We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Tradewinds by Lawana

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Tradewinds by Lawana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 41: English reviews
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016

We visited this hotel as we had stayed here before some years ago. The bungalow is good, the hotel is right on the beach, there is a swimming pool, loungers and bean bags on the sand and you can eat breakfast overlooking the beach. Nothing too special but really good value and close to nice restaurants in Caweng. Recommended if... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suzanne D
suwan p, Owner at Tradewinds by Lawana, responded to this review

July 12, 2016. Dear Suzanne, Thank you so very much for the excellent reveiw you have offered. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us at Tradewinds by Lawana. You have said it all and it should be enough to help other guests who are considering where to stay in Ko Samui. We are not a... More 

DC
Level Contributor
127 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016 via mobile

If u choose, for convenience to stay in downtown Chasing, and want ez beach access, then this place is fine. Chaweng is not my cup of tea, but we wanted to stay our last night in the belly of the beast, and close to the airport, to maximize our beach time on the last day. This place was fine though... More 

Helpful?
Thank rbrech
suwan p, Owner at Tradewinds by Lawana, responded to this review

June 24, 2016. Dear Rbrech, Thank you very much for taking time to offer such an intensive review of your holiday with us in our bungalow No. 8. You have said it all and I sincerely appreciate it. We are a small beach resort with exceptional good location on Chaweng beach both on the beach front of the best spot... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016 via mobile

My wife, daughter and I were disappointed with the place a travel agent booked us in, so we took the suggestion of the girl working at Zing Coffee, which is a great coffee shop attached to the Centara resort, which is the highest-end resort on Chaweng Beach, and walked RIGHT NEXT DOOR to the Tradewinds by Lawana. It offers great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael A
suwan p, Owner at Tradewinds by Lawana, responded to this review

June15, 2016. Dear Michael, Thank you very much for your taking time off to extend your nice comments of Tradewinds by Lawana to other guests in the future. It is a real pride to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and even offer your recommendation. We are a simple 3 star beach resort located at... More 

JomTien
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2016

First off lets talk about the reviewers talking about cats. I have lived here 16 years, and yes the stray cats as well as dogs get taken to the temple. Thai come and feed them everyday. Do not believe they are cruel to animals. I will not say this is a 4 star hotel. Its about hanging on the beach.... More 

Helpful?
Thank EdBehr
suwan p, Owner at Tradewinds by Lawana, responded to this review

June 7, 2016. Dear Ed, Thank you very much for your kind reviews of your holiday with us at the Tradewinds by Lawana. We are very proud that you enjoyed it with us. We are ready to service all our guests accordingly. We are ready if our guests have special requests. You have exactly said it on our behalf that... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2016

I am astounded to find reviews lying to the public, quite clearly, if they have rated this place anything above 2 stars. It is a disgusting dump. Undeservedly, it is placed on one of the most beautiful beaches in Koh Samui. Having said that, Koh Samui has many and Thailand hundreds. This disgraceful dilapidated establishment has the audacity to charge... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
suwan p, Owner at Tradewinds by Lawana, responded to this review

June 7, 2016. Dear Bath, Thank you very much your review of your stay with us at Tradewinds by Lawana, I am sorry that you did not enjoy it. I am very happy to read your points as this way I can make further improvements to the resort and the services. You might have misunderstood our property for something else.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Chaweng hotels

Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2016 via mobile

This hotel was good, very friendly staff however a few things let it down. Bad wifi, no light in bedroom, food was terrible. It was a good location with good staff. Invited friends over to chill by the pool and hotel tried charging me. I'd understand if it was a five star hotel and the pool was packed but it... More 

Helpful?
Thank qwerty9333
suwan p, Manager at Tradewinds by Lawana, responded to this review

June 7, 2016. Dear 9333, Thank you very much for your comments of your stay with us. I sincerely appreciate your concerns and will take care of them properly. For several months now that we have been able to upgrade or wifi and now we have strong signals in all the rooms and the public areas and the breakfast room.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2016 via mobile

We were given a room that was clearly too small for 3 adults. There were some positives - Cute porch area out the front of the bungalow. Noisy a/c & fridge but otherwise quite quiet despite being in the busy part of Chewang. Badly designed bathroom, shower head practically over the toilet and no curtain, so the toilet area was... More 

Helpful?
Thank suzyh100
suwan p, Owner at Tradewinds by Lawana, responded to this review

June 7, 2016. Dear SuzyH, Thank you very much for your frank review of your holiday with us at Tradewinds by Lawana. The bungalow is nothing luxury and designed for two adults and we will accommodate 3 at guests' request, then the room will automatically be crowded. We do not recommend this extra bed option and would like to suggest... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2015

The location of the Resort is excellent, directly at the Beach of Chaweng and near every kind of Bar and Restaurant. The rooms are tenderly furnished and provide everything you need. The breakfast is balanced and offers a variety of fruits and freshly cooked meals suich as omelettes. The best part of the hotel was the staff, the atmosphere was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rolf H
suwan p, Owner at Tradewinds by Lawana, responded to this review

JUne 9, 2016. Dear Rolf, Thank you very much for your kind reviews of your stay with us. It is nice to see you have had happy holidays with us at Tradewinds by Lawana. We really offer the best location for holidays in Ko Samui. We are not a luxury resort but we provide all you will need at more... More 

Koh Samui
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2015

We have been staying here for 15 years, and find it a delightful throwback to the way things “used to be”. Lovely grounds, clean and comfy bungalows, great locations, very easy beach access and pleasant staff. Good value. We will be back!

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank David B
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

I and a friend were sitting in the garden when for some strange reason some guests complained about cats and the hotel staff chased the cats in the garden, put them into plastic bags and disappeared with them in the kitchen. In my opinion they were suffocated to death or horribly killed in the kitchen.

Helpful?
4 Thank firstprincess
suwan p, Owner at Tradewinds by Lawana, responded to this review

June 10, 2016. Dear First, Thank you very much for taking time to offer your review of your experiences at Tradewinds by Lawana. The management has no policy for cruelty for animals. WE have, however, a firm policy for guests safety from pets as we are a pet free resort. Our staff ran after one cat, which was released into... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.2 mi away
Chaweng Resort
Chaweng Resort
#64 of 101 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Samui Beach Apartments
Samui Beach Apartments
#126 of 184 in Bophut
3.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa De Mar
Casa De Mar
#19 of 101 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
KC Beach Club and Pool Villas
0.6 mi away
Sans Souci Samui
Sans Souci Samui
#34 of 101 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Tradewinds by Lawana

Address: 17/14 Moo 3, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Tradewinds)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Price Range: $60 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tradewinds by Lawana 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Tradewinds by Lawana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Koh Samui
Tradewinds By Lawana Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay