We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
7 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$401
View deal
Hotels.com
$401
View deal
Trip.com
$394
View deal
Travelocity$401
Booking.com$401
FindHotel$447
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2996)
360
Panoramas (14)
Room & Suite (883)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.8
Value
4.4
Travelers' Choice
Athuruga Island Resort is the twin island of its sister Thundufushi. The island comprises of a thick vegetation of coconut palms and surrounded by powdery beach which extends to one side of the island. The lagoon on this side is small and the superb house reef is within the swimming distance while on the other side the lagoon is very large, sandy and is ideal for paddling around. Athuruga Island resort is best described as an elegant and intimate holiday resort with a high standard of service which offers offer All Inclusive only. There are only 51 rooms, named as 46 Beach Bungalows and 05 garden Villas. Catamaran, laser boat, canoe, windsurfs offered free to guests who must be experienced & licensed for these activities. Snorkeling equipment are offered free against a deposit towards loss of damage. Free guided snorkeling on house reef daily. Free laundry service. Aerobic, stretching, water gym and dance lessons free of charge.1 sunset fishing and 1 fisherman island excursion per stay included free. Beach towels provided free. Free doctor's service and infirmary.
Read more
Property amenities
Free internet
Pool / beach towels
Free breakfast
Beach
Canoeing
Airport transportation
Spa
Baggage storage
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Diving
Snorkeling
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Table tennis
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Safe
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Italian

Location

Full view
Contact
00130
Getting there
Villa Intl Airport29 miSee all flights
Male Intl Airport53 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
1442Reviews176Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,198
  • 176
  • 41
  • 22
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Paul O wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Just returned from the island had a fantastic time. All of the staff were simply wonderful and really looked after us. We were celebrating my wife's 50th birthday and thet made it a really special occasion. Can't recommend this resort enough. Look forward to going back
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Ashini wrote a review May 2022
15 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We booked our trip through @flynote.com and we had the most amazing holiday to date. Ms.Martina, our relationship manager has got your back till the last day. She's the most fun-loving person on the island and she will take care of all your needs during your stay. Mr.Nishan, our scuba and snorkel instructor is very humble. Blindly trust him with your life in the ocean. He will keep you safe. Ms.Miriam, the island's Marine Biologist is loaded with tonnes of information about marine life and the ocean. The staff is so helpful, always smiling, and serving guests. The vibe of this place is absolutely amazing. Mr. Atu, the guy at the live BBQ fish counter can't be missed. He makes the most amazing fresh grilled fish. The food, the Spa, the bar, the restaurant everything is just so amazing. The architecture of this place is like a dreamland. The staff always greets you with a smile. Shian at the water villa restaurant took really good care of us and made us feel very comfortable. We made some amazing friends at this property. We will visit this place every time we visit Maldives. We loved it!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: All the ocean view villas have a beautiful beachfront and then the ocean. The water villas are...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
gixxerlynn wrote a review May 2022
Redruth3 contributions1 helpful vote
Having been to the Maldives on many occasions since 1996 we have tried quite a few islands. This is the first we have been to that we have felt completely comfortable at from the moment we set foot on it. Other than the rooms being quite close to each other we could not fault anything. All the staff were brilliant and cannot remember all of their names unfortunately as too many of them. However every single one of them that we came into contact with were polite, helpful, friendly and attentive and also had a sense of fun which we do like. Diego the manager certainly has a great team under him and should be extremely proud of them. Particulate mention to those I can remember - our room boy Ahmed, our waiter Ahmed, the pizza man, Titu on the BBQ, Sameeru (Curly hair) in the bar, the ice cream man. I don’t want to leave anyone out but it was impossible to keep track of all their names. It was also good to see Diego about every evening along with other staff don’t often see that in The Maldives. Fantastic snorkelling the best I have seen, did not expect to see Turtles, sharks, Eagle Rays and shoals of big fish every time we went out. Saw lots I had never seen before. If you want somewhere relaxed but with a very social feel to it, great staff, great food, great snorkelling but not too many rooms then this is perfect. One of the best holidays we have had.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Diego Paties, General Manager at Diamonds Athuruga
Responded May 13, 2022
Dear Gizzerlynn, many thanks for choosing Diamonds Athuruga for your stay in Maldives, and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are truly happy that you had a pleasant stay with us, and we are reading your comments with much joy! Thank you very much for sharing your experience in details, and for your lovely notes on our staff. We are already waiting to welcome you back in the Sunny Maldives! Once again many thanks from the all Team of Diamonds Athuruga!
Read more
Ramona S wrote a review May 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Dear Diamonds Athuruga Team We would like to thank you again for the wonderful stay we had the last 2 weeks. Your hospitality from the beginning to the end, the great food and your obliging manner will be remembered for a long time. We felt in good hands with you from the very first second. The family atmosphere with the service staff, the kitchen crew and the bar staff was great. This was certainly not the last time we stayed with you :) And the great underwater world you have there is beautiful. You all do a great job here - keep it up and congratulations Diego on these employees! Team Switzerland :)
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Diego Paties, General Manager at Diamonds Athuruga
Responded May 13, 2022
Dear RamonaShepbach, Thank you very much for staying with us, and for sharing your experience on trip Advisor! We are very happy that you had a good stay in Diamonds Athuruga. Many thanks for your nice comments, from the staff to our Coral Reef, where daily encounters enrich the stay! We hope to welcome you back the soonest. Sunny greetings from the Team of Diamonds Athuruga.
Read more
Paul Hughes wrote a review May 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
After a fairly long trek from the UK I was in no mood to speak to anyone but as you arrive on your seaplane and see the resort it truly blows your mind away. We were greeted by staff who took us on a short boat trip to the Island so we could check in. As you walk down the jetty you get a real flavour of how beautiful this island is. We stayed in a beach bungalow which is large, clean and once you step out onto your patio the view really does take your breath away, palm trees, white sand and clear blue waters. We stayed in Bungalow 30, we are still here on our final week. What has really captured my heart with this place is the laid back vibe it has, you really do get the island experience. The resort is well organised with very capable staff who make guests feel truly welcome. The food... wow, absolutely amazing!! By far the best food I've experienced at any 5 star resort and I've been to a few in my life. Snorkelling.... amazing and such a great experience to see all the marine life out in that wonderful ocean. Be sure to find out where you can enter the reef as you don't want to get stuck on the coral. We still have a 4 days left of our holiday and usually I'm ready to go home but I really could go another 10 days easy. Every day my mind is blown by this oasis and I cannot wait to come back... I usually don't say that as there is so much of the world to see but this place is really worth another visit.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Get your snorkelling gear on day one and do as much as you can. It's an amazing experience.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Diego Paties, General Manager at Diamonds Athuruga
Responded May 13, 2022
Dear YozzaHughes, thank you very much for choosing Diamonds Athuruga for your holiday in the Sunny Maldives! We are very happy that you had such a good time with us, and we are very pleased in reading your detailed comments. Thanks much for sharing your experience on the island, from our F&B to our lovely snorkeling on the housereef. We are truly happy that our atmosphere is nicely appreciated. We are already waiting to welcome you back, Sunny greetings from the Team of Diamonds Athuruga.
Read more
hayleym436 wrote a review Apr 2022
Staffordshire, United Kingdom7 contributions19 helpful votes
Firstly I will say that we are a very well travelled couple who have stayed in 5* resorts around the world so I like to think we have very reasonable expectations. We have a fabulous, relaxing holiday. The water villas are spacious; the decking straight into the water is fantastic. Our WiFi in wv 3 worked perfectly and meant we could FaceTime our son everyday (we also never had an issue connecting round the bar area and it was as good as back home). The mini bar was stocked and the room cleaned twice a day. We ordered breakfast to eat on our terrace every morning and it was the most beautiful setting. We had absolutely no issues with our room. You will want to bring flip flops or sandals as the jetty decking get very hot during the day but other than that you don’t need shoes at all. Men can wear shorts in the evening and we loved the relaxed atmosphere - no reason to get dressed up! The service was always quick and the staff are so polite. As part of the water villa package you have an al a carte restaurant - we were slightly worried about there only being one restaurant however we shouldn’t have been. The menu changes every day for both lunch and dinner, and each menu has 6 options ranging from soup to pasta to fish / meat. It was like you were eating at a different restaurant everyday and was delicious. The food was such high quality which when you see how small the island is (walk around it in 5 minutes) it is amazing the variety of things they have. The thing we found really odd was the need to wear masks in the buffet?? Management need to look at this and remove it. Personally we were never asked to wear one or told about the need for them so didnt, but other guests did and it doesn’t make any sense when the whole thing is outside, masks aren’t required anywhere else, and we were all touching the same utensils to put food on our plates anyway? Please review this. The other slightly odd thing is if you decide to eat in the buffet instead of the overwater restaurant we were told we had to book it a day in advance (whether it be for breakfast, lunch or tea). What is the need for this? After doing it the first time and then on arrival at the buffet finding the staff had no idea what we were on about and sat us at a table anyway (of which plenty of empty ones), we never bothered to book again. This again seems a totally unnecessary thing, you should be able to move between the restaurant and buffet without an issue (for example if you don’t fancy what the restaurant offers for lunch one day so decide to go to the buffet). With regards to the island itself as I mentioned it is very small. This is exactly what we wanted as we wanted to experience a true Maldives island, but I can see why people would get bored. I’m sure they try to accommodate children as best as they can however I wouldn’t recommend the island to young families, purely for the reason there is nothing for children to do. No pool, kids club, splash park etc. In the 2 weeks we were there we only saw one child who was around 12yo. It is definitely a couple’s resort. A few points I think the management could take note of: 1. There isn’t enough sunbeds and shade on the beach for the WV guests. If you stay in a beach villa you get your own sunbeds right outside; however the stretch of 10 sunbeds near the WV jetty needs expanding. 2. I think during early morning and late afternoon (not in the blazing sun in the middle of the day) it would be nice to have a waiter offer drinks to those on the sunbeds - a nice touch and something we have experienced a lot in other 5* resorts. Overall we had an amazing experience that we will never forget. We never return to the same place twice, so wouldn’t return to this island however I will recommend it to anyone who asks.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Diego Paties, General Manager at Diamonds Athuruga
Responded May 13, 2022
Dear Hayleym, thank you very much for staying at Diamonds Athuruga, and for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. We are very happy that you had a nice stay with us, and we are reading your positive notes with joy. As well, we take your comments in consideration, in order to improve the general line of service that we offer. We hope to welcome you back the soonest, Sunnny greetings from the Team of Diamonds Athuruga.
Read more
Jennifer L wrote a review Mar 2022
South Africa673 contributions202 helpful votes
+1
After some delays and numerous re-bookings, we were glad to finally get to the Maldives in early March. Although we were booked for Thudufushi, we found out days before our arrival that Thudufushi had overbooked and was moving us (and the friends we were meeting up with) to Athuruga instead. (Surprising, though we didn’t mind, as our research had indicated that Athuruga was at least as good as its sister resort). Athuruga is on a beautiful small island in South Ari Atoll, of clear water and fine white sand, and has gorgeous white water villas and beach villas, surrounded by clear turquoise water. It’s a short 25-min seaplane ride (expensive) from Malé airport terminal (which is a great scene, with dozens of seaplanes coming and going right near the building). We had a fantastic spacious water villa (#13) on the end of the walkway, with a very comfortable king-size bed, walk-in closet, sitting area, desk, big bathroom with 2 sinks and a shower with deck access, and a big open deck with steps down to the turquoise water. Our villa was very private (especially since the villa next to ours was not in use and boarded up for renovations). From the villa you walk (or get a ride in the golf carts staff periodically drive up and down), along wooden decks to the restaurants, bars, beach, water sports center. The wooden walkway got very hot, and also gave me splinters the first day (must wear sandals). There is good Wifi in most areas of the resort, including in the water villa (which was a nice surprise). We saw gorgeous sunsets from the villa, and sunrises from the walkway. There were lots of cute baby reef sharks in the shallows and along the beach (never seen this anywhere else), rays and other fish in the waters around the decks and on the house reef. There is a nice beach (raked clean each morning) and lagoon for wallowing in the incredible water. The house reef was a highlight, with lots of snorkeling options right from the beach or dock, with 3+ channels through the reef to swim along the outside (where we saw numerous colorful fish, turtles, rays, sharks, and some pretty corals along with the dead ones). (There are a few areas off the reef where corals have been “planted” to regenerate, which is nice to see). The resort is Italian-owned and run, so caters to Italian-speaking guests (who seemed to get more attention and information – on arrival anyway – than those of us speaking English). There are some quirks and lost-in-translation moments with Italian and Maldivian staff, although we didn’t have any issues. Reception staff especially would benefit from better English, and also training on how to deal with customers’ queries, how to inform guests about some details of the resort, etc). One major thing we didn’t know until we’d been there several hours (and wondered why the shop and marine sports center were closed) is the (WEIRD) one-hour time difference from Malé time (it is on “Athuruga time” and is one hour later than Malé, but no one on either end told us that!). Not a big deal, but strange. We had a good all-inclusive package including basic wines, beers, cocktails, water, all meals, and mini bar (replenished daily with water, soft drinks, beer and wine) in the room. We started out eating mostly in the water villa restaurant, and loved the friendly team there (Mohammed, Husain, Sameer, and others) as well as the setting over the sea (bar is also great for a cocktail at sunset). We had some good meals there, some great dishes, and some weird disappointments (e.g. starter of avocado on toasted brioche with compote, which in fact was white bread with a chunky apple jam on top – no avocado in sight). We also found the service mixed, and even very slow on our last two dinners – the staff were clearly working hard and were on the run, but ordering and service were very slow and we weren’t even offered dessert (just as well, and it was very late by then). It seemed they were under-staffed on those nights. The buffet restaurant (even for those of us who usually don’t like buffets) was very good at all 3 meals of the day, with a wide variety of choices, including salads and veg, freshly-made pizzas and pastas (or omelets at b’fast), fresh juices, hot dishes and veg, and a big highlight – Titu the fish man, grilling fresh fish to order just outside (with “Thomas” the big bird begging by his side). The Maldivian dinner on the beach one night was also nice, and a chance to try some Maldivian dishes. We ate very well! Nishan in the marine center was great, always helpful, sorting us out with snorkeling gear and excursions, and also giving us a “tour” of the house reef the first day, so we could see where the channels are to get outside the reef. He also helped our friends who were newer to snorkeling get comfortable in the water. We did a few (expensive) excursions -- the whale shark excursion – quite a distance away by speed boat, which we did twice seeing one whale shark finally on the second trip (unfortunately a mad “scrum” - my impression and the word I saw another reviewer use too - in the water with the 8 or so other boats full of people (some of whom didn’t mind kicking you in the head in their mad dash to see the whale shark, and some of whom were shockingly touching the animal); and a manta ray excursion by Dhoni boat (where we did not see one ray). My husband did some scuba diving, which he greatly enjoyed. Strangely, the scuba office is only open 6-7pm at night (to talk to staff, book dives, etc), which is inconvenient and really limiting. Another slightly odd thing we found at the resort is the long siesta in the middle of the day (~12:30-3:30) when the marine center, shop, etc are not open (and you cannot get a SUP or kayak or snorkel gear, etc during that time). Throughout the resort, the people were great – including Nishan and Iju (water sports/activities), Martina (Reception), Rasheed (server extraordinaire who went above and beyond for us in the buffet restaurant), Moti (hilarious pizza and juice man), Titu (grill master of fish), Mohammed and Hussain and Sameer at the water villa restaurant. “Thomas” the bird (a “Maldivian flamingo”) with Titu at the fish station was also almost like part of the staff. The cleaning staff were always friendly, helpful, and kept our rooms so clean. We met some others at the very nice receptions (Manager’s reception and Women’s Day reception) on the beach (cocktails and snacks, with Titu carving the tuna for sashimi right on the shore, and Sameer serving drinks), including Diego the resort GM and others. As others have said, this is a small island without much ground to walk/run on, and no gym/fitness room, so you must get your exercise in the water (and perhaps doing yoga/pilates). I did see a few people jogging up and down the decks early or late in the day, but that was rare. But in the water is the place to be anyway, and the swimming (with some currents to contend with) should keep you busy. It was beautiful and a wonderful place to spend a week, and we would go back in a minute!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Diego Paties, General Manager at Diamonds Athuruga
Responded Mar 20, 2022
Dear Jennifer, thank you very much for choosing Diamonds Athuruga for your holiday in Maldives! We are very happy that you had a good stay with us, and to share your experience in details on Trip Advisor. We are reading with interest all your points, and your good comments & suggestion are taken under consideration. Waiting to welcome you back in Sunny Maldives, we are sending regards from the all Team of Diamonds Athuruga.
Read more
S W wrote a review Mar 2022
Wrexham, United Kingdom6 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
I don't usually write reviews but I've been home for a week and miss the amazing life we enjoyed for a week at Diamonds Athuruga. We stayed in a beach villa (No.25) which was lovely and clean (twice daily!) with minimalist crisp white decor and wooden floors. But when you open the blackout curtains and see your own personal decking area..followed by your own peace of white sand beach...and crystal clear waters. It truly is a picture postcard setting which took us 2/3 days to believe!! The crisp white theme is carried through the whole island including the beach bar area with some great friendly characters serving you whatever you desire. Special mentions must go out to Vipin who introduced us to the all-inclusive snack menu, and also a lovely young Indian man who's name may have been Barashin🤔???? (If the manager reads this, just go in there and ask about Pardon!!...we had a great laugh with him over pardon🤣🤣). The buffet restaurant was always full of plenty of food varieties and we never struggled to satisfy our appetite. (3 courses for breakfast, lunch, and dinner😬). We have to mention the pasta guys, the BBQ guy and the crazy pizza chef!! All were tireless in their efforts to make sure you had an enjoyable meal everytime, they were all lovely people to talk to and seemed sincere. When you arrive for your first meal you are given a table and a waiter, you have the same table and waiter for the duration of your stay which works perfectly. Our waiter was Abdullah, a 23 year old Maldivian who really helped make our holiday special. After a day Abdullah knew that we liked coffee in the mornings and still water, a beer and a prosecco with our evening meal. As soon as Abdullah clocked us walking in he would be getting our drinks and be waiting for us at our table with a welcoming smile. We really wanted to point out to the management that Abdullah is a fine young man who understands the needs of the guest and how to deliver it perfectly, Abdullah is a credit to the team at Diamonds Athuruga. Thanks everybody at Diamonds Athuruga, you really did give us a holiday to remember.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Diego Paties, General Manager at Diamonds Athuruga
Responded Mar 20, 2022
Dear Scott, many thanks for staying with us, and for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you had a nice day with us, and that our staff made it more special. Our staff is always ready and happy to share the lovely atmosphere of lovely Maldives. We hope to welcome you back in the Sunny Maldives, and we are sending greetings from the team of Diamonds Athuruga.
Read more
Chris wrote a review Mar 2022
Harpenden, United Kingdom132 contributions119 helpful votes
Right then, I'll try and be as detailed and helpful as I can with this. Most Maldives reviews are just glowing positivity, but as we've been to a few resorts now, I have some (hopefully!) useful views. First up: not been to the Maldives before, and like snorkelling? You'll love it. The house reef circles a lot of this small island, and you can easily walk/swim to it and see a wide variety of fish very easily. Black tip reef sharks are abundant (harmless + beautiful), and we also saw white-tips, some octopus, eagle spotted rays, and a massive number of tropical reef fish. That's the reason we went - and the reason we chose Athuruga this time. I like an easily accessible house reef as I want to snorkel multiple times per day. What could the hotel do better? 1) It needs some refurbishment work, it's showing it's age now in many places. For the £5.2K base fee we paid for our Beach Junior Suite for the week, I was expecting something a bit more modern. What do I mean? I mean some of the linen was stained (doubtless just rust from washing, or maybe suncream). I mean the towels were threadbare (same with much of the linen in the restaurant). Paint was flaking off. The fridge was full of dripping water. The shower needed rigging with a clothes peg to stay on. The safe was ancient. Generally just an air that many things had been there just a bit too long. None of it's awful, but it's "a bit shabby" in places, to quote my wife. 2) I've seen other reviews saying the exact opposite, but I found the front of house staff in reception to be hopeless, and I really mean that. On arrival we were told *nothing* about the hotel. Nothing. Nothing about snorkeling. Or restaurants. Or tours. Or what was included/not. Or anything else. Actually, I was told how to use the safe - which were in fact incorrect instructions, so I had to call back and speak to someone else who knew how it worked. Interestingly, I noticed when leaving a larger tour group of Italians getting a detailed 15 min briefing on arrivals. I suspect they pay a lot more attention to those groups, than they do independent bookers like us. My booking promised "VIP amenities" in exchange for booking direct - but no one knew what that actually entailed, so I suspect it's marketing not telling the people who have to deliver it. On the same topic, Qatar Airways misplaced our luggage on the way over. Not the hotel's fault of course, but the absolute basics of hospitality dictate you show some empathy and take proactive steps to help. I spoke to 5(!) different members of staff, none of whom could help - and most of which lied to me: "yes sir, your luggage is coming on the next plane". It wasn't, and we were without bags for two days, having to go and ask multiple times ourselves. Not once, did someone bother to approach me first with news or letting me know what they were trying. Nor did they offer any assistance. I spent north of 500USD in the hotel shop replacing items we needed (clothes + suncream), and this left a bad taste. A simple gesture of a discount as we were captive forced customers would have been both welcome and "fair". I pity anyone trying to get a really serious issue solved. 3) They appear to own one CD. You will hear the same tracks multiple times per day. This was a source of amusement to me vs. annoyance, but it's really basic stuff to get right. 4) The wifi is pretty shonky. I don't mind/expect it to be fast. I do expect to be able to use it and not endlessly get network conflict messages or "access point full" for hours on end. In the end, I turned off the AP in our room, and that helped (ridiculously). I suspect it's not properly meshed together and just lots of similar named networks overlapping. It was included in our price, but if I'd had to pay for it, I'd have asked for my money back. Right then, so there's some constructive points for you, what about some general comments and tips: - The island is small. I like this, but do bear it in mind if you want exercise beyond swimming. There's also not much privacy between rooms (no fencing/plant borders). - Like most of the maldives, the sand is getting eaten away by the tides, so expect to see sandbags. Our room faced out onto some pipes under the sea, so wasn't the most idyllic, but that wasn't the end of the world for us. - I'd start your snorkeling from the end of the dock, and head right for the best experience, or head left for a slightly different coral view. The coral generally is bleached and battered, but that's the case everywhere - the fish don't mind! Swimming those ways I found would go with the current (would have been helpful to be told this - I saw some pretty novice swimmers battling the gentle currents). - I've mentioned the price we paid for the room and $500ish in the shop (only needed due to luggage issues). We also spent about 700USD on three excursions for the two of us. The whale shark experience was excellent - two sightings, one basically to ourselves, and one with about 60 other people from other hotels which was a ridiculous scrum. The manta experience didn't pay off for us (it happens), and we saw nothing. The two centre snorkelling trip was good - saw some very well structured corals in different locations. Add on another 250USD or so for tipping, and you get an idea of what we spent pre-flights. - The seaplane to the island is quick (under 30 mins), but super hot. Take some water with you. It's no fun in the heat with a mask on, unless you have a drink. I'd travel in shorts + t-shirt, and get changed at the airport. - The island time zone is one hour ahead of Male. - We got a 19:25 flight out of Male on the way home, which I thought worked well. We had to check out at 12:00, but could use another room for a shower later in the day and then got a flight to Male at at 16:30 from the Island (15:30 Male time). That meant relatively little hanging around at the airport, and we made use of our last day. - You need some flip flops if you're in a water bungalow as the decking will get hot. Otherwise, no shoes needed beyond for traveling in. - We only ate in the main buffet restaurant, and the food was decent, especially the fresh fish. It's a bit Italian weighted perhaps, but there was variety - although not loads for my veggie wife. She did ok, but it wasn't "great". We had dinner on the beach one night, which was a really nice touch by the hotel. - Plenty of interesting cocktails to be had at the bar, with quick and friendly service. - The serving staff in the restaurant were great - well trained and working super hard with kids and adults alike. Well done to all of them. Same with the room cleaner. Well organised and friendly. I'd probably put them in charge of reception in fact. - There's free snorkelling gear, although I brought my own and just borrowed some larger fins. Bring some anti-fog spray with you to keep your mask clear. I'd suggest and underwater camera, too. You can also borrow a kayak or a standup paddle board for a bit of fun. - Face masks were worn when moving around in the restaurant. Personally I feel this is pointless as it's completely open sided, but I respect they have a varied audience of customers and many would expect this (and local laws probably encourage it). - Oh, and there are baby sharks everywhere, ;-) A rare sight. Enjoy it. Overall: A good week, and I enjoyed it - but not as much as I was expecting to when compared to other places we've stayed in the Maldives. If you like snorkeling, you'll still love it. Or if it's your first time/you've got a great package deal/you just like baking in the sun, you'll still love it.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Diego Paties, General Manager at Diamonds Athuruga
Responded Mar 17, 2022
Dear Chris, many thanks for staying at Diamonds Athuruga, and thank you for your so detailed review! We are reading it with enthusiasm and attention, and we are already taking care of few aspect highlighted from you. It's always a pleasure to see when things are very well appreciate, and as well it's always stimulation to read good comments & sharing of ideas. We hope to welcome you back in the Sunny Maldives! Warm Regards from the Team of Diamonds Athuruga.
