Corfu Sungate Hotel
Traveler (156)
Pool & Beach (36)
Corfu Sungate Hotel
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.0
#40 of 41 hotels in Sidari
Location
4.2
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
3.5
Value
3.3
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
Greek
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Tennis court
Billiards
Evening entertainment
Sun umbrellas
Table tennis
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Hotel links
Special Price:Loyalty Club

Location

Sidari 49081 Greece
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 78 out of 100
78
I. Kapodistrias Airport
17.6 mi
See all flights
71Reviews10Q+A12Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 14
  • 14
  • 16
  • 6
  • 21
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
GrannyB wrote a review Sep 2022
Mansfield, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed 2 weeks All inclusive as a couple in room 411

Our room was lovely and had been refurbished including the bathroom . The bed was comfortable and I asked for a softer pillow which wasn’t a problem . There is a dressing table but you will need to take an extension cable as there are only 2 sockets and neither are near the table . There is a large fridge and flat screen tv but only has 1 English Channel ( News)
Rooms are cleaned daily except Sunday and towels are changed daily .

Never had a problem getting a sunbed but I imagine there wouldn’t be enough in high season

Staff were friendly and helpful

So why have given this hotel a Poor rating ?

The All inclusive Food and Drink element completely lets it down .
Hot food is cold at Breakfast , Lunch And Dinner . They seem to find it impossible to keep food warm.and makes it inedible . The food is almost identical at every meal and is cooked with what tastes like very large amounts of salt added . It’s a real shame as the food looks ok but tastes awful. The cakes were good but were exactly the same each meal. Flies and wasps are a problem too , regularly landing on the food . There is nothing in place to prevent them.
You help yourself to icecream , so children have their hands all over open tubs of it and the scoop is kept in a jug in water left there all day
A picnic lunch has to be ordered the day before but you only get a sandwich and an apple ( ours had grubs in it ) and apparently you usually get bottle of water but they had ran out !
The spirits in the bar are quite good but the mixers especially the cola was the worst I have ever tasted , so had to buy my own from the shop next door and bring it to the bar with me as other guests were doing too as well as buying their own wine

If I had just been staying room only I would have rated it average / good but the food and drink completely let it down so unfortunately I wouldn’t recommend this hotel because of it .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Visit Canal D’Amour , beautiful lagoon . Vintage bar on the strip for great cocktails
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
V4288IQsara wrote a review Aug 2022
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom6 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel has both positives and negatives. The transfer is 2 hours which was a good way to see some of the island. The hotel itself is in a good location. The young lads on the bar work hard and are polite. The restaurant staff rarely seem to smile and on the occasion I asked if there was any cutlery, it was a point and rude response "in the drawer" like I should know it was there. Staying on an all Inc basis and whilst can get a cup of coffee at meal times,the rest of the time this is not available. The ice cream poolside is lovely and available thought the day,however one morning I realised the water jug that the ice-cream scoop is in wasn't changed. What is described as afternoon tea and snacks,is a cheese and ham sandwich. The door to the pool toilet doesn't lock. The room itself is clean, however the lack of plug sockets I would recommend bringing an extension lead. The bathroom has the smell of sewers (possibly from the open drain hole in the middle of the floor), even spraying air freshener doesn't help. Ants like the room as do the mosquitoes. The bathroom floods each time anyone showers. Fridge in the room and was provided with a kettle when asked if there was any. The pool,didn't use (signs in reception area and bar saying can't reserve sunbeds and towels will be removed,but this wasn't enforced). Plenty of hotels/pool bars allow you to use them just buy food or drink. Sidari itself is a beautiful place. Nefeli's ice-cream house is worth a visit,such friendly staff.
.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Argyrios Giotas, Ιδιοκτήτης at Corfu Sungate Hotel
Responded Aug 26, 2022
Thank you for your comments on your stay in our hotel. Firstly we would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused by staff members and this will certainly be looked into. Concerning mosquitoes please note that this is common throughout Greece during summer season and the use of repellants is the only solution. This is not a city hotel but a summer resort surrounde by nature and with lots of open air spaces. If there were ants in your room had you notified reception they would have immediately eliminated them. Unfortunately shortage of staff which has stricken Greece and Europe for that matter have not allowed for perfection in all departments. We hope to be able to offer you improved services the next time you visit Corfu.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Miss-A wrote a review Aug 2022
50 contributions28 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from a week in this hotel and had read mixed reviews prior to coming out there. The hotel really wasn’t all bad but there are things that definitely need to be improved. The staff were nice especially the young guys who work the bar, polite, friendly and smiley, the drinks in all inclusive were ok too, cocktails, beer, soft drinks until 11pm and then are charged. The food was ok but after a few days we found quite repetitive and began to eat out. The pool we didn’t use at all, it was very busy every day and didn’t manage to get a bed but had also heard people say it was dirty, I can’t say myself if it was as didn’t use it at all, the hotel a few doors away was free pool use and so we used theirs instead. My main gripe was our room, it was clean enough and the beds were changed daily and towels also but there were only 2 sockets and so we had to unplug the fridge each time we wanted to charge our phone, the air con was rubbish, it was free which is fair enough but really didn’t have much effect.. but the bathroom.. it was disgusting! So small and the drain in the middle of the floor was constant stagnant water which just did not shift, heard from other guests they had this issue too and so the smell in the bathroom was vile, we ended up buying air freshener and had to spray each time we walked in there, and so stale stagnant water invites mosquitoes, we were bitten so many times, all 3 of us, also our room was just crawling with ants every day. It did ruin things a little, granted we only used the room to sleep but getting a shower each day and trying to get ready wasn’t a pleasant experience at all. I wouldn’t stay here again unless these things were sorted out.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Argyrios Giotas, Ιδιοκτήτης at Corfu Sungate Hotel
Responded Aug 26, 2022
Thank you for your review and for praising our staff. We regret any inconvenience but had you notified reception things would have been remedied immediately. Mosquitos are unavoidable during summer in Greece and we all use insect repellants, especially in summer resorts surrounded with nature. Some of the issues you raised will certainly be looked into and hopefully we will be able to welcome you again with improved services and facilities.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hazel wrote a review Jun 2023
United Kingdom66 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Brilliant!! On arrival we were greeted by sherif the barman an chef Andreas it was a lovely greeting. All the staff are friendly courteous an polite an can’t do enough we had a great holiday, the food was great something for all tastes especially the mushroom pie mmmmmm. The reception staff were brilliant especially when I was ill. It was our second time at sungate an we will probably go back again Thankyou to all the staff an management for a great holiday
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: You get what you pay for I think we got more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
S W wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution2 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sadly the negative reviews are correct. Holiday mis-sold as specified WiFi available throughout the hotel and wasn't. Apparently WiFi hasn't been available throughout the hotel for over a year/never and the owner has now confirmed to rep that he has zero intention of putting WiFi throughout. Another holiday guest said some of the staff had confirmed there had never been WiFi available throughout the hotel and only ever in the reception area and they wouldn't confirm the truth for fear of people not booking. Pool is a health hazard - Daughter developed cough and felt ill from it and Son developed tummy bug. Pool is so murky you can't see the bottom of the pool like you can with every other pool in area. We lost a dive stick the first day to the murk and it was never seen again. Worried for kids so had to pay for drinks at another pool up the road for a clean pool for them (Planet bar which is pristine). Supposed to be all inclusive yet no water provided for rooms and not allowed to fill water bottles in the restaurant to use (apparently as it's a health hazard yet people refil the same cups/glasses and have their fingers there etc so it's purely a cost cutting exercise yet means you spend a small fortune on buying water for your room. AC not working and not fixed despite two engineer visits. Broke AC then making noise and dripping fluid. Shower awful with manky old curtain that didn't work and therefore when everyone showered it flooded floor. TV only English channel BBC news. Bedding not changed for full 2 weeks there and no kind of sign like in other hotels to request a change. Food in restaurant ridiculous as same near enough all the time (always fries 🙄) and not enough variety of choice for kids or vegetarians therefore had to pay to eat out. Same three fruit choices - apple, pear or watermelon. Hardly any local cuisine and side dishes such as carrots treated as a meal choice with a large tray rather than put as a side dish. Kids playground consists of swing and two wooden pallets. Tennis court overgrown and covered in weeds and webs so unusable. Table hockey etc didn't work and swallowed coins put in. Drinks constantly running out in restaurant and out of order signs put on things like orange juice. When arrived had to sit for 2 hours as they couldn't find a booking for us or another family. Supposed to be regular evening entertainment but only two nights per week and same entertainers (we sadly were stuck there for two weeks) which was singers one night and Greek dancing the next. Staff lovely but obviously their hands are tied by what the owner wants. Really can't recommend this hotel and more like a 2 star than 3.5.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Not enough loungers for guests and sun shades immovable and too small to provide shade. Avoid.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gareth D wrote a review Aug 2022
Bradford, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and family (two toddlers) arrived at the hotel at 1am for the reception to inform us that the hotel was fully booked and we could not stay. We booked our holiday with Jet2 months in advance and absolutely no warning about this. To make matters worse we had other family joining us two days later. Our holiday got off to an absolute nightmare.

After some phone calls and a tense wait we were told we could go to a different hotel which turned out to be an absolutely blessing in disguise. The other hotel I will leave a separate review for.

Jet2 were eventually able to sort our other family into the same hotel as us but they had to stop at sungate for a couple of days . We were able to visit and were shocked by many things.

The pool is absolutely filthy, there're nowhere near enough sunbeds for the amount of guests staying and the pool area is incredibly slippy with algae/moss on some of the tiles. I counted 5 people falling over on the tiles in the space of an hour. This could be avoided if the tiles were cleaned of the dirt/moss.

The food was very basic, short in supply, long ques, not enough tables, not enough cutlery and generally not enough staff.

We spoke to a few other guests and heard horror stories of no water supply or electricity.

The whole hotel is clearly ran by amateurs who are operating on a shoe string. Avoid at all costs.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Argyrios Giotas, Ιδιοκτήτης at Corfu Sungate Hotel
Responded Aug 27, 2022
We apologise for the inconvenience caused and as you realised we did our best to accommodate you and it seems you were quite happy there.To judge us by a glimpse during a visit (?) does not seem fair. You did not stay in our hotel so we cannot take your comments seriously
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jesslparslow wrote a review Sep 2022
Caernarfon, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The place is really run down and doesn’t match the photos advertised unfortunately. Our family room was upstairs with no lift so we had to carry the prams etc upstairs which became a nuisance. The food was terrible and breakfast especially cold. The restaurant staff were rude and at times obnoxious. Hygiene overall was well below expectations and our room fell short of basic needs. The hairdryer had melted to the wall and the mosquito net was torn. Overall the whole place felt unclean, unhygienic and the staff were rude. We’ve stayed in other places in Greece and travelled with Jet2 prior so this was a very disappointing choice to represent a holiday on both parts.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emma N wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from a holiday too this hotel, the whole place is an absolute shambles! Avoid!
Restaurant staff are extremely rude especially the guy who makes the food
The so called snacks bar Is a plate of ham and cheese sandwiches left on the bar wrapped in cling film, and the all inclusive food is what can only be described as trays of slop, the chips were under cooked and too salty and the rice was crunchy.
Nothing for kids! We ate out every day after paying too be all inclusive, the drinks dispenser in the hall dispenses only water 90% of the time
Pools are dirty and dingy as are the rooms which are full of mosquito's, ants and other bugs, showers flood the bathroom and there is a constant smell of sewage. 6 people in our party became poorly with diarrhoea, vomiting and sickness! We don't know if it's the dirty water in the pool too blame or the food!
This hotel should not be open!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hazel wrote a review Aug 2022
Herne Bay, United Kingdom35 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I have to admit that after reading the reviews before our trip, my friends and I were very nervous about our stay.
We arrived at 12.30 am to be told that the hotel did not know our booking. The young man on the desk was very helpful and arranged for us to stay at their sister hotel (The Magna Graecia) and to come back in the morning to sort this issue as there were no free rooms. After a long transfer from the airport, this was an extra 45 minutes away by private taxi, which they paid for. However when we arrived at the hotel at 2.30 am the room was disgusting, with hair in the sink, rubbish left in the room and visible dirt dotted around the room. In the morning, the staff at the front desk appeared shocked that we wanted to leave that hotel to go back. (This was a concern) she said that we would have to wait until noon for a transfer back to Sungate. Our party was not willing to waste more time on our holiday and we managed to leave at 10.30 am.
When we arrived back at Sungate, the day staff were nowhere near as hospitable as the night staff and to be frank, one particular woman was rude. They explained that the rooms would not be ready until 1 pm but after a lengthy discussion, they allocated us two rooms 603 and 511. Having looked at the pictures here the rooms all seem very different. Ours were very pleasant, clean and comfortable. The shower does flood but it seems fairly standard for Greece. The cleaners were very nice and did a good job. They change the bedding and towels every 3 days.
We were a party of 4 on the all-inclusive package. We found the food fine. Being a three-star hotel, we never expected it to be amazing but there was enough to choose from to satisfy everyone. I wouldn’t say it was hugely child friendly. The pool was fine as were the sunbed and showers. We enjoyed playing cards in the bar and the drinks were very strong so if you enjoy a drink, I’d say their measures are doubled if not tripled. There are plenty of restaurants nearby with reasonably priced food.
Our whole party would return to this hotel. Yes, it’s not perfect but for us, it was all we needed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Argyrios Giotas, Ιδιοκτήτης at Corfu Sungate Hotel
Responded Sep 1, 2022
We would like to thank you for your kind comments and we apologise about the inconvenience upon arrival. Peak season can be difficult. We are delighted that in the end you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We look forward to your next visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Danielle B wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
After reading the reviews on here I have to say I was very nervous, however once there we was happy, rooms are lovely and spotless, the pool isn’t dirty but is slippy around the pool so if your taking kids I would recommend the pool shoes, food isn’t amazing but I don’t really know any all inclusive food that is amazing, the bar staff especially gorge is so lovely can’t help enough, plays songs you want and dances with you all on the night. It’s in a great location just a few minutes walk to the beaches and the strip. The only thing that I would say is cons is that it was really hard to get taxis and there wasn’t any day or night entertainment on at the hotel, also we had a late flight and they didn’t let us have a late check out, we had to be out of our room for 11am and we wasn’t being picked up until 6:40pm luckily we met a family who let us use their room to shower before the airport, other than that we was very happy, and would stay there again in the future, I’m not sure why all the reviews are so bad maybe people were expecting a 5 star hotel when it’s 3 star? Or just very picky but from our experience we were very pleased with our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Luke N asked a question Aug 2023
2 contributions
Is there any parking available nearby for a hire car?
Answer from S W
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Yes there is a large 'forecourt' area in front of reception and cars parked at the back near what should be the table tennis etc area.
Answer from S W
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Without sounding horrid good luck. I'm vegetarian and they count side dishes such as broccoli as being a full meal with its own full tray. Despite the rep asking for child friendly food for my children they still didn't provide any child meals of an evening.
Answer from Paul M
2 contributions3 helpful votes
yes they do have air con and we did not pay 4 rs they have not got any tvs in the bar but i would not go back there again even if it was free
Answer from hazel
United Kingdom66 contributions6 helpful votes
Local red an white wine, local vodka gin bar Andy an whiskey also local beers no Prosecco included in all inclusive however you can buy it at the hotel
Nadine asked a question Jun 2022
Halifax, United Kingdom51 contributions7 helpful votes
Hi , does the hotel offer pool towels for Jet2 guests on all inclusive,? Thanks
Answer from S W
1 contribution2 helpful votes
We took our own. I think you can rent them but we didn't.
Vivienne T wrote a tip Oct 2023
Dublin, Ireland20 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just book and always try a small amount of Greek it will help "
Read full review
Lynne M wrote a tip Aug 2023
3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"avoid especially with children pool area unsupervised "
Read full review
Shannon O wrote a tip Aug 2023
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom2 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"When you get up to go for breakfast defo stick your towels out, the pool does get busy but we didn’t have a problem getting sunbeds. "
Read full review
S W wrote a tip Aug 2023
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not enough loungers for guests and sun shades immovable and too small to provide shade. Avoid."
Read full review
hazel wrote a tip Jun 2023
United Kingdom66 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You get what you pay for I think we got more"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sidari area.
PRICE RANGE
$53 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
GreeceIonian IslandsCorfuSidari
NUMBER OF ROOMS
77
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CORFU SUNGATE HOTEL $54 ($̶8̶0̶)

Frequently Asked Questions about Corfu SunGate Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Corfu SunGate Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Vintage Cocktail Bar (0.7 miles), Canal D'Amour (0.07 miles), and Paralía Sidári (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Corfu SunGate Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Corfu SunGate Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Corfu SunGate Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Corfu SunGate Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Eviva cafe bar, Orchard Restaurant, and To Steki tis Pareas.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Corfu SunGate Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
All Sidari HotelsSidari Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Sidari
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars