We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Island Resort & Spa

Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
10 people are viewing this hotel
Official Site
$828
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$556
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/24/21
Trip.com
$828
$346
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/15/22
Hotels.com$556
getaroom.com$492
Booking.com$580
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (4831)
360
Panoramas (7)
Pool & Beach (1508)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 10/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Royal Island Resort & Spa
Updated 10/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Come experience the Maldives you’ve always dreamt of at Royal Island Resort & Spa. Amidst the sparkling jewels of the Indian Ocean, our exquisite Maldives luxury hotel shines and dazzles above all. Indulge and immerse yourself in a colorful journey of discovery, where shores lined with luxuriant banyans and lush palms yield to a majestic underwater world that will render you speechless. Enjoy unmatched services and facilities, including the lavish Araamu Spa and a fabulous selection of restaurants and bars. Relax and unwind with a vast selection of resort activities , including a fully equipped gymnasium, tennis, and squash to scuba diving and water skiing.
Read more
Property amenities
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Canoeing
Airport transportation
Banquet room
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Diving
Snorkeling
Tennis court
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Table tennis
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Concierge
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, German
1915Reviews250Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,283
  • 446
  • 114
  • 33
  • 39
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Iva Liliana wrote a review Jul 3
During my 10 day stay at Royal Island Resort&SPA Araamu made my most precious and special vacation for their incredible treatments not only for efficacy and immediate results visible to the naked eye, but for the energy boost that made me truly reborn. I had several daily treatments, one better than the other, I recommend trying them all. All the team very professional and helpful, my special thanks to my therapist SAJEEV and his miraculous hands. I will be back as soon as possible.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Hasan Ibrahim, Owner at Royal Island Resort & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Sir/ Madam,  Warm Greetings from Royal Island Resort & Spa! Thank you for choosing our island as your holiday destination in the Maldives.  We are thrilled to read that your time with us has exceeded your expectations and especially that you were delighted with the treatments received from our Spa. Thank you for recognising and for the praise to the therapist Sajeev. Certainly, he will be happy to know that he made your stay so special.  Thank you once again for the excellent rating and for reviewing us.  A warm welcome awaits your next arrival.  Best regards, Royal Island Resort & Spa
Read more
Marci Temblique wrote a review Jun 2021
Qatar
+1
PROs Accommodation: The Beach Villa is nice and is the same of the images posted in their website Service: The staffs were very friendly and the housekeeping was superb. Cleaning twice a day and very accommodating. CONs (We booked All Inclusive Package) Main restaurant has poor quality of food, Buffet has terrible selection of menu only few were considered "edible". Hot food were served cold even there's food warmer and cold drinks were served warm. Buffet food were display/served on a dangerous temperature zone. Most food were overcooked! Considering that it we were in an island, we expected a good variety of seafood in the menu however the only available was dark meat fish that we were not able to eat at all. Flies were always present most of the times. The staffs (waiters) were friendly however they need to improve as per the 5* Luxury Resort experience. Mini Bar doesn't include even 2 bottles of alcoholic beverage for All inclusive package which is very disappointing. Only Water, 2 soda cans and 2 juice that I was not able to drink (Glad that we can exchanged it to soda). Boli Bar: We booked for 7 nights and on the 4 night they actually served Becks beer instead of Heineken without any information. It should be informed upon ordering that "Sir we are now out of stock for Heineken. Would like to have Becks?" else the staff just decided I will give you a beer just that's it. They change it the following day as we complained. Activity: I can't believe that this resort were charging USD7 for the use of life jacket for the All inclusive package! Among all the equipment, why life jacket?? Total Review: It was not that bad experience considering that we paid USD700 for the domestic flight and boat transfer just to be in the island.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Hasan Ibrahim, Owner at Royal Island Resort & Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Sir/Madam, Warm Greetings from Royal Island Resort & Spa! Thank you for choosing our tropical paradise for your holiday destination! It was nice to have you here. We are pleased to read that you liked our accommodation and the way it was kept nice and tidy for you. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff and your appreciation of their friendliness. However, it's sad to read that we weren't able to reach to your expectations on certain aspects. We apologize for any inconvenience you had to go through during your stay. At the same time, we appreciate your straightforward comments regarding our products and staff which we find invaluable for evaluating our quality and future rectification. All of your concerns will be forwarded to the relevant personnel for consideration. Once again, thank you for choosing us! We hope to have you again in the near future for a much better experience. Best regards, Royal Island Resort & Spa
Read more
Brendon Earp-Jones wrote a review Jun 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa
Lovely island, but unfortunately the hotel has decided to cancel all ‘events’ during COVID times which is ridiculous. We allowed to dine and eat together (hotel can hold 400 people in 150 rooms roughly) and swim in pool but no live band; no DJ, no karaoke, no quiz or adult entertainment at night because of ‘covid’? It sounds like an excuse and a cost saving exercise and will effect our experience. I hope manager can change this ASAP as we are here for almost two weeks. We have come from Sun Siyam Vilu Reef the week before and they still have all their activities active and night time games and entertainment. On our first night here, had to take over dj equipment and start our own impromptu party in their names ‘Fun Pub’. Also still waiting for music to be played around the pool - no background music even though there are Bose Speakers situated all over the pool area and was told by bartender yesterday that the ‘system was broken’ - which is unlikely and he sounded unsure. I would like this to be sorted today and an answer around this. Nice buffet food in the main restaurant, which is a good thing as one has to eat there for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Unfortunately the all inclusive only allows very limited alcohol drinks, very limited mini bar access and no access to the ala carte restaurant which is different to other hotels and locations. So not quite ‘all inclusive’ . Lovely large hotel pool. Unfortunately only 8 sun loungers for a hotel hosting close to 400 people? Seems very strange and impossible to have a vibe of people lying around the large hotel pool.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hasan Ibrahim, Owner at Royal Island Resort & Spa
Responded Jun 13, 2021
Dear Brendon, Thank you for the review, and we're glad that you found our place nice. We are sorry for the limitations in the entertainment events due to Covid-19. Music events are not possible because musicians need to be hired from outside, and the government have put strict restrictions on many local areas due to serious pandemic effects. Hence, musicians are unable to travel around the country. Apart from this, national health care institutions are continuously advising to minimize the gatherings as much as possible as a safety measure to keep the situation under control and to prevent rapid spreading in the occurrence of an unexpected positive case. The music system around the pool had gone through a technical problem, and it's now been fixed. We do not know how the other hotel you mentioned can carry out the events just as normal days. In fact, the situation in the Maldives is not normal, and we're trying to give out our best while paying utmost attention to the safety of everyone. Thank you for your kind words about our restaurant and the food. We wish you an enjoyable holiday for the rest of your days with us. Best regards, Royal Island Resort & Spa
Read more
Sean wrote a review Apr 2021
+1
My partner and I visited the Royal Island Resort and Spa from the 29th March to the 3rd April and are very grateful to have enjoyed such a memorable holiday. The hotel was fantastic. One of the things I was concerned about prior to visiting was the all inclusive food and drink options but this was not a problem. The range of food on offer each day was very impressive and tasted great. We particularly enjoyed the daily soup for lunch and dinner, the fish and meat options. You are given a set table for the week meaning a set waiter. Our waiter was Naser who made us smile each day with his quick wit and impressions of us English. He couldn’t do more for us and we thank him. All the staff at the main restaurant were brilliant and very friendly. We also liked Libin on the live cooking station and he always had a cheeky smile on his face! The range of activities to do with the all inclusive package is great. We filled our days around the meals with snorkelling, kayaking, badminton, squash or playing pool in the Boli bar. The beach is obviously amazing to walk down and snorkel in but he also enjoyed the pool. It was spacious and you could sit and have a drink around it. The Boli bar is literally open all day and serves all inclusive drinks until 1am. There is plenty of tables and space as it tends to be quite busy in the early evening. Some nights they had entertainment with a very impressive singer and guitarist on the Wednesday and the local Maldivian music performance on the Friday which was also good fun! There is also a bar on the sea which has all inclusive drinks and snacks from 4-6. This is beautiful to visit during the sunset and we visited this on our last two evenings. We expected to spend more money than we did but because the activities included were very good we didn’t spend anything at all other than the Covid tests. We liked our room it had a ski resort cabin feel to it in the inside but was very spacious and the view as you leave the back door straight onto the beach was amazing! The staff even decorated our bed ok our last day which was a really nice touch. The hotel arranged travel to and from the main airport as it involves a short domestic flight and then a short boat ride with some buses in between. This was smooth although bear in mind it does take time to arrive to the hotel on your first day. This was all really organised well and I had no complaints. The hotel gave us breakfast to take as we left really early on the last morning. The Royal Island Resort is a fantastic hotel for couples and families alike with lots to do. We loved our time at the hotel and my partner and I would definitely consider a visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Hasan Ibrahim, Owner at Royal Island Resort & Spa
Responded Apr 14, 2021
Dear Sweens, Warm Greetings from Royal Island Resort & Spa! Thank you for choosing our island as your preferred holiday destination in the Maldives. We are delighted to read that you have thoroughly enjoyed your time with us, and the service received by our team has exceeded your expectation. Thank you for your compliments and for mentioning our team members who made your stay memorable, as this will help us enhance the service and motivate the team.  It will be a great delight to welcome you back for another fantastic experience in our tropical paradise. We look forward to create another memorable holiday for you! Best Regards,  Royal Island Resort & Spa
Read more
Alex P wrote a review Mar 2021
Manama, Bahrain
Simply stunning. The Royal Island Resort and Spa lived up to all expectations for our visit over Christmas. The plethora of activities was awesome and, if you just wanted to chill out, you could easily float around with the sea life all day long. As we visited over the holiday period, they put on a superb Christmas dinner and Father Christmas even jet-bladed to deliver presents for the children. Nadeer was our waiter, and he was a superb host throughout. It’s so easy to recommend this place for anyone visiting. Just be prepared for a thirty-minute flight from Malé and a trip in a boat in the pitch black! All part of the island experience.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hasan Ibrahim, Owner at Royal Island Resort & Spa
Responded Apr 7, 2021
Dear Sir/Madam, Warm Greetings from Royal Island Resort & Spa! Thank you for choosing our island as your preferred holiday destination in the Maldives. We are delighted to read that you have thoroughly enjoyed the holiday with us. Thank yoh for your kind compliments towards our Resort and the team. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and recommending our resort to other travellers. We look forward to welcoming you to our tropical paradise for another wonderful experience. Best regards, Royal Island Resort & Spa
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$125 - $917 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
royal island hotel baa atoll, royal island resort and spa, royal island resort maldives
LOCATION
MaldivesBaa AtollHorubadhoo Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
150
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Island Resort & Spa
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Island Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Royal Island Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Royal Island Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Island Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Benjarong, Fresh in the Garden, and Down to Earth.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royal Island Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Royal Island Resort & Spa have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Royal Island Resort & Spa offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Royal Island Resort & Spa located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.06 miles away from the center of Horubadhoo Island.
Are any cleaning services offered at Royal Island Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Royal Island Resort & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Does Royal Island Resort & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Royal Island Resort & Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.