We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

545 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 539: English reviews
Sugar Land, Texas, United States
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Attended a wedding at Waterscapes. Beautiful setting, very peaceful. Great views and birdlife over lake Vembanad. Facilities were clean but a little old. Pretty good for India. Hire a guide to take a walk along the backwaters, and then hire a boat to cruise them. Peaceful setting, peaceful people.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Resort is situated at superb location,just by the side of wembanad lake and kumarkom bird century.i booked superior lake view room .the sunset view,view of passing houseboats and birds was awsome from the room itself.food is good.rooms are average.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YAYAVAR v
WaterscapesKTDC, General Manager at Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from KTDC Water Scapes, Kumarakom. Thank you for choosing Water Scapes for your stay. On behalf of Team Water Scapes May I thank you for your positive comments which all are really inspiring. Major renovation of the property will be done shortly. Once the renovation gets completed we will providing high quality rooms for you. Hope to...

Munich
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Place is good but services sucks.. dont go for canal view rooms and only prefer lake views ones.. always have extra buffer time toget served in their restaurent. Canals have bad smell not running water, hope it improves!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mayank S
WaterscapesKTDC, General Manager at Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, "Greetings from KTDC Water Scapes, Kumarakom". Thank you for Water Scapes for your stay. We always consider you as our very valuable guest. All your feed backs and suggestions are being taken seriously. The property is about major renovation and once it gets completed we will provide an impeccable Water Scapes. Warm Regards Arun Peethambaran

Thane, India
Reviewed 1 week ago

season was helpful and the boat ride was thrilling fantasy. the accommodation may not be comparable to other places but was really great. after the boat ride, we could get down at the hotel itself. the food was good and the vacation off beat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tbsiyer
WaterscapesKTDC, General Manager at Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, "Greetings from KTDC Water Scapes, Kumarakom". Thank you for choosing Water Scapes for your stay.It's a great privilege for the Team Water Scapes for having you as our guest. All your positive comments are really inspiring. Hope to meet you soon at Water Scapes, Kumarakom. Warm Regards Arun Peethambaran

Singapore
Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed our stay at this KTDC resort thoroughly. A comparatively small resort with about 40-odd cottages, it offers a relaxing stay with the Vembanad Lake literally within touching distance. We stayed in the Superior Lake View Room, which is the best category of rooms at the resort and we felt very happy about the choice. Solo fishermen in their...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Manoj72
WaterscapesKTDC, General Manager at Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from KTDC Water Scapes Kumarakom. Thank you for choosing your stay at Water Scapes. It's a great privilege for the TEAM Water Scapes for having you as our guest.All your positive feedbacks are really inspiring.The property will be renovated shortly without affecting the aesthetic value of the property. Hope to meet you soon at Water Scapes. Warm...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A very pristine resort which unfortunately reflects the "chalthahai" attitude typical of a government run operation ..reflecting poor maintenance..rusted railings, broken tiles, shaky and loose taps etc..reflects this..but the ambience, courtesy of the staff and the location compensated for all the other flaws.the massage experience was also very good..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Uma M
WaterscapesKTDC, General Manager at Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from KTDC Water Scapes Dear Guest, Greetings from KTDC Water Scapes, Kumarakom. Thank you for choosing water Scapes for your stay.We always consider you as our very valuable guest and we consider all you valuable suggestions as a tool for improvement. The major renovation of the property will be done shortly, once the renovation is completed we...

London
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We spent one night in this hotel and it has been one of the high points of our trip. The comments on trip advisor seem to have been taken on board by management and we had no problems. The Chinese fishing net is now clean, the canals were running free so no smell. The staff were all excellent even down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather00
WaterscapesKTDC, General Manager at Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from KTDC Water Scapes, Kumarakom. Thank you for choosing Water Scapes for your stay. Glad to know that you were delighted with your stay at Water Scapes. Your positive comments are very much inspiring tour Team. We are going for the major renovation of the property. We assure you that renovation will not affect aesthetic natural beauty...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Its Kerala government resort. Nice location, Well maintained. They have a huge swimming pool. They have few indoor games like TT, carom, snooker. You can do fishing there, they provide you fishing rod. They also have spa inside their resort, though we didn't try that. Only bad things in the resort is restaurant. Food is not upto the mark. Service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arijit M
WaterscapesKTDC, General Manager at Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from KTDC Water Scapes Kumarakom. Thank you for choosing Water Scapes Kumarakom for your stay. We always consider you as our very valuable Guest. All your positive comments are really inspiring us. Your suggestions are being treated as a tool for the improvement and had been taken in to consideration. Hope we will meet soon at Water...

Gurgaon, India
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Whether you like this hotel or not is highly subjective, as if you are looking for a luxury facility, you may be disappointed. The resort does needs some up gradation as they have awesome views of wildlife. For a nature lover, this is a paradise, it is right at the edge of bird sanctuary. The rooms have every facility right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nikx_8_7
WaterscapesKTDC, General Manager at Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from KTDC Water Scapes, Kumarakom. Thank your for choosing Water Scapes for your stay. We always consider you as our very valuable guest. All your valuable feed backs and suggestions are being taken seriously. We have already started with the process of up-gradation of the property. Glad to know that you were happy with your stay and...

Tuscaloosa, Alabama, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you love nature, you should stay in this property. All lodging is in tree-houses high up from the ground. The lake is only a few steps away along with a pool overlooking the lake. We enjoyed our recent stay here and found it very relaxing. The trail for the bird sanctuary is right close by and you can hear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Virpi K
WaterscapesKTDC, General Manager at Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from KTDC Water Scapes,Kumarakom. Thank you for choosing Water Scapes for your stay. It's a great privilege for the Team Water Scapes for having you as our guest. Glad to know that you are delighted with your stay with us. Your positive comments are always inspiring us. Hope we will meet soon at Water Scapes, Kumarakom. With...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

829 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (813)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (172)
Viewed
Room/Suite (149)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (99)
Viewed
Dining (52)
Viewed
View from Room (88)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (15)
Viewed
Other (226)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
2.6 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 25 in Kumarakom
533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
0.0 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
2.3 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 25 in Kumarakom
625 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#12 of 25 in Kumarakom
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Waterscapes - this exotic backwater resort, on the shores of Vembanad Lake is located inside the Kumarakom Bird Sanctuary, which draws migratory birds from as far away as Siberia. The only resort in the destination located inside the bird sanctuary and is noted for its independent huts that stand on stilts and is a place teeming with mangrove vegetation. It offers its guests uninterrupted access to the backwater life of Kumarakom. It is also an interesting location for eco tourists who are interested in mangrove ecosystem, birds related ecosystem. The property is part of the original Kavanattinkara estate once owned by Alfred George Baker. It is also widely popular among the "honeymooners". ... more   less 

Additional Information about Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort

Address: Kumarakom North P O, Kumarakom, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Price Range: $53 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterscapes Ktdc Backwater Hotel Kumarakom
Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort Kumarakom, Kerala
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort staff and other travelers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“for Bird watching over the lake get room 109.”
  • Room 109
 of 5 bubbles 821RobertS, 2 days ago | Read review
“totally different from hotel room in all other places. unique. each cottage rooms are independent in every way.”
 of 5 bubbles tbsiyer, 1 week ago | Read review
“Opt for Superior Lake View Rooms- but they offer the best views of the magnificent Vembanad Lake.”
 of 5 bubbles Manoj72, 1 week ago | Read review
“Rooms near Resturant”
 of 5 bubbles nikx_8_7, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“cottage facing the sea”
 of 5 bubbles AntanetC, 3 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay