We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes
Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

757 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 232: English reviews
Male
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

At first our arrival transport was delayed for more than one hour from Male'. A very bad starting.. After arriving the resort we was informed of non a/c room, no Wi-Fi in room, no refrigerator in room, fan was not working properly and also so many . The next day, we had our lunch at 1pm, as we were informed... More 

Helpful?
Thank kopisse
Rihiveli1, Manager at Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes, responded to this review

Dear kopisse, Greetings from Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels and Escapes..! Thank you for taking time to share your feedback and review with us and the readers. We acknowledge your dissatisfaction with regard to the transfer arrangements for your arrival and departure. However, I wold like to inform you that since your transfer was arranged to be combined with other guests... More 

Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I've been to Rihiveli 3 times because of my previous experience in the first two visits. Unfortunately, the third was my last as management has changed and our stay turned into something more stressful than it should be. 1 - Unlike my first two times, the wait in the airport to be picked up lasted more than 3 hours. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank lo0olie
Rihiveli1, Manager at Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes, responded to this review

Dear lo0olie, Greetings from Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels and Escapes..! We acknowledge your disappointment and the negative experiences you have faced during your stay with us in November 2015. We would like to inform you that, we have since changed the hotel manager and at the same time some of the practices from those days have been revised or cancelled.... More 

Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have been here for my honeymoon with high expectations...and believe me...all my expectations were met...the location of island is unique... Away from any chaos....excellent staff with smiles on their face...always ready to help and make you feel comfortable.... Most beautiful room(ACANTASTER)...Forest like greenary.... Activities like Beach volleyball... Numerous watersports....Mouth watering food....I didn't see anything missing...Simply Superb... Will go back... More 

Helpful?
Thank vamseer2015
Rihiveli1, Manager at Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes, responded to this review

Dear vamseer2015, Thank you for such a lovely review..! We are extremely happy to learn that we have been able to meet you your expectations and exceeded. Once again thank you for sharing such a lovely comment and we "the entire team" at Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels and Escapes look forward to welcome you back and certainly look forward to... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

To start with, this resort is not high end so please don't expect a lot of luxury like what you see on pages of magazines BUT for the amount of money you pay, it's very good. First off, meet and greet at the airport. I guess since it's not a high end, don't expect someone will be looking for you... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank asb_9theTraveller
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We spent our two weeks honeymoon in Rihiveli in a deluxe bungaloe. Overall the stay was pleasant, but there were way too many things that went somewhat suboptimal especially considering the price. We of course complained about all of these issues and except for once nothing ever happened... We got friendly apologies, but that was it. I'll start with a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Sara K
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2016

We recently had 5 nights staying here. Such a beautiful island. Our cottage was simple, but very clean. The view from our room to the lagoon was great. I was blown away by the quality of the food here - amazing!! Thank you to all the hard working kitchen staff, what you produce is awesome. The staff here are wonderful.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Sammy0068
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

I have been to the ends of the earth and stayed at a multitude of hotels, but have never felt what I feel about Rihiveli. I miss moments I lived, people I met... never a hotel. But this place has just found its space in my heart and from time to time, I feel I miss it so much that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TangoInTheSky
Rihiveli_Team, Manager at Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes, responded to this review

Dear Cristina D, Thank you for such a lovely review. I will pass on your compliments to our team which certainly make them proud knowing that they have met your expectations and have been able to help you create unforgettable memories of Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels and Escapes. It would be an absolute pleasure to welcome you back and take... More 

baguio
Level Contributor
128 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2016 via mobile

Rihiveli is really beautiful. The waters are very clear, the hues of the sea turquoise to deep blue. There are tall palm trees all over the island. The sand is white, but the sunset side of the beach have small bits of shell and coral. You can walk or kayak to nearby Sunrise Island with its fine, powdery sand. It... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank angeladelmar
Rihiveli_Team, Manager at Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes, responded to this review

Dear angeladelmar, Thank you for sharing your Rihiveli experience with the readers. Please accept my apology for missing out on following through standard welcoming protocols of the resort. We do have a system in place where the resort organize all the transfers for all our arrival and departure guests and have a system in place where our Life Style hosts... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2016

I don't care how many stars this place actually has. For me the stars are uncountable because: I did not have that crowded, noisy, annoying beach resort feeling at all, Rihiveli is the opposite of it, Even though the capacity of the island was nearly filled, you often got the feeling that you have the lagoon and the Indian ocean... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela P
Rihiveli_Team, Manager at Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes, responded to this review

Dear Michaela P, Greetings from Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes..! Thank you for sharing such a nice review with the readers and us. We are extremely happy that our team have made your stay a memorable one. The team at Rihiveli continuously work to maintain the surrounding beauty of this heaven like Resort which the name itself resembles, "Rihiveli"... More 

Belgium
Level Contributor
161 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016

If you are looking for a luxury vacation, you can ignore this place. The bungalow are just OK. Shower and toilet are even a little bit old style(very clean). But the view and the sea are amazing. So who cares so much about the room. Most of the activities are free. Snorkeling trips twice a day to different places. You... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cecily Y
Rihiveli_Team, Manager at Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes, responded to this review

Dear Cecily Y, Thank you for your wonderful review and sharing the same with the readers. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and acknowledge your appreciation towards named team members. It is our priority to focus on improving and ensure your Rihiveli experience is an unforgettable one. We look forward to welcome you back to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,586 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1233)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (171)
Viewed
Dining (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (102)
Viewed
Room/Suite (71)
Viewed
View from Room (61)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (734)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (345)
Viewed
Amenities (57)
Viewed
Beach (14)
Viewed
Deluxe Bungalow (60)
Viewed
Dining (96)
Viewed
Standard Double Bungalow (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (20)
Viewed
Triple Bungalow (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahaanaelhihuraa Island
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Mald...
#1 of 1 in Kandoomaafushi Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,293 reviews
7.3 mi away
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
#1 of 1 in Rannalhi
4.0 of 5 stars 1,187 reviews
4.0 mi away
Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort
Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort
#1 of 1 in Olhuveli Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Velassaru Maldives
Velassaru Maldives
#1 of 1 in Velassaru Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,408 reviews
5.5 mi away
Fihalhohi Island Resort
Fihalhohi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fihalhohi Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,011 reviews
8.2 mi away
Biyadhoo Island Resort
Biyadhoo Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Biyaadhoo Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes boasts sea-facing bungalows, each with their own private terrace overlooking the Indian Ocean. Located in South Male Atoll, the resort has its own spa and restaurant which offers buffet meals and open-air dining. 400 metres from Sunrise Island and Bird Island, the resort is accessible from Male International Airport via a 1-hour speedboat ride. The fan-cooled bungalows open out to a private terrace and feature wooden flooring. A private garden with hammock or deck chairs leads to the lagoon water. Outdoor showers are available in the Deluxe Bungalows, complimenting the separate indoor bathroom. Guests can enjoy a variety of water sports including sailing, water-skiing and night snorkelling during their stay at Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes. Other recreation facilities include volleyball, tennis and billiards. Each day the resort's talented chefs prepare a different cuisine which can include French, Italian, Maldivian and Asian. Dinner is either a buffet or set menu depending on the daily theme, 3 times during the week dinner is set up on the beach to enjoy the beautiful starry nights. An extensive wine list is also available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes

Address: South Male Atoll
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Mahaanaelhihuraa Island
Price Range: $256 - $810 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Fastbooking and Odigeo so you can book your Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rihiveli Beach Hotel South Male Atoll
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay