We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
South Male Atoll, 08400
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Private Sale
$1,003
$284
View Deal
SAVE $719
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
ZenHotels.com$385
StayForLong$1,003
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (8324)
360
Panoramas (20)
Pool & Beach (2023)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 07/15/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sun Siyam Olhuveli
Updated 07/15/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
From stepping off your flight, this expansive resort is just a 45 minute speedboat ride away. With no need for a seaplane, jump straight into exploring our three islands, or simply sink into blissful relaxation. This time together is all yours.
Read more
Room & Suite (1,529)1,529
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Canoeing
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Diving
Snorkeling
Tennis court
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Banquet room
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Concierge
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Arabic, Filipino and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Price:Private Sale
3,734Reviews638Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,522
  • 785
  • 252
  • 95
  • 79
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
svitgrin2 wrote a review Jan 21
1 contribution
Overall excellent stay despite Covid, which makes the island much less populated. Good snorkelling and water sport activities, very friendly personnel. Excellent location near the reef, where you can see plenty of turtles and different fishes, no need actually to travel for other islands. Good food and drinks, makes sense to have all inclusive package. Villas are spacious and one can chose to stay either closer to the reef (but windy, or in a quiet place on the other side of the island.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Mohamed Afeef, Other at Sun Siyam Olhuveli
Responded yesterday
Dear svitgrin2, Thank you very much for the kind review shared on TripAdvisor about your experience with us at Sun Siyam Olhuveli. We were very happy to welcome you to our island during these unprecedented times. We are delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay despite some restrictions related to the COVID-19 pandemic and you enjoyed our less populated island with total tranquility and the relaxing ambience with its natural beauty and marine life as well as the service received from our friendly team members. We thank you very much for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again for another memorable experience at Sun Siyam Olhuveli. Yours sincerely, Mohamed Afeef Director of Operations.
Read more
Andrew M wrote a review Jan 5
35 contributions13 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
Well this was one long anticipated holiday. Like many others we had to change dates and come in December instead of July. What a result that turned out to be. We were a group of 7 including three teenagers who will, hopefully, remember the trip for the rest of their lives. Olhuveli starts from long before you get there. We had many questions before we arrived and all were answered promptly by email. But its when you arrive at Male airport you start to realise that you've made the right choice. Within 10 minutes of collecting our baggage it was taken from us by an Olhuveli representative and we were off on the speedboat. Straight to the island and greeted by Olga and colleagues on the jetty. Walking from the jetty to reception we spotted stingrays and reef sharks and straight away we knew that we were where we needed to be to go diving and snorkelling. We were shown straight to our rooms which were Grand Beach Villas. Perfect for our needs, clean and plenty room with access straight to the beach. Throughout our stay the room was kept clean and mini bar stocked up daily. The island is simply stunning, immaculately kept with armies of staff maintaining the beaches, gardens and roads. Theres an air of sustainability too with almost all vehicles being electric so no noise at all, or smoke. We were on the all inclusive package which suited us well and we never tired of the variety at the buffet. Its a buffet and so there are always some who think they're supposed to be fed sooner than others but it really is no issue and best just to treat it as a bit of sport, the serving staff and chefs soon spot the rude ones!. There is certainly no danger of the food running out. It pays to be a bit relaxed at the Island pizza bar as its not huge but we never waited for long and, lets face it, there are plenty worse places to sit and wait for a pizza. We ate at both A la Carte restaurants and the food here was amazing. One meal is included in the all inclusive package and after that there is 50% off which brings the cost well in line with an average restaurant in UK. Considering the setting that's great value in my book. We were served by Jinaan who was as attentive there as he was wherever he popped up on the island. Its not MacDonalds here and like any good food it takes a little longer but hey, you are on a beach under the stars, its 30 degrees, you've worn no shoes for a week and your wine glass is filled up without asking as soon as its empty so why would you want to rush it. Chill out and enjoy. The highlight of the holiday in terms of food was the Christmas Eve gala dinner. We wondered just how good a buffet could be and we soon found out after the beach cocktail party. What a spread was in front of us, the work that must have gone into that meal was incredible and the variety of food is hard to describe-curries, fish, spit roast lamb, huge barbecued prawns, sushi, sashimi, salads to die for, it just went on and on and all seated outside watching stingrays swim under us on the jetty. Everybody had their temperature checked on the way in to the meal. But what really makes the island is the staff. Its almost unfair to name them because you wont pass anybody who doesn't smile and say hello but special shout outs to Jinaan, Olga and Shaun at the bar. And a really big thank you to Ahil who always looked after us and made sure we had just a drop of wine with our meals. And to Mr Afeef who is always eager to know of any problems and put them right. The dive centre should get a review of its own really. We went with the plan of getting our two teenage boys qualified as open water divers. We did exactly this with great tuition from Maasha and Yaanu. The lads on the dive boat were great and the whole place is really well run. Theres no shortage of marine life everywhere you look and we dived with many types of sharks, manta rays at night, turtles, dolphins and thousands of different types of fish. The coral reefs we were taken to were stunning. The night dive with Najih was mesmerising and the whole experience worth every single penny We left Olhuveli on 29th December with only one thought- how soon could we get back there !
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Mohamed Afeef, Other at Sun Siyam Olhuveli
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Andrew, Greetings from Olhuveli ! Its very kind of you to share a wonderful review and mark us so highly on tripadvisor about your recent stay with us as we were very pleased to welcome you to our safe heaven on this special holiday season. We are are very grateful to know that the team looked after you very well from the minute you arrive to the airport to the departure. I was thrilled to know that you had a wonderful experience with us and you highly appreciated the island, its beauty , marine life and underwater beauty , Christmas eve and Gala Dinner as well as the total culinary experience , Diving and other facilities and activities and the service provided buy our team members. As part of our commitment, we aim to offer our guests an authentic Maldivian hospitality with personalized touch in order to create everlasting memories, which was certainly the case during your time-being with us. Having said that, your compliments about our entire team especially Olga, Ahil, Shaun, Jinan, Maasha, Yaanu and Naaji, are highly appreciated and I am very proud and delighted to share your kind words with all of them in person. Thank you again for choosing our island and we hope to welcome you back one day. Wishing you and your family and all your loved ones an amazing 2021. Full of happiness, health and joy. Yours sincerely, Mohamed Afeef Director of Operations.
Read more
Danusa C wrote a review Jan 21
1 contribution
Overall my experience in Sun Siyam Olhuveli was very good, but the resort needs to improve some services aspects. Maybe teh services and staff have been affected because the COVID situation. The SPA services are fantastic, the sort of beverages available are very good and for me only the wines available in All Inclusive are not good and could be changed. The cleaning of shared hotel spaces (bars, decks, desks, swimming-pool) are very good. Even being a COVID time, I felt better and safe in the resort.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Mohamed Afeef, Other at Sun Siyam Olhuveli
Responded yesterday
Dear Danusa C, Thank you for sharing your positive review on TripAdvisor about your experience at Sun Siyam Olhuveli. We were very pleased to have you in our island during these unprecedented times. We are delighted to learn that overall you had a good experience and felt safe with us despite some restrictions related to the COVID-19 pandemic and you appreciated our Spa service, the sort of available beverages as well as the the cleanliness of the island We are very thankful to you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again for another memorable experience at Sun Siyam Olhuveli. Yours sincerely, Mohamed Afeef Director of Operations.
Read more
Ventsi Konsulov wrote a review Jan 20
Plovdiv, Bulgaria903 contributions110 helpful votes
+1
My problems started at the airport (my wife was already on the island), where some employee forgot to put me on the 12:30 boat, even though my flight arrived at 11:45. So I arrived 12:20 at the counter and turned out the 12:30 boat already left, because why following a schedule, right? I was assured the next boat is at 14:00. We left at 14:35. The island itself is massive and if you're staying on the newer parts, you can't walk to the reception or dive center. It's about 1 kilometer walk, which in the Maldives sun is not ideal. There are golf carts that act as buses, but they run every 30 minutes or so. Once you reach the dive center, where is also the snorkeling spot, you'd discover that the snorkeling is not amazing. The water is only clear in the morning. Afternoon snorkeling is not a pleasant experience. The house reef is about 300 meters in length. All other areas around the islands are not suitable for snorkeling. You can observe Manta Rays every evening at the dive center and this is a really cool experience. There is a whale shark trip which we signed for, there was not enough people, so it got cancelled. Twice. Here's an idea, maybe $300 per person for a whale shark trip is a bit too much and that's why people don't sign up? The food is below average and definitely below the expectations for a place with this price. The choice is limited and the quality is below average. There's mostly chicken and some local food. Sometimes they have lamb and beef, which is good. But it's not offered every day. They do have a nice fruit selection, especially the papaya was great. There is internet in the rooms and in the main restaurant, but not the other restaurants. We booked for a week and we asked to leave early, to which we were assured no refund will be made, despite the inaccurate information about the island online. We stayed in a Grand Beach Villa with Pool, which was really nice, but in a really boring area where there's no snorkeling or any kind of activity, just a beach. We got moved to a better location where at least it was possible to snorkel from the shore directly. The new villa was again really nice and spacious, no complaints whatsoever. Needless to say we're not going back to this island and I don't recommend it to anyone. Unless you don't care about snorkeling, at this case my score would be 4 out of 5. Rating the service Poor instead of Average because they made me stay 2:35 hours at the airport for no reason. They knew my flight is coming. They could have departed on schedule, instead of earlier.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Grand Beach Villa with pool on the West side is your best option.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Mohamed Afeef, Other at Sun Siyam Olhuveli
Responded 3 days ago
Dear VKonsulov, Greetings from the Maldives. Thank you very much for your sharing your review on TripAdvisor about your recent experiences with us. We have read your review carefully and investigated your stay with us. Of course we are all very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and did our utmost to assist you during your stay. We hope that this experience will not deter you from using our hotel in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back you again at Sun Siyam Olhuveli and assure you of our best attention and services at all times. We wish you and your family a wonderful 2021 ! Yours sincerely, Mohamed Afeef Director of Operations
Read more
Lucylouuu wrote a review Jan 20
28 contributions12 helpful votes
We are vegan and chef Nizar excelled in providing some delicious vegan curry’s- we told him we liked spicy food and he made some delicious food for us. Thank you so much. All the staff were so helpful and lovely. So beautiful. Loved it!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Mohamed Afeef, Other at Sun Siyam Olhuveli
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Lucylouuu, Thank you very much for the kind review and 5 star rating. It is such a delight for us to learn that we have been able to serve you well, you have enjoyed the facilities of the resort and especially the dedicated service you received from our Chef Nizar and the team as a result that you had an excellent stay with us. Than you for staying here and recommending us and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back. Yours sincerely, Mohamed Afeef Director of Operations.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$224 - $3,325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
olhuveli beach hotel south male atoll, olhuveli beach and spa resort, olhuveli beach resort, olhuveli beach & spa resort
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives
LOCATION
MaldivesKaafu AtollSouth Male AtollOlhuveli Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
327
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sun Siyam Olhuveli
What are some of the property amenities at Sun Siyam Olhuveli?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Sun Siyam Olhuveli?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sun Siyam Olhuveli?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Sun Siyam Olhuveli?
Conveniently located restaurants include M6m, Peking, and Amore.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sun Siyam Olhuveli?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Sun Siyam Olhuveli have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Sun Siyam Olhuveli offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Sun Siyam Olhuveli located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.07 miles away from the center of Olhuveli Island.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sun Siyam Olhuveli?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sun Siyam Olhuveli?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Arabic, and Filipino.
Does Sun Siyam Olhuveli have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Sun Siyam Olhuveli accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.