We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Backwater Retreat Theme House

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Backwater Retreat Theme House
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

284 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 281: English reviews
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is situated on the backwaters. Literally on the backwaters - meaning you have access to the hotel via the backwater waterways - a boat/ferry. The rooms are wooden and give a feeling of staying in a houseboat! Things I liked: 1. A houseboat like feeling. 2. Decent bathrooms. 3. A quiet, serene location - right on the backwaters.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SantoshPandey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2016

great experience at the boathouse with breathtaking sunset view topping it off with yummy Kerala delicacies . A must visit with kin and kith, it would be best to stay overnight as thats what we missed ! the boathouse had one room, a sit out, kitchen and restroom that accommodates 4-5 . great care and hospitality that made us feel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Akhila b
Chennai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016

The stay in the boat house depends on the hospitality of the chief and bava and Vinod were two great people to accompany you on the boat trip. You must visit during early winter where the journey on the lake is soothing and relaxing to your senses. The entire trip takes 18 hours and time flies by. Carry a pen... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ram P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016 via mobile

Please avoid unless you are looking for a cheap place to spend a night. I am suprised to see good ratings for this place. Please note it is not a resort. It is in extremely remote area. It has only 4 to 6 rooms and a dine out area. The backwater there stinks.

Helpful?
4 Thank Ramakant P
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2016

its awesome experience, iam really thankfull to mr kurian and his staff great hospitality with comfirtable budget ever, its amazing boat house..... please visit once in life time and if possible visit again and again on special occasion with your love.... thank you very much

Helpful?
2 Thank Giri008
Hyderabad, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2016

if u r looking for budgeted hotel in Kumarakom area, do not break u r head to search anymore. this is the very good hotel. Though location is little odd but its surrouned by trees and canal. For is it was a pleasant stay.Awesome food and very co-operative staffs..

Helpful?
Thank gireesh2016
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2016

I'm shocked that people have given this place brilliant reviews. I'm not a "5 star" kind of traveler and usually look for off beat quaint places. With this in mind I chose Backwater retreat. On arrival, the place was uninhabitable and the service was terrible. We arrived on a blistering hot day, and they didn't even have cold water or... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jubilee1976
Kurian K, Owner at Backwater Retreat Theme House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and I was expecting this from you. We do not have liquor permit. You were asking for alcohol and we did not able to serve you. We arranged an auto for you to go a bar hotel and after you came back you were misbehaved to our staff which we could not tolerate........ More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2016 via mobile

I was on boat called Kartika. It was very clean. No smelly pesticides. Excellent deck furniture and room also. And the boat staff made excellent coffee. I had vegetarian food which was delicious. I was recommended this by a friend and I will definately recommend this to anyone seeking a houseboat in backwaters.

Helpful?
Thank aniieeee
Kurian K, Owner at Backwater Retreat Theme House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Backwater Retreat Theme House!!!! Thank you for sharing your experiance at our House Boat . We are delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Backwataer Retreat House Boat . More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016 via mobile

We liked our stay at backwater retreat. Unfortunately we only had one night here, but it was very relaxing. The staff were very helpful and accomodating preparing tasty meals for us. The owner kindly organised a boat trip in a small motorised boat despite peak time and general unavaialability of boats and even dropped us free of charge at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom S
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

Enjoyed our stay here for a night! The complete hotel has wooden finishings which makes you feel different from other hotels. The food here is homely, but breakfast is limited! For first timers, locating this hotel would be little difficult, since Google maps show us wrong routing, would recommend to call the hotel staff.

Helpful?
Thank Govinda1989
Kurian K, Owner at Backwater Retreat Theme House, responded to this review

Greetings from Backwater Retreat; Thank you for sharing your experiance at Backwater Retreat. We are delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Backwater Retreat. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

137 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (110)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
0.0 mi away
Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort
0.0 mi away
Paradise Resorts
Paradise Resorts
#10 of 25 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tharavadu Heritage Home
Tharavadu Heritage Home
#15 of 25 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
#5 of 25 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 stars 967 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 25 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Palace Family Resort
Lake Palace Family Resort
#21 of 25 in Kumarakom
3.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Backwater Retreat is located in Aymanam (7kms from Kottayam Town) in Kumarakom (12kms to Kumarakom Boat House from Backwater Retreat) offers you the most complete facility as feel as a home. At Backwater Retreat, we believe in combining contemporary elegance and modern efficiency with our grace, warmth and care. Honeymoon couples and Families interested in enjoying the serenity of nature and its silence would surely love to stay at such a place during their vacation.Stay in kingly luxury, located in a peaceful atmosphere with lush greenery at the confluence of several rivers merging into the Kumarakom Lake. Enjoy this unmatched abode in a perfect eco-setting - a pleasant escape to the lap of nature. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Backwater Retreat Theme House

Address: Aymanam, Near Pulikuttissery Bridge, (7km from Kottayam) | Kottayam, Kumarakom 686015, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Price Range: $22 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Backwater Retreat Theme House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Backwater Retreat Theme House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backwater Retreat Theme House Hotel Kumarakom
Backwater Retreat Theme Hotel
Backwater Retreat Theme House Kumarakom, Kerala
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay