We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Racecourse Motel

Save
Share
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good48%
  • Average9%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible0%
Travelers talk about
“rail trail”(9 reviews)
“stayed here”(5 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Rooms
Kitchenette
Wheelchair access
3 Star accommodation
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveler rating
12
14
3
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
12
14
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrail trailstayed herestay there againmotelhostsaccommodationbedtowels
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

New owner trying to make changes and update the rooms. Motel was decent but parking on the premises was tight. Clean and comfortable and supplied a decent sofa bed for our child, so we all had a decent night's sleep Located on the corner of...More

Thank Chris P
Response from Tony L, Owner at The Racecourse MotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your comment, Chris. I really appreciate that because every single point you mentioned is real and honest. The renovation is still going on and after all inside works, outside works will start, pavement, painting, signing, etc. All I am saying is, I try...More

Reviewed June 5, 2018

We had a great experience with Tony at the Racecourse Motel. We were caught on the wrong side of a storm which closed roads to the Coromandel overnight. In a tight spot, we rang Tony late at night on a Public Holiday eve, and he...More

Thank Brendan A
Response from Tony L, Owner at The Racecourse MotelResponded June 7, 2018

Thanks for your comments, Brendan! More room/bed updates and renovation will start this month, just to provide a more comfortable accommodation for all guests, whenever you family have a chance stop in the town next time, please stay with us. Thanks again! Ping & Tony

Reviewed April 29, 2018 via mobile

This is a great place to stay the rooms are very comfortable, the hotel for meals is great we ate there each of our three nights, the racecourse markets were on when we were there and they are huge with a big range of items...More

Thank JULIE B
Response from Tony L, Owner at The Racecourse MotelResponded April 30, 2018

It is great to see you enjoy the area and enjoy the stay with us too, thank you for choosing us. Much appreciated! Love, Ping & Tony

Reviewed March 18, 2018

Recommend the Racecourse Motel as it is so clean and comfortable (maybe not as new and modern but has everything necessary for a comfortable stay). The hosts are absolutely delightful and helpful. Motel is central and within walking distance to township. Will definitely stay there...More

Thank Ngaio L
Response from Tony L, Owner at The Racecourse MotelResponded March 19, 2018

Thanks for your comments, Ngaio! It was such a pleasure to have you friends all come stay with us, we are glad that you all enjoy the stay. Your conversations with us really help. Now we are continuing to upgrade the property, the current job...More

Reviewed January 21, 2018

We spent a week at the Racecourse Motel in early Jan 2018 - Tony & wife were awesome!! - always smiling and making sure that we were comfortable, very friendly and made us feel so welcomed. They were very helpful when I fell sick with...More

Thank phlatohi
Response from Tony L, Owner at The Racecourse MotelResponded March 19, 2018

Sorry not respond to you on time, Phlatohi! We wish everything goes well with you family now in Auckland, whenever you want a holiday outside Auckland, please come back enjoy Coromandel and stay with us too! Best wishes, Ping & Tony

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Internet
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Wheelchair access
Room amenities
Refrigerator in room
Details
Price range
$78 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
$78 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jeannie G
October 13, 2014|
Answer
Response from Jonathan W | Reviewed this property |
Hi Rosemary and Andrew McNicol are the names on there web site . I didn't see much of them during the stay, my wife did . The number is +64 7 862 7145. I have friends and family in Paeroa the reason we were there.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"My room had a double bed (very comfortable) and a pull out single bed with full size mattress and was very..."
Read review
"Go somewhere else."
Read review
"Been on the main road it's hard to pick the quiet room. Having said that road. Ouse level wasn't huge."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing