We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ecolodge Bukit Lawang

Save
Share
Bohorok Gunung Leuser National Park, Bukit Lawang 70442 Indonesia
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
$39
View Deal
Free cancellation until 12/28/20
Agoda.com
$39
$36
View Deal
SAVE $3
Free cancellation until 12/30/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
CheapTickets
$39
View Deal
Free cancellation until 12/28/20
Booking.com$39
Travelocity$39
Orbitz.com$39
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (527)
Room & Suite (119)
Dining (58)

About

#7 of 56 Specialty lodging in Bukit Lawang
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Bukit Lawang is a peaceful village in the province of North Sumatra. The location is a main access point into the green heart of Sumatra: the Leuser Ecosystem. You will have the unique chance to view rehabilitated and wild orangutans in a guided tour through the lush forests of the region. Staying in the Ecolodge Bukit Lawang is not only a unique ex­perience but also a personal statement in support of sustainable tourism. The facility provides an unprecedented opportunity to be immersed in North Sumatra’s unique rainforest environment while directly contributing to the conservation of the critically endangered Sumatran orangutan – with proceeds donated to the Sumatran Orangutan Conservation Programme. The Ecolodge Bukit Lawang was established to complement and serve as an outlet for the activities of the Bohorok Envi­ronmental Education Centre. Herein we aim to increase awareness towards biodiversity conservation and the implementation and management of proper ecotourism.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Internet
Free breakfast
Hiking
Airport transportation
Mosquito net
Laundry service
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Family
Languages Spoken
Indonesian
388Reviews3Q+A32Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 95
  • 170
  • 99
  • 16
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sarnuch wrote a review Sep 2020
Warsaw, Poland4 contributions
To be honest, that was the best close-to-the-nature experience we have had for a long time. The rooms we have stayed in were nice and clean. The toilet was a bit too spacy and underlighted, but the spacious room with huge windows with the jungle view did the job. Honestly speaking, we weren’t expecting any luxuries in this place. We were expecting a genuine, close to the nature experience and this hotel delivered. We limited ourselves to the restaurant, the hotel provided and the food was delicious and nicely served. Believe me, nothing beats the feeling of both exhilaration and achievieng the sense of inner peace when you’re drinking your morning coffee with the dense, sweet milk, listening to the overwhelming sound of a waterfall nearby. Also, don’t get scared of a monkey-falling-on-the-rooftop-at-5am alarm clock. Best hotel for 2-3 days stay for jungle exploration. If you’re travelling from europe I have few perfect tips for your north sumatra trip. Cheers!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
therealchrisgray wrote a review Dec 2019
Dublin, Ireland17 contributions
Very good hotel. Rooms are basic, but actually nicer than we had expected. Everything is very clean, and the staff very helpful. One thing we especially liked is that nobody tried to oversell anything, there was no pressure to buy, and we were also encouraged to try some local restaurants instead of just eating in the Bambu Restaurant. Came here with my wife and 76-year old mother. We were a little concerned about how strenuous the jungle walk would be for her, but the half-day option was just challenging enough without being too arduous. About halfway through, we were starting to worry that we wouldn't see any orangutans, but then we came across a mother and son that came very close to us. Our guide, Sandy, was very knowledgable and seemed to "get it" - he refused to feed the orangutans, for example. Top marks, that man! We stayed three nights, and on the second day we did the rafting and eco-farm tour. The rafting was really great, and the guides made sure everyone felt safe and confident the shole time. We also visited cottage industries making palm sugar and tofu. A very cool and fun day out, with another knowledgable and professional guide. We really enjoyed our stay here, and have no complaints. A couple of suggestions for management: - When we arrived, the local monkeys decided to go through our carry-bags to look for food, and stole my mother's medicine. This was not a fun encounter, and could have been avoided if the staff had warned us not to put the bags down. - There was no safety briefing for the rafting, and no easy way to hold on. These are both easily fixable, if you're paying attention to the small details. I work as a tour guide, so I have quite high expectations. Aside from the few small things mentioned, this was a very enjoyable stay and the staff were very professional. Very satisfied!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from BobiChandraS, Manager at Ecolodge Bukit Lawang
Responded Jan 28, 2020
Dear therealchrisgray, What a wonderful experiences you have shared at TripAdvisor about your recent stay at Ecolodge Bukit lawang, Thank you for sharing your positive impressions during your stay with us and I am so pleased to learn that you had a memorable and enjoyable experience and that our team was able to exceed your expectations. We are very proud of our Guide who you mentioned, I am humbled to hear all of the references of Excellent and Outstanding service and glad that we were able to demonstrate our commitment to not feeding Orangutan in purpose to keep their ability to survive. Thank you for choosing Ecolodge Bukit lawang as your home stay during visiting Orangutan home at Leuser National Park. Thank you so much for putting us perfect rating. Hope we have a chance to serve you again in the near future ... Warm Regards, Bobi Chandra. S - Ecolodge Bukit Lawang
Read more
Linda B wrote a review Dec 2019
Palos Verdes, California63 contributions50 helpful votes
+1
If you are interested in eco tourism and staying in a place built only from sustainable materials, this might be the place for you. In exchange for the usual amenities, such as hot showers, shampoo, toilet paper, ---you get a genuine back to nature experience. The owner of this place bought hectares of rainforest to preserve and protect at least a portion of habitat of the orangutans and other forest creatures.It feels good to support this worthy cause by staying here. They provide airport or hotel pickup, which worked out beautifully for us.When we arrived in the village, porters escorted us and our luggage to the hotel. The walk was scenic, but not quick and easy. It takes 30 to 45 minutes for most people.Th hotel also provides guides and tours, which we also used for trekking and river rafting. We booked one of two free standing cottages built on top of the mountain behind the main lodge. It's a steep climb! The views and privacy from up there were beautiful.We stayed four nights. For our last night we moved down the mountain to a river view room since we wanted to get back to our hotel in Medan at a reasonable hour. We took a raft back to town instead of doing the trek into town with our luggage.It was a wet, but fun way to exit this magical place. The food at the restaurant is more expensive than the food available nearer to town. The Indonesian food served there was delicious. Breakfast was not included, and things had to be ordered a la carte. The jungle tea was my favorite beverage served there. My husband preferred the Indonesian style coffee: kopi tubruk. The small staff of Reza, Hermando and Friska --and Chi Chi , our guide---made our stay a most memorable one.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Thommy ,the Austrian wrote a review Dec 2019
5 contributions
Spent one night in the Ecolodge, rooms were ok but staff,service ,price-performance all in all were not ok. I expected more from this kind of number one adress in Bukit Lawang.I think it is great that there are opening up many small nice guesthouses in BL led by families to put more pressure on the attitude on Ecolodge .
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from BobiChandraS, Manager at Ecolodge Bukit Lawang
Responded Dec 16, 2019
Dear thommy_nature, Thank you to spend your time to wrote us the review, really appreciated your positive input for Ecolodge Bukit Lawang surely we will pay more attention to upgrade Regards, Ecolodge Bukit Lawang - Bobi Chandra. S
Read more
Peter R wrote a review Nov 2019
Auckland Central, New Zealand22 contributions3 helpful votes
Nice village and jungle though. The staff seem sick of tourists. The (reintroduced into the wild) orangutan and baby nearby were fat and people were dangerously close to them. We had to leave and only got lame photos because of the danger. Uninvited 'guides' gatecrashed our tour group and roughly pulled unstable ladies up/down slippy hills in the sweltering heat. One said he spoke no English even though he did. Food better (taste and value) at the restaurant/guesthouse next door. Hotel had nice outdoor bathrooms. Just look out for macaque monkeys!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from BobiChandraS, Manager at Ecolodge Bukit Lawang
Responded Dec 16, 2019
Dear Peter R, Thank you for staying at Ecolodge Bukit Lawang, Glad to read that you love our open bathroom. We do Apologize for some unexpected experience that maybe happened during your stay, Regarding jungle activity its always better to book first than we will list your name to handle by our best team ( trained & experience ), we hear some not good comment but difficult to trace if we have no information about the arrangement, sorry.. Ecolodge kitchen is the only kitchen at Bukit Lawangdidn't use MSG/ food flavorings and also free from any palm oil product, we bought some vegetables&fruits from local organic community with good price to motivate them to keep them use Organic system. Reaaly appreciated your time for review us, Wish you the best Regards, Ecolodge Bukit Lawang - Bobi Chandra. S
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$29 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
eco lodge bukit lawang cottage hotel bukit lawang
LOCATION
IndonesiaSumatraNorth SumatraBukit Lawang
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ecolodge Bukit Lawang
Which popular attractions are close to Ecolodge Bukit Lawang?
Nearby attractions include Bukit Lawang Jungle (0.7 miles), The Bohorok Orangutan Centre at Bukit Lawang (0.6 miles), and Adventure Bukit Lawang (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ecolodge Bukit Lawang?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Ecolodge Bukit Lawang?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ecolodge Bukit Lawang?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ecolodge Bukit Lawang?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lawang Inn Restaurant, Jungle Hill Cafe, and Eriono Restaurant & Art shop.
Does Ecolodge Bukit Lawang have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Ecolodge Bukit Lawang offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Ecolodge Bukit Lawang located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Bukit Lawang.
Does Ecolodge Bukit Lawang have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.