We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Golden Owl Accommodation

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paeroa
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Golden Owl Accommodation
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

13 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 13: English reviews
Start your review of Golden Owl Accommodation
 Click to rate
Reviewed July 7, 2016 via mobile

This is a lovely spot, followed lonely planet recommendation but it's no longer being run as a backpacker spot as it now only has 2-3 rooms. Run by lovely couple, electric blankets, en-suite and parking. Lovely living area with tv, free teas and coffees etc. Really enjoyed our stay, very cozy and welcoming. I also mentioned the previous reviews and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emccab10
Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

Welcoming hosts, shared lounge with private, tidy double rooms each with their own modern ensuite. Best yet the location is perfect. Walk or bike across the road and your in the most magnificent scenery. Karangahake is just magical ! Park the car safely and head off to the rail trail. Winery at the end of the road and cafe adjacent....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MuddyPawsNZ
Auckland
Reviewed May 16, 2016

We stayed here years ago when this was more of a standard backpackers. Now it’s more like a casual ensuite homestay. Hosts were very friendly and the price was pretty reasonable. Beds were comfortable and although there isn’t a full kitchen, there is still enough here to do some self-catering if you get creative (there is a bbq and a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank frownertoms
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed April 5, 2016

Great room and ensuite located opposite starting point for 2 amazing walks within Karangahake Gorge. Private room with shared lounge but only guests the night we stayed. Very helpful and friendly owner Judy. Cafe across road excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank radcad
Havelock North, New Zealand
Reviewed March 25, 2016

This is a great place to stay. The lounge and kitchen are shared, and the bedrooms are private with good ensuites - all exceptionally clean. Good wireless, friendly helpful hosts. Excellent accomodation if travelling with family/friends and as a base for the walks in the gorge. Would rebook if back in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kwlowe55
Reviewed February 14, 2016 via mobile

Had a lovely 2 night stay here. It is no longer a backpackers stay but more for couple/family. It is currently being renovated and so far it looks good. It is across the road from the Karangahake Gorge and the great walks and a few minutes drive from Paeroa. We would definitely rebook if back in NZ. The hosts are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn E
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed September 21, 2015

DATE OF TRAVEL APRIL 2014: This place no longer exists as an accommodation provider. I'm writing this review so nobody accidentally gets confused as to the status of the accommodation... We found this out the hard way after we turned up on our bikes halfway along the Hauraki Rail Trail with no food or gear only to be told that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank FleaSK
owlet65, Owner at Golden Owl Accommodation, responded to this review

We are very sorry for what happened to you. We had leased our business to a person who obviously was the wrong person. We are now back and after some renovations are open for business again. Our sincerest apologies.

Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewed March 24, 2014

When my travelmates and me were about to end our small Coromandel journey, we haven't been able to find a place to stay in Whangamata, so we ended up in the Golden Owl Accomodation. It's not exactly the place for young travellers like we were, but they do have a bunk room just like "usual" hostels. The place itself is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FromEtoA
Port Townsend, Washington
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I really hate to write a bad review, but it wouldn't be right to just let this go. We were at The Golden Owl Accommodation Feb. 15-16,2014. Our room was fine, and that's the only nice thing I can say. The innkeeper is not the person listed on the website. There is no hospitality. The kitchen garbage wasn't emptied until...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank doctoreyeball
owlet65, Owner at Golden Owl Accommodation, responded to this review

We are very sorry about the state of the accommodation. At the time we had a manager in for the last 2 years but are now back and I can assure you the property is back to its high standard. Our deepest apologies.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This was a terrific friendly place to stay, giving us the freedom to self-cater when we were tired of eating out. The room was spacious and comfortable with own en-suite, king bed and separate sitting area. It was probably the closest room to the road, but I didn't notice any noise and enjoyed deep sleeps during our 3-night stay. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Corky M
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paeroa
3.8 mi away
Pedlars Motel
Pedlars Motel
#1 of 6 in Paeroa
48 reviews
6.1 mi away
Palm Motel Waihi
Palm Motel Waihi
#1 of 2 in Waihi
33 reviews
4.4 mi away
Paeroa Motel
Paeroa Motel
#4 of 6 in Paeroa
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Racecourse Motel
The Racecourse Motel
#3 of 6 in Paeroa
25 reviews
4.6 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We have 2 ensuite rooms, one has 2 bunk beds in an adjacent room. a lounge with kitchenette facilities, microwave, jug, toaster and a bbq outside for cooking, tv with freeview, milk, tea, coffee & sugar provided. cafe across the road ... more   less 

Additional Information about Golden Owl Accommodation

Address: 3 Moresby Street | Karangahake, Paeroa 3674, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Paeroa
Price Range: $29 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Golden Owl Accommodation staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“No longer exists - don't bother”
 of 5 bubbles FleaSK, Sep 21, 2015 | Read review
“King Bed Room on the Ground Floor offers plenty of space and privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles corkym2014, Jan 11, 2014 | Read review
“We stayed in number 4 which was farthest away from the road and we didn't have any issues with sound.”
 of 5 bubbles AnitaC445, Jun 4, 2013 | Read review
“They have rooms to suit most people's budget.”
 of 5 bubbles alib663, Jun 2, 2013 | Read review
4 of 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question