Read more
Peter wrote a review Mar 2022
London, United Kingdom12 contributions
+1
This was our second holiday to Diamonds Athuruga, this time for my 50th birthday. We again stayed in a water villa, we stayed in No 4. Compared to our first visit we noticed we got the sun from sunrise until early afternoon in March, this was compared to our previous visit in October where we stayed in No 12 which had more later sun and views of the sunset. After the pandemic of COVID-19, we never felt in our wildest dreams we would make it back to Athuruga in 2022. But return we did thanks to Kuoni and Diamonds Athuruga and Emirates, the restrictions to the Maldives and Dubai were relaxed on 26th February. Although we completed PCR tests, one of the criteria needed was proof of full vaccination. We used the Emirates lounge at Heathrow for the first time, it was money well spent. The lounge experience blew our minds, we eat and dined in comfort and boarded directly from the lounge. We paid a premium for our choice of seating with Emirates in Economy, that way we could control our choice of seats and sitting together on both planes on the way out and on our return. The team in the overwater restaurant matched and surpassed the service delivery we received in October pre COVID-19, special mention to Mohmod and Hussain and Sameera and the team. The food was fantastic as usual, we were treated to two evening buffet style meals on the beach, and we were treated to a JRE cooking with the stars evening five course meal with wine on one evening meal. Our water Villa was looked after by Nafiz, he did a fantastic job of looking after us during our visit. Of special note my bed was decorated for the evening of my birthday, and Nafiz went all out for our last night. In the evenings we ventured down to the bar on the island, we were treated to Maldivian dancing and presentations on water sports and environmental awareness by the team. We ventured out snorkelling in a small group by Nishan who is the water sports supervisor, neither of us have great experience of snorkelling and my wife is a non swimmer. But with Nissan’s positive can do attitude and with the aid of a life jacket and inflatable ring we ventured out under his expert tutorage, and on completion we were given our snorkelling equipment and urged to snorkel in our own time. The team at Diamonds treated us to an amazing upgrade, an experience we will never forget and just added the final icing on the cake. The weather was fantastic, we had sun for our entire trip compared to a few days of on and off rain in October. We had cloud for three hours one morning, and that was the only cloud I saw which reflects in the extra cost compared from October to March. We will be returning again, we cannot fault the experience. To bounce back after COVID-19 and delivery the exceptional experience and service is a testament to the Diamonds team, and we look for to many more holidays in Athuruga.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Diego Paties, General Manager at Diamonds Athuruga
Responded Mar 17, 2022
Dear Petersheeh, thank you very much for staying at Diamonds Athuruga, and for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. We are happy that you had a good holiday on the Resort: our staff is always ready & willing to show the beauty of our lagoon, and the amazing coral reef, and we are glad as well that from Restaurant to Bar you had nice change to experience various specials from our team. We hope to welcome you back the soonest in the Sunny Maldives! Warm Regards from the Team of Diamonds Athuruga.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$440 - $807 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
diamonds athuruga beach & water villas hotel south ari atoll, diamonds athuruga beach and water villas, athuruga hotel south ari atoll
LOCATION
MaldivesAlifu AtollSouthern Ari AtollAthuruga Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
68
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Diamonds Athuruga
What are some of the property amenities at Diamonds Athuruga?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Diamonds Athuruga?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Diamonds Athuruga?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Does Diamonds Athuruga have airport transportation?
Yes, Diamonds Athuruga offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Diamonds Athuruga located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.02 miles away from the center of Athuruga Island.
Are any cleaning services offered at Diamonds Athuruga?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Diamonds Athuruga?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.
Does Diamonds Athuruga have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.