We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Parsons Nature Reserve plot nr. 24, Phalaborwa 1390 South Africa
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (41)
Dining (4)
Pool & Beach (2)


Balule River Camp is a luxurious safari lodge in South Africa. The lodge is situated in the "big five" area Balule Nature Reserve in Greater Kruger National Park. The lodge has six double rooms, which all have magnificent views of Olifants River and the bush.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free internet
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Show more
Good to know
Great View


Full view
Parsons Nature Reserve plot nr. 24, Phalaborwa 1390 South Africa
Getting there
Ngala Airfield35 miSee all flights
Phalaborwa Airport37 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
86Reviews3Q+A2Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 79
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
As part of a two week vacation in South Africa, Zimbabwe and Botswana we stayed at Balule River Camp for a week. It turned out to be a one-of-a-kind experience. The lodge is situated 13 km from the main road (on a very bumpy road) next to the Balule River. The surroundings are beautiful and the wild life is literally in the lodge. Baboons are playing on the ground, crocodiles and hippos lives in the river below the lodge and a group of three elephants passed through the lodge when we were there. Even though it turned out that we had chosen virtually the worst time you can imagine for a safari in the winter after a year of drought, we saw a lot of wild life. Most of it on the tour to the public park but also a lot of animals in the Balule area. Of the big five we only missed
Read more
After spending hours planning our trip to Limpopo, we booked (in August) and paid for the first stage of the trip at Balule River Camp over the Christmas period. My wife recently sent an e-mail enquiring about the directions to the Camp (luckily). We were informed by Balule Management that they had no reservation booking for us and the were fully booked ! We were booked through Agoda and in all my dealing with them had not experienced any problems. Agoda told us it was Balule who later changed the status of the booking ! If we had gone all that way (5 - 6 hours from Johannesburg Airport) and been turned away on Christmas day I don't know what we would have done! Seems they only like dealing with overseas visitors. Management's response was uncaring and dismal to say the least
Read more
Response from Jesper K, Direktør at Balule River Camp
Responded Feb 16, 2015
Dear Samuel H K. Let me start by saying that we are very sorry for your experience. You are right that it was by "accident" that we found out about this booking, but please note that it was not because we were inattentive or because we didn't care about your inquiry. The reason your booking was not registered with us, is because we no longer cooperate with Agoda. We terminated the cooperation in 2013, but unfortunately they still offer clients accommodation with us. Please note that we never receive any payment from Agoda, and you cannot book a stay with us through them. Whenever we have been in contact with Agoda since the termination of the cooperation, we have made them aware of this, but either they do not respond, or they say that they understand, but then they continue to make bookings. I hope that this shed a light on things, and explained your unfortunate situation. Please know that we would love to accommodate you and your wife another time. Kindest Regards, Jesper Kehlet Balule River Camp
Read more
Welcomed at the airport, driven to the lodge, welcomed again with cold drinks and friendly faces- What a start! After 10 days of game drives to Kruger National Park, Thornybush Park and the local game drives I must say I´m very impressed and I can only give Balule River Camp my best recommendations. The rooms a very good with AC, and the meals in he BOMA excellent. All in all we had the best vacation for years. And- we saw the Big Five several times and all of them in one morning game drive!
Read more
Arriving to the lodge we were welcomed by Bruce, the big crock and a lazy hippo in the river as well as the staff with smiles and big personalities!! Imagine to sit on your balcony in the evenening listening to the soft sounds from the muddy river ....and suddenly you can almost touch a big elephant - and the next morning experience that the lions have actually been around. Not to mention the many hours spent with the patient Eddie in the jeep. And yes we saw the big five. We are a travelling family, and this stay at Balule River Camp indeed helped us to understand how big South Africa in many ways are. RIP Mandela who passed away the last day we spent in the lodge.
Read more
We had a fantastic 1 week stay at the camp last week of November. As the only guests this week we got the full attention from the whole team. Jesper and Colleen was around the whole time giving advices and keeping us company. With the help of Edward we got to see the big 5 and got a lot of nice pictures. We were as disappointed as Jesper and Colleen that we missed the 7 lions passing by the river bank one evening while we enjoyed dinner in the boma. The food was excellent every day and we also got time to enjoy the pool life. A stay at Balule can really be recommended.
Read more
South AfricaLimpopo ProvincePhalaborwa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Balule River Camp
What are some of the property amenities at Balule River Camp?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Balule River Camp?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Balule River Camp?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Balule River Camp?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Balule River Camp have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Balule River Camp offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.