We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
121 Upper Ganges Rd, Ganges, British Columbia V8K 2S2 Canada
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$224
Tripadvisor$224
StayForLong
eDreams$224
Agoda.com$224
Algotels
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (8)
Room & Suite (14)
View from Room (3)

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Ganges
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
3.9
Service
4.0
Value
3.8
The Harbour House Hotel offers year round accommodation on Salt Spring Island. The hotel is located at the head of the Ganges Harbour, overlooking the Marina, just walking distance to the Ganges Village area. Most guestrooms offer harbour views of stunning Gulf Island sunrises with patios or large balconies. Pet friendly; non-smoking environment; free wireless internet & parking. Local activities include hiking, kayaking and whale watching. The Marina is located across the street where bike, scooter and car rentals are also available. The hotel has an Audubon Society 3 GreenLeaf Eco Rating and is a Certified Green Accommodation with the Salt Spring Island Chamber of Commerce. We look forward to welcoming you!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Bicycle rental
Boating
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Conference facilities
Wifi
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Diving
Hiking
Bicycle tours
Evening entertainment
Patio
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
ATM on site
Umbrella
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Swedish
63Reviews4Q+A25Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 26
  • 18
  • 8
  • 5
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Klaus P wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
Kelly the manger was the friendliest, hands on manager I have ever met. No request was to difficult. One morning I was up at 6 went to the lobby and no one there except Kelly working on a sign board and she offered me coffee which is not supposed to start until 7.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Waldi wrote a review Aug 2022
Calgary, Canada1 contribution
This is very nice hotel and perfectly located. Not the cheapest but pretty new and clean. Front desk personnel is very friendly and helpful. There is restaurant in the hotel but we did not use it, except breakfast service in the lobby. Actually breakfast has good selection, including option for gluten free meals. Love the outdoor seating space that is comfy and had nice view of marina.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Owner at Harbour House Hotel
Responded Sep 2, 2022
Hello, We appreciate your kind comments. We try our best to ensure all our guest have a 5 star experience and feel like a VIP! Thanks for taking the time to write this review, I will share it with the team. Kelly
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bill F wrote a review Aug 2022
Powassan, Canada9 contributions9 helpful votes
Spent the July/August long weekend in Salt Spring.All the staff from Kelly at the top through to the chamber maid were helpful and friendly. I was informed of the "make up policy" for the room at check in. This is very reasonable when you consider the issues with water on the Island. The hotel is well appointed and has a great location for all things "Ganges". The restaurant is reasonable and quality and choice of food is good. Staffing issues are a problem we encountered everywhere during our 3 week trip through BC and Alberta.. If you check your sense of entitlement and go with the flow all is well.. I would strongly recommend the Hotel and would have no hesitation staying there again if I was to return to Ganges.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Second floor Harbour view. No elevator but staff very helpfull with luggage.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Owner at Harbour House Hotel
Responded Sep 2, 2022
Looking forward to having you back again! See you soon! Until then... safe travels. Kelly
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jackie S wrote a review Jun 2022
British Columbia, Canada3 contributions1 helpful vote
I recently organized a luncheon at the Harbour House for a group of friends who graduated 50 years ago from Gulf Island Secondary School. Kelly, the Manager, went above and beyond, opening the restaurant at lunchtime especially for the group, comping us with a couple bottles of wine and taking photos of the group to send to me later. Everyone was impressed with the service and with the food. I would not hesitate to book an event at the Harbour House again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Owner at Harbour House Hotel
Responded Jul 26, 2022
Hello It was great to have you. Thank you for choosing us to host your event and we look forward to welcoming you back again! Kelly
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hank B wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
We stayed at this terrible hotel for two nights at $500.00 plus per night. We received no cleaning service. When we asked about having our room cleaned the two rude and smug front desk clerks told us we needed to complete a form requesting service. The information was not provided when we checked in. I asked the clerk, who was there when we checked in, why we weren’t informed of this practice and he shrugged. Both clerks were completely disinterested in us or our issue. I indicated that they should provide guests with their protocols upon check-in and they basically stared blankly at me. There was zero customer service. I asked for more towels. Upon coming back to our room we found new towels on a counter. The dirty wet towels were still on the floor in the shower. We tried to eat dinner in the hotel restaurant. We arrived at 7:15 pm. The restaurant had three tables with customers and the majority of the seats were empty. The hostess asked us if we had a reservation to which we replied no. She told us that was their Covid protocol. We left and ate across the street where we were not required to have a reservation. We ate at a few different establishments in Gange that weekend and no one required reservations. I have travelled all over the world and have never had such terrible service at such an overpriced hotel. Their “Covid protocol” line is just an excuse for apathy and laziness. Why are there two clerks at the front desk doing nothing while customers can’t get any services. The hotel was not busy at all. There was hardly anyone there yet the island was quite busy with line- ups at restaurants in town. Where is the management? Don’t get tricked into staying here. It is not worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Do not book this hotel!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Owner at Harbour House Hotel
Responded Jul 26, 2022
Hello I am sorry your stay did not met your expectations. We do have housekeeping services and you should have been told how our housekeeping works upon your arrival. I apologize that this was not communicated to you properly. Everyone's comfort is important to us and we would like to respect where everyone is with their own comfort levels so we allow them the choice of whether they would like us to enter the rooms. We have chosen to have our guests make reservations with us in our restaurant so that we can ensure optimum service with limited staffing we are happy to provide quality over quantity. I am happy to here that other businesses were able to offer you what you were looking for. There are many beautiful places on island I glad you have been able to enjoy them. We look forward to your return to Salt Spring Island! Kelly Armstrong
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tugboatgirl wrote a review Apr 2022
Kamloops, Canada76 contributions59 helpful votes
Very nice, modern and clean rooms. Friendly staff. Large rooms. The only issue is thin walls, so you can hear people in other rooms/hallways. Also I feel like the rooms are overpriced but that is the case everywhere on Saltspring Island. If staying in the main house, and you have an issue with stairs, let them know. There is no elevator. Not an issue for us.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Randy B wrote a review Feb 2022
British Columbia, Canada13 contributions9 helpful votes
Several people from my organization are slated to stay here in a week; the organizer reserved a block of rooms for us but we had to register individually; the price was a fixed agreed upon rate. I called to confirm my reservation over a weeks ago and the lady I spoke to could not confirm the price (it was more than double what we were told we would be paying). She said she would look into it and call back; which she did the following day. The message she left me was to call her back. However, I have tried three times to call them back. The first time there was no answer. The second time I left a voive mail to call me; no one did. The third time someone picked up the phone and put me on hold. After 5 minutes, it rang endlessly so I hung up. I followed up with an e-mail sent FROM THEIR WEBSITE stating all this. All I wanted to do was confirm my reservation and rate. Two days later, still haven't heard back. I will be informing my event organizer to cancel all reservations and go somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
428barbaral wrote a review Feb 2022
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada7 contributions1 helpful vote
We booked here for 4 nights, and not once was our room cleaned, wastebaskets emptied, dishes removed, bed made, etc. We were told after the 2nd night that you had to ask for this service- but of course if you don’t know to ask, nothing will happen. And even when we did ask, and were assured that the room would be cleaned, we returned from our day out to find nothing had changed. We did get clean towels when we asked for them. There was no room service, no breakfast offered, only dinner ( very mediocre) that we had to collect from the kitchen ourselves on the one occasion we opted to eat in. We fully understand limitations due to Covid, but this was beyond the pale. Paul, who was on the desk most days, was extremely nice, but seemed to have no ability to effect any improvement in the housekeeping situation. Other staff were sullen and dismissive, citing Covid as a reason for the absence of any housekeeping. Was this worth $380 per night for a harbour view « deluxe » room? No way. We were not advised of the bare bones situation when we booked, and had we known in advance would never have agreed to this rate. We feel quiet cheated.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
k_girl883 wrote a review Nov 2021
Russell, Canada219 contributions44 helpful votes
The hotel room was clean and the bathroom recently updated. We stayed in a double queen and it was very roomy. The front counter staff was very nice and explained COVID protocols. Cons: the water pressure could use some work and the walls were paper thin and we could hear our neighbours having a conversation (they weren’t screaming).
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
ReadLisaRead wrote a review Sep 2021
Duncan, Canada77 contributions53 helpful votes
I booked through the online booking website, which is always my first choice, but I did try on a couple of occasions to telephone to confirm a couple of details. I was never able to speak to a hotel staff member prior to our arrival. The first issue is the room description. This is directly from the website: "Sporting a King size bed, the Garden Patio room is the perfect economical room. Ground floor, pet friendly, and can adjoin to another room with 2 double beds, which is perfect for families wanting more space. Facing out over the historic Harbour View farm site, the feeling is Salt Spring through and through. 50" Smart TV, fridge, coffeemaker. Standup shower. Air-conditioning." I emailed twice and tried to call several times to confirm the adjoining bedroom, and to ascertain if there was an extra fee, etc. I was never able to connect with a staff member. And so, it shouldn't have come as a surprise when I checked in that the staff member had no information on my request. From there, the adventure goes downhill. There not only was no such room in the hotel, there was nothing comparable she could offer. We could switch to a different room the next day, but that was not practical, as we needed to get dressed for an event, on top of which I was travelling with my elderly mum who has limited mobility. I suppose what the description really meant was that there was an option for adjoining HOTEL room-- but that is not what is implied by "another room with 2 twin beds". So, the only option left to me was to sleep on the fold out couch. This required the one staff member to leave her desk to get me linens, which I in turn used to make up my own bed. When I unfolded the couch, the floor beneath was absolutely filthy as well. I understand staffing is challenge in these pandemic times, but for $250 a night, I should be able to expect not to have to make up my own bed and sleep over a dirty floor. Finally, while we needed an accessible room, the view really wasn't that critical, but it was really an over-sell referring to the "vista" of the back parking lot, the smoke pit, dumpsters and a fence as "Farm View". The other issue I am very concerned about is when we visited the restaurant on site, while the service was great and the food fine, I was alarmed that we were not asked for our Vaccine Passports. Every other restaurant or lounge we visited over the weekend on Saltspring asked to see our documentation. So, like the title says, I love Saltspring Island, but I will never stay at Harbour House again
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexander Fischer-Jean, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel
Responded Sep 22, 2021
Dear Lisa Read, We are equally disappointed that you chose to write a negative review in response to not getting a refund. Yes, when you booked on our website, you selected one of our most economical rooms that clearly states it has only one king-size bed. Yes, this room has an adjoining door to another guestroom next door, which can be rented if you require additional beds to accommodate larger families, as our website states. We are sorry that you misinterpreted this entry-level as a suite when you booked your stay. Our reservation team may have been on the phone while you called, however you do have the ability to leave a voice message and an agent will promptly return your call once they are available. Unfortunately, you never left a message, nor did we receive any email correspondence from you. As you stated, our front desk team tried diligently to find a solution for you at check in, but you declined all offers. And so, it should come as no surprise that if you needed a room with two separate beds, you should have booked as such. Also, if we had known in advance that you required the use of the sofa bed, we could have made it up for you prior to your arrival. Lastly, we actively ask to review all restaurant patron's vaccine passports and I am perplexed as to why you were not. Again, we are saddened that you were unhappy with your stay, but hope that your visit to Salt Spring Island was enjoyable and you had a safe trip home.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$252 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
harbour house hotel, restaurant & organic farm hotel salt spring island, harbour house hotel, restaurant and organic farm, harbour hotel saltspring island
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaSalt Spring IslandGanges
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HARBOUR HOUSE HOTEL - Updated 2022 Prices & Reviews (Ganges, British Columbia)

Frequently Asked Questions about Harbour House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Harbour House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Axe & Reel Outdoor Emporium (0.3 miles), Duthie Gallery (0.2 miles), and The Fish Rubber Gallery - Studio (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Harbour House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and meeting rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Harbour House Hotel?
Top room amenities include a refrigerator, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Harbour House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Harbour House Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Harbour House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Moby's Pub, Manor Dining, and Woodley's at the Harbour House Restaurant.
Is Harbour House Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Salt Spring Island.
Does Harbour House Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Harbour House Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Swedish.
Does Harbour House Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.
Is Harbour House Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.