We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castle Hotel Daniel

Save
Share
No. 215, Talisoara 527058 Romania
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Agoda.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (99)
Room & Suite (28)
Dining (21)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Bygone times in a Transylvanian castle! Spacious suites and intimate saloons, thick walls and gracious arches - our guests will enjoy the authentic atmosphere of a renaissance castle, while being pampered in the highest comfort of modern times. We offer boutique accommodation in 8 uniquely designed rooms, traditional Transylvanian cuisine with a gourmet twist, and authentic touring experiences.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Game room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Hiking
Horseback riding
Shuttle bus service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Massage
BBQ facilities
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Czech, Hungarian, Romanian and 1 more

Location

Full view
Contact
No. 215, Talisoara 527058 Romania
Getting there
Napoca Airport102 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
117Reviews0Q+A28Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 93
  • 20
  • 3
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
irinaparlog wrote a review Dec 2020
Bucharest, Romania34 contributions7 helpful votes
Been here in december just for one night, but having in mind the restrictions all over the country, it was enough. Chose the hotel due to its spa, which is just marvelous. Inner pool, jacuzzi, sauna and other facilities. It was absolutely magnificent. Stayed in room 8, the one with the murals, cozy bed, looks great, but if you are not comfortable with a bath instead of a shower cabin and right to the bed, then try to make an effort while staying there. The rooms are well refurbished and look good, but it is not a 5 star hotel. It is a castle, very well kept by the owners. The restaurant with not so many choices, but enough for our taste, is small and the food tastes great. We had reinterpreted polenta, onion soup (not the french recipe, in case you expect that) and some other things. The breakfast will please you having in mind that they serve a lot of food. The garden looks extremely well, and maybe during a warmer season it is a good choice to just relax and breath in the fresh air. You should try it! It is an unique adventure!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Claudia wrote a review Aug 2020
Bucharest, Romania25 contributions3 helpful votes
So, we had a reservation there for 1 week. We arrived around 13.00h and the room was not ready.. that was not a problem, we enjoyed a nice, cold drink complements from the house. They moved really fast and finised the room in 1 hour, wich was nice because we were tired and it was damn hot outside. I understand there are many lovely rooms in the castle, but ours was normal, not a baldachim, not a fireplace in sight, nor old painting on the walls.. but we had something else.. a swing, yes, a damn swing in the room, wich our daughter adored . And the plus was the bunk beds, she always wanted to sleep in one. So the room was ok, nice, clean, everything in order, minus the air conditioner, to wich the front desk responded quickly and send some ventilator in the room. Moving to food.. everything was good, we loved the breakfast and the duck was really good plus the polenta with the creamy cheese. I mean, you really have to be mean to find something wrong with the menu. Compliments to the chef . :) The spa was really good, we booked 2h, a day ahead and we were alone there. The massage was good. Everthing is clean and they really try to make you as confortable as possible. Bare in mind this was during Covid-19, so the measures were strict. We had to use an app to order food or coffee or anything else. Everything was done through the app. We could have taken the dinner in our room, balcony or outside on the lawn. The plus for the lawn are the dogs and the cats.. adorable. The castle, or mansion by others who didn't bother to read it up, is amazing. The wood, the linen, the smell, the every small object, lovely. To sum it up, I loved the place, I would gladly return and I felt safe there( covid stuff- everybody was wearing the damn mask, social distancing, clean spa etc) . I would love a tour of the castle next time , especially the Constantinopol room
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Castle, Other at Castle Hotel Daniel
Responded Sep 1, 2020
Dear Eleinya, Thank you for your very sincere and balanced review. Indeed, we try to make our best to make every guest feel welcomed, pampered and safe, even though the challenging times we are going through currently, due to COVID restrictions and a huge amount of reservations. Thank you for visiting us, hope to see you also in the future! PS. maybe it will be less crowded then, so you can chose to stay in one of the special (deluxe) rooms
Read more
Stefan z.is wrote a review Aug 2020
Bucharest, Romania6 contributions1 helpful vote
We were supposed to spend our first day of holiday at this castel / hotel. I booked the room and the "experience" with 3 weeks previously so we can enjoy the location. We called the hotel with 3 weeks in advance and we booked by phone 3 sessions of swimming because the number of places was limited. One session at 15 -18, one from 18 -20. And one on the next day in the morning between 10-12. Also we booked a massage session at 14 30. We made all the things possible so we arrived at 14 15 only to find out after 5 hours of driving that the session of swimming and massage were cancelled just because the hotel staff considered to do so. No one called us to tell us this or to ask us if we keep the reservations even we did them with hotel staff by phone. The only remainjng reservation still standing was for the second day between 10 -12. The staff from reception told us very careless that thats it we dont have the reservations anymore. The child 5 years old started to cry because he was promised a swimking pool. The ladies from the staff told us that we can have a private session from 20 15 till 22 00. But the restaraunt was taking the last order at 21 30 and when I asked them if I can order after 22 00 thy told us that is not possible and if we want to eat we must do it before 20 15. So I was to enjoy the pool from 20 15 till maximum 21 15 in order to be able to have dinner after an entire day without eating. When I insisted theyntold me that maybe that can pursue another clinet to renounce their session at 18 00 in order for us to enjoy swimming pool. So in order to make us happy they were ready to destroy another client holiday. About the shouting: after the staff closed the door in our face twice instead of trying to make us believe that they were sorry for their mistake, yes I was yealing. The room was not also prepared with the extra bed. I recommend a training of the staff for not taking initiatives against the client bookings without checking with the client at least. You cannot cancel something which your staff put it on the books with their hands after speaking with the client at phone. We had to drive for 2 hours more to reach a hotel which had a room free by chance. Terrible indeed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Castle, Other at Castle Hotel Daniel
Responded Sep 1, 2020
Dear Mr Z., We can only repeat what we already said to your wife, that we are extremely sorry about our mistake of not registering one of the 2 consecutive spa reservations for the day of your arrival (18-20 was still standing, and we offered a private session from 20 instead of the 15.30-17.30 that was by mistake cancelled). Indeed, there was a small mistake on our side in a new process that we were forced to adopt currently because of the ever changing COVID regulations in the country, for which our staff tried to find a solution, but instead of any flexibility, or at least willingness to listen from your side, faced completely inappropriate and aggressive verbal behavior, as also witnessed by other guests staying at the hotel. Once again, we are sorry for the small mistake, and wish you pleasant holidays. We also wish we'll not be witnessing any similar guest behavior ever again.
Read more
Andreea wrote a review Aug 2020
Bucharest, Romania21 contributions6 helpful votes
Luckily we booked only one night in one of the most expensive rooms Gate Room. First let’s clarify the expectations - is not a Castle, is a Mansion. Castles is different. Second, the room: quite cheap/ low features: TV Horizon with a remote control which didn’t work even after changing the batteries. Spotlights quite cheap, and no curtains. Well, in the old centuries there were curtains so will just be nice for a good sleep and people from the terase will not see you. Pros: good food, nice fireplace in the room- as is summer we didn’t have the chance to try it. And very nice garden, you can stay long, enjoying the wine, quite, clean. Overall too pricy for 150 euro/ night!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Lilla Racz, Owner at Castle Hotel Daniel
Responded Aug 25, 2020
Dear Andreea511, Thank you for your review. We are glad that that overall, you enjoyed your stay, and we are sorry that some aspects didn't meet your expectations. Indeed, a Transylvanian Castle is not the same one would find in Loire valley, we also try to explain this aspect on our website, but in case your expectation was different, please allow us to also explain it here. Daniel Castle - this is the official name of this building, under which it is registered in the National List of Historic Monuments, and also this is how it was called historically since the 17th century, being the main residence of a noble family. Indeed, architecturally is more like a bigger Mansion, and this has again, historic explanations: - the size of the estates of aristocratic families in Transylvania was much smaller than in other parts of Europe, given that also their wealth status was a more humble one. One count once calculated, that one "yoke" (0,5755 hectare) of forest was needed to maintain one square meter of a castle. - the size of the wealth was also linked to how succession happened: in western Europe, domains were usually getting bigger and bigger with every generation, as the oldest son was always inheriting all the wealth of the family. Here in Transylvania, the oldest son was receiving the main domain/castle, however all other brothers and sisters were receiving equal parts of the family wealth. This, on the other hand resulted in a lot of Castles, only in Covasna county we have more than 160 noble buildings. And with this, also the atmosphere differs a bit, instead of the heavy velvet curtains one would expect in a fairytale castle, indeed, the lower stair of Daniel Castle has a more rustic atmosphere, with curtains to match. Indeed, this does not excuse us for TV remote control not working, we are sorry for that and fixed this issue. We do hope to see you in the future, and recommend booking one of the upper floor rooms, those might better match your expectations.
Read more
DobyCarco wrote a review Aug 2020
Bucharest, Romania31 contributions60 helpful votes
Castel Daniel has, for very good reasons, excellent reviews and I endorse them. In the following I shall be a little more malicious than others but I underline that the place is a MUST to visit. Under actual COVID circumstances Castel Daniel did its best to keep us apart, with little contact with personnel or other guests. Consequently, ordering food or room cleaning are done via an app (or better say a link) - quite time consuming and I still wonder how it is managed by people with no smart phones or little computer skills... But it works and keep us safe - is what it really matters nowadays! Nice and large garden but, when dark comes and heat eases, be prepared to fight all mosquitos on earth - quite annoying if want to enjoy a bottle of wine until late. Also, aggressive hornets are always eager for your breakfast - especially if you prefer the shadowy areas near trees. Rooms are nice and unique but really not happy for not having a protected shower - all rooms are equipped with bathtub (romantic but I would like to wash myself every day, hence a shower is preferable to avoid turning bath into a small lake). Especially in summer... Rooms near the road are quite noisy - truck traffic (loaded with lime) starts in the morning and are audible, especially if you keep open windows. Being in a village, also you may “enjoy” sounds from neighbors - a lovely sound of a drilling machine at 8:00 a.m. is hard to forget... Food is very good - “reinterpreted hominy” being something to remember. A last observation: food is served on trays that does not have supplementary pepper, salt or oil/vinegar. When prompted, poor people are kindly making another trip to kitchen to bring it but, sometime, you feel ashamed to ask to come again with something else (such as a napkin or another fork; some ice cubes and so on...). I noticed that some tables are not cleaned after people finished their meal - not a nice view of messy and dirty place (and it is not...) Notwithstanding the above, I recommend it for all lovers to spend few days in the Castle Daniel - they shall love it. Once pandemic shall vanish, I am sure we shall see some evening gastronomic events on that nice lawn - such as open fire (with a sheep over it) or a spicy goulash prepared in a large bowl over an open-air fire. And, perhaps, an oven for home-made bread...
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Lilla Racz, Owner at Castle Hotel Daniel
Responded Aug 25, 2020
Dear DobyCarco, Thank you for your thorough review, it is good to sometimes have a realistic feedback on all details, not just on what we do greatly, or maybe aspects that some people dislike, but on the small things that we can consider and improve. Indeed, the pandemic faces us with some challenges that we try to overcome, but above all, we try to prioritise our guests' safety and still offer a nice and relaxed experience, so no, it is not a problem for us to do some extra turns in order to bring you salt, it is still more elegant than placing salt&pepper sachets on the serving trays:) as for the rest, we shall consider ways to improve even further. Thank you for visiting us, hope to see you again in the future!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$96 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
RomaniaTransylvaniaCentral RomaniaCovasna CountyTalisoara
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Castle Hotel Daniel
What are some of the property amenities at Castle Hotel Daniel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Castle Hotel Daniel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Castle Hotel Daniel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Does Castle Hotel Daniel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Castle Hotel Daniel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Castle Hotel Daniel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Talisoara.
Does Castle Hotel Daniel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Castle Hotel Daniel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Romanian, Czech, Hungarian, and Slovak.
Is Castle Hotel Daniel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.