We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Skarsnuten Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Skarsnuten Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 21: English reviews
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2016

Me and my wife celebrated our wedding at Skarsnuten 02.-04.09.16 with 102 guests and had a dream weekend! All of the planning ahead, implementation, service, food and rooms were top notch! The hotel delivered 100% to expectations and more. We can highly recommend Skarsnuten to parties that require good organization, service and delicious food! Again, thank you so much for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
Arvika, Sweden
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2016

We stayed at Skarsnuten for three nights participating in a wedding and the location and views is unbeatable. The hotel worked very well for a wedding, good communication and service upfront and during our stay. The wedding dinner was enjoyable, though I think the starter was acctually too complicated, but the main really delivered, and paired with good wines. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank MEfem
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2016

The restaurant signed Geir Skeie is unfortunately not delivered at the level one would expect. Food is sometimes featureless, and not of a higher quality than of a mediocre restaurant. The impression is that they have to many seasonal workers that don't know what they're doing. One of our servers didn't know the menu, the drinks, and couldn't tell us... More 

Helpful?
Thank swoosh_N
Robert N, Daglig leder at Skarsnuten Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry that we didnt lived up to your expectations this time. We are always struggle to try to get the best staff and train them within 4 months but this is always a challange for a seasonhotel where we only keep the staff during a short period. We will of course try to make both the recruit and training for... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2016 via mobile

Small portions, the cod in the fish&chips was wet like water, a frozen fish that has been badly cooked/fried. Tried the pizza "Tind", no success. No spices, nor taste. Personal looked uncomfortable and no smiles. No bread while waiting for the food... Use to come here every year, but this will be the last. We are going to Skigaarden instead.

Helpful?
Thank Svalasnubben
Robert N, Daglig leder at Skarsnuten Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that your visit wasnt as you expected, this really seems like you caught us on a really bad day (we should not have such days) Both the food and the waiters didnt delivered up to the standard were we want to be and we can just hope that you give us another chance. More 

Baerum Municipality, Norway
1 review
Reviewed February 29, 2016

We spent five days at Skarsnuten Hotel. Actually our third visit. Sorry to say it, but there are alternatives in the Hemsedal area being more attractive. The staff is nice and service-minded, the view is excellent. But when you need to be a handy-man yourself (no one showed up despite several reminders) to fix the shower with sports tape in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travel09-53
Robert N, Daglig leder at Skarsnuten Hotel, responded to this review

I know that we have a challange when you are living at the hotel for 5 days not to be tired of the menu, we can only try to do it more varieted for next year. Thank you for letting us know. About the shower we needed to order some parts so sorry for not informing you about that, light... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2016

We went through Crystal ski on a package deal. Having skied in Hemsedel a few times before, we always looked up at the Skarsnuten and thought how lovely it would be to stay there - a 50th birthday seemed the ideal excuse to splash out and it lived up to all our expectations. The week before departing the UK we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lady gardener S
Robert N, Daglig leder at Skarsnuten Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this review, please come back:) More 

Oslo
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2016 via mobile

Arrived quite late and were met by very friendly staff. Very nice room, cosy areas and a fab bar. The great bartender from Lisboa made the beers taste even better 😊 The view is next to non and the ski-out, lift-in could't be more convenient. We are definately planning a revisit very soon (say Easter?) 😊

Helpful?
Thank MereteML L
Robert N, Daglig leder at Skarsnuten Hotel, responded to this review

So glad to hear that you had a pleaseant visit and I will for sure letting Tiago in the bar know that:) More 

Manchester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2016

We were not staying at the (very smart) hotel, but had contacted the hotel as they advertised fat bike hire. My wife (adult) son and I are keen mountain bikers, so we arranged to book three bikes. The booking staff were very friendly and the bikes were ready when we arrived on the bitterly cold (-24 degrees) day we`d agreed.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bob W
Robert N, Daglig leder at Skarsnuten Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry that you had a bad experience with the bikes and that it was to cold that day. However was the receptionist right and the bikes is not ours, we have only served as a middle man for having an extra activity to the guests but we should have picked up the phone and called the bikerental to see if... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2015 via mobile

Ignore last year's reviews, 2015 is where it starts – new chef, new menu, new team, five stars. Skarsnuten Hotell is heaven, and it just got better. This season celebrity chef Geir Skeie arrived with his full restaurant team. The food is out of this world, every meal was phenomenal. The kitchen specialises in fish, and yet the lamb dish... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank toodrew
Robert N, Daglig leder at Skarsnuten Hotel, responded to this review

A fantastic review not only to us but to whole Hemsedal. Thank you for making us be better!! More 

Kent, England
2 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2015

This was our second visit to this hotel, 5 years after our first. It remains a great hotel, providing fantastic views, great rooms, a relaxing bar and now brilliant food. We (parents plus 19 and 17 year old kids) stayed half-board and on the first evening realised we would be eating off a fixed menu. Each day the quality of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Otfordfamily
Robert N, Daglig leder at Skarsnuten Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Reeve family! I am happy that you had a wonderful christmas in our hotel. We hope we will see you again. Happy new year! Robert Norman More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemsedal
2.1 mi away
Skogstad Hotell
Skogstad Hotell
#5 of 5 in Hemsedal
61 reviews
4.3 mi away
Fossheim Hotel
Fossheim Hotel
#4 of 5 in Hemsedal
33 reviews
16.1 mi away
Storefjell Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Dr. Holms Hotel
Dr. Holms Hotel
#5 of 13 in Geilo
348 reviews
16.2 mi away
Oset Hoyfjellshotell
19.0 mi away
Pers Hotel
Pers Hotel
#5 of 8 in Gol
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Skarsnuten Hotel, at 1000 m.s.l, has a magnificent view to mighty mountain Hemsedal. Skarsnuten is a design hotel, where nature plays a prominent part of the architecture. Large glass surfaces virtually let nature right into the buildings. Extensive use of glass, stone and slated stone in the lobby, bar and restaurant, plus modern steel constructions, contributes to the typical Scandivian touch of this quite new hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Skarsnuten Hotel

Address: Holdeskaret, Hemsedal 3561, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Buskerud > Hemsedal Municipality > Hemsedal
Price Range: $179 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Skarsnuten Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Skarsnuten Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Skarsnuten Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The rooms in the 4th floor have the best view”
 of 5 bubbles P8770PQdanielm, Sep 6, 2016 | Read review
“Require rooms with view towards the slopes i.e. south-west and not to the parking area.”
 of 5 bubbles Travel09-53, Feb 29, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room with a view, but be prepared to pay extra for this.”
  • A Room with a view!
 of 5 bubbles MrsHSD, Mar 13, 2015 | Read review
“Make sure you have a room with a view. The ground floor rooms turning against the courtyard offers no privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles VidarJ777, Feb 18, 2015 | Read review
“If you want to go there it is important to ask for a room with a good view (not the parking view) and do not take children with you....”
 of 5 bubbles excelentfood8, Apr 11, 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay