We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 59: English reviews
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 15, 2017

We stayed for 3 nights. We enjoyed the great views, being near wonderful landscapes and walks. It was also good to be away from Funchal and the coast. The room was cosy and the staff were friendly. The room felt a little dated - especially the bedding and bathroom. The wifi didn't work for the entire time we were there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vickiwilson2016
DorisolHotels, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos, responded to this review

Thank you for spending your time to comment on your recent stay. We are very glad to see, that you remark our hotel great views and the perfect location. We were also very pleased to read your comments about the friendly staff. Certainly we have passed this on to our employees. However, I apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced...

Eye, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 23, 2016

This small hotel is perched high above a valley in the centre of the island. The views are fantastic. We stopped for coffee on one day and a light lunch on another. On both occasions that we've been here, there have been no other customers. It's well off the beaten track but well worth searching out.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John L
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our lovely Pousada dos Vinháticos. We are small, only 21 rooms, but we do offer cozy accommodations and fantastic views. We hope many other people will get off the beaten track and come stay with us!

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed July 15, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here after a few days in Funchal and it was a great place to hit the northern towns as well as the mountain levadas. Both breakfasts and dinners were pretty good and the mountain views from our room were spectacular. The staff was very accommodating and I almost stole the little kitten. I did name him/her maracujá. If they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Greg B
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our lovely Pousada dos Vinháticos! We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass on your comments to the appropiate departments for improvement. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Mappleborough Green
Reviewed July 5, 2016 via mobile

We found this restaurant by total accident but we were so glad we did. We pulled over for a coffee mid afternoon and the views were so intoxicating that we stayed for our evening meal. The food was lovely and although the gentleman that served us was rather brusque he did have a sense of humour. We thoroughly enjoyed the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aprilia10
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our lovely Pousada dos Vinháticos! We are very happy that you enjoyed your meal with us and hope that you will return, this time to spend the night as well! We have 21 rooms distributed between the stone house and the wood cabin and offer the same views from every one!

Reviewed June 20, 2016

For E50 a night we had a nice room with a stunning view - extremely comfortable and charming without overplaying the 'quaint cottage' thing like I feared from some of the photos. The bathroom was fairly spartan compared to the bedroom but was clean and large. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful (we generally found Madeira to be quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chiara B
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review of our Pousada dos Vinháticos! We do offer charming accommodations with stunning views, perfectly located for levada walks. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed May 19, 2016

staff very pleasant but they knew nothing about walks in the area, no trail maps, nothing. Rooms in the annex very warm and comfortable with superb view down the valley but not at all sound proof.Good location for walks in the mountains.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank monknash
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our beautiful Pousada dos Vinháticos! We offer cosy rooms with gorgeous views and our restaurante offers very tasty meals. We regret that our staff is not knowlegeable about walks in the área.

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed May 10, 2016

Together with my wife I tried to walk from place to place with all our stuff on the back. Coming downhill from the Encumeada pass after a hard mountaintrek, hitchhiking with some nice people - we found this hotel very cosy, but had expected more backpackers. We enjoyed our room with fantastic mountain views in the timberhouse and had a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jens_Petersen
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our Pousada dos Vinháticos! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Log House and the views afforded from the Pousada, as well as our restaurant, which serves very tasty meals. We hope to welcome you back in the near future, for more hikes in our beautiful Island.

Richmond Hill, Canada
Reviewed March 30, 2016 via mobile

Stayed 7 nights at the homely hotel in the mountains. It's quite high up and only accessible by car, nowhere to eat except the hotel but the food is quite decent. Fireplace was roaring some of the colder nights so that was pretty neat. Staff are friendly and helpful (Jacinto was our favourite - he made sure we got eggs...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephen C
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review of our Pousada dos Vinháticos! We are ideally located in the mountains of Madeira and offer wonderful views, as you mentioned. Our staff is helpful and friendly and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 16, 2016

We had a comfortable, clean room with an en suite shower room in the main hotel building, and chose half board (with a packed-lunch daily) opting for the "local food" menu in the evening which was fabulous, and a real credit to the two chefs. The service was friendly and very helpful and we would definitely go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nanjanx
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such a positive review of our Pousada dos Vinháticos! We do try our best to please our guests and are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your accommodations and the food provided. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 4, 2016

Excellent location: 700m up hillside but looking southwest down the valley to the sea - the ridge above often breaks the stormclouds spilling over the mountains. Great mountain walks start at the col high above the hotel. After a day's walking, what better than to come back for a glass of wine (only E1.50) on the sunny terrace here? It's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geoffgeoff2014
DorisolHotels, Gerente de relações com clientes at Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your good experience with us. We are very happy to know that you have enjoy your stay in Pousada dos Vinhaticos. We'll be waiting for a next visit to Madeira. Greetings!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

105 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ribeira Brava
9.0 mi away
Dorisol Buganvilia
Dorisol Buganvilia
#62 of 86 in Funchal
321 reviews
8.9 mi away
Dorisol Mimosa
Dorisol Mimosa
#70 of 86 in Funchal
313 reviews
8.9 mi away
Dorisol Florasol
Dorisol Florasol
#56 of 86 in Funchal
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Dorisol Estrelicia
Dorisol Estrelicia
#82 of 86 in Funchal
363 reviews
8.9 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
8.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos

Address: Serra d'Agua, Ribeira Brava, Madeira 9350-106, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Ribeira Brava
Price Range: $48 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorisol Pousada Dos Vinhaticos Hotel Ribeira Brava
Dorisol Pousada Dos Vinhaticos Madeira/Ribeira Brava, Portugal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Annex rooms are excellent except they are very badly insulated so you hear the people above walking and talking.”
 of 5 bubbles monknash, May 19, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the main hotel are quieter than rooms in the Log Cabin. Free Wifi available in the hotel bar and lounge.”
 of 5 bubbles Nanjanx, Mar 16, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room in the lodge, if you don't mind noices made by other guests”
 of 5 bubbles dinanth2014, Nov 16, 2015 | Read review
“Free wifi in main building. Wake up early to the roosters and goats :)”
 of 5 bubbles dianelovescruising, Sep 15, 2015 | Read review
“There is newer part of hotel which is not showed on websites and where the most guests stays.For stay in wooden part, write it to reception.”
 of 5 bubbles 959michaelan, Jul 22, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question