LUX* South Ari Atoll
Mein Lieblingsplatz im Wasserbungalow, das Hängenetz
Traveler (14359)
Beach
Pool & Beach (2656)
Guest room bath
Room & Suite (1315)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#1 of 1 resort in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.9
Value
4.6
Dreamy atolls of tropical islands scattered across the Indian Ocean, the Maldives are a kaleidoscope of colours and earthly pleasures. Get away from it all at LUX South Ari Atoll (formerly LUX Maldives), the only settlement on the postcard-perfect island of Dhidhoofinolhu. Fuss free and laid-back, the resort surprises with pop-up cinema screenings right on the beach, impromptu musical performances and strolls along secret pathways through the lush tropical gardens. Just steps from the thatch-roofed suites and ocean-perched villas, the island's unspoilt beaches are yours to claim. A prime spot for snorkelling and whale-shark spotting, the resort's unblemished lagoon is a diver's dreamworld. Back on land, island street food and fine dining await in the tempting restaurants and bars. In the shade of coconut palms, lounge by the two turquoise pools, luxuriate in the ocean-view spa and surrender to the charms of this castaway idyll.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Badminton
Babysitting
Children's playground
Wifi
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Bicycle rental
Boating
Canoeing
Diving
Snorkeling
Tennis court
Water sport equipment rentals
Windsurfing
Aerobics
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Children's television networks
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Executive lounge access
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
First aid kit
Infirmary
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Air purifier
Bathrobes
Dining area
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Lagoon View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 9 more

Location

20033
5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles6,764 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

LUX* South Ari Atoll garners acclaim for its spacious rooms, which range from beachside to stilted overwater villas, all replete with modern touches that guests appreciate. The resort's pristine condition and meticulous attention to detail are also highly praised. Nestled in a breathtaking paradise-like locale, the resort offers an array of top-notch amenities and activities complemented by the staff's renowned warmth and professionalism. While some services may carry a premium, the overall value, especially for all-inclusive options, is celebrated by many travelers. Guests often speak fondly of the inviting atmosphere and enjoyable entertainment that punctuate their stays.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Welcoming
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Attentive
Amenities
World-class

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveler reviews and learn more about how the site works.
6,764Reviews845Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 6,249
  • 384
  • 88
  • 30
  • 16
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
HolgerG909 wrote a review Nov 2020
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked an 8N/9D (B&B) stay directly through LUX, since they sent out a nice 35 point leaflet with complimentary experiences.
The team does everything to make your stay memorable and comfortable.
We stayed in a Beach Pool Villa, centrally located, on the sunset beach. Housekeeper Anfal kept our villa clean and supplied plenty of water and beach towels. Yoga mats are provided in the villa.
All restaurants are in walking distance, a complimentary shuttle operates as well. Bicycles are $5 per day. The island has nice beaches, but very little marine life.
A complimentary one hour snorkeling tour operates daily to the nearby house reef. Unfortunately it’s always the same house reef, even there the marine life is negligible. We booked a combined 3 hour Manta/Whale Shark tour ($295) that saw both being elusive. The resort offered a second tour complimentary, here we saw at last one Manta.
SUP rental is $20 per hour.
The breakfast at MIXE is a great way to start the day and has a lot of options. We enjoyed the Teppan Nights at Umami thanks to Chef Allan. East Bar is a great spot where Mixologist Mark pours your favorite drink. Allegria serves tasty Italian food, Beach Rouge is great for a small bite and the DJ played danceable tunes 3 times a week. ICI has super yummy ice cream. Senses is a Shisha Bar and an ME/Indian Restaurant.Overall we spent an average of $200 a day in F&B.
Our resort coordinator Nacer stayed in touch via WhatsApp to help with restaurant bookings, excursions and other requests.
The resort manager Mamoun is always available and very helpful.
We did appreciate the environmental conscious approach of the resort. Solar panels complementing the resorts’ power needs, reusable water bottles with locally sourced drinking water, soap/shampoo dispensers, no plastic is used to wrap or store food - everything in reusable containers/glass jars. Commendable!
I only awarded 4* since LUX does not deserve the full 5*, at best a 4,5. Some of the “experiences” promised were not available: no Happy Hour, no twice daily free ice cream (we were charged, the charges were later removed on my insistence), only 4 complimentary Yoga sessions per week, some restaurants open on an alternating schedule and it is a hassle to get a reservation.
PCR testing is $125 and the result came back after 36hours. Overall a great vacation, to improve the experience, it would be a great start to deliver what was promised.
Change the destination of the snorkeling tour to different reefs and be more flexible with the restaurant bookings.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Beach Pool Villas have the best beach access
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Executive Office LUX South Ari Atoll, Other at LUX* South Ari Atoll
Responded Nov 18, 2020
Dear Mr. HolgerG909, Greetings from LUX* South Ari Atoll & Villas! Thank you for your time and share your details feedback on TripAdvisor. May I use this opportunity to thank you for choosing LUX* South Ari Atoll in the Maldives to be your holiday destination in the Indian Ocean. Your feedback and comments are highly appreciated and they certainly help to improve our performance and attain the LUX* objective - Helping Our Guests Celebrate Life! Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We so appreciate your kind words about your varied experiences and activities here and the fact that the two of you so enjoyed yourselves. I also wish to thank you for the special commendations for the team you have mentioned are truly passionate with their jobs. Please know that I have shared your kind words with them and all team. We hope that we can welcome you back again to our island paradise so that we can create even more happy memories. Best regards, Mohamed Mamoun Resort Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nubbycustard wrote a review Nov 2020
London, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What can I say that hasn’t already been said...
We are currently sitting in the airport waiting for our flight home. We had such a fantastic 5 night stay at LUX* that we are already pricing up another holiday here very soon.

We booked the whale shark tour for our first full day, it took 3 hours to find him but he finally revealed himself and it was worth the wait. We swam above him for about 20 minutes until we got tired. It was most certainly the highlight of our trip!
We also did a 90 minute tour looking for the mantas but no such luck. Luckily, someone told us that actually the mantas come up to the arrival jetty at night time (they like the light). They weren’t wrong! We went down to the arrival jetty at 7pm once it was dark and there they were! 3 of them putting on a show for us. We got to enjoy them, for free, all by ourselves, (from the jetty as no swimming at this time) and it was unbelievable. We watched them for about 30 minutes. The night guard told us they come every day at 6.30-7pm and stay all night to the early hours of the morning. So save your pennies, and go see them in the evening instead!

At the moment there’s 3-4 places open for lunch and dinner each day, all on a rotation. So you’ll get a chance to eat at all the restaurants. For the all inclusive package, the Italian (Allegria) and the Japanese (Umami) you get a 30% discount. We didn’t realise Allegria wasn’t included until we got there, but that’s ok, as there were still lots of alternative options for lunch and dinner each day, that we never felt like we missed out on it. Senses (Indian/Maldivian) was particularly good!

The staff really do go over and beyond for you. Everyone is so so friendly and really do all they can to ensure you have a good stay. Special shout out to Mamoun the manager, Centay and Morfezul, as well as Tiki who made delicious omelettes for me in the morning complete with the fieriest Maldivian chillis! All the staff wear masks, but guests don’t need to. The staff dont leave the resort at the moment due to covid, and all the guests have a negative PCR test anyway, so we felt super safe the whole time and it was such a nice break from wearing a mask!

As for the resort itself, it’s super stylish, very clean, bright and modern, and there are so many Instagram opportunities to make all your friends jealous, the vibe is sooo chilled and there really is something for everyone from a chilled out reggae-themed beach bar, to a stylish/modern bar for some sunset drinks, to casual dinners as well as more formal dinners etc.

Book here! I promise you won’t regret it!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Executive Office LUX South Ari Atoll, Other at LUX* South Ari Atoll
Responded Nov 6, 2020
Dear Nubbycustard, Thank you very much for such an amazing and details review on TripAdvisor. It is a great pleasure to have you stay with us. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed every detail of your vacation. Also thank you so much for choosing LUX* South Ari Atoll to be your holiday destination in the Indian Ocean. Truly you say; Maldives is one of the most beautiful places in the world and really worth a visit. And I’m so glad that you have seen 3 Mantas beside our arrival jetty. I also wish to thank you for the special commendations for your special Centy, Morfezul and Tiki all hosts who are truly passionate with their jobs. Please know that I have shared your kind words with them and all team. Thank you for also highlighting the fact that we continue to pay a lot of attention and have a lot of protocols in place in keeping the resort Covid -19 Free while providing for an unrestrained holiday for our guests. On behalf of the whole LUX* family, We are truly glad you enjoyed the holidays here at our lovely resort. We are looking forward to welcoming you back for the third time soon! Best wishes and warm regards, Mohamed Mamoun Resort Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
Jenny wrote a review Oct 2020
United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My Husband and I went to the LUX South Ari Atoll on our honeymoon for 10 days. We could not have asked for anything more, it was perfect.

The staff at the LUX are amazing, they are so friendly, kind, and went above and beyond to make our honeymoon as special as possible. We really grew attached to them and we will miss them so much!

Just to name a few, Razan who was looking after us was so helpful. He answered any questions we had, promptly and at anytime, dealt with our bookings and was generally very friendly.

The chefs were amazing, they were so accommodating to our dietary requirements and made sure we always had loads of options! The food there is so good! Special shoutout to the Senses chef, Subbunihni, who made us a special dinner on our last night there.

Riley, Zahir, Daminda and the guys at Allegria practically feel like family at this point. Banda at Senses bar and quiz master Cham, we will miss you!!

Everyday our room was looked after by Anfal who made extra efforts to make it special for us with swan towels and heart shaped sheets, he is so talented and always made sure we were happy.

Our buggy boys and our friends Centey and Mofizul, we will miss you guys - thank you so much! Buggy’s always available if you didn’t want to walk or bike.

We very luckily were able to see a whale shark too which was the most incredible experience, and a huge reason to come to this part of the Maldives! So, thank you so much to Aank and the boat crew, to Razan for making it happen and of course to Mamoun, the resort manager who always made sure we were happy and has the best team.

The people at LUX made it amazing for us, we will always be so grateful.

In terms of a covid safe environment, you are as safe as can be here, all the staff wear masks at all times so that the guests don’t have to. The guest all test negative before arriving, there is sanitiser everywhere and cleanliness is high all around the resort.

There is a lot to do at the LUX, from snorkelling excursions to various water sports, if the heavens decide to open you can shelter and play pool at the bar, you name it, they’ve got it!

The island itself is STUNNING. 100% recommend the LUX to everyone and anyone!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Executive Office LUX South Ari Atoll, Other at LUX* South Ari Atoll
Responded Oct 5, 2020
Dear Ms. Jennytema, It is our great pleasure to be given the opportunity of helping you celebrate the new chapter of your life. Our team is very happy to hear from you here on TripAdvisor, and it is very reassuring to learn that with the service provided by every team member on the island, you had a great time. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your LUX* South Ari Atoll experience with the other honeymooners, Your compliments to Razan, Chef Subbunihni, Riley, Zahir, Daminda, Banda, Cham, Anfal, Centey, Mofizul, Ank and the rest of the team have been passed on to them. They are absolutely thrilled to hear from you. Please do keep in touch and let us know about your next plan for visit. We are looking forward to celebrating another special occasion with your first wedding anniversary. Best wishes and regards, Mohamed Mamoun Resort Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Selim Tarek wrote a review Aug 2020
United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After extensive research we chose lux to be the resort we spend our honeymoon in and we are so glad we did. This place has the perfect mix between chilling and activities. The water sports are so fun and the people are very professional and friendly. We also felt very safe throughout our stay, all the necessary precautions are taken regarding covid19 without being intrusive. Temperature is being taken every morning all the tables and sitting areas are sanitized all the time with signs that the area has been sanitized aswell as the rooms we see the staff sanitizing the rooms all the time. Mr mamoun the resort manager is very friendly and professional hes always coming around to say hi to everyone and check if they need anything. He made our stay here extra special. Aiman our villa assistant is also very helpful he whatsapps us all the updates and books dining and excursions. If you’re planning a trip to maldives i highly recommend you check out this resort!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Executive Office LUX South Ari Atoll, Other at LUX* South Ari Atoll
Responded Aug 22, 2020
Dear Mr. Tarek, Prior to your departure from the resort, I would like to thank you once again for choosing our island to celebrate the very special moment in your life. Aiman and every LUX* team member are happy to know you are having a great time where you feel safe and relaxed with our health and safety measurements in place around the resort. Please do enjoy the fullest of your time on the island, and let us know if there is anything you need until your departure. Best regards, Mohamed Mamoun Resort Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael C wrote a review Sep 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We came for our honeymoon and had such an amazing experience. There is way too much to write about in one review! but to start the amount of wildlife on the island is breath taking, birds, bats, lion fish, bat fish, tropical fish, sting rays, manta rays, sharks, hermit crabs and lizards.

The staff were constantly going above and beyond for us, having a staff member assigned to us who answered questions and booked things in quickly over whatapp meant everything went so smoothly. Razan was our guide, he helped us with queries 24/7 and got things booked often at very short notice!

We made friends with so many of the staff, Fatho in particular went the extra mile for us every night we went to Umani but out did himself on our last night setting up a special table decorated with flowers from around the island.

Mark at east bar was always great fun and joined in with many of the bar games which lead alot of laughter. Riley always made our visits to the ice cream shops lovely and Ali was very friendly on our buggy rides across the island. House keeping left the room emuculate every day,gave us extra coffee everyday and even ran us a bath full of island flower one evening. Last but not least, Cham was a great host at quiz and bingo nights as well as being a very friendly presence on the island.

The general manager of the island even gave a personal experience driving customers around in his buggy, inviting us to a tree planting event and sending us a bottle of processco to thank us for coming!

The food alone is reason to come with every single restraunt a different but memorable experience. The head chef Mark even organised a special Shri Lankan meal on the beach one night.

We cannot wait to return to the isalnd next year for our friends wedding!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Water villas are considered the true Maldives experience but beach villas are bigger, had more...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Executive Office LUX South Ari Atoll, Other at LUX* South Ari Atoll
Responded Oct 1, 2020
Dear Mr. Michael C, Thank you so much for choosing LUX* South Ari Atoll to celebrate your honeymoon. It was a great pleasure for the team to have you on the island, and we are glad to hear you have enjoyed seeing our exciting marine life. Umami team is extremely happy that you have had a great experience dining there. It was so lovely to have a moment with you experiencing the tree planting event. We are looking forward for more events with you on your next visit. I have already passed your kind thoughts to Chef Mark and he is thrilled to hear the nice words about the special dish. On behalf of Razan, Fatho, Mark, Riley, Ali, Cham, Chef Mark and every team member at the resort, we hope you have a wonderful time here at LUX* South Ari Atoll and look forward to your next trip back to the Maldives for your friend’s wedding! Warm Regards, Mohamed Mamoun Resort Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michele Mason wrote a review Feb 2021
London, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We escaped the UK in January for four weeks in the Maldives. We stayed at three different resorts on a split stay and Lux South was our second stop, we were there for 10 nights.

The place is lovely, the staff are friendly and made us feel very welcome. It is a long Island but shuttle buggies are plentiful and stop wherever you are, so you never have to wait too long if you don’t fancy walking.

The food was great and we enjoyed all of the restaurants. The Asian buffet was lovely and lunch at Veli Bar and the Lagoon bar were also superb. Lux has an ice cream parlour with many home made ice cream flavours.

The Japanese Teppanyaki carries a supplement when on all inclusive but we enjoyed it so much we ate there twice. The East bar is lovely and there is always a nice breeze whilst enjoying your drinks.

Sundowners at Beach Rouge are great and they have a DJ playing chill out music while you lie on day beds at the end of the day watching the sunset. The DJ also plays at beach Rouge in the evenings but East bar is quieter if that’s more your thing.

The breakfast buffet was amazing with British style back bacon and sausages which is a first for me in the Maldives. The mini bar contains half bottles of red and white wine and a small bottle of Vodka which we swapped for Gin with no problem. If you order anything else to your room it is chargeable, so is bike hire $5 a day.

Some bars will not serve certain wines by the glass but will give you the whole bottle which I thought was a bit crazy and wasteful. Most drinks were included in the all inclusive package.

Our room was a beach pool villa which is situated on the widest beautiful beach. The beds were so comfortable they were heaven. My only complaints were that the pool is like a plunge pool at the back of the villa in the outside bathroom which is a bit pointless as you have to walk through your villa to get to it from the beach, so we didn’t get to use it as I didn’t fancy walking through the bedroom dripping wet from the pool. It was also quite deep so if you have small children I would avoid these rooms as the WC is outside next to the pool (I would add, the WC is enclosed in a cubicle😳) so you would need to watch the youngsters at all times in case they fell in. My second complaint is the sun lounger cushions, they were old worn out and thin. They really need replacing.

There are sandbanks that are shallow and you can walk out on, which is a lovely thing to do but the current in the deeper water when we were there was strong which put my partner off swimming in the sea. This may just have been the weather when we were there.

The vibe at Lux is a bit more upbeat and young compared to some of the resorts I have stayed so I really would recommend it if you like a younger feel. I wouldn’t hesitate to return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Executive Office LUX South Ari Atoll, Other at LUX* South Ari Atoll
Responded Feb 17, 2021
Dear Michele, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience as well as giving your suggestions and feedback about traveling to the Maldives during this challenging time. As you have been to a few islands experiencing different resorts in the Maldives, we are definitely delighted to know you have also enjoyed a great time at LUX* South Ari Atoll. Your feedback and comments are certainly appreciated. We have noted and will move forward with plans and actions in the coming future in order to create many more memories and upgrade the holiday experience for anyone who visits the island. Please keep in touch and let us know if you are planning to return one day. Our team is available any time to help you celebrate any moment of life ! Warm regards, Mohamed Mamoun Resort Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aisha A wrote a review May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband booked a surprise trip for our birthdays and I cannot imagine celebrating in any other way. An absolute delight in terms of the service, food, rooms and spa. We took the full board package and I would recommend it as it covers most of the restaurants in the resort and it’s easier in terms of the food and beverage. I would give the hotel 10/10 and I wish our stay was longer. Will definitely revisit the property to try out the excursions and in resort activities. A special shout out to Alessandra who was extremely hospitable and ensured that our entire stay was smooth and detailed. All the staff are super friendly and some have gone out of their way to accommodate our requests. A lot of surprise elements were added that made our stay even more special. All the facilities in the resort were very well maintained and each of the restaurants have a different look and feel that add variety to the property.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Executive Office LUX South Ari Atoll, Other at LUX* South Ari Atoll
Responded May 18, 2021
Dear Aisha, Once again, a very Happy Birthday to you and your husband ! Hope you have a pleasant trip flying back this afternoon. Thank you very much for choosing our island to celebrate both of your birthdays . It is so lovely to hear that you have enjoyed every moment of it, and we do hope next time when you visit, you could consider to stay a bit longer as there are still many activities and experience to be explored on the island. Safe trip, and see you again soon ! Best regards, Patrice Aira General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
robin3434 wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from a week at Lux South Ari Atoll. It was our first trip to the Maldives and exceeded all our expectations. The island is a good size, 1.8km long and it has a real feeling of space. The facilities are great, excellent restaurants and bars, and outstanding staff. The accommodation, we stayed in was a Beach Villa, which was located close to the Beach Rouge Bar. Great beach in-front of our Villa, and then into a warm and inviting sea: the colours of beach and water are totally amazing. The Island is kept very clean, and our snorkelling trips were well arranged and supported. There are too many staff to thank individually, but particular mention should go to one of the chef's: Pong who prepared fantastic breakfasts, Ibrahim, in Beach Rouge, great advice on tapas, Kahn and Vishnu, in Veli Bar, Andy in Senses Bar, Yasir in East Market, Harish in Mix, and Thilanka who prepared wonderful juices in the Mix. The Junk Art Staff and Titus in the gymnasium. Alessandra who looked after us through the week and our housekeeper, Riyaz, who kept our Villa in immaculate condition.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LSA_GM, Manager at LUX* South Ari Atoll
Responded Mar 16, 2020
Dear Robin, Thank you for sharing the experience online with other travelers as well as your compliments to Alessandra, Andy, Harish, Ibrahim, Khan, Pong, Riyaz, Thilanka, Titus, Vishnu and Yasir. We are very glad to hear you had an amazing stay so hoping you will be coming back soon if you are visiting the Maldives again in the future. Have a great week ahead and look forward to hearing from you in the not too distant future. Warm regards, Mohamed Mamoun Resort Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
raymond250 wrote a review Oct 2020
New York
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent two weeks here for our honeymoon and absolutely loved it. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The whole resort was very well maintained, it was quite spectacular.

The food was delicious and there was a good variety of different cuisines to choose from. One negative: it was quite expensive so expect to pay at least $35 USD per person per meal.

We stayed at the romantic villa over the water and it was quite amazing to be able to watch the sun rise over the ocean each morning. Some other resorts looked like you could see your neighbors while on your back porch but the villas had tall walls in between for privacy so we couldn’t see neighbors even in the pool.

We went scuba diving 6 times; the boat was nice, dive masters really friendly, and the equipment we rented was in good condition. Saw reef sharks, mantas, rays, eels, turtles, and a whale shark! The reef outside the resort is a natural reserve so it’s a popular place for dive boats to look for whale shark. Went out five days to find one. And there’s a free reef snorkeling excursion offered every day which we highly recommend. You go to the same reef to anchor but we would see different animals each time.

The water sport shop offers rentals for jet skis, kayaks, paddle boards, paddle boats, snorkel equipment.

Once you arrive at the airport, a Lux employee will greet you after immigration, check your bags for the sea plane transfer, and get bused to their own air conditioned waiting room which was nice because it was hot! We took a PCR test there and received the results the next day.

One caveat, Maldives had just opened up to tourists so there was maybe 20 guests on the entire island that is set up for 400 so definitely felt like we had the whole island to ourselves. Also, the immigration line wasn’t too long and airport was fairly empty. At the time of our travel, they had a one-destination restriction. You can only go to one resort or liveaboard for the entire duration and we saw some people get pulled out of the immigration line for having multiple destinations so it’s definitely enforced. Would not be very pleasant to travel all that way then reschedule your itinerary at the immigration line before being let into the country.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Executive Office LUX South Ari Atoll, Other at LUX* South Ari Atoll
Responded Oct 11, 2020
Dear Mr. Raymond250, Thank you for taking your time to write down your thoughts in regards to your recent stay at LUX* South Ari Atoll. We are saddened to find that a small part of your stay did not live up exactly to your expectations but pleased to find that you appreciated the facilities and the service provided on our beautiful island throughout your two weeks with us. In regards to the immigration hustle upon arrival to the Maldives, a better arrival terminal is almost about to finish in no time and I am sure this is going to be an incredible help for all the tourists arriving to the Maldives. Thank you once again for this very valuable feedback, this is truly helpful for us. We wish you all the best and hope to see you in a near future. Best regards, Mohamed Mamoun Resort Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sucharita K wrote a review Apr 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I LOVED our honeymoon stay at Lux South Ari Atoll. This was our first time to the Maldives and the resort lived up to every expectation we could have had. We did the half room and board (you have to do breakfast with the room) and felt this was sufficient for the price. We definitely came out on top even when we did grab a snack or get lunch, but for the most part we were not hungry enough to eat all three meals and this way we got a lot more bang for our buck on the breakfast and dinner meals. The drinks end up being around $20 per drink with tax, and since my husband and I aren't very heavy drinkers this option worked well. Even with 3 drinks a day we were still spending less than if we had opted for the AI package.

The food was delicious (you do need a reservation for the a la carte restaurants), our favorite was the Italian spot Allegria. One of the best Italian restaurants we have been to outside of Italy. The only downside is that they are slow so we ended up spending 2 hours each time we had dinner there, but hey with the beach right there, thats not much to complain about.

The staff was incredibly hospitable, and there was around 2 staff member to every guest. Our romantic pool water villa was spacious and overlooked the lagoon. The views were amazing and the villa was cleaned 2X a day. We specifically asked for the romatic pool villas at the edge of the island to get as much privacy as possible (we had read the others are all very close together and you can hear what is happening from the one next to you) and we were very happy with that decision. We had absolute privacy and I think the room was a little bigger than the others (no additional cost).

We were amazed at how empty the resort felt, even though it was fully booked. We never felt like it was too crowded or that we were being drowned out by people. The resort is pretty big and there is so much to do. We could have stayed for another week if we wanted to.

We also have to call out the dive center. We had a great dive experience (even though we did not see a whale shark :( ). We did get to see some Manta Rays up close and lots of tropical fish. The Dive center staff were calm and prepared and very helpful during the dive, which was especially nice for my husband and I as we had only recently gotten our diving certifcation.

This resort was the perfect place to end our honeymoon. It was so romatic, the food was amazing, the weather was gorgeous (albeit a little hot) and we never felt like we had nothing to do. If anything I felt like we were trying to squeeze everything into our short 6 day stay. We had a great time and are so thankful for all the memories.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The corner romantic pool villas give you the most privacy in that room group
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LSA_GM, Manager at LUX* South Ari Atoll
Responded Apr 12, 2020
Dear Sucharita, Thank you for the review and the lovely message to the team. We are very happy to hear from you again at this difficult time for everyone, therefore your greetings from another side of the world are truly appreciated and encouraging to all of us on the island. Please keep in touch and let us know if you have another plan to return to the Maldives for holidays or celebrations in the future. LUX* South Ari Atoll team would be available to be at your service anytime. Pleas stay safe and keep well. Best regards from the sunny tropics, Mohamed Mamoun Resort Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Casey&Mickey
Venice, Italy7 contributions
Allegria (italian) and Umami (Japanese) are not included, and we believe discount is 40%. By the way we went 2 times to Umami and spent around 150€ Per dinner, included wine 🍷
Answer from Casey&Mickey
Venice, Italy7 contributions
Hi Hly70 😀 Sorry for the delay. For us the beach pool villas on the side of the lagoon bar where the best. Let us know if you go there 😀
Answer from martina J
1 contribution
Yes, the billa is for 2 adults and 1 teenager. The extra bed is on the side by the wall and there is enough space for everybody.
Answer from PBKPB
Chandlers Ford, Hampshire, UK19 contributions19 helpful votes
They had one in 2022 at Beach Rouge one night. Ping them an email il if you want to know for sure.
schrammkonstantin wrote a tip Yesterday
Straubing, Germany2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book AI, there is so much included, it’s a worry free package."
Read full review
lisajWorcestershire wrote a tip Jul 9
worcestershire9 contributions8 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take plenty of money with you"
Read full review
Cruiser57128106024 wrote a tip Jul 9
15 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go for longer than a week if you can to really get into the rhythm. Also, do get in the water with the wildlife. It's awe inspiring!"
Read full review
LIU S wrote a tip Jul 4
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"we all like the resort. It is very good for holiday . the sea is beautiful . we can relax in the beach to enjoy the sunshine. It also have v"
Read full review
Sharon H wrote a tip Jun 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Wet season can affect your stay"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dhidhoofinolhu Island area.
PRICE RANGE
$356 - $1,436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lux* maldives hotel south ari atoll, diva maldives hotel, diva maldives south ari atoll
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Diva Maldives
LOCATION
MaldivesAlifu AtollSouthern Ari AtollDhidhoofinolhu Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
193
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LUX* SOUTH ARI ATOLL - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about LUX* South Ari Atoll
What are some of the property amenities at LUX* South Ari Atoll?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at LUX* South Ari Atoll?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at LUX* South Ari Atoll?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to LUX* South Ari Atoll?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hermit's, Malaveli Restaurant, and Allegria.
Are there opportunities to exercise at LUX* South Ari Atoll?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does LUX* South Ari Atoll have airport transportation?
Yes, LUX* South Ari Atoll offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at LUX* South Ari Atoll?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Russian, Chinese, and Hindi.
Does LUX* South Ari Atoll have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is LUX* South Ari Atoll accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Dhidhoofinolhu Island HotelsDhidhoofinolhu Island Hotel Deals
RestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars