We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tradewinds by Lawana

Travelocity$54*
View Deal
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Tradewinds by Lawana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tradewinds by Lawana
See the most recent reviews
Showing 44: English reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2015

The location of the Resort is excellent, directly at the Beach of Chaweng and near every kind of Bar and Restaurant. The rooms are tenderly furnished and provide everything you need. The breakfast is balanced and offers a variety of fruits and freshly cooked meals suich as omelettes. The best part of the hotel was the staff, the atmosphere was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rolf H
suwan p, Owner at Tradewinds by Lawana, responded to this review

JUne 9, 2016. Dear Rolf, Thank you very much for your kind reviews of your stay with us. It is nice to see you have had happy holidays with us at Tradewinds by Lawana. We really offer the best location for holidays in Ko Samui. We are not a luxury resort but we provide all you will need at more...

Koh Samui
Reviewed August 1, 2015

We have been staying here for 15 years, and find it a delightful throwback to the way things “used to be”. Lovely grounds, clean and comfy bungalows, great locations, very easy beach access and pleasant staff. Good value. We will be back!

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David B
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 2, 2015

I and a friend were sitting in the garden when for some strange reason some guests complained about cats and the hotel staff chased the cats in the garden, put them into plastic bags and disappeared with them in the kitchen. In my opinion they were suffocated to death or horribly killed in the kitchen.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank firstprincess
suwan p, Owner at Tradewinds by Lawana, responded to this review

June 10, 2016. Dear First, Thank you very much for taking time to offer your review of your experiences at Tradewinds by Lawana. The management has no policy for cruelty for animals. WE have, however, a firm policy for guests safety from pets as we are a pet free resort. Our staff ran after one cat, which was released into...

Reviewed April 28, 2015

This hotel puts cats in plastic bags and then claims to "drop them off" at temples... where dogs live. Doesnt matter how "nice" or "cheap" hotel is, they have no morals or respect for anyone. Anyone who stays here is supporting the mistreat of animals.

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Leslie L
suwan p, Owner at Tradewinds by Lawana, responded to this review

June 10, 2016. Dear Leslie, Thank you for your comments on the cat issue. We definitely need to ensure safety for all our guests. This is firm although it does not mean cruelty against animals in any way. Uninvited pets can be harmful to our guests and we cannot allow it and that is exactly what happened. When we see...

Reviewed April 27, 2015 via mobile

A friend of mine has stated viewing resort cats being treated poorly by the staff and then captured in plastic bags, sealed and taken to the kitchen, never to be seen again... Also that this is now an issue being taken to the Hotel Thai Association. If this is the kind of place you run, it is shocking. Was considering...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank LukoiAsh
suwan p, Owner at Tradewinds by Lawana, responded to this review

June 10, 2016. Dear Luko, Thank you for writing on this issue. We need to ensure safety for our guests in our property. We are also a pet free property. Guests who enjoy pets can make other choices. The case was an uninvited cat came into the property and we needed to contain it and our staff ran after it...

San Francisco
Reviewed April 12, 2015

Large, private bungalows set in gorgeous gardens with new pool. Good for families, couples, with a little extra money to spend. Quiet, but good restaurants nearby, and on best stretch of Chewang Beach. Great mojitos, only the bar closes at 6 PM.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank maaland
suwan p, Owner at Tradewinds by Lawana, responded to this review

June 10, 2016. Dear Maaland, Thank you very much for your simple review of your holidays with us at Tradewinds by Lawana. We are a simple and reasonable resort for families and couples. The location is the best at the most beautiful beach and shopping just outside. Our retaurant will close at 6 pm because we do not have enough...

Heerhugowaard, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed April 6, 2015 via mobile

I have stayed here in december and really enjoyed every bit of my stay. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. The ambiance is great and the garden view only is worth to stay here. Allthough the weather was not that good i really liked it. The breakfast is the only thing that they can expand a bit. Hopefully i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daphne B
suwan p, Owner at Tradewinds by Lawana, responded to this review

June 10, 2016. Dear Daphne, Thank you very much for your simple and sincere review of your stay with us at Tradewinds by Lawana. We are nothing luxury so our breakfast buffet table only offer 15 basic items plus a fresh cook egg station to your choice. Since your visit, we now have new tv, new air conditioner, new strong...

Reviewed January 13, 2015 via mobile

Chaweng is the most beautiful white sand beach in Ko Samui, what means one of the best in Thailand. Chaweng is long, but the best places are between AL'S RESORT and CENTARA - peaceful, real ocean waves, relax etc. The hotels directly on the beach are generally overpriced. Go to small beach resort TRADEWINDS and you find best position and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lipopetr
suwan p, Owner at Tradewinds by Lawana, responded to this review

June 10, 2016. Dear Lipo, Thank you very much for your review of your stay with us. You have said it all. We are at the best beach location with all the luxury resorts around us but we are only a simple 3 star and our rates are very affordable so you can stay very long and it will not...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed December 31, 2014

don't stay here at any cost. The room smells damp and of course being a tropical resort to be expected. No at 11 pm herd a cascade coming from the bathroom. On inspection there was a torant of water coming through the ought fitting. The bathroom now so wet and with live electrics, this deemed the bathroom a no go...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andyxxxxxxx
suwan p, Owner at Tradewinds by Lawana, responded to this review

June 10, 2016. Dear Andy, Thank you for taking time to offer this review to the public. I sincerely regret that our property was a total disappointment for you. You checked in on new year eve for one night only when room charge could be very high. You can recheck now for next new year eve and we require 4...

Cornwall UK
Reviewed October 29, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights.. Thought Rooms were quite expensive especially considering there was lots of building work going on. Breakfasts included which were nice but if you are not up early enough then you miss them. Nice beach & sea is nice & quiet on this part of beach, sunbed use if free if staying there. Overall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LesleyCornwallUK
suwan p, Owner at Tradewinds by Lawana, responded to this review

June 10, 2016. Dear Lesley, Thank you very much for your happy review of your holiday with us at Tradewinds by Lawana. It is nice to see that you enjoyed our services. Our breakfast is a buffet and open from 7 to 10 am with some 14 simple selections plus the fresh egg station to do it your style. We...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.2 mi away
Chaweng Resort
Chaweng Resort
#68 of 104 in Chaweng
170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Poonsawat Residence
Poonsawat Residence
#74 of 104 in Chaweng
3 reviews
0.2 mi away
KC Beach Club and Pool Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chaweng Beachcomber
Chaweng Beachcomber
#86 of 104 in Chaweng
184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seascape Beach Resort
Seascape Beach Resort
#63 of 104 in Chaweng
272 reviews
0.0 mi away
Samui Green Hotel
Samui Green Hotel
#2 of 73 in Chaweng
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Tradewinds by Lawana

Address: 17/14 Moo 3, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Tradewinds)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Price Range: $55 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tradewinds by Lawana 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tradewinds by Lawana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Koh Samui
Tradewinds By Lawana Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Tradewinds by Lawana staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Tradewinds by Lawana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“right on the beach, loungers and bean bags provided”
suzanned778, Jul 9, 2016 | Read review
“Take an early morning swim”
EdBehr, May 7, 2016 | Read review
“Try a different hotel”
Andyxxxxxxx, Dec 31, 2014 | Read review
“Villa 1 down on the beach and pool. We were a little worried about noise when we fist got there but it was very quiet and restful.”
hortonmary, Aug 22, 2014 | Read review
“Ask for beachview!”
Esmann, Aug 7, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Travelocity
$54* /night
View Deal
HotelQuickly$60
TripAdvisor$54
Orbitz.com
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates