We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mangrove Bay Hotel

Save
Share
Mangrove Bay, Kolonia, Pohnpei 96941-1597 Federated States of Micronesia
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (63)
Dining (4)
View from Room (9)

About

#2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kolonia
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Just 10 minutes from the airport in a quiet secure location, Mangrove Bay Hotel has all new clean comfortable guest rooms overlooking the bay, each with its own private balcony. Your room is equipped with a two beds, air conditioning, large flat screen TV with cable, refrigerator, free Wi-Fi, and phone. And we are the home of the Pohnpei Surf Club which provides land and sea tours, sightseeing, fishing and surfing.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Airport transportation
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
61Reviews4Q+A10Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 26
  • 27
  • 5
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
17Dubhe wrote a review Feb 2020
Makati, Philippines336 contributions31 helpful votes
+1
Thanks to Staff.Good housekeeping.Limited availability of rooms.Have to book ahead of time.Airport pick-up&drop off available upon notification.Could do better on amenities.Sushi resto.place limited menu,not open for bfast.Have to order in Arnold's.Only soap(2 small ones) are provided.Coffee(creamer,sugar),hot water&microwave in reception.Hope they clean the microwave properly.Free Kayak usage upon availability.Pohnpei surf club Tour&activities on site.Friendly staff.Amazing view of water.Hope they provide more amenities.Ok price hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from CarolSerepein, Hotel Manager at Mangrove Bay Hotel
Responded Feb 23, 2020
Thank you for your review. Room is limited, so we do recommend booking ahead. We do provide complimentary airport transit services. We ask that you provide flight information so we could do pick up and drop off accordingly. Or do let us know if you do require this service. There are times, that the transit would arrive at the airport and guest won't need it. The soaps that are provided in each rooms are locally made on the island from coconut(copra). It is very good for both skin and hair. We do sell them in the hotel, if guests wish to buy it. It comes in variety of scents. We are trying to do our part in being ECO-friendly here in Pohnpei. We do volunteer clean ups on the island, and the amount of trash(plastics and etc) we gathered from both ocean and land is unbelievable. We will try our best to get more amenities that will be of good use for guests and environmentally friendly also. Thank you for mentioning the microwave. I did spoke with the hotel staffs about that. And will make sure it is properly cleaned everyday. Thank you again for the review and for choosing to stay with us at Mangrove Bay Hotel, we hope to see you again in the future. Caroline C.
Read more
laurentravels12 wrote a review Jan 2020
Guam, Mariana Islands431 contributions34 helpful votes
I highly recommend staying at the Mangrove Bay Hotel on your trip in Pohnpei for many reasons. They have free shuttle service to and from the airport which is a plus. Upon checking in the front desk (located upstairs) staff members were very helpful with all of my questions and needs (RiRi was awesome!!). The front office is open from 6:00 am to 10:00 pm every day. In the front office they have beer, soda, chips, candies, oatmeal, ramen, and little travel necessities you may need. They have free coffee or tea with hot water and a microwave. (No microwaves are in rooms only the front office). They also have souvenirs you can purchase as well. Also something that I wish I would have known ahead of time which I love and is Eco friendly instead of buying a bunch of water bottles the night before just inform them you would like to purchase for $5.00 a water jug and its a massive water jug that is sure to last you a few days. I highly recommend asking for it upon arrival. The front desk will also call you a taxi which is $1.00 per person for in town rides. There is 24 hour security. OHH! They have bananas hanging at the door of the office and they are free! I didn't know till the last day. The location is right outside of the town and I timed myself walking at a normal pace it took me about 30 minutes to get to the Tourism Center which is in the middle to beginning of town. There is plenty of grocery stores, markets, and places to eat that take about a 10-15 minute walk. I know this was a big debate somewhere in a review or question. The room was amazing! Each room has 2 beds, a TV, a fridge, and silverware, plates, cups, mugs, bowls, and the most amazing view! We did not have our room cleaned the time we were there but im sure the service was good. Beds are comfy!! Wifi is spotty but its still nice to be able to connect. There is a sushi restaurant directly located next to the hotel which is open for lunch and dinner. You can also order Arnold's which is $1.00 delivery fee. Since the sushi place does not serve breakfast you can call Arnold's the day before and have them deliver breakfast to your room at whatever time you choose. Also you can eat Arnold's in the sushi place if you arent a fan of sushi but your group is. The Pohnpei surf club is located downstairs in the hotel. Amazing service there as well. They have a bunch of activities for you to do such as diving, surfing, land tours, or hikes. As well as recommendations to places to shop, eat, and hike. As stated in another review check out is at 11:00 am but I mean come on......if that's the check out time that's the check out time...... You can store your luggage in the office even if you have a late flight the security is able to open the door and get it for you. They also provide 2 kayaks for free use for hotel guests or $10 for non hotel guests where you can kayak to the nearby wrecks and mangroves. I highly recommend this as it is really worth the time. Between the beautiful up-kept hotel, the amazing location and view, and the friendly staff members my time in Pohnpei was well spent. Thank you again!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from CarolSerepein, Hotel Manager at Mangrove Bay Hotel
Responded Feb 23, 2020
Kaselehlie Lauren, Thank you for the rating and review. Sincere apologies for your room not being cleaned while you were here with us. Already have a talk with the housekeeping staffs regarding this. Will look into the wifi situation and will do our best to make it a lot better for our future guests. Thank you for bringing these to my attention. We look forward to having you with us again in the future. Kalahngan, Caroline C.
Read more
Scott M wrote a review Oct 2019
13 contributions
+1
Was unfortunate that the hotel was full... chose poorly, regarding where I ended up. However... I cannot say enough about the restaurant and bar. Great staff, clean, well managed, affordable for the copious amount of food you get. It was such a great place to eat and such great food, I ate there 4 times in 6 days and I was staying up in town. Cabs are a dollar, so don't stress on location. The sushi was on point with some of my all time favorite stateside joints. Seriously that good. I was told it was at that level and it did not disappoint. Try special number 5 or the Mountain Roll... lovely. The poke was fantastic, as well. Kudos to the staff.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from CarolSerepein, Hotel Manager at Mangrove Bay Hotel
Responded Feb 23, 2020
Kaselehlie Scott, Thank you so much for rating the Sushi Bar. Will be sure to show this to the staffs at Mangrove Bay Sushi Bar. We would like to have you with us at Mangrove Bay Hotel in the future. Do book in advance. Thank you again for the review and rating. You have a awesome and bless day now, Caroline C.
Read more
sylvia f wrote a review Oct 2019
2 contributions
We were lucky to get a room for a week, as I heard often the hotel is completely booked. They took special care of my Mother before I arrived and by the time I did, she was friends with everyone! The owners went above and beyond for us- from restaurant recommendations, to special boat tours tailored to our needs, to knowing just the right person- they were gracious and honest. We did the snorkel trip, and despite the cloudy weather, we all had a wonderful time (and enjoyed the banana bread and fresh coconuts!) The hotel is brand new and ideally located on the Mangroves - perfect for sunrises and sunsets - and watching the boats coming and going from your private balcony. There’s the Mangrove Bay restaurant steps from your door- or numerous restaurants deliver directly to your room! Taxis are about $1 USD to town. Can’t wait to go back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from CarolSerepein, Hotel Manager at Mangrove Bay Hotel
Responded Feb 23, 2020
Kaselehlie Sylvia, Thank you so much for the rating and review. Both you and your Mother were such sweethearts! We are happy, you both enjoyed your stay here with us. We hope to see you both again in the future. Thank you again and have a awesome and bless day! Caroline C.
Read more
davey671 wrote a review Sep 2019
Guam, Mariana Islands704 contributions67 helpful votes
Stay was good with a great balcony view of the ocean. Beware check out is at 11 am, although we’re used to 12. You’ll get a call around 10:45 asking if you need airport drop off but won’t remind you of the checkout.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from CarolSerepein, Manager at Mangrove Bay Hotel
Responded Oct 1, 2019
Hi David, Thank you for your review. Our check out time could be found on our booking site and with all the other detailed information guest will need to know. And is also sent to guest once booked with us. Do read Hotel's Terms and Conditions prior to booking with us online. Again apologies for the late courtesy call, we do have a new receptionist just done with training that week and helped you on your checkout date. So again apologies for all that. Hope to see you again. Hafa adai and Kaselehlie! Caroline
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
Federated States of MicronesiaPohnpeiKolonia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mangrove Bay Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Mangrove Bay Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Kolonia (0.7 miles) and Protestant Church (1.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mangrove Bay Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Mangrove Bay Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Mangrove Bay Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mangrove Bay Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Arnold's Restaurant, Nett Ramen Cafe Restaurant, and Oceanview Restaurant.
Does Mangrove Bay Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Mangrove Bay Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Mangrove Bay Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the bay view available here.