We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

COMO Cocoa Island

Save
Share
Makunufushi
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$1,305
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/24/21
Trip.com
$2,034
$1,220
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/17/21
Booking.com$1,305
Priceline$1,305
ZenHotels.com$2,034
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2797)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (1078)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
COMO Cocoa Island has reopened on the 9th of January 2020 following a seven-month refurbishment. COMO Cocoa Island is home to 34-overwater villas inspired by local Dhoni boats, the accommodations have been recast top-to-bottom with clean-lined contemporary interiors created by Singapore-based Lekker Architects. The resort also gained an open-sided Pilates and yoga studio, which sits in an elevated position above the lagoon offering 360-degree views. A thrid of the private Island is occupied by the COMO Shambhala Retreat, the island's wellness centre, which offers Asian-based wellness therapies, nutritional advise and exercise in the resort's state-of-the-art new gym. A highlight is the hydrotherapy pool with high-pressure jets used for water-based treatments. COMO Cocoa Island is also providing activities to complement the holistic wellness offering, such as a PADI-certificate dive centre, reef diving, wreck diving, UV night snorkeling and whale shark expeditions.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Snorkeling
Fishing
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, German, Hindi and 3 more
1520Reviews53Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,405
  • 85
  • 25
  • 4
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
KhaledRiyadh wrote a review Jul 20
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia53 contributions39 helpful votes
This was our second stay. This island is basically a place to unwind, relax and do nothing but admire God’s creation. The island staff is what really makes all the difference. We were well taken care of be it while on the beach, pool, restaurant, spa, gym and not to forget room service. We loved it all but will unfortunately never come back to this island or any other COMO hotel/resort. Now why the major disappointment. 4 days into out stay the island was not private anymore and workers around the clock were setting up things for guests who have booked the island. That is not our problem and they are free to do as you wish but they didn’t take out comfort into consideration nor cared that we are also guests that paid not to be disturbed. We unfortunately couldn’t even sit where we normally sit without workers around us. I don’t have any issue with that except that we came to this island given how secluded and private it was the last time and wanted the same experience. They should have told us that work will start on the island on our forth day and maybe have given us the choice to decided to stay or leave. To make things worse, on our last day they called us requesting that we leave early the next day and they offered to check us in in another resort until time comes for our airport transfer. This came as a shock and we refused and stood by the 12:00 pm rule. Why on earth would they want to move us out much earlier??? When I refused they apologized and said that your check out will be at 12:00. I now write this review in complete disappointment at this once was a resort of choice but not any longer and I look forward being treated much better in future resorts.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Don’t go
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Oscar Perez, Other at COMO Cocoa Island
Responded yesterday
Dear KhaledRiyadh, thank you very much for your recent stay with us at COMO Cocoa Island and I am truly delighted to read your kind words towards our little paradise island, its services and people. We are deeply saddened to read that your experience this time was impaired due to the unfortunate event that the hotel is fully booked and we were not able to provide you with a late departure. Kindly allow me to sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations and please be assured that your satisfaction is our utmost priority should you decide to return We truly hope to have a chance to discuss further on the concerns you have and welcome you back to our beautiful island for an amazing stay in a near future Kindest regards Hotel Manager COMO Cocoa Island
Read more
IvanMend wrote a review Jul 13
Madrid, Spain32 contributions6 helpful votes
We have visited again COMO Cocoa Island, first was in 2010 and now again with our two kids (11 and 7 years old) this time, experience has been equally excellent or even a bit better. Everything in this hotel is superb, rooms, island, reef and snorkelling, spa (como shambala treatments are heaven on earth), restaurant and above all, the service, all the staff is extremely kind, always helpful without disturbing and specially with the kids who have loved the experience. In a summary, a wonderful hotel that has kept the same level of excellence through the years, offering a real paradise island experience from check in to check out.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Oscar Perez, Other at COMO Cocoa Island
Responded 1 week ago
Dear IvanMend, thank you for taking time to share your experince with Tripadvisor community. It was our utmost pleasure to have you stayed at COMO Cocoa Island with your family. I am truely stunned to read your kind words towards the sevices here and i will definitely share your comments with the team. It is indeed encouraging for the team to stive to deliver the consistantly amazing service they provide to Cocoa Island guests. We are very much looking forward to another chance to meet you and your family for another memorable stay in a near future Kindest regards, Oscar Perez Hotel Manager
Read more
Jinwen X wrote a review Jun 2021
Austin, Texas4 contributions
My husband and myself are world travelers. We visited many places and had many great experience. We rarely write reviews, almost never did. However, this time, I am taking the time to write a review for the well deserved Como Cocoa island. We stayed at 1st 5-star property for 7 days, and at Cocoa island for 8 days, from May to June. The Room. Oscar kindly provided us an upgrade to water villa. The room is simply stunning. We spent the previous 7 days in another 5-star resort, which we thought was very nice and couldn't expect any better. The room at Cocoa is contemporary, chic, and elegant. I thought i don't like minimalist designs, but i guess i need to change my mind:-) The service. The resort is extremely well managed. All staff are super friendly, which is not a surprise. All facilities we used are well maintained. During one night, my husband had an accident, and I called the nurse. In no time, in the dark, I saw the staff and nurse running with a light towards our villa. They quickly took care of the wound and put my mind at ease. We are very grateful. The food. The restaurant has multiple rotating menus. Great variety and chef is truly talented. I have a pretty high standard for restaurant, and many hotels can't make me happy with their food. Have to say i am pretty happy with the food at Ufaa. Supervisor and the waitors and waitresses are all very professional, friendly, helpful. It's fun to chat with everyone. The dive. We are divers. We dove in Baa atoll first which was Unesco bio sphere reserve. Then we dove at south male atoll. It turns out the diving near Cocoa island is far more superior than at Baa atoll. There were huge number of sharks and eagle rays, large schools of trevallies, tunas, hovering around Cocoa Thila ALL the time! We also encountered dolphin during one of our dives, which is so beautiful that it's beyond language can describe. Worth mentioning is the snorkel at the channel (house reef) on the villa side, you will see large schools of fish, some sharks, rays. I have 250+ dives, and have dove and snorkeled all over the world. I should say the house reef at Cocoa is the best for house reef snorkeling! Last but not least, our dive guide Mr. Sharky. He is soooooooo good to dive with! He has a great mentality to prioritize our comfort and safety (the current at Maldives can be dangerous sometimes). He has soooooooo sharp vision and hearing, i have never seen a dive guide better than Mr Sharky in spotting exotic marine lives! For the occasion where we encountered dolphin, he actually signaled to us that he heard the sound of the dolphin first. He is simply the best dive guide we ever had!!! To summarize, as world travelers, we have been to many places, and had many good experience. But the Cocoa island experience is the one that is so outstanding that it truly worth a wonderful review. Thank you everyone at Como Cocoa!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The loft water villa provide stunning views. I would definitely book it again.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Oscar Perez, Other at COMO Cocoa Island
Responded Jun 17, 2021
Dear jinwenx2021, Thank you for your recent stay at COMO Cocoa Island and I am pleased to read your detailed review of your experience here with us. I will share your kind words with the team who made your experience outstanding from all the other travel experiences you had. We will very much look forward to your next to our beautiful Island in the near future Kindest regards Oscar Perez Hotel Manager
Read more
sevidlam wrote a review May 2021
Chicago, Illinois1985 contributions32 helpful votes
+1
We had the opportunity to visit COMO Cocoa Island in March 2021 as the second stop of a split stay itinerary with Cocoa’s sister property, Maalifushi. This was our first time visiting Cocoa Island, but we have been fortunate enough to visit 9 other distinct islands in the maldives. Originally, we were supposed to stay at Cocoa island for just 7 nights in their 1 Bedroom Villa. However, we ended up spending 12 nights at Cocoa since we left Cocoa’s sister property 5 days early. Maalifushi was regrettably not to our taste (and for anyone reading this wondering whether to pick Maalifushi and Cocoa, please feel free to read my in-depth review of Maalifushi to know more about our experience there and some of the issues we faced). Cocoa island is a very small island, even by Maldives standards, and can be reached by a quick 40-minute speedboat ride from Male. Speedboat transfers in the maldives are invaluable for those looking to optimize their first and last day at the resort or for those looking to do a short weekend trip from India or the middle east. On our last day we had an 11:45pm departure and we were able to keep our room until around 9pm, which basically meant an additional full day on site! We chose to stay at Cocoa largely because we are major lagoon lovers, and cocoa boasts one of the best, most pristine lagoons I’ve ever seen anywhere in the maldives. I spent countless hours looking at pictures and videos of Cocoa, but nothing prepared me for the sheer beauty of the lagoon. it is jaw dropping in every sense of the word – at first glance, it gave me chills. During our stay at Cocoa, we were lucky enough to experience 2 different room categories: the loft villa and the 1-bedroom water villa with pool. The good thing about the loft and 1-bedroom villas at cocoa is that despite the recent renovation (which depending on tastes may or may not represent an actual upgrade compared to the old style of the rooms - beauty is always in the eye of the beholder!), they have kept their true Maldivian roots. yes, some of the new villas have pools but the villas are largely simplistic with a good old expansive deck, no railings (!), some nice, shaded area, and most importantly access to a beautiful sandy lagoon. that’s really all you need in the maldives! We were allocated room 1003 at Cocoa for the majority of our stay, and for maldives aficionados like myself, it was complete and utter perfection. It provides *nearly* perfect unobstructed views of the shallow turquoise lagoon and is met with some of the softest, whitest sand I’ve ever seen. the room is also decently located for reef access, which is just a short 5-minute swim or walk from sore. For us, the absolute best feature of the 1-bedroom villa is the wall of windows by the bedroom. While some may be turned off by the lack of privacy this may cause, we found that lying in bed looking at the lagoon was an invaluable experience. While the 1-bedroom villa is by no means the most modern or best value for money villa in the Maldives (when comparing the actual hardware of the room you can find a lot better for a loss less money), it provides for the quintessential Maldivian experience one should try at least once in their lifetime. We also stayed 3 nights in Loft villa 802 and while it was nice, i would recommend booking a 1 bed villa as it provides a much more elevated experience. Since cocoa is such a small island, there is just one restaurant (Ufaa). the restaurant is very barefoot chic, fully made out of wood, with some interesting art and very elaborate tables (which apparently weigh more than 120kg each!). The menu for lunch and breakfast is the same every day. for breakfast, i would say the menu is decently quite varied (10-12+ entrees) and you can order how little or much your appetite allows. Lunch is slightly more varied, and everything is exquisite. The dinner menu, on the other hand, changes slightly every day and almost has a complete overhaul every 4-5 days. so, while yes, there is just one restaurant, the menu is extremely varied, and you likely won’t get bored unless you’re a very picky eater. the best way to describe the menu at cocoa would be Asian fusion with a high emphasis on pasta and fish. everything is prepared with such high attention to detail and the shining star of the show so far has been the wagyu tartare (which is often on the menu). I can say it’s probably one of the best dishes I’ve had in the maldives. Most entrees will run you in the $40-50++ range and appetizers in the $20-30++ range. Lunch and dinner also have the added bonus of a Shambalah menu, which features more “healthy” options which are nice for a quick lunch. Entrees for lunch will run you anywhere from $25-45++, aka decently priced for a mid-level 5* property. Water is also chargeable at $3++ for still and $5++ for sparkling although the sparkling house water isn’t great... Unless HB is included with your room rate (as was the case for us), youre better off going B&B as youre not really likely to spend $140 per person, per day, on dinner which is the cost of the half board plan. Another impressive aspect of cocoa island was the house reef. The cocoa reef – to my surprise - now ranks #1 out of all the reefs I’ve snorkeled in the maldives (which is upwards of 15, probably). Turns out you don’t have to go all that far from the capital to experience really nice snokeling! The reef at cocoa is easily accessible from all the water villas. during high season, the current runs from west to east which makes accessing the reef from the 1 bed and loft villas extremely easy. the current is probably the strongest I’ve ever experienced of any reef I’ve snorkeled, probably because this reef lives on a channel, so you don’t even really need to swim,…. you just float directly into the service jetty by the sunset COMO villa. This makes the reef very easy to snorkel, as long as you’re cautious about the current which can easily drag you in any direction it pleases. The fish life on this reef is exceptional, and far exceeds that of any reef i’ve ever snorkeled. i saw upwards of 5-6 sharks per snorkel, and the amount of large fish that routinely swim on this channel/pass is amazing. the fish here swim in very large schools and shoals, so the fish life is plentiful at every hour of the day. on one occasion i was also able to glide by a pod of 25 dolphins on my first morning at cocoa which was magical. It is more of a “small fish in large quantity ” than a “large fish in small quantity” reef which is perfectly fine since ther are so many small fish (and watch out for the triggerfish!). despite this - i can say with confidence that i’ve found my new favorite reef, and despite being a huge fan of the reefs down in gaafu, i prefer the reef at cocoa . the one downside to this reef is that the boat traffic is really very heavy, so you always head boats buzzing in the background. Coral regrowth is actually very surprisingly not terrible. Don’t get me wrong, the reef is still dead, however there are at least some signs of growth which is more than i could say about some the other reefs ive snorkeled in South Male which were completely and utterly dead. I also was a huge fan of the overall structure of the reef, which is very varied. The best part of the reef IMO is the “wall” that runs by the drop-off between villas 1003 and 803. The last piece I wanted to touch on was just how extremely personalized our stay at Cocoa was, and this is in large part due to the best butler we’ve ever had in the Maldives. We were lucky enough to be allocated Binoy who took the BEST care of us from start to finish. The cocoa concept is interesting in that if you stay in a 1 bed villa, you are allocated a butler who takes care of all you for the duration of your stay AND is your waiter for all meals… so you REALLY develop a good relationship with your butler and they’re most definitely not “just another member of the staff”. Binoy always had a smile on his face and nothing was too much. He knew exactly what my breakfast and lunch orders were every day (im very repetitive) and was super super prompt in anything and everything we asked of him (for instance, I once asked him for a tour of one of the villas and in a matter of 5 minutes he had the keys in hand, ready to show me the room). Binoy is such a HUGE HGUE asset to your resort, and you should be proud to have such a dedicated, kind and hard working member of your team. Hold onto him! --- SO, you are now probably asking yourself.. just WHY isnt this the perfect island? Well there are three reasons for that (two of which the resort can fix): A. Location: Male atoll is unfortunately becoming overrun and its very sad to see it become so crowded and overbuilt. The immediate area neighboring Cocoa is no exception this. One one side, you got the Maafushi expansion which is HUGE and sadly will become filled with buildings in the short run. on the other side, you have the guraidhoo expansion which is very clearly visible by nearly every single villa except 1002,1004, and 1003. You simple are missing the robinson crusoe feel and al the nearby islands are sadly a huge eye sore. B. Sea Grass: Cocoa has probably the single most beautiful lagoon ive ever seen and id be surprised if it does not rank in the top 10 lagoons in the maldives. However, WHY management is letting the lagoon become infested with sea grass is quite literally beyond me. ok - yes, i understand that recently there has been this “trend” (i call it “laziness”) pioneered by six senses, gili and soneva to #SavetTheSeagrass since it provides a larger ecosystem for turtles - but it is obvious that this sea grass is – to an extent - NOT natural since it has largely only recently started to grow in excessive amounts, presumably due to the elevated water temperates, constant dredging and chemicals being poured into the water from all the expansion occurring in many maldivian atolls. Looking at older pictures of the maldives and cocoa especially (!), there is not an ounce of sea grass in sight. the amount of sea grass infesting the lagoon is getting out of hand and Cocoa is slowly losing its largest Unique Selling Point – there is no other way to put it. The entire lagoon area to the north of rooms 1002 and 1004 is completely filled with sea grass and is starting to turn black/green. I very strongly urge Cocoa to remove the sea grass in the lagoon, and keep that small, closed off “Seagrass Conservation” area by the beach as a substitute. otherwise, in the next 12-24 months or so given the exponential growth of sea grass, Cocoa will lose its lagoon its in entirety. C. Privacy wall for the 1-bedroom villas: I strongly urge management to rethink the placement of this privacy wall since it is completely nonsensical, whichever way you put it. The wall provides NO privacy since it is built on the wrong side of the villa. It faces the open ocean, rather than the jetty, and therefore provides nil privacy since there is hardly ever anyone walking in the middle of the ocean! not only do you have a complete open view of the jetty, but you also have a completely obstructed view of half of the stunning lagoon. All this caused by a privacy wall that coincidentally provides no privacy! Cocoa, please fix this…. Overall - despite these three flaws - we had an absolutely amazing holiday at cocoa and are hoping to return if we have the opportunity to do so, provided that points B and C above are at the very least addressed!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Oscar Perez, Other at COMO Cocoa Island
Responded May 31, 2021
Dear sevidlam, thank you for the pleasing, detailed review of your recent stay with us at COMO Cocoa Island. I am ever so thrilled to learn that we managed to make your stay a memorable one. I am equally excited to read your kind feedback on our environment, facilities, and services. I will definitely share your fascinating words with the team members and this will probably enhance their efforts to strive to maintain the great services they offer looking forward to welcoming you back to our little paradise island in the near future Kindest regards, Oscar Perez Hotel Manager - COMO Cocoa Island
Read more
wanderlustpc wrote a review May 2021
17 contributions36 helpful votes
We are three girl friends on holidays. It took us a lot of research until we found paradise! Beautiful, well kept Island 🏝, the staff is amazing (a special thank you to the reception manager and receptionists 🙏🏻), the food is delicious, many entertaining water activities. The design of the hotel is truly unique. The water villas with swimming pool are the cherry on the ice cream! If traveling to the Maldives, THIS IS THE PLACE TO BE 😍🔝 HIGHLY RECOMMENDED 👌🏻
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Oscar Perez, Other at COMO Cocoa Island
Responded May 17, 2021
Dear wanderlustpc, thank you for your recent stay with us at COMO Cocoa Island. I am glad to learn that you have truly enjoyed our little paradise island. Thank you for your kind review. We are absolutely happy you had such a wonderful time and thank you very much for recommending us to everyone who is in this community We all look very much forward to welcoming you back soon. Kindest regards, Oscar Perez Hotel Manager COMO Cocoa Island
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$837 - $2,516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cocoa island hotel south male atoll, cocoa island maldives, hotel cocoa island
LOCATION
MaldivesKaafu AtollSouth Male AtollCocoa Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
34
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about COMO Cocoa Island
Which popular attractions are close to COMO Cocoa Island?
Nearby attractions include Bikini Beach (2.4 miles) and Biyadoo Island (1.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at COMO Cocoa Island?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at COMO Cocoa Island?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at COMO Cocoa Island?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to COMO Cocoa Island?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sea Fire Salt, Baan Huraa, and M6m.
Are there opportunities to exercise at COMO Cocoa Island?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does COMO Cocoa Island have an airport shuttle?
Yes, COMO Cocoa Island offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is COMO Cocoa Island located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.03 miles away from the center of Cocoa Island.
Are any cleaning services offered at COMO Cocoa Island?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at COMO Cocoa Island?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Italian, Chinese, Hindi, Japanese, and Thai.
Does COMO Cocoa Island have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.