals although I missed whale season which I think starts in August. Even the snorkeling in the lagoon was brilliant as it was teeming with marine life and healthy, abundant corals. I loved that I could literally walk into the lagoon with my snorkel gear every morning and casually explore the reefs. Some resorts in French Polynesia they create a reef environment for you to snorkel, almost like an aquarium but as a diver it always feels a bit Disneyland-esque. In Tetiaroa, the reef is abundant and huge, so you can explore different sections each and every day. The food and dining experience was exceptional, especially at Les Mutines, their fine dining restaurant. And I love the villa dining option, as some nights I had no desire to fix my hair or put on make-up plus the sunset views from Turtle Beach were different every night. I stayed 5 nights but could have easily stayed 10-nights. The island is huge with much to explore and the Tetiaroa staff are eager to show you everything, if you have the desire. I would go back to The Brando and Tetiaroa in a heart-beat!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Myriam Pied, Autre at The Brando
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Roam779521, Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review of our resort and associates. Exceeding our guests’ expectations gives us enormous satisfaction and pride. We are delighted to read that you were pleased with our All-Inclusive package offering you exceptional dining experiences. Exploring marine life of Tetiaroa is one of the must do activity, and we are thrilled you were enjoying it daily. On behalf of The Brando team, we are looking forward to welcome you again very soon. Best regards, Guillaume Epinette General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nate Z wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions5 helpful votes
We spent a week in Tahiti (July 2022) - Started with 3 nights at the Brando and 4 nights at the 4 seasons. Very different resorts. We went to the Brando first since it was touted to be the most exclusive and our 25th Anniversary fell early in the week and that's where we wanted to spend it. While at the Brando, we were warned by 2 or 3 couples that the food and the service were below par at the Four Seasons - our next destination in comparison to the Brando. In actuality, we had a very different experience. For the cost and exclusivity of the Brando, I was very disappointed. I would have thought the staff would be better trained and responsive and anticipate the desires of guests -- this was not the case and their were only 3 restaurants at the Brando, (a Teppanyaki one, the casual one which doubled for breakfast, lunch, and dinner -- all with the same menu, and the fine dining one with a tasting menu. Much to our chagrin, we only learned on the first night that the fine dining restaurant was closed on Tuesdays -- which happened to be our 25th Anniversary. We had done Teppenyaki the first night, so stuck at the casual beach restaurant to celebrate. The staff did nothing to recognize or celebrate the 25th anniversary - no special champagne, rose petals, desserts.....nothing. Very disappointing. The Brando should be better than that. The actual villas were beautifully appointed and very secluded and luxurious - a big plus. Each has its own plunge pool overlooking the ocean -- only used it once. While we were on the beach, the flies were a real nuisance and hindered our ability to just chill out for long periods of time on the lounge chairs. After 3 nights at the Brando, we were actually ready and excited to leave for the Four Seasons. Despite what the other couples at the Brando told us, the Four Seasons really lived up to our expectations and my wife and I had a great time. Their concierge texting through the App was very convenient and they actually had champagne, flowers, and chocolate waiting for us with a nice welcome note from the management and happy anniversary wishes. Very different !!! Four Seasons was a much larger property with more guests. They were at 95% capacity, yet it felt like they were at 50% capacity with no issues in getting seated at restaurants. The staff was extremely friendly and the rotating staff at the included buffet breakfast were even able to anticipate our repeated orders and preferences without us asking more than one time for something special. I gave the Brando 2 stars for the cost of the vacation without providing the experience that should accompany it -- especially for the cost. When we had conversations with the rare English speaking staff, they admitted that the Brando management were aware of the issues and were trying to figure out how to fix the broken resort. By the way -- best part of the Brando were the bartenders. Unique and innovative drinks that were awesome and very friendly! Probably worth giving it 1 more star just for the bartenders, but nah.... At $4000+/night, they should be great.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Myriam Pied, Autre at The Brando
Responded 4 days ago
Dear natez2019, We would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Allow me to present you our sincere apologies for the inconvenience which you have experienced throughout your stay. The Brando is aiming to provide to our guests a memorable experience, and we are sorry to hear that we have failed in doing so. Your feedback is taken very seriously in order to constantly improve our service and assure this situation wouldn’t happen. We are thrilled to read that you were delighted by the comfort and calm of your villa. Which unfortunately was disturbed by flies. We do hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back at the The Brando. Best Regards, Guillaume Epinette General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tmwnyc wrote a review Jul 2022
NY, NY30 contributions48 helpful votes
We arrived back after a seven night stay at this property on the all-inclusive package. It is amazing. Gorgeous, secluded, wonderful villas, super pleasant staff. Was the most relaxing vacation. I am rating it four stars b/c of the food service. This is a private island so you can only eat at their 3 restaurants. Breakfast is the same each day, lunch and dinner are the same menu at room service/cafe and there are two reservation restaurants for dinner. Over the course of 7 days, we had at least 8 errors in our meals - generally with room service. Sometimes in our favor (delivering double orders of french fries), but majority of time they forgot something, didn't follow the instructions, etc. At any other property, I would say, "oh well still amazing 5 stars" but this place is $4,000 a night - so you expect no mistakes. Not a mistake with every meal. Hence the four stars. Other small negatives, the spa was not great. I had 7 treatments included in my stay - and only used 5 of them. The have water stations throughout the property, but no cups. Apparently they have a reusable water bottle in the rooms - but one wasn't in our room and no one told us this for 3 days. Other positives, the property is incredible. The barrier reef makes the island so quiet and peaceful. The employees are super friendly and nice. The other guests are very low key (even the celebrity ones didn't seem to make a fuss). Riding the bikes around all week is nice and provides a little movement. We played tennis most mornings and enjoyed the court. I also thought it would be interesting to compare this hotel to FS Bora Bora where we stayed last year. Brando is all inclusive but about double the cost of the Four Seasons Bora Bora. Unless you want or need super seclusion, we did not think the Brando was worth 2x the price of the Four Seasons.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Myriam Pied, Autre at The Brando
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear tmwnyc, Allow us to thank you for the detailed review of your recent stay. We are thrilled to read that you had the most relaxing vacation with us. And were delighted with your villa and the service provided by our associates while enjoying the peacefulness of our resort. Nevertheless, permit us to present you our sincere apologies for occurred situations throughout your stay which certainly do not represent the Brando. Your feedback is taken very seriously in order to constantly improve our service. And it is with great pleasure that we will be delighted to welcome you very soon in Tetiaroa. Best regards, MP
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SanDiegoW_traveler wrote a review Jun 2022
San Diego, California233 contributions176 helpful votes
We just returned from a 3 night stay at The Brando. It was really nice, and I am a bit torn about whether to give 4 or 5 starts. Overall it is really spectacular, but for the price it should be close to perfect. There were a few glitches that pushed it down to 4 stars. As most of the review note, the villas are beautiful...all on the beach (which is effectively private other than a few other guest who might stroll by). The water is beautiful and warm, and the room amenities are excellent. The staff is generally incredibly friendly and helpful. Here are the negatives: 1) My wife has a sesame seed allergy, which we told them prior to arrival as well as during our check in. We ordered room service for lunch that day and again reminded them of this fact. The meal came covered with sesame seeds. 2) On our last night, we went to the Beach restaurant and ordered a bottle of champagne. It took more than 45 minutes to get! Even after asking a few times, there was never an apology. 3) Overall, the food is pretty average. On a few occasions it was also rather cold. One morning our coffee was really lukewarm. I realize that these comments may seem a bit picky, but at $4,000 per night I think that these issues shouldn't be acceptable. Lastly, I would recommend a villa on the Turtle Beach. The snorkeling is much better there. We were on the Mermaid Beach, and in addition to be a less swimmable location, it was very windy while we were there...whereas on the Turtle side it was quite calm (I don't know if this is common or not).
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Turtle Beach seems to be preferable
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
6 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Myriam Pied, Autre at The Brando
Responded Jul 20, 2022
Dear SanDiegoW_traveler, Thank you for the time you took to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you had a spectacular stay with us and were pleased with the beauty of your villa and provided amenities, all surrounded by our passionate associates. Nevertheless, we are sorry to read that you have faced such unusual experiences during your stay and we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered. The information provided above have been shared with the hotel management team for constant improvement of our service. On behalf of the Brando team, we hope we will have the chance to welcome you again ! Best Regards, MP
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sigler77 wrote a review Jun 2022
Charles Town, West Virginia239 contributions5 helpful votes
This was our second stay it was just as magical as our first stay .I would give it seven stars if I could . The attention to detail from staff was amazing. The spa ,restaurants excursions just as epic as our first stay which is hard to do .Thanks to Pacific For Less for setting up this special trip back to the Brando for us they are amazing as well
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Myriam Pied, Autre at The Brando
Responded Jun 19, 2022
Dear sigler77 Thank you very much for choosing us again for your vacation in French Polynesia. We are happy to hear that you had a magical time in our resort and enjoyed your spa treatments, excursions and our culinary offer in addition to the attention to details provided by our passionate associates. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back at the ”seven star” resort named The Brando. Best Regards,MP
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter C wrote a review Jun 2022
60 contributions66 helpful votes
We spent 3 nights at the Brando in early June. It was great and I highly recommend - although of course pricey. We did the full board package which was great as you could eat and drink without worrying about pricing. Arrival by small plane and met by local singers and ukelele. Our villa was huge - 4 rooms, private pool, never anyone else on the beach. Service impeccable, especially the new manager Frank. The bars both fun, dining wise we especially enjoyed the Nami and a private dinner at our villa. Gym fully equipped. Diving well done too with Manni. Mainly a place to rest and relax and have every whim taken care of!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Turtle beach side - 107 - better swimming.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Myriam Pied, Autre at The Brando
Responded Jun 18, 2022
Dear PeterC Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback regarding your stay at The Brando. We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with your villa, the all-inclusive package and thrilled to read that you have experienced our signature service. Along with the entire team, it was our pleasure having you with us and we will be very happy to welcome you back in our Paradise. Best Regards, MP
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DavJo12 wrote a review Jun 2022
London, United Kingdom338 contributions168 helpful votes
Words may not be enough to describe how amazing it was at The Brando. Everything was just perfect. Our ‘home’ was on Turtle Bay so we enjoyed the sunset every evening, and it felt like we had the place to ourselves. The accommodation comprised a large bedroom, dressing room, bathroom with outside bath, entrance/lounge area, study, large outside deck with sun loungers and a rather sizeable plunge pool, most alluring for ‘skinny dipping’ given the privacy. One of us had a special birthday whilst we were there, and they provided canapes and Champagne beach-side at sunset, with two musicians and a singer. This was a complete surprise and absolutely lovely. The staff were fantastic, super friendly and attentive; after initial meetings they always knew what we liked or wanted, almost before we did. All the food was good, although for the resort of this calibre, a certain wow factor was perhaps absent. This may be understandable, giving the potential difficulties of recruiting and retaining staff in a such remote location. There was plenty of variety in the Beachcomber Café, where breakfast was also served. We dined twice in the Japanese Teppanyaki bar and in the French fine dining restaurant (Les Mutinés), where the food, from a shortish menu, was well prepared and presented. Wines available on the ‘all inclusive’ wine list were of a good standard, if fairly limited. We took advantage of many of the excursions offered which were very good, and we wish to extend a special thanks to extremely knowledgeable and enthusiastic tour guides. We also had five spa treatments which were fantastic; the spa is in a great location around a fresh-water lagoon in the middle of the motu. A dream place we hope to visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Myriam Pied, Autre at The Brando
Responded Jun 16, 2022
Dear DavJo12 Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us at The Brando and especially for highlighting the spaciousness of our villas, privacy and the activities available on property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the service and the food. Your home away from home and all The Brando associates are waiting for your next visit ! Best Regards, MP
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brad L wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions5 helpful votes
Perfect grounds, stunning beaches, and service that is top notch. This was my second stay at the hotel and I was a bit worried it would not match my first experience. Simply put, management runs a first class hotel with spectacular food including 3 restaurants that each offer something different. The memory of kayaking around the main island in utter paradise, hitting up fresh sashimi after, followed by a swim and a few cocktails at the beach before soaking in the pool at the room….I mean it just goes on and on. It’a private island and truly feels like it. Tranquil and at the top of its game. See you again soon!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Myriam Pied, Autre at The Brando
Responded Jun 16, 2022
Dear bradl119, Thank you very much for considering us again for your vacation in French Polynesia. We're happy to hear that you had a great time in our resort and enjoyed the culinary offer of our restaurants and the facilities. We truly appreciate your comment and are delighted that you will keep cheerful memories of your experience at The Brando. We are looking forward to welcome you back very soon at The Brando. Best Regards, MP
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
44carole wrote a review May 2022
New Jersey7 contributions19 helpful votes
We visited The Brando six months after it opened, again the following year and for five nights including NY's EVE this year. It was a magnificent perfect stay. We stayed in the same Villa, #103 whose location we love. The service was impeccable. I asked for popcorn on the second day and each day it was delivered in the late afternoon. The NY's EVE celebration dinner was wonderfully planned. The decor, ambiance, entertainment and menu were all superb. I had a massage which was expertly done. I knew the spa reception person from the Paul Gauguin. The staff and management were all attentive and available for any and all requests. I highly highly recommend The Brando and we hope to return once again later this year.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Cleanliness
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We love Mermaid Bay
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Myriam Pied, Autre at The Brando
Responded May 20, 2022
Dear 44carole Thank you for taking your time to review your experience at The Brando. We are thrilled to know that you had a perfect stay with us. Our associates strive to offer exceptional service, and we are very pleased to know that they contributed to a memorable stay. We truly look forward to your next visit this year to The Brando. Best regards, MP
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
LOCATION
French PolynesiaSociety IslandsTahitiTetiaroa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Brando
What are some of the property amenities at The Brando?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Brando?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Brando?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Brando?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does The Brando have airport transportation?
Yes, The Brando offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Brando?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Brando have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.