We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sani Mountain Lodge

Visit hotel website
Traveler (327)
Room & Suite (49)
Dining (32)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
A one of kind Lodge located at the top of Sani Pass,2874m above sea level,located on the border line of Lesotho and South Africa some 300m from the entry border post of Sani Pass, Lesotho.The lodge has a 48 seater restaurant, serving breakfast, lunch & dinner daily.The Highest Pub in Africa stocks a wide varity of beverages accompanied with a varst selection of great wines, satisfying all ones needs.Satilite TV and free WiFi is available in the lodge area ,enabling one to keep in contact with the outside world and family.The lodge has 9 rooms, made up of double & twin bedded rooms, on suite, togther with 6 & 4 sleeper family rooms.We also have a 22 sleeper Backpackers and Camping Area located next to the backpackers. Both the main Lodge & Backpackers are run on generator power.Activities available-guided hikes,fishing, bird watching and horse riding.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Internet
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast Available
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Public Wifi
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Hotel links
Visit hotel website

Location

Full view
Contact
Sani Pass, Sani Pass Lesotho
E-mail hotel
Getting there
Pietermaritzburg Airport67 mi
See all nearby hotels
375Reviews
347Photos
12Q+A
44Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 111
  • 155
  • 62
  • 25
  • 22
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We enjoyed our drinks at the highest pub of africa at Sani Mountain Lodge, but the campsite at the backpackers accommodation is terrible. We felt very unsafe with stray dogs roaming around and no formal security such as fencing or a wall. We camped out in the open among broken
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from SaniMountainLodge, Public Relations Manager at Sani Mountain Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Catherine, Thank you for the feedback, and it saddens us to hear of your unpleasant stay. The campsite area has been scheduled for an overhaul and improvement, for the safety and comfort of our guests, which unfortunately could not be addressed earlier. The above is taken into consideration, amongst feedback of campers who enjoy the exposure of the true Lesotho experience. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back to the improved campsite. Kind regards, The Sani Mnt Lodge Team
Read more
+4
Hotel's Favorite
We stayed here for 2 nights on a girls weekend. From Joshua who did our transfers to Gary the Manager, the staff were superb! Our favorites were Eunice and Calvin, the Chef. The Lodge is basic so it can get super cold. Although they provide a fireplace in the rooms and hot-water
Read more
Response from SaniMountainLodge, Public Relations Manager at Sani Mountain Lodge
Responded Jul 8, 2018
Hi there Riëtte, thanks so much for the good comments that you gave. I have passed the message on to the mentioned staff members and to the owner of the Tumble In. We are very pleased that you had a good experience and stay at our lodge and we truly hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, The Sani Mountain Lodge Team.
Read more
Stunning, stunning views. Great bar at top of a mountain. Rondeval rooms are wonderful, if a little expensive. Private room in dorms is good value, but quite far from main bar and far away. Overall i highly recommend
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from SaniMountainLodge, Public Relations Manager at Sani Mountain Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Jamie, Thank you for the positive feedback! Unfortunately, the distance between the rooms and the main building cannot be shortened, however repairs have been made to improve the road to enable easier and comfortable access for our guests. We hope to see you again for yet another pleasant stay. Kind regards, The Sani Mnt Lodge Team
Read more
As a South African, it is so difficult to justify the prices that Sani Mountain Lodge charge. It is priced for tourists earning Dollars or Pounds. The service and staff are excellent and are so happy to help and the beds are wonderful! However, we could not overlook small
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from SaniMountainLodge, Public Relations Manager at Sani Mountain Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi there, Thank you for the positive feedback and we are pleased you enjoyed our service. Due to our remote location, sourcing supplies to maintain the good quality for which the Lodge is known for comes at a greater cost. Due to the absence of any kind of infrastructure, the Lodge must provide services for power, water, sewerage etc. privately. With this in mind, the prices of similar products would naturally differ from other places closer to suppliers and better serviced with infrastructure. Major maintenance upgrades and renovations are currently underway, with as little inconvenience to guests as possible. We apologise if we did not meet your immediate expectations, however, we remain confident that having addressed our maintenance overhaul in due course will result in a more pleasant stay. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to welcome you back for yet another stay. Kind regards, The Sani Mnt Lodge Team
Read more
Great place, stunning bungalows with fire place: rustic, hence perfectly in tune with Sani's roughness. Food good, considering the location. View is amazing. We made the trip from SA, so through Sani pass: getting to the top after such an epic ascent (with only a 2X4!) adds to
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from SaniMountainLodge, Public Relations Manager at Sani Mountain Lodge
Responded Jan 7, 2019
Hi Christian, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you conquered the pass! We hope to see you again and thank you for the feedback. Kind Regards, The Sani Mnt Lodge Team
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play Areas
Rondavels
Amazing view over Sani Pass
fire made by the friendly staff at 4.30pm and kept going until you turn in.
view of the pass
PreviousNext
12345610
Yes definitely as long as you don’t rush
1 vote
Show all answers
Yes. The trip up takes about two hours with the photo stops. There isn’t much to do at the top unless you like walking - walk along top of mountain for some spectacular shots of the winding road you have just travelled on 4x4 essential for the drive The novelty of the rondavel room; highest pub in Africa and good dinner are definitely worth a night stay
0 votes
Ye a 4 x 4 is required
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123
"If you go in Autumn, Winter or Spring be sure to take a room with a fireplace for extra ambience.."
"Take enough cash, food and drinks are expensive."
"Rooms 1 and 5 are the better ones at the backpackers."
"don't let them book you into the room they use for guides accommodation if you can help it especially if there are two of you. Tiny."
"Bungalows might be nice but far to expencieve"
PreviousNext
1234569
ALSO KNOWN AS
sani top chalet hotel sani passsani top chalet pass
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sani Top Chalet
LOCATION
LesothoMokhotlong DistrictSani Pass
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing