We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sinya Enduimet Wildlife Management Area, Arusha National Park 3171 Tanzania
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (93)
Room & Suite (20)
Dining (13)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Shu’mata is an upper class permanent camp perfectly combining exclusivity, comfort and authenticity while ideally situated hillside in the heart of Maasai Steppe. Five luxurious tents in the classic Hemingway-style all directly face Mt. Kilimanjaro, where the 3,500 meter Shira Plateau is vehicle accessible.Each luxury tent has a en-suite bathroom in traditional Maasai design and a veranda with endless views. The spectacular dining tent invites all for meals, High Tea, and socializing. Wilderness and wildlife are immediately at hand for games drives and walks with the Maasai tribesmen.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Room service
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint

Location

Full view
Contact
Sinya Enduimet Wildlife Management Area, Arusha National Park 3171 Tanzania
Getting there
Amboseli Airport27 miSee all flights
Arusha Airport40 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
41Reviews0Q+A6Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 37
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Shu'mata means Heaven and it does perfect justice to it's name... It is far away from any towns, on top of a hill with 360 degress of breathtaking views, which include mount Kilimanjaro. Peter our guide was just the best guide ever! He was so passionate, good fun, knowledgeble
Read more
This was a lovely secluded camp in the middle of the Maasai lands with fantastic views of Kilimanjaro. The staff was wonderful and we particularly enjoyed visiting with our hosts and the other guests during dinner. The food was excellent. This camp offers a more individual
Read more
After a great drive we arrived at this amazing camp.Our host colleen was great and i fell in love with her two dogs.The main tent is just spectacular with views straight toward killy{when its not cloudy}.We missed seeing the very top of killy due to cloud cover the three days
Read more
Response from HatariShumata, Manager at Shu'mata Camp
Responded Feb 7, 2015
You really seemed to have some adventurous and beautiful days at Shu’mata and could enjoy the holistic idea of a safari. The Maasai culture truly has some awesome secrets which they are willing to share with us. Shu’mata can be balm for the soul, and obviously for the lips as well.
Read more
This was our second visit in Tanzania and one that we were really looking forward to. Unfortunately, we were delayed a day getting to the lodge because of issues with the park management and ongoing conflicts over the future of the park area. We had two nights and one full day.
Read more
Response from HatariShumata, Manager at Shu'mata Camp
Responded Feb 7, 2015
You experienced Shu’mata during times of political conflicts. We are glad, that beside these unfortunate and ‘out of control’ circumstance, everything went well and you had a WOW-stay at our beautiful Shu’mata Camp.
Read more
This was the first place we stayed on our safari. We were greeted by the cheery, knowledgeable and extremely friendly Colleen, who not only manages the camp, but also has a deep involvement with elephant conservation and is an exceptional photographer. Her 2 dogs 'Rascal' and
Read more
Response from HatariShumata, Manager at Shu'mata Camp
Responded Feb 7, 2015
Sounds like you truly had an amazing stay at Shu’mata. Words like this make us very happy and reflect what we are trying to succeed. Thank you very much! We hope to welcome you back at our ‘heaven’ one day.
Read more
LOCATION
TanzaniaArusha RegionArusha National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